M.2 Enclosure: 40 vs 80Gbps, 4,000 vs 6,000 MB/s [2026]

Buying a portable M.2 SSD in October 2026 comes down to one question: do you want a 40Gbps box or an 80Gbps one? The answer moves the price by hundreds of dollars and the speed ceiling by about 2,000 MB/s. Samsung rates its new P9 and P7 at up to 4,000 MB/s over USB4, while OWC rates its Envoy Ultra above 6,000 MB/s over Thunderbolt 5. DIY builders face the same split the moment they pick an empty M.2 enclosure.

Stock is part of the story. Samsung announced the P9 and P7 at Gamescom on August 26, 2026, yet Samsung’s U.S. store pages reportedly showed every listed capacity as out of stock on October 24 and 25. That makes the DIY route more than a money-saving trick right now. It is also the route you can order today.

This guide skips the basic build-or-buy debate. We covered that in our breakdown of DIY NVMe enclosures against portable SSDs. Here the focus is the tier decision. We line up the 40Gbps and 80Gbps M.2 enclosures against the ready-made drives at each tier, then run the break-even math so you know what a bare drive can cost before building stops making sense.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

What Changed in Portable M.2 Storage in 2026

Until recently, a fast portable drive meant USB 3.2 Gen 2×2 at 20Gbps, and Samsung’s T9 was the reference point. That drive uses USB 3.2 Gen 2×2 and still sits in Samsung’s U.S. catalog today. No official source says Samsung has replaced or retired it. It just stopped being the fastest thing Samsung sells.

The jump came at Gamescom 2026 on August 26. Samsung showed the P9 and P7, a new P-series built on USB4 Gen 3×2, which is a 40Gbps link. The P9 is the flagship. Samsung calls it the world’s first 8TB USB4 portable SSD, and the P9 was a CES 2026 Innovation Award honoree earlier in the year. Both drives come in 1TB, 2TB, 4TB and 8TB capacities, with a September 2026 rollout window.

One tier up, Thunderbolt 5 moved from spec sheet to shelf. OWC sells the Envoy Ultra as a Thunderbolt 5 portable SSD with an integrated 80Gb/s cable, a rating above 6,000 MB/s, an IP67 water and dust rating, and a fanless aluminum body. The company offers it in 2TB, 4TB and 8TB. UGREEN now lists an 80Gbps Thunderbolt 5 M.2 enclosure that accepts any drive you supply, next to its older 40Gbps model.

The market therefore has two clear tiers, and each has a ready-made champion and a DIY option. The 40Gbps tier holds Samsung’s P9 and P7 plus UGREEN’s 40Gbps enclosure. The 80Gbps tier holds OWC’s Envoy Ultra plus UGREEN’s 80Gbps enclosure. The 20Gbps T9 sits below both as the value holdout. Every comparison below keeps that structure.

One caution before the tables. No successor to the P9 or the T9 is confirmed as of October 26, 2026, and anything you read about one is rumor. Likewise, no official source we reviewed says UGREEN retired its 40Gbps enclosure when the 80Gbps model arrived. Both are on sale.

Specs Table: 40Gbps Tier vs 80Gbps Tier

The table puts the four product types side by side. Where the sources we reviewed on October 26 did not state a figure, the cell says so instead of guessing. Every speed is a vendor claim, not a lab result.

SpecUGREEN 40Gbps enclosure (DIY)UGREEN 80Gbps enclosure (DIY)Samsung P9 / P7 (ready-made)OWC Envoy Ultra (ready-made)
Product typeEmpty M.2 NVMe enclosureEmpty M.2 NVMe enclosureComplete portable SSDComplete portable SSD
InterfaceUSB4 and Thunderbolt 4 (per listing)Thunderbolt 5, backward-compatible with Thunderbolt 4 and USB4USB4 Gen 3×2Thunderbolt 5
Link rate40Gbps80Gbps40Gbps80Gbps
Vendor-rated speedNot listedNot stated in sources reviewedUp to 4,000 MB/s readAbove 6,000 MB/s
Drive includedNoNoYes, fixedYes, fixed
CapacityWhatever you installWhatever you install1TB, 2TB, 4TB, 8TB2TB, 4TB, 8TB
CableNot statedThunderbolt 5 cable includedNot statedIntegrated 80Gb/s cable
Water and dust ratingNot statedNot statedNot statedIP67
Drop ratingNot statedNot statedP7: 2 m (6.6 ft)Not stated
CoolingVaries by SKUEnhanced heat dissipationNot statedFanless aluminum body
Host needed for top speedUSB4 or Thunderbolt 4 portThunderbolt 5 host, cable and driveUSB4 portThunderbolt 5 port
Upgrade pathSwap the drive anytimeSwap the drive anytimeNone, replace the unitNone, replace the unit
Warranty scopeEnclosure and drive covered separatelyEnclosure and drive covered separatelyOne product, one vendorOne product, one vendor

