Thunderbolt 5 SSD: $499.99 Sabrent vs OWC vs Cases [2026]

The Thunderbolt 5 SSD category is finally big enough to shop in. A mid-October roundup from iThinkDiff on external SSDs for the M6 Mac mini now lists OWC’s Envoy Ultra and Sabrent’s Rocket XTRM 5 next to the usual 20Gbps and USB4 drives, and the price gaps inside that tier run to hundreds of dollars. The cheapest way in is not always a sealed drive, and the most expensive way is rarely the fastest once your laptop’s ports get a vote.

This comparison focuses on money and fit rather than a pure speed duel. We line up two sealed 80Gbps drives (OWC Envoy Ultra and Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5) against three portable M.2 enclosures you fill yourself (OWC Express 1M2 80G, HyperDrive Next and UGREEN’s Thunderbolt 5 case). Prices, specs and benchmark claims come from pages checked on October 23, 2026, and anything that rests on a single listing is labeled that way. For the head-to-head with rugged USB4 rivals, see the earlier test of the OWC Envoy Ultra against LaCie and SanDisk drives.

One framing point before the tables. The protocol side of the story, meaning how Thunderbolt 5, USB4 and USB 3.2 differ on paper, is already covered in a separate Thunderbolt 5 vs USB4 vs USB 3.2 SSD breakdown. Here we spend our words on what you pay, what you get in the box, and which ports you need before any of it matters.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

Thunderbolt 5 SSD Market in October 2026: What Changed

The top tier of portable storage now advertises more than 6,000MB/s over an 80Gbps link, and the products split into two clear camps. Sealed drives arrive with flash, controller, cable and enclosure already married. Enclosures arrive empty and ask you to bring your own PCIe Gen4 M.2 stick.

The sealed camp has two names that matter. OWC’s Envoy Ultra is the incumbent. Its own product page carries customer reviews dated December 2024, and a launch report on it is dated September 2024, so the drive itself is not new. What is new is capacity. OWC’s September 27, 2026 CABSAT announcement describes an 8TB version, and OWC calls it the first bus-powered 8TB Thunderbolt 5 drive. Sabrent’s Rocket XTRM 5 is the challenger. Its product page was dated October 13, 2026 and updated October 14, and it calls the 2TB model Sabrent’s newest portable SSD.

The enclosure camp is busier. OWC sells the Express 1M2 80G as either a ready-to-run drive or a bare DIY case. Hyper’s HyperDrive Next (model HD2500GL) was announced on December 9, 2025 at a $199.99 suggested price, according to Hyper’s launch materials. UGREEN lists an 80Gbps Thunderbolt 5 case with Intel’s JHL9480 controller. ORICO announced a similar Intel-based Thunderbolt 5 case on October 6, 2026, with a claimed read speed of 6,000MB/s. ACASIS pitched a whole Thunderbolt 5 storage lineup at CES 2026, including a four-bay enclosure designed to deliver up to 80Gbps per drive.

Treat the whole field as young. USB4 Version 2 is a finished standard, but the evidence for a mature ecosystem of certified 80Gbps portable M.2 products is thin, and one report places broader controller availability around late 2026 or early 2027. That caution runs through every section below. It also explains why so many listings use fuzzy names such as USB4 V2, USB4 Version 2 and 80Gbps USB4 for what is, in practice, the same class of hardware.

Sealed Drives vs DIY Enclosures: Two Different Purchases

Comparing an Envoy Ultra to a UGREEN case on price alone is a category error, and plenty of shopping pages make it anyway. A sealed portable M.2 SSD is a finished appliance. You plug it in, you format it, you copy files. An enclosure is a component. It costs less on day one, then hands you a shopping list: an M.2 drive, a thermal pad you may or may not need, and about fifteen minutes with a small screwdriver.

