Pull request queues used to be a purely human bottleneck. A January 2026 study from Zylos found that 84% of developers are already using AI-assisted code review, with enterprise adoption forecast to reach 85% by the end of 2026, and three funded startups are racing to own that shift with tools built to read, score, and comment on code before anyone opens the diff: CodeRabbit, Greptile, and Qodo. All three have raised real venture money in the past two years, all three now sit inside thousands of GitHub and GitLab workflows, and all three claim to catch bugs a tired human reviewer would miss on a Friday afternoon push.
The pitch sounds identical from a distance: point the tool at a pull request, get a review back in under a minute, ship faster. Get closer and the differences start to matter. CodeRabbit layers its AI on top of 40+ bundled linters and SAST scanners. Greptile indexes an entire codebase before it says a word about a single diff. Qodo built its review engine on PR-Agent, an open-source project the company handed to the community in April 2026. Pricing splits just as sharply, running from CodeRabbit’s $12-a-month Lite tier up past $30 a seat for the other two.
This comparison pulls pricing straight from each vendor’s own docs, funding numbers from TechCrunch and company announcements, and testing data from independent researchers who ran these tools against real, messy codebases instead of marketing demos. By the end, you’ll know which of the three fits a five-person startup, which one a Series C engineering team with compliance requirements should shortlist, and where all three still fall short of a senior human reviewer.
Don't miss new tech stories on Google
Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.
What AI Code Review Tools Actually Do (and How Automated Review Works)
An AI code review tool sits between a developer opening a pull request and a human approving it. Install it as a GitHub App, GitLab integration, or Bitbucket and Azure DevOps plugin, and it triggers automatically every time someone opens or updates a PR. From there, the mechanics stay fairly consistent across vendors: the tool pulls the diff, gathers surrounding context from the rest of the repository, runs that context through a large language model (often paired with deterministic static analysis), and posts inline comments directly on the lines it flags. Most tools also generate a plain-language summary of the change, assign a severity label to each finding, and let a developer reply in the PR thread to ask the bot to explain or re-check its own comment.
That basic loop is why AI code review tools grew so fast as a category. IdeaPlan pegged the category at $420 million in ARR by May 2026, with 44% of engineering teams already running an AI reviewer in their pipeline, and a June 2026 Jellyfish benchmark found adoption of AI review agents jumping from 14.8% to 51.4% in roughly ten months, a swing the report attributes largely to GitHub’s Copilot Code Review reaching general availability in late 2025, then GitHub bundling those code reviews directly into Copilot Business at $19 per user per month as of March 2026, according to GitHub’s own pricing pages, before expanding further still as GitHub rolled GPT-6 Astra out to general availability inside Copilot in September 2026 and began a parallel rollout of Grok 4.7 that same month. Manual code review is one of the few remaining steps in modern software delivery that resists full automation, and it’s also one of the most expensive in terms of engineer hours. A tool that drafts the first pass, catches the obvious mistakes, and leaves humans to focus on architecture and business logic is an easy sell to any engineering VP watching cycle time.
Static Analysis vs. LLM Review vs. Agentic Review
Three distinct generations of tooling now sit under the automated code review umbrella, and mixing them up is the most common mistake buyers make. Rule-based static analyzers, the SonarQube and Semgrep category, parse code against a fixed rule set; Semgrep’s own engine reached version 1.165.0 on June 3, 2026, and Augment Code’s testing now rates it production-viable specifically for AI-assisted review pipelines. They’re deterministic and produce close to zero false positives, but they have no real understanding of what a change is trying to do. LLM-based diff review, the category CodeRabbit and most PR bots sit in, reads the diff and often the surrounding files, then writes natural-language comments about what looks wrong. It catches more nuanced issues than a rule-based scanner but can occasionally flag a problem that isn’t really there. The newest generation, agentic or full-context review, tries to model how a change ripples through the rest of the system the way a senior engineer would in their head. That’s the pitch behind Greptile’s whole-codebase indexing and Qodo’s agentic review mode.