Two rows deserve a second look. The host row is where buyers lose money, because an 80Gbps enclosure plugged into a plain USB4 port runs at USB4 speed. UGREEN’s own description says full 80Gbps requires a Thunderbolt 5 host, cable and drive configuration. The upgrade row is where DIY earns its keep, since a swap costs only the new drive.

Link Math: What 40Gbps and 80Gbps Mean in MB/s

Gigabits and megabytes confuse people, so here is the conversion. Divide gigabits per second by eight to get gigabytes per second. Real transfers always land below these raw figures because of protocol overhead and the drive’s own limits.

Link rateRaw signal (MB/s)Typical product at that tier
20Gbps2,500Samsung T9 (USB 3.2 Gen 2×2)
40Gbps5,000Samsung P9 and P7, UGREEN 40Gbps enclosure
80Gbps10,000OWC Envoy Ultra, UGREEN 80Gbps enclosure
120Gbps (boost mode)15,000Thunderbolt 5 display-oriented mode, not a storage figure
10GbpsNot listedPlain USB 3.2 Gen 2 ports on older hosts

Now compare the vendor claims to the link rates. Samsung rates the P9 at up to 4,000 MB/s on a 40Gbps link. Whatever the tier, the drive, controller and cable decide what you actually get, so check the whole chain before you pay for a faster link.

Thunderbolt 5 adds a wrinkle. OWC markets the Envoy Ultra with 120Gbps of Thunderbolt 5 bandwidth boost capability, yet that mode mainly pushes extra bandwidth toward displays. A storage device cannot count on it. For file transfers, treat 80Gbps as the working figure. For the protocol-level differences between the connector families, our explainer on Thunderbolt 5, USB4 and USB 3.2 portable SSDs goes through them one by one.

Time to Move a 100 GB Project

Peak ratings translate into time like this, assuming the drive holds its best speed for the whole transfer (it often does not on large copies). At the T9’s reported 2,000 MB/s, 100 GB takes 50 seconds. At 4,000 MB/s it takes 25 seconds. Moving from the 20Gbps tier to the 40Gbps tier halves the wait. Faster tiers above that depend on speed ratings the sources reviewed do not confirm, so treat any further savings as unproven. That is the honest size of the upgrade.

Rated Speed Benchmarks From Three Vendors

A clear limit first. On October 26, 2026, we found no independent sustained-write test of the P-series drives or of UGREEN’s 80Gbps enclosure in the sources we reviewed. The table therefore reports what Samsung, OWC and UGREEN claim, with the efficiency math as our own arithmetic. Treat it as a ceiling, not a promise. When independent numbers appear, they should replace this table.

SourceProductLink rateRated speedShare of raw link rate
SamsungPortable SSD P7 and P9 (USB4 Gen 3×2)40GbpsUp to 4,000 MB/s read80%
UGREEN40Gbps M.2 NVMe enclosure40GbpsNot listedNot listed
OWCEnvoy Ultra (Thunderbolt 5)80GbpsAbove 6,000 MB/sNot listed

Samsung’s regional pages reportedly list the P9 at 3,800 MB/s sequential write next to the 4,000 MB/s read. That single-source figure matches how USB4 drives usually behave, with writes trailing reads. A bare drive in a 40Gbps enclosure should land in the same neighborhood as the P9 if the drive itself is fast enough. No sheet we reviewed proves it.

The pattern across all three vendors is consistent. Each tier tops out near 80 percent of its link at best, and the 80Gbps tier uses less than two-thirds of its link. If you buy for delivered speed alone, the 40Gbps tier gives you the most performance per link. The 80Gbps tier gives you headroom for faster drives and future hosts.

Pricing Table and Break-Even Math

Prices below come from Samsung’s U.S. pages and OWC’s own announcement. Samsung’s P7 numbers differ slightly between launch reports and its current pages, so the table uses the page listings and flags the rest in the text. Our guide to street prices for portable NVMe drives tracks how these numbers move week to week.