The trade has real consequences. A sealed drive gives you one warranty, one support contact and tuned firmware. An empty case lets you pick any drive you like, move the flash to a new case later, or swap in a bigger stick when prices fall. The longer argument sits in the DIY NVMe enclosure versus portable SSD trade-off test, and it holds up here with one 2026 twist: at 80Gbps, the quality of your bridge controller and cooling matters far more than it did at 10Gbps.

Who Should Buy Sealed

Buy sealed if you move large media files on a deadline, if you work on location, or if you never want to think about thermal throttling. The Envoy Ultra carries an IP67 claim, which in OWC’s spec language means waterproof for up to 30 minutes at less than 1 meter. OWC adds that the connector end of the built-in cable is not waterproof, so you must dry it before plugging in. Sealed drives also remove the single most common DIY failure, a loose or badly seated M.2 stick that disconnects mid-copy.

Who Should Buy an Enclosure

Buy an enclosure if you already own a fast Gen4 M.2 drive, if you like to rebuild your kit as prices move, or if you need something unusual. HyperDrive’s case, for instance, accepts certain non-storage PCIe M.2 modules (Hyper names AI accelerators and networking cards), which no sealed drive can match. Hyper states the case takes M.2 sizes 2230, 2242, 2260 and 2280, and supports capacities up to 16TB. That last number is a useful hedge against future flash prices, because you can start with a modest drive and grow into a big one without replacing the case.

Specs Table: Five 80Gbps Portable M.2 Options Side by Side

The table below uses manufacturer pages and the fetched spec sheets. Where a source did not state a figure, the cell says so instead of guessing. Link rate is the headline number each maker prints. Usable bandwidth is lower, and we explain why in the bandwidth section.

SpecOWC Envoy UltraSabrent Rocket XTRM 5OWC Express 1M2 80GHyperDrive Next (HD2500GL)UGREEN 80Gbps TB5 case
FormatSealed SSDSealed SSDReady-to-run SSD or DIY caseEmpty enclosureEmpty enclosure
InterfaceThunderbolt 5Thunderbolt 5USB4 80Gbps (Thunderbolt 5 host compatible)USB4 v2 80Gbps (Thunderbolt 5 compatible)Thunderbolt 5
Link rate80Gbps80Gbps80Gbps80Gbps80Gbps
Stated transfer bandwidthNot statedUp to 64GbpsNot statedUp to 64GbpsNot stated
Claimed throughputAbove 6,000MB/sNot stated in MB/sAbove 6,000MB/sNot stated in MB/sUp to 7,000MB/s
Fallback hostsThunderbolt 4, 3 and USB4Thunderbolt 4, 3 and USB4Thunderbolt and USB-C devicesWindows 10+, macOS 12.4+, iPadOS 13.4+Thunderbolt 4, 3 and USB4
SSD includedYes (2TB model uses an OWC Aura Pro IV PCIe 4.0 drive)YesOnly in the ready-to-run versionNoNo
User-swappable driveNoNoYes (DIY version)YesYes
CableIntegrated, 23.3 cm (9.2 in)Cable in box (per iThinkDiff)Not statedNot statedNot stated
Dust and water ratingIP67Silicone sleeve, no rating statedRugged, no rating statedIP55 with silicone sleeveNot stated
CoolingFanless aluminumAluminum bodyPassiveAluminum bodyNot stated
PCIe drive supportNot applicableNot applicableGen3 up to 3,400MB/s, Gen4 and Gen5 up to 6,800MB/sGen4 and Gen3, M.2 sizes 2230 to 2280, up to 16TBIntel JHL9480 controller, JMicron JMS583 bridge
Operating altitude-1,000 ft to 10,000 ftNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated

Two details deserve a second look. The Express 1M2 80G page lists a Gen5 ceiling that equals the Gen4 ceiling, which tells you the bridge, not the flash, is the bottleneck. And only the Envoy Ultra publishes an operating envelope (altitude from -1,000 ft to 10,000 ft, humidity from 8 percent to 90 percent non-condensing), which matters for field crews. Every blank cell in the table is a question worth asking the maker before you buy.