None of the three generations has solved the hardest problem yet. When Augment Code tested 10 open-source code review tools, including the CI-based agent shippie, which had reached version 0.21.2 with 2,500 GitHub stars and 242 forks by June 23, 2026, and the newer Open Code Review project, which AI/TLDR clocked at version 1.12.3 as of September 16, 2026, on a 450,000-file Python, TypeScript, Java, and Go monorepo over more than 40 hours of testing, every tool reviewed files in isolation, and none caught a cross-service breaking change during the test. That’s the ceiling separating today’s PR-level tools, open source or commercial, from the kind of review a staff engineer performs when they already understand how five different services depend on the file being changed.
CodeRabbit vs Greptile vs Qodo: The Full Specs Comparison
Before the pricing and the pitch decks, here’s what each of these AI code review tools actually ships, pulled from official docs, pricing pages, and company blog posts published between 2024 and 2026.
| Category | CodeRabbit | Greptile | Qodo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2023 | 2023 | 2022 (as CodiumAI) |
| Headquarters | Walnut Creek, California | Y Combinator-backed, U.S. (city not publicly disclosed) | Tel Aviv, Israel |
| Total funding raised | $88 million | Roughly $30 million | $120 million |
| Most recent valuation | ~$550 million (Sep. 2025) | ~$180 million reported in talks (Jul. 2025) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Lead investors | CRV (Series A), Scale Venture Partners (Series B) | Y Combinator, Benchmark reportedly in talks for Series A | Not detailed in public sources |
| Free tier | Yes, unlimited public repositories | Yes, 1 active developer (Starter) | 14-day free trial per 2026 reports, no permanent free plan in several sources |
| Entry paid price | Lite: $12 per developer/month | Pro: $30 per seat/month | Pro Team: ~$30 per user/month (reported) |
| Highest self-serve tier | Pro Plus: $48/dev/month annual, $60 monthly | Pro plus extra credits at $1 each | Credit packs up to 20,000 at ~$0.012/credit (reported) |
| Enterprise pricing | Custom, ~$15K/month cited for 500+ seats by one tracker | Custom, adds self-hosting and SSO/SAML | Custom, adds SSO/SAML, audit logs, BYOK, on-prem |
| Git platforms confirmed | GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, GitHub Enterprise Server | GitHub confirmed, others not detailed in public docs | GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps |
| Languages supported | 30+ | 12+ | Not publicly quantified |
| Core review approach | Diff plus repo context, 40+ bundled linters/SAST tools | Full-codebase indexing before reviewing a diff | Agentic PR review through Qodo Merge, built on PR-Agent |
| Open-source lineage | No | No | Yes, PR-Agent, community-owned since April 2026 |
| Signature workflow feature | Inline comments, PR summaries, in-thread chat | Repo-wide context chat, unlimited repositories | /review and /describe slash commands |
Reading straight across that table, the starkest gap isn’t a feature, it’s capital. Combined, these three companies have raised roughly $238 million to compete in a category that barely existed before 2023, and Qodo alone accounts for more than half of that after its $70 million Series B in March 2026, reported by TechCrunch. That kind of money buys engineering headcount, and engineering headcount is what turns a promising demo into a tool teams trust with production code.
Pricing Breakdown: What Each Tool Actually Costs
Software procurement rarely maps cleanly onto a vendor’s marketing page, and AI code review pricing is a clear example. All three companies publish at least a partial rate card, which puts them ahead of most enterprise security tooling, but the actual number a team pays depends heavily on pull request volume, not just headcount.
| Plan | CodeRabbit | Greptile | Qodo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0, unlimited public repos | $0, 1 active developer | No permanent free tier in several 2026 reports, 14-day trial instead |
| Entry paid | Lite, $12/month | — | — |
| Mid-tier | Pro, $24/dev/month annual ($30 month-to-month) | Pro, $30/seat/month, 50 credits included | Pro Team, ~$30/user/month (some sources cite credit-pool billing instead) |
| Top self-serve | Pro Plus, $48/dev/month annual ($60 month-to-month) | Extra credits, $1 each beyond the 50 included | Credit packs: 2,500 / 5,000 / 20,000 at ~$0.012/credit |
| Enterprise | Custom, ~$15,000/month cited for 500+ seats by one tracker | Custom, adds self-hosting, SSO/SAML, dedicated support | Custom, adds SSO/SAML, audit logs, BYOK, single-tenant/on-prem |
| Billing note | Annual billing cuts the monthly rate by about 20% | Credits reset monthly, heavy PR volume pushes cost past the base seat price | Packaging reportedly shifted mid-2026, budget with a buffer |
CodeRabbit’s official pricing page lists Free at $0 for unlimited public repositories, Lite at $12 a month, Pro at $24 per developer per month billed annually or $30 month-to-month, and Pro Plus at $48 per developer per month billed annually or $60 month-to-month, the same Pro and Pro Plus numbers CodeRabbit was already quoting back in August 2025, and a rate Tech Insider’s own pricing check found still listed as current more than a year later in August 2026. A separate CodeRabbit management document confirms the same Pro and Pro Plus figures, and one industry pricing tracker cites a self-hosted Enterprise deployment starting around $15,000 a month for organizations with 500 or more seats.