ProductCapacityPrice (USD)Basis
Samsung P91TB$339.99Samsung U.S. product page
Samsung P92TB$649.99Samsung U.S. product page
Samsung P94TB$1,349.99Launch MSRP
Samsung P98TB$2,699.99Launch MSRP
Samsung P71TB$285.99Samsung U.S. page listing
Samsung P72TB$549.99Samsung U.S. product page
Samsung P74TB$1,199.99Samsung U.S. page listing
Samsung P78TB$2,399.99Samsung U.S. page listing
OWC Envoy UltraLine starts at$449.99OWC announcement
OWC Envoy Ultra8TB$1,699.99OWC announcement

Several caveats apply. Samsung’s U.S. pages marked P9 and P7 capacities out of stock on October 24 and 25, so the displayed amounts work as list prices, not confirmed buyable prices. The same pages reportedly showed P9 4TB at $1,439.99 and 8TB at $2,879.99, above the launch MSRPs. Some reports also put P7 launch prices slightly lower, at $289.99 for 1TB, so expect small differences between sources.

The T9 needs its own note. Samsung reportedly listed the 2TB at $489.99, and SamMobile reported a $40 cut to $449.99 on October 22. OWC’s row needs care too. OWC’s reported starting price for the Envoy Ultra is $449.99, and any retailer listing for the 2TB should not be treated as OWC’s own price. Check OWC’s store before you decide.

The Bare-Drive Budget Ceiling

The useful number is how much you can spend on the bare M.2 drive before the DIY build stops saving money. Subtract the enclosure price from the ready-made price. UGREEN’s 40Gbps enclosure reportedly lists at $109.99, with a displayed price of $75.99 on October 23. Its 80Gbps Thunderbolt 5 enclosure reportedly lists at $229.99, with a $159.98 promotional price on October 22. Those are single-source figures, so confirm them before you buy.

  • P9 1TB at $339.99: your drive plus enclosure must cost less than that to come out ahead.
  • P7 1TB at $285.99: the ceiling falls to $210.00 (promo) or $176.00 (list).
  • P9 2TB at $649.99: the same rule applies, so your drive plus enclosure must cost less than that.
  • P7 2TB at $549.99: a DIY build only makes sense if the enclosure and bare drive together cost less than this. Samsung’s U.S. page marks the capacity as out of stock.
  • Envoy Ultra 2TB: OWC’s own price for this capacity is not confirmed, so there is no firm ceiling to set against the 80Gbps enclosure. Check OWC’s store before comparing.
  • Envoy Ultra 8TB at a reported $1,699.99: add up the 80Gbps enclosure and an 8TB bare drive and compare the total with this price.

Read those as budgets, not predictions. We did not source bare-drive street prices for this article, so plug in the current price of the drive you are eyeing. If a quality 2TB drive costs less than $474 where you shop, a 40Gbps DIY build beats the P7 2TB on price. If it costs more, buy the Samsung and skip the screwdriver.

The tier premium itself is small. The 80Gbps enclosure costs about $84 more than the 40Gbps one at the reported promo prices, and $120 more at list. By contrast, the P9 2TB sits $150 below the reported Envoy Ultra 2TB retail price, roughly 23 percent cheaper, and delivers about two-thirds of the rated speed. Also count the second warranty. A DIY build splits coverage between the enclosure and the drive, while a ready-made unit gives you one claim to file.

Think about total cost over the life of the drive, not just the checkout price. A DIY build lets you move the enclosure to a bigger drive in a year or two, so you keep paying only for the new storage. A ready-made unit forces you to buy the whole package again. If you expect your capacity needs to double, the DIY math improves with every upgrade. If you want to buy once and forget it, the ready-made premium is the price of that peace of mind.

The Ready-Made 40Gbps Tier: Samsung P9, P7 and T9

P9 and P7: USB4 at 4,000 MB/s

Samsung positions the P7 as the lower-tier companion to the P9, not an older predecessor. Both use USB4 Gen 3×2 and rate up to 4,000 MB/s read. The P7 carries a 2-meter (6.6-foot) drop rating plus shock and vibration testing, which Samsung pitches at travel and outdoor use. The P9 targets heavier workflows, including high-resolution video. Samsung Hungary also reportedly lists a P7 Wanderer variant in 1TB, 2TB and 4TB sizes. For the full drive-by-drive breakdown, our P9, P7 and T9 head-to-head covers it.