OWC Envoy Ultra: The Rugged Plug-and-Play Pick

OWC bills the Envoy Ultra as the first and fastest Thunderbolt 5 portable SSD. The pitch holds together. It carries an integrated Thunderbolt 5 cable, so you cannot lose the one cable that unlocks full speed. It carries an IP67 claim. It advertises real-world speed above 6,000MB/s. OWC’s own listing for the 2TB configuration shows a single OWC Aura Pro IV PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 2280 drive inside, with 128GB allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction, which is how the maker explains the gap between marketing capacity and formatted space.

Capacities and Price Confusion

Pricing is where this drive gets slippery. One October 2026 report puts the Envoy Ultra at $449.99 as the starting price, but that figure should not be read as the price of every capacity. The 2TB, 4TB and 8TB models are all reportedly on sale, and we could not confirm a current official price for the 4TB or the 8TB from public pages. Treat any capacity-specific number you see as unverified and check the live OWC store before you click buy.

The same iThinkDiff roundup credits the Envoy Ultra with a five-year warranty and a fanless aluminum body, and warns that on the M6 Mac mini’s Thunderbolt 4 ports the drive runs at Thunderbolt 4 speed. That last point is the theme of this whole article. A Thunderbolt 5 SSD is a bet that your next computer has Thunderbolt 5 ports.

Where It Falls Short

You cannot upgrade it. You cannot swap the drive when it wears out, and the premium over a case plus a stick is steep on any of the reported prices. The cable is short at 23.3 cm, which suits a laptop beside a dock but not a tower under a desk. If the captive cable ever fails, OWC’s page describes it as a user-serviceable item, which softens the sealed-design risk a little.

Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5: The Sealed Drive With a Discount

Sabrent’s Rocket XTRM 5 is a complete, bus-powered Thunderbolt 5 SSD, not a user-serviceable case. Its official page advertises an 80Gbps connection, up to 64Gbps transfer bandwidth and fallback to Thunderbolt 4, Thunderbolt 3 and USB4. The 2TB model (SKU SB-XTM5-2TB) was listed at a $499.99 sale price on Sabrent’s own store in mid-October, and that price depends on the sale lasting.

That $499.99 works out to about $250 per terabyte. A 4TB version (SB-XTM5-4TB) was reportedly tracked at $799.99 on Amazon on October 17, which would be roughly $200 per terabyte, though that comes from a third-party tracker and may have moved. If both numbers hold, the larger Sabrent is the better per-terabyte deal in the sealed tier. Sabrent also advertises a five-year extended warranty with registration within 90 days, according to one October report.

Availability Warning

Stock is the catch. Sabrent’s own page listed the Rocket XTRM 5 2TB at a $499.99 sale price, but we could not confirm that the drive is in stock right now. Treat the discount as real but perishable. Because the product page does not name a sale end date, we cannot tell you when $499.99 disappears.

For shoppers weighing the sealed Thunderbolt 5 tier against slower and cheaper options, the earlier portable SSD price comparison from $170 to $340 shows how much speed you can buy for far less money when you stay below 80Gbps.

80Gbps Enclosures: OWC Express 1M2 80G, HyperDrive Next and UGREEN

The enclosure side is where the price math gets interesting. A case costs less than any sealed drive, yet it makes you buy a Gen4 M.2 SSD separately. Because SSD street prices move from week to week, the combined bill can swing, so price the drive you plan to use before you decide.

OWC Express 1M2 80G

OWC positions the Express 1M2 80G as a portable USB4 80Gb/s NVMe solution, sold either as a ready-to-run SSD or as a DIY enclosure for a drive you already own. It is a USB4 product, not a Thunderbolt 5 one, though OWC lists it as compatible with Thunderbolt 5 hosts. OWC claims real-world speed above 6,000MB/s and a passively cooled, rugged design. On October 1, OWC reportedly listed the bare enclosure at $169.99 for Amazon Prime Big Deal Days, and coverage dated October 22 gives a $219.00 list price. A retail listing also shows an 8TB ready-to-run version at Best Buy.