Greptile’s model is simpler on paper but riskier on a busy repository. The Greptile pricing page lists Starter free for one active developer, and as of May 2026 that free Starter tier already came bundled with 50-plus credits a month for its single developer seat, per Greptile’s own pricing breakdown, the same allotment carried into Pro at $30 per seat per month, with additional credits billed at $1 each. That’s workable for a team with modest PR volume, but a fast-shipping team can burn through 50 credits inside the first week of a sprint, at which point the “flat” $30 seat price stops being flat.
Qodo is the least transparent of the three right now, though a June 2026 check of Qodo’s own pricing page confirms Teams pricing starting at $30 per user per month billed annually, a figure Tech Insider’s own pricing check still found listed in August 2026, matching the figure in Qodo’s own AI code review blog post. Other 2026 trade coverage reports that Qodo dropped its permanent free tier in favor of a 14-day trial and moved Pro Team onto a shared credit pool, sold in packs of 2,500, 5,000, and 20,000 credits at roughly $0.012 per credit. Both versions can’t be fully correct at the same time, which suggests Qodo changed its packaging mid-year and not every published source caught up.
Hidden Costs to Watch For
Seat-based pricing hides a second cost that shows up on the first invoice: credit ceilings. Greptile’s extra-credit charge and Qodo’s reported credit-pool model both scale with pull request volume, not headcount, so a five-person team shipping 40 PRs a week can end up paying more per month than a fifteen-person team that merges once a day. CodeRabbit’s flat per-developer pricing avoids that specific trap, though its Enterprise tier’s roughly $15,000-a-month starting point, a third-party estimate rather than an official published figure, still needs a real budget conversation before a 500-seat rollout.
For context, here’s how the wider code quality and review market prices out, and pricing itself is shifting fast: Cursor Bugbot, folded into Cursor Teams at $40 per user per month as of May 2026 per Greptile’s own pricing tracking, moved its Bugbot v3 off that old per-seat model onto usage-based pricing of roughly $1 to $1.50 per PR review, a figure CodeAnt AI’s own market comparison still had current as of July 2026, after cutting average review time from 5 minutes down to 1.5 minutes and per-run cost by 22%, per Cursor’s own coverage. That same July 2026 CodeAnt AI comparison priced its own Premium plan at $24 per user per month, a separate May 2026 Greptile pricing breakdown put Graphite’s Team plan at $40 per user per month billed annually, and Optimal AI reported its own Optibot reviews running 2.6x faster as of September 29, 2026, according to the company. Macroscope joined that same conversation in April 2026 with yet another pricing model, charging $0.05 per kilobyte of code reviewed while reporting a 48.3% bug-detection rate alongside 98% comment precision. None of these seven compete directly on the same terms as CodeRabbit, Greptile, and Qodo, but they show up on the same shortlists.
| Tool | Best known for | Price per user/month | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SonarQube | Enterprise code quality and security gates | ~$13 (lower tier, billed yearly) | Rule-based, not AI-native, supports 35+ languages |
| Codacy | Code quality governance across a team | ~$15 | Broader maintainability platform, not AI-first review |
| DeepSource | Low false-positive static plus AI analysis | ~$30 (free for individuals) | Markets itself specifically on false-positive reduction |
| CodeAnt AI | Security-focused automated review | $10-$15 | Multi-platform support, security emphasis |
| Graphite Agent | Teams using stacked pull requests | $40 | GitHub only, one comparison cites a ~3% unhelpful-feedback rate |
How CodeRabbit Works
CodeRabbit launched in 2023 out of Walnut Creek, California, and has raised $88 million total: a $16 million Series A in August 2024 led by CRV, followed by a $60 million Series B on September 16, 2025, led by Scale Venture Partners at a roughly $550 million post-money valuation, according to TechCrunch’s coverage of that round.