Neither drive supports Thunderbolt 5 according to the Samsung material we reviewed, and neither is user-serviceable. The P9 is a complete portable SSD, not an enclosure for your own M.2 module. Regional availability is staggered too. A Kompas report from October 21 said Indonesian retail sales of the P7 would start in early November 2026. Our comparison of the P9 against LaCie and SanDisk shows how it stacks up against rival ready-made drives.

T9: The 20Gbps Holdout

The T9 keeps one real advantage: it matches a host with a 20Gbps USB 3.2 Gen 2×2 port, and its reported 2TB price sits below the P7 2TB. Samsung rates it at up to 2,000 MB/s, and its listing reportedly cites Dynamic Thermal Guard. What it lacks is any path to more speed. A DIY 40Gbps build on a USB4 host will outrun it if the bare drive is decent. On a host without USB4, the T9 is the better buy, because a 40Gbps enclosure would negotiate down and waste its premium.

The Ready-Made 80Gbps Tier: OWC Envoy Ultra

The Envoy Ultra is the only ready-made Thunderbolt 5 portable SSD in this comparison. OWC describes it as bus powered, with the cable built in, a claimed speed above 6,000 MB/s, and a fanless aluminum body rated IP67 for water and dust. Retail listings dated October 25 reportedly say it also works with Thunderbolt 4, Thunderbolt 3 and USB4 hosts, though OWC stresses that peak speed needs a Thunderbolt 5 host.

OWC’s lineup widened through 2026. The company announced an 8TB capacity and describes it as the first bus-powered 8TB Thunderbolt 5 drive. Its own announcement says the Envoy Ultra line starts at $449.99, with the 8TB model at $1,699.99. According to OWC’s August announcements, the drive also figured in its compatibility messaging for the newly announced Apple Mac mini and Mac Studio and in its IBC 2026 lineup. One announcement also reportedly described a bare-enclosure configuration for user-built setups, but that is single-source.

What do you get for the premium over a P9? Mostly three things: a higher rated ceiling, an IP67 body that no DIY enclosure here claims, and a captive cable that cannot go missing or turn out to be the wrong grade. What do you lose? The drive swap, and some money. For a head-to-head against other premium drives, see the Envoy Ultra against LaCie and SanDisk test. For the wider field, our rundown of Thunderbolt 5 SSDs from Sabrent, OWC and enclosure makers adds more options.

The DIY Tier: UGREEN 40Gbps and 80Gbps Enclosures

UGREEN is the one maker with both tiers on sale, which makes it a clean test case. Its 40Gbps M.2 NVMe enclosure reportedly uses the ASM2464PD controller and supports USB4 plus Thunderbolt 3 and 4. UGREEN’s U.S. site reportedly lists the cooled version at $109.99 and showed $75.99 on October 23.

The 80Gbps model is newer. UGREEN’s U.S. page lists it as a Thunderbolt 5 M.2 NVMe enclosure that is backward-compatible with Thunderbolt 4 and USB4, includes a Thunderbolt 5 cable, and adds enhanced heat dissipation. A second UGREEN listing reportedly names the JHL9480 controller. Current UGREEN prices are not confirmed here, so check the store before buying.

The pages disagree on small details, and promotional prices shift weekly, so read the live product page before ordering. For the wider field of DIY options, our test of ORICO, Sabrent, UGREEN and ACASIS enclosures compares build quality and thermals across brands.

UGREEN also sells a ready-made drive. An EU storefront entry from April 17 reportedly listed the NeoDrive Go 1TB at ₮399.99, discounted to ₮299.99. Against the discounted 40Gbps enclosure, that shows how much ready-made convenience costs at 1TB. We could not confirm the NeoDrive Go’s current U.S. status, so skip it unless you shop in the EU.

Choosing the Bare Drive

Match the drive to the tier instead of buying the fastest model on the shelf. In a 40Gbps enclosure the link caps you near 4,000 MB/s, so a drive that peaks far above that earns you nothing and runs hotter. At 80Gbps the extra headroom starts to matter, but only on a Thunderbolt 5 host. Favor strong sustained-write behavior and modest heat over headline peak numbers, because a portable enclosure has little room to shed warmth.