HyperDrive Next USB4 M.2 PCIe Enclosure

Hyper’s HyperDrive Next launch announcement describes an 80Gbps USB4 v2 case with PCIe Gen4 x4 performance, modular PCIe expansion and IP55 protection. The company’s own listing is honest about the real ceiling: up to 64Gbps transfer speed. It is tool-free, uses an aluminum body for heat and ships with a silicone sleeve. Hyper reportedly sells it at $199.99, its store showed $149.99 in late October, and one partner listing shows $139.99. Do not confuse it with the separate HyperDrive Next USB4 NVMe SSD enclosure that Hyper lists at $89.99 sale, which is a slower product in a different class.

UGREEN 80Gbps Thunderbolt 5 Case

UGREEN’s Thunderbolt 5 M.2 enclosure page claims up to 7,000MB/s with a Thunderbolt 5 host, backed by an Intel JHL9480 controller and a JMicron JMS583 bridge. US listings reportedly range from a $159.98 sale price on a $229.99 list to a separate 8TB-capable storage case at $259.99. That 7,000MB/s claim is the highest in this group, and it is also the least independently tested, so weigh it as marketing until a lab confirms it.

If you want a tutorial on seating the drive, the step-by-step guide to installing an NVMe SSD covers thermal pads, screw torque and first-boot formatting.

Speed Benchmarks: Claims, Specs and the One Independent Test

Here is the uncomfortable part of this category: almost every speed number comes from the people selling the product. We found one independent measurement among the sources we checked, from German outlet Born’s Tech and Windows World, which reported a QWIIZLAB USB4 enclosure reaching 3,840MB/s in testing. The headline does not tell us which host or SSD was used, so read it as a reality check on 40Gbps-class hardware rather than a ceiling for the 80Gbps tier.

SourceProductMetricResultType
OWC product pageEnvoy UltraReal-world speedAbove 6,000MB/sVendor claim
OWC spec pageExpress 1M2 80GCeiling with Gen3 drive3,400MB/sVendor spec
OWC spec pageExpress 1M2 80GCeiling with Gen4 or Gen5 drive6,800MB/sVendor spec
UGREEN product page80Gbps Thunderbolt 5 caseMaximum speedUp to 7,000MB/sVendor claim
Sabrent product pageRocket XTRM 5Transfer bandwidthUp to 64GbpsVendor spec
Hyper product pageHyperDrive NextTransfer bandwidthUp to 64GbpsVendor spec
Born’s Tech and Windows WorldQWIIZLAB USB4 enclosureMeasured speed3,840MB/sIndependent test

Three kinds of source, three different ways of describing speed, and no overlap in test method. That alone should tell you not to rank these drives by a single number. A claim of 6,000MB/s from one maker and 7,000MB/s from another differ by 17 percent, yet the gap could vanish the moment you copy a folder of small files or fill the drive past its fast cache.

We also want to be plain about what is missing. We found no independent sustained-write test for the Envoy Ultra, the Rocket XTRM 5 or any of the three enclosures in this article. When those tests appear, expect the real-world numbers to land below the box claims, as they do for nearly every storage product. Until then, the claims work best as a ceiling, not a promise.

How to Test Your Own Drive

Run a sequential test with at least a 16GB file, then run a mixed small-file copy, then repeat after ten minutes of continuous writes to expose throttling. A drive that holds 5,500MB/s for the full run beats one that spikes to 6,500MB/s and collapses. If you edit video, copy a real project folder and time it with a stopwatch, since that is the workload you will actually run. Do the test inside the return window, and keep the receipt handy.