The product’s core bet is that pairing an LLM with deterministic tooling beats either one alone. CodeRabbit runs pull requests through more than 40 bundled linters and SAST scanners underneath its AI layer, which filters out a chunk of the noise that pure-LLM review tools tend to generate. It supports GitHub, GitLab, Azure DevOps, Bitbucket, and GitHub Enterprise Server, the broadest confirmed platform list of the three tools in this comparison, and one industry directory lists it with a 4.8 verified rating alongside more than 30 supported programming languages.
CodeRabbit’s most obvious limitation is scope. It reviews code, generates PR summaries, and answers follow-up questions in the thread, but it doesn’t write or generate new code the way a full coding assistant does, a distinction one 2026 independent review flagged directly. That’s a feature for teams that specifically want a review layer decoupled from whatever tool their developers use to write code, and a drawback for teams hoping one subscription covers both jobs. Teams already standardized on GitHub Copilot for day-to-day coding often add CodeRabbit specifically to fill that review gap rather than replace their existing assistant.
One other detail shows up repeatedly in 2026 feature comparisons: CodeRabbit’s line-by-line inline feedback ships with a direct Jira integration, letting a flagged issue turn into a tracked ticket without a developer leaving the pull request. For teams that already route bugs through Jira, that removes a manual triage step most competing tools still require.
How Greptile Works
Greptile is younger and smaller than CodeRabbit by every financial measure, but it’s chasing a different technical bet. Founded in 2023 by Daksh Gupta, Soohoon Choi, and Vaishant Kameswaran, the Y Combinator-backed startup has raised roughly $30 million total: a $4.1 million seed round in 2024, followed by a $25 million Series A in September 2025. TechCrunch reported in July 2025 that Benchmark was in talks to lead that round at a $180 million valuation, though the final closed terms weren’t independently confirmed by the company at the time of the report. That smaller balance sheet hasn’t slowed enterprise pickup: IdeaPlan’s 2026 market-share data puts combined Copilot Reviews plus Greptile adoption at 62% among enterprises with 10,000-plus developers as of May 2026.
Greptile’s pitch is full-codebase context. Instead of reviewing a diff against a handful of nearby files, it indexes an entire repository before commenting on a pull request, a heavier approach the company markets under the claim that it helps teams “catch 3x more bugs” than review without that context, and which Greptile says translated into catching 50%-plus more bugs than CodeRabbit across a head-to-head test of 50 open-source pull requests in May 2026, according to Greptile’s own data. That depth comes with a documented trade-off: one 2026 comparison matrix flagged Greptile as carrying the highest false-positive risk among the tools it tested, while a separate comparison called it the strongest option specifically for repository-wide contextual analysis. Both can be true at once. Understanding an entire codebase means surfacing more potential issues, and surfacing more potential issues means more of them turn out to be non-issues once a human looks closer.
Pricing reflects the same trade-off. Greptile Pro runs $30 per seat per month with 50 review credits included, additional credits cost $1 each, and Enterprise adds self-hosting, SSO/SAML, and dedicated support at a custom price, per Greptile’s own funding announcement and pricing documentation.
The Y Combinator backing is worth weighing on its own. Being accepted into that accelerator means Greptile’s early product and team already passed one round of outside scrutiny before a single dollar of Series A money arrived, which is part of why Benchmark showed up at the table for the July 2025 round. For a team deciding whether to trust a two-year-old startup with review access to a private repository, that pedigree carries real weight even before looking at a single feature.
How Qodo Works (Formerly CodiumAI)
Qodo has the most complicated story of the three, and the most money behind it. Founded in 2022 in Tel Aviv by Itamar Friedman and Dedy Kredo under the name CodiumAI, the company has raised $120 million total across three rounds: an $11 million seed in 2023, a $40 million Series A in September 2024, and a $70 million Series B in March 2026 that TechCrunch and SiliconANGLE both covered as the company repositioned around what it calls code verification rather than review alone.