Check the physical details too. Confirm the enclosure supports your drive’s M.2 length and that the listing accepts NVMe, not SATA. Buy a drive from a vendor with a clear warranty, since the enclosure maker will not cover it. If you plan to reuse a laptop’s old drive, check its health first with a SMART report before you trust it with fresh data.

Before you buy any enclosure, identify what your computer’s ports can do. Look for a lightning-bolt logo, which marks Thunderbolt, or a USB4 label next to the port. A port with neither is probably 10Gbps or 20Gbps USB. Check the maker’s spec page for your exact model, because laptops often mix port types on one chassis, and only one or two ports may carry the full 40Gbps or 80Gbps. Plug the drive into the right one and the tier you paid for actually shows up.

Heat, Power and Durability

Speed is the headline, but heat decides whether you still get that speed five minutes into a long copy. A bare NVMe drive in a tiny aluminum shell soaks up warmth quickly. Controllers throttle to protect themselves, and sustained writes drop. OWC uses a fanless aluminum body, and UGREEN’s 80Gbps page promotes enhanced heat dissipation. None of the vendors published sustained-write curves in the material we reviewed, so you cannot compare throttling behavior on paper.

Power is the second variable. Portable drives in this class draw power from the host port, and OWC states that the Envoy Ultra is bus powered. A laptop on battery will drain faster during long copies, and some older ports deliver less than a Thunderbolt 5 port does. If a drive drops off the bus mid-transfer, try a shorter cable or a powered hub before blaming the SSD.

Durability separates the ready-made drives from the DIY builds. OWC rates the Envoy Ultra IP67. Samsung rates the P7 for 2-meter drops with shock and vibration testing. UGREEN’s enclosure pages, as we reviewed them, do not carry equivalent claims, and a bare drive on a thermal pad is not a rugged object. Treat DIY builds as desk or bag storage, and keep irreplaceable footage on something with a stated rating.

Cable quality quietly matters most of all. UGREEN’s description says full 80Gbps needs a Thunderbolt 5 host, cable and drive together. A cheap USB-C charging cable in the chain can cap you at a fraction of the rated speed with no warning on screen. Keep the cable that ships with the enclosure, label it, and keep it apart from your charging leads.

Real-World Scenarios: Who Buys Which Tier

These scenarios use the real products and prices above. They are illustrative profiles, not case studies of named buyers.

Scenario 1: the Mac Studio video editor. A creator edits 4K footage on a Mac Studio with Thunderbolt 5 ports. OWC pitched the Envoy Ultra for the newly announced Mac mini and Mac Studio in August 2026. The IP67 body and captive cable suit location shoots, and the 8TB size at $1,699.99 holds a full project library. This buyer pays for durability and the 6,000 MB/s class. A DIY 80Gbps build saves money but loses the rugged shell.

Scenario 2: the Windows laptop with one USB4 port. A developer carries VM images and datasets. The laptop’s single USB4 port tops out at 40Gbps, so an 80Gbps enclosure wastes money. A 40Gbps DIY build with a drive under the break-even ceiling beats the P7 2TB at $549.99, and the drive can be swapped when the datasets outgrow it.

Scenario 3: the gamer with a huge library. Samsung revealed the P-series at Gamescom, and the drives suit players who shuffle large installs between a PC and a handheld. An 8TB P9 solves capacity in one box, but at a $2,699.99 launch MSRP and with out-of-stock pages it is a hard buy right now. A DIY 40Gbps build with a large bare drive is the practical alternative today.

Scenario 4: the field photographer. Weddings and travel work mean drops, rain and rushed card dumps. The P7’s 2-meter drop rating and the Envoy Ultra’s IP67 body both address that. A DIY enclosure belongs at the editing desk, not in the camera bag. For this buyer, the P7 1TB at $285.99 is the budget-sensible pick, once it is in stock.

Scenario 5: the spare-drive upgrader. Someone swapped a laptop’s internal SSD for a larger one and has the old NVMe drive sitting in a drawer. A 40Gbps enclosure at the reported $75.99 promo price turns idle hardware into a portable drive. No ready-made option beats that math, because the drive cost is already sunk.

Scenario 6: the older-laptop owner. A laptop with only a 20Gbps USB 3.2 Gen 2×2 port or slower gains nothing from a USB4 enclosure. The T9 fits the port and the budget. For hosts limited to plain 10Gbps USB, even the T9 is overkill, so a cheaper drive makes more sense. Our comparison of external SSDs and hard drives covers the cost-first end of that range.