Why 80Gbps Does Not Mean 10,000MB/s

Divide 80 gigabits by eight and you get 10,000 megabytes per second. No product reaches it, and no honest maker claims to. The gap comes from protocol overhead, the bridge controller, the flash itself and the host. The numbers in the market cluster between roughly 6,000MB/s and 7,000MB/s, and two makers print a lower bandwidth figure in plain text: Sabrent and Hyper both say transfer speeds run up to 64Gbps, which is 8,000MB/s before overhead.

The RELYmedia guide to USB versions adds another wrinkle. USB4 Version 2 supports 80Gbps symmetric operation and an asymmetric mode of up to 120Gbps in a single direction, but that mode is built for display traffic, not storage. Thunderbolt 5 uses the same idea. Its 120Gbps boost helps a monitor, and it does nothing for your file copy. An SSD that leans on a 120Gbps figure in its marketing deserves a skeptical read.

What Has to Line Up

  • A host port that supports 80Gbps USB4 v2 or Thunderbolt 5, not just 40Gbps.
  • A cable certified for 80Gbps. The Envoy Ultra sidesteps this with its integrated cable.
  • A bridge controller that supports the full link, such as the Intel JHL9480 UGREEN lists.
  • A PCIe Gen4 x4 SSD that sustains writes, not one that bursts and stalls.
  • Cooling that keeps the drive out of thermal throttling during long copies.

Miss any one of the five and your 80Gbps purchase behaves like a 40Gbps one. The generational jump from Thunderbolt 4 to Thunderbolt 5 is laid out in the USB4 vs Thunderbolt 4 vs Thunderbolt 5 comparison, and it is worth a read before you spend.

Heat deserves its own mention. A Gen4 NVMe drive pushing several gigabytes per second inside a small aluminum shell sheds a lot of warmth, and the sealed drives and enclosures here handle it with passive aluminum bodies rather than fans. That design keeps them silent. It also means long, continuous writes can trigger throttling, so a 500GB copy may start fast and settle lower. If your workload is bursts of a few gigabytes, you will rarely notice. If it is whole-card dumps all day, test before you trust.

Pricing and Price per Terabyte

Most 80Gbps prices in October 2026 rest on one listing apiece, and several conflict. So the table below holds only what is firm, and a list underneath carries the reported figures with dates. Use it as a snapshot, then check the live page.

ProductWhat the price coversFirm price pointExtra purchase needed
OWC Envoy UltraDrive, enclosure and integrated cableReports conflict, check OWC storeNone
Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5 (2TB)Drive, enclosure and cable$499.99 sale (about $250 per TB)None
OWC Express 1M2 80GEnclosure only, or full driveSee reported prices belowM.2 SSD for the DIY version
HyperDrive Next (HD2500GL)Enclosure onlySee reported prices belowM.2 SSD
UGREEN 80Gbps TB5 caseEnclosure onlySee reported prices belowM.2 SSD

Reported Prices, October 2026

  • OWC Envoy Ultra: reportedly from $449.99 (2TB) up to $1,699.99 (8TB) in one source, $2,499.99 for the 8TB in another, and $799.99 for the 2TB on Amazon per iThinkDiff.
  • Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5: reportedly $721.99 regular and $499.99 sale for the 2TB on Sabrent’s store, with a 4TB reportedly at $799.99 on Amazon.
  • OWC Express 1M2 80G enclosure: reportedly $169.99 promotional, $219.00 list.
  • HyperDrive Next: $199.99 suggested price, reportedly $149.99 on Hyper’s store on October 21.
  • UGREEN 80Gbps Thunderbolt 5 case: reportedly $159.98 sale on a $229.99 list, with a second 8TB-capable listing at $259.99.