Qodo’s review product runs on PR-Agent, the open-source project underlying what the company now sells as Qodo Merge. Developers trigger it directly inside a pull request with slash commands:
# Qodo Merge slash commands, used directly as PR comments
/review # Runs an AI code review on the pull request
/describe # Generates or refreshes the PR title and description
Those two commands, /review and /describe, work the same whether you’re running the free open-source version or the paid Qodo Merge product, which is part of what made PR-Agent popular with teams that wanted to try AI review without a procurement process. That changed in April 2026, when Qodo transferred PR-Agent to a community-owned GitHub organization and reverted its license from AGPL-3.0 back to Apache 2.0. By then the project had accumulated roughly 11,000 stars, 1,500 forks, and 200 contributors, but its GitHub README now describes it plainly as “a community-maintained legacy project of Qodo.” Two configuration issues, #2098 and #2083, sat unresolved for more than four months before and after the handoff, a sign that Qodo’s own engineering attention had already shifted elsewhere before the transfer became official.
Qodo Merge vs. Qodo Gen: Open Source Roots, Commercial Present
The naming split matters for anyone evaluating Qodo today. Qodo Merge is the PR-review lineage, descended directly from PR-Agent, focused on the /review and /describe workflow and severity-based issue prioritization. Qodo Gen is the broader commercial AI coding assistant, covering IDE and CLI usage, agentic coding modes, and the enterprise governance layer, SSO/SAML, audit logs, bring-your-own-key model support, and single-tenant or on-prem deployment, that shows up in Qodo’s Enterprise tier. A team evaluating Qodo purely as a code review tool is really evaluating Qodo Merge, while a team looking for an all-in-one AI coding platform is evaluating the wider Gen product line that Merge now sits inside.
Qodo Gen’s agentic mode adds repo indexing and support for MCPs (model context protocol servers), letting the assistant pull in outside context, a design language, an internal API spec, a ticket, beyond what lives in the repository itself. That’s a meaningfully different product than a PR-review bot, and it’s the reason Qodo’s pricing conversation gets complicated: a buyer comparing Qodo Merge against CodeRabbit on review quality alone is only looking at part of what the Series B money is funding.
That distinction is also where this category splits from tools built around a fundamentally different idea. CodeRabbit, Greptile, and Qodo all generate their review by reasoning over a diff and its surrounding context: none of them actually executes the code they’re reviewing. Ito, an AI code review tool that runs your code takes the opposite approach, executing the change to verify behavior rather than pattern-matching against what the code looks like on the page, which matters most on exactly the kind of logic bug that reads fine in a diff and breaks at runtime.
Benchmark Data: What Independent Testing Actually Shows
Vendor marketing and independent testing tell two different stories, and the gap between them is worth sitting with before picking a tool.
Start with the most rigorous test available. Augment Code ran 10 open-source code review tools against a 450,000-file monorepo over more than 40 hours of testing published in January 2026. SonarQube Community Edition came out as the most reliable option at file-level analysis, producing predictable, low-noise output across 21 languages, but the same review states plainly that “the commercial landscape (CodeRabbit, Greptile, Graphite Agent) dominates enterprise AI code review” once a team needs more than file-level analysis, which is exactly the segment CodeRabbit, Greptile, and Qodo compete in.
Two other findings from that same research explain why the category exists at all. Veracode tested more than 100 large language models and found that 45% of AI-generated code samples introduced an OWASP Top 10 vulnerability. Separately, Faros AI’s research measured what happens to review workload once AI-generated code enters a pipeline: review time increased 91%, pull request size grew 154%, and even though code generation itself sped up by 2 to 5x, net delivery time stayed flat. AI is writing more code faster, and someone, human or bot, has to review more of it more carefully as a result. That’s the actual market these three companies are selling into.
Academic research backs up the mixed picture. A study of engineers using AI-driven code review, published in the 2025 Issues in Information Systems journal, found real enthusiasm sitting alongside real skepticism from the same developers. One participant estimated trusting AI review output “around 85% to 90%,” while adding a direct caveat: “I cannot completely trust it because, in my experience, the code breaks when I try to implement the same right, and it does not work as expected.” Separately, a 2024 study on automated code review in practice, published on arXiv, found that 73.8% of the AI-generated comments in its test set were actually acted on by developers, a meaningfully high adoption rate for advice coming from software rather than a colleague. That number has since cooled at scale: a July 2026 Scrimba analysis of 31,073 review-feedback pairs across 239 GitHub repositories found developers accepting only 36.4% of AI review comments across 10,191 pull requests, a far bigger sample suggesting real-world acceptance