Scenario 7: the local-model tinkerer. Someone who runs open-weight language models at home juggles dozens of multi-gigabyte files and reloads them often. Load time follows read speed, so the 40Gbps tier already cuts the wait sharply against a 20Gbps drive. A large DIY build with a cheap enclosure fits this buyer, because capacity matters more than ruggedness and the files can be re-downloaded if the drive fails.

Use-Case Recommendations

  • Thunderbolt 5 Mac or PC, rugged work: OWC Envoy Ultra in the capacity you need. It is the only ready-made Thunderbolt 5 pick here with an IP67 rating.
  • Thunderbolt 5 host, budget-minded: UGREEN 80Gbps enclosure plus a fast bare drive. Keep the combined cost below the price of the ready-made Envoy Ultra in the capacity you need.
  • USB4 laptop, plug-and-play: Samsung P7 for travel, P9 for the highest rated speed. Watch stock, because Samsung’s U.S. pages showed every capacity out of stock on October 25.
  • USB4 laptop, price-first: UGREEN 40Gbps enclosure plus a bare drive. This is the best dollar-per-megabyte route when stock is tight.
  • 20Gbps or older host: Samsung T9. Do not pay for link speed your port cannot use.
  • Archive and cold backup: any DIY build, since you can park the drive on a shelf and reuse the enclosure.
  • Creator who ships drives to clients: ready-made only. A sealed unit with a warranty beats a homemade box in a courier bag.

Migration Guide: Moving From a Ready-Made Drive to a DIY Build

Already own a P-series drive or a T9 and thinking about switching, or stepping up from a 40Gbps build to an 80Gbps one? The sequence below keeps your data safe and your speeds honest. If this is your first time handling a bare drive, our guide to installing an NVMe SSD shows the physical steps.

  1. Check your host port first. Look for a Thunderbolt or USB4 logo, then confirm the generation in your system’s device report. Buy the enclosure tier your port supports.
  2. Buy the bare drive and enclosure together. Match the drive’s M.2 size to the enclosure’s supported sizes and make sure the listing says it accepts NVMe.
  3. Back up before anything else. Copy the old drive’s full contents to a second location. A swap with no verified backup is how projects get lost.
  4. Install the drive. Seat it firmly, fit the thermal pad if one is supplied, and close the case before powering up.
  5. Format and name it. Initialize the new drive on your operating system, choose a file system your machines share, and label it clearly.
  6. Verify the negotiated link. A drive that connects at half speed usually points at a bad cable or the wrong port. Use the commands below.
  7. Copy the data back and compare. Run a file-count and size comparison, or a checksum on a sample, before you wipe anything.
  8. Test sustained speed. Time a 16 GB copy, then a much larger one, to see where throttling starts.
  9. Retire the old unit properly. Erase it, then sell it or keep it as a second backup.
# macOS: confirm the negotiated link speed
system_profiler SPThunderboltDataType | grep -E "Speed|Receptacle"

# Linux: list Thunderbolt/USB4 devices and the USB topology
boltctl list
lsusb -t

# Linux: confirm the drive is seen and check its health
sudo nvme list
sudo smartctl -a /dev/nvme1n1

# Linux/macOS: sequential read test against a 16 GB file
fio --name=seqread --filename=/mnt/ext/testfile --rw=read --bs=1M --size=16G --direct=1 --numjobs=1

Two details trip people up. First, a drive reporting a lower tier than you expected nearly always means a USB-C charging cable or a port that lacks USB4. Second, never trust a single short copy. Short bursts hit the drive’s cache, so run a large transfer and watch the speed after the first minute.

Pros and Cons by Tier

DIY Enclosure Builds

  • Pro: you set the capacity and swap the drive later at the cost of the drive alone.
  • Pro: available today while Samsung’s P-series pages show out of stock.
  • Pro: a reused spare drive makes the entry price very low.
  • Con: no published ruggedness rating for the UGREEN enclosures we reviewed.
  • Con: two warranties to track, and you own the thermal and compatibility risk.
  • Con: full 80Gbps needs a Thunderbolt 5 host, cable and drive all at once.

Ready-Made Drives

  • Pro: one warranty, one cable, and no assembly.
  • Pro: published durability claims, from the P7’s 2-meter drop rating to the Envoy Ultra’s IP67 body.
  • Pro: vendor-tuned firmware and thermal design.
  • Con: higher price per terabyte, plus no upgrade path.
  • Con: the newest models are scarce right now and prices disagree between sources.
  • Con: list prices and street prices diverge, as the Envoy Ultra 2TB shows.