Now the per-terabyte view. We are not printing one, because the Envoy Ultra prices for its larger capacities are not confirmed and any figure we computed would rest on shaky numbers. The only solid data point is Sabrent’s 2TB Rocket XTRM 5 at $499.99 on sale. Compare cost per terabyte yourself on the day you buy, using the live prices for the capacity you want, since that matters more than any ranking we could print.

An enclosure shifts the question to your SSD. A $150 to $200 case plus a 2TB Gen4 drive will often land close to a sealed drive on total cost, so the DIY route pays off mainly when you already own the flash. If you compare drive types before buying, the NVMe versus SATA speed gap explains why a Gen4 NVMe stick is the only sensible fill for these cases.

Timing matters too. OWC ran Prime-season pricing on October 1 and opened its holiday gift guide on October 20, and OWC plans to show that lineup at Pepcom’s Holiday Spectacular in New York on October 28. Sale cycles like these usually repeat around Black Friday, so a buyer who can wait a few weeks may see better numbers than today’s.

Your Host Decides the Speed: Macs, Windows PCs and Handhelds

The most expensive mistake in this category is buying 80Gbps hardware for a 40Gbps computer. iThinkDiff makes the point in its Mac mini roundup: the M6 Mac mini’s back ports run drives at 40Gb/s and its front ports at 10Gb/s, so an Envoy Ultra on that machine runs at Thunderbolt 4 speed. You paid for headroom you cannot use today.

OWC’s MacSales blog frames the other side. Its guidance for the M5 Pro and M5 Max MacBook Pro points creators toward 80Gbps gear, and it notes that enclosures in this class run around or above 6,000MB/s in some configurations, depending on the SSD, controller, host, cooling and protocol overhead. The same drive can look brilliant on one Mac and ordinary on another, which is the reason to check your exact model’s port spec before you shop.

Quick Host Check

  • Thunderbolt 5 or USB4 v2 ports: any drive here will run at full speed with a certified cable.
  • Thunderbolt 4 or USB4 40Gbps ports: expect roughly half the link rate, so a cheaper USB4 drive makes more sense.
  • USB 3.2 Gen 2×2 (20Gbps) ports: look at drives like the Samsung T9, which iThinkDiff rates at 2,000MB/s.
  • USB-C 10Gbps ports: any fast portable drive will cap near the port, so do not overspend.

If your machine tops out at 20Gbps, the Samsung T9 against SanDisk Extreme and Crucial X10 Pro test is the better shopping guide, and you will keep several hundred dollars in your pocket. Windows laptops add one more trap. Plenty of thin models share a single Thunderbolt controller across two ports, so plugging a second high-speed device into the neighboring port can cut your SSD’s throughput. Check the maker’s spec sheet for port sharing before you blame the drive.

Six Real-World Scenarios and Our Picks

Specs only help when they meet a job. These six scenarios mirror how people use fast portable storage, and each ends with a recommendation drawn from the data above.

1. Video Editor Offloading ProRes From a Location Shoot

You land in a dusty location with a laptop, a card reader and 1TB of footage per day. The Envoy Ultra fits best. Its IP67 claim, integrated cable and bus power mean fewer things to lose or break. OWC also sells a CFexpress card reader on USB4 at 40Gb/s, so ingest from camera cards pairs naturally with an OWC drive. Pick the 4TB or 8TB capacity so a full week of shooting lives on one device.

2. Mac Mini Owner on Thunderbolt 4 Ports

If your Mac mini tops out at 40Gb/s, you do not need 80Gbps today. A sealed 80Gbps drive makes sense only if you plan to move to a Thunderbolt 5 Mac within its life. Otherwise a rugged USB4 drive such as the Corsair EX400U, which was tested against the Samsung T9 and SanDisk Extreme, delivers the speed your ports allow for less money.

3. Developer Running Local AI Models

Large model files load faster from fast external flash, and Hyper says its enclosure accepts certain PCIe M.2 modules including AI accelerators. A community thread on Hailo’s forum discusses pairing a HyperDrive Next with a Hailo-8 module to run local AI on an existing laptop. For a developer who wants one case that serves as a storage drive today and an accelerator dock later, the HyperDrive Next is the only option here that offers both.

4. Photographer With a Spare Gen4 SSD

You already have a 2TB Gen4 drive from a laptop upgrade sitting in a drawer. Buy a case, not a drive. The HyperDrive Next at its reported $149.99 store price or the OWC Express 1M2 80G on promotion will turn that spare stick into a portable drive for the cost of the shell alone.

5. Budget Buyer Who Wants Thunderbolt 5 Speed Now

Here the Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5 at $499.99 for 2TB is the cheapest sealed Thunderbolt 5 SSD we could verify. Confirm stock first, since one roundup flagged it unavailable. If it is gone, the UGREEN case at its reported $159.98 sale price plus a decent Gen4 drive is the fallback.

6. Field Technician or Outdoor Creator

Rain, mud and drops call for a sealed drive with a real ingress rating. Of the five products here, only the Envoy Ultra (IP67) and the HyperDrive Next with its silicone sleeve (IP55) publish ratings, and the sealed drive wins on both protection and cable integrity.

Pros and Cons of Each Contender

ProductProsCons
OWC Envoy UltraIP67 claim, integrated cable, capacities up to 8TB, plug-and-playNot user-upgradeable, prices reported inconsistently, short cable
Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5Lowest verified sealed Thunderbolt 5 price, cable in the boxStock uncertainty, sale price may end, sealed design, no ingress rating stated
OWC Express 1M2 80GTwo formats, passive cooling, Gen4 ceiling of 6,800MB/sUSB4 rather than Thunderbolt 5 branding, needs a separate drive in DIY form
HyperDrive NextTakes PCIe modules, up to 16TB, IP55 sleeve, tool-freeTransfer speed capped at 64Gbps, empty case only
UGREEN 80Gbps TB5 caseHighest claimed speed at 7,000MB/s, low sale priceFewest published specs, claims untested, empty case only

Read the table as a decision aid, not a scoreboard. The cons for the enclosures mostly disappear if you enjoy tinkering, while the cons for the sealed drives mostly disappear if you do not. The one con that applies to everyone is the same: the host port must match.

Migration Guide: Moving From an Older SSD to an 80Gbps Drive

Upgrading storage is a copy job with a few traps. Follow these steps whether you picked a sealed drive or a case.

  1. Confirm your computer’s port. Open System Information on a Mac or Device Manager on Windows and look for Thunderbolt 5, USB4 v2 or 80Gbps in the port description.
  2. Use the included cable. For a DIY case, check that the supplied cable carries the 80Gbps rating.
  3. For a DIY case, install the SSD, add the thermal pad if one is provided and close the shell. The NVMe install guide linked above covers the details.
  4. Plug in and format. Use APFS on a Mac-only drive, exFAT for Mac and Windows sharing, or NTFS for Windows only.
  5. Run a quick speed test to confirm the link negotiated at full speed. If the result lands well under 4,000MB/s, you probably connected through a 40Gbps port or cable.
  6. Copy your data. The commands below preserve timestamps and let you resume after an interruption.
  7. Verify the copy by comparing folder sizes and file counts, then spot-open a few large files.
  8. Keep the old drive as a backup for at least two weeks before you wipe it.
# macOS or Linux
rsync -avh --progress /Volumes/OldSSD/ /Volumes/NewSSD/

# Windows (run in an elevated Command Prompt)
robocopy D:\ E:\ /E /COPY:DAT /R:1 /W:1 /LOG:copy.log

One last tip. If the new drive is meant for gaming or handheld use, check the host first. Many handhelds and consoles expose only a 10Gbps or 20Gbps port, so a Thunderbolt 5 SSD would run well below its rating there. Also remember that a drive can only be as safe as your backups. A fast external SSD is a working copy, not an archive, so keep a second copy of anything you cannot replace.