Verdict: Match the Tier to Your Port

The deciding fact is your host. If your computer has a Thunderbolt 5 port and you work with large video or scientific files, the 80Gbps tier is worth the extra. Buy the Envoy Ultra if you need a rugged, sealed drive, or the UGREEN 80Gbps enclosure if you want to choose the drive yourself. The rated speed gap is real: above 6,000 MB/s against 4,000 MB/s, about 50 percent more.

If your port is USB4 or Thunderbolt 4, stay at 40Gbps. A UGREEN 40Gbps enclosure at the reported $75.99 promo price is the best-value route, and the Samsung P7 is the safest ready-made one once it is back in stock. The P9 only makes sense if you need 8TB in one unit or the highest USB4 rating Samsung offers. If your port is 20Gbps, buy the T9 and stop worrying.

Our scorecard: 40Gbps DIY wins on price, 80Gbps DIY wins on future-proofing, the P7 wins on travel, the P9 wins on capacity, and the Envoy Ultra wins on ruggedness and ceiling. No single product wins everything, which is why the port check comes first. Watch two things over the coming weeks: whether Samsung restocks the P-series at its listed prices, and whether independent testers publish sustained-write numbers for the 80Gbps enclosures. For more tested picks in this space, browse our hardware coverage.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is an M.2 enclosure cheaper than a portable SSD?

Usually, yes, if the bare drive stays under the break-even ceiling. Against the Samsung P7 2TB at $549.99, subtract the enclosure’s current price and the remainder is your drive budget. Price the exact drive you want before deciding.

What is the difference between a 40Gbps and an 80Gbps M.2 enclosure?

A 40Gbps enclosure runs on USB4 or Thunderbolt 4 and carries about 5,000 MB/s of raw signal. An 80Gbps enclosure needs Thunderbolt 5 and carries about 10,000 MB/s raw. UGREEN says full 80Gbps requires a Thunderbolt 5 host, cable and drive, and the enclosure steps down on older ports.

Will an 80Gbps enclosure work on a USB4 laptop?

Yes. UGREEN lists backward compatibility with Thunderbolt 4 and USB4. It runs at the speed your port allows, so a USB4 laptop gets 40Gbps-class performance and you pay for headroom you cannot use.

Can I put my own drive inside a Samsung P9 or P7?

No. The P9 and P7 are complete portable SSDs, not enclosures for a user-supplied M.2 module. If you want to swap drives, you need an empty enclosure like the UGREEN models.

Does the Samsung T9 still make sense in late 2026?

For hosts with a 20Gbps USB 3.2 Gen 2×2 port, yes. Samsung still lists it, and no official source confirms a successor or a discontinuation. It costs less than the P-series and runs at about half the P-series speed.

Is the OWC Envoy Ultra worth the extra money?

It depends on your host and your work. It rates above 6,000 MB/s, carries an IP67 rating, and includes an integrated cable. With a Thunderbolt 5 port and a need for a rugged drive, yes. On a USB4 port the extra speed goes unused, and a P7 or a DIY build is better value.

Are the P9 and P7 actually available to buy?

Samsung announced a September 2026 rollout, but its U.S. pages reportedly marked every listed capacity as out of stock on October 24 and 25. Availability varies by region, and Indonesian retail sales of the P7 were scheduled for early November 2026. Check your local Samsung store before you plan around it.

Which bare M.2 drive should I put in a portable enclosure?

Pick a drive whose speed matches your tier instead of the fastest drive on the market. In a 40Gbps enclosure the link caps you near 4,000 MB/s, so a much faster drive earns you nothing. Favor good sustained-write behavior and low heat, then confirm the enclosure’s supported sizes.

Marcus Chen

Marcus Chen

Gaming & Consumer Tech Editor

Marcus Chen is a senior editor at Tech Insider, where he leads coverage of the US online gaming market, including sweepstakes and social casinos, alongside consumer technology. He evaluates operators on their published terms, licensing and RNG certifications, stated redemption policies, and corroborating independent reporting, and writes plainly about what the evidence supports. Tech Insider does not run first-party money tests and does not gamble with reader funds. Marcus has reported on the technology and online-gaming industries for more than a decade.

View all articles