Verdict: Which Thunderbolt 5 SSD Should You Buy?

Our ranking comes from the data above, not from lab time, and it carries that limit. Almost no independent sustained-speed testing exists yet for these drives, so we weigh price, features and the clarity of each maker’s claims.

  • Best overall sealed drive: OWC Envoy Ultra. Rugged, integrated cable, and up to 8TB. Pay for it only if the price at your checkout sits near the lower end of the reported range.
  • Best value sealed drive: Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5. The $499.99 sale price for 2TB is the lowest verified number in the tier. Confirm stock before you plan around it.
  • Best DIY pick for flexibility: HyperDrive Next. It takes up to 16TB, accepts PCIe modules and carries a published IP55 sleeve rating.
  • Best DIY pick for price: UGREEN 80Gbps Thunderbolt 5 case. Cheap on sale and fast on paper, but treat the 7,000MB/s as unproven.
  • Best two-in-one option: OWC Express 1M2 80G. Buy it ready-to-run or bare, and note its USB4 label.

The takeaway: skip Thunderbolt 5 SSDs entirely if your computer lacks 80Gbps ports, and buy the cheapest verified sealed drive or a case on sale if it has them. For more storage and accessory comparisons, browse the hardware coverage hub.

FAQ: Thunderbolt 5 SSD and Portable M.2 Questions

Is a Thunderbolt 5 SSD worth it if my laptop only has Thunderbolt 4?

Usually not. The drive falls back to Thunderbolt 4 speed, which is roughly half the link rate. It makes sense only if you expect to buy a Thunderbolt 5 computer during the drive’s life.

What is the cheapest Thunderbolt 5 SSD right now?

Among sealed drives, Sabrent’s Rocket XTRM 5 2TB at a $499.99 sale price is the lowest verified figure we found. Availability looked uncertain on October 23, so confirm stock. An enclosure plus your own SSD can cost less if you already own the flash.

Does 80Gbps mean 10,000MB/s?

No. Eighty gigabits equals 10,000MB/s only in theory. Makers claim between roughly 6,000MB/s and 7,000MB/s, and Sabrent and Hyper both state transfer bandwidth of up to 64Gbps.

Is USB4 Version 2 the same as Thunderbolt 5?

They are close cousins. Both reach 80Gbps, and Thunderbolt 5 builds on USB4 Version 2. Thunderbolt is a certification with stricter requirements, so check which logo your computer and your drive carry. Makers also use names like USB4 V2 and 80Gbps USB4 interchangeably.

Can I use an 80Gbps enclosure with a PCIe Gen5 SSD?

You can, but you gain nothing. OWC’s spec page for the Express 1M2 80G lists the same 6,800MB/s ceiling for Gen4 and Gen5 drives, so a Gen4 drive is the sensible choice.

Are these drives waterproof?

Only some. OWC rates the Envoy Ultra IP67, with the caveat that the cable connector end is not waterproof. Hyper’s silicone sleeve gives the HyperDrive Next an IP55 claim. Sabrent, UGREEN and OWC’s Express 1M2 80G did not list an ingress rating in the pages we checked.

Which is better for gaming consoles and handhelds?

Neither tier, in most cases. Consoles and handhelds generally expose slower ports, so a Thunderbolt 5 SSD would run well below its rating. A 20Gbps drive costs far less and fits their limits.

Marcus Chen

Marcus Chen

Gaming & Consumer Tech Editor

Marcus Chen is a senior editor at Tech Insider, where he leads coverage of the US online gaming market, including sweepstakes and social casinos, alongside consumer technology. He evaluates operators on their published terms, licensing and RNG certifications, stated redemption policies, and corroborating independent reporting, and writes plainly about what the evidence supports. Tech Insider does not run first-party money tests and does not gamble with reader funds. Marcus has reported on the technology and online-gaming industries for more than a decade.

View all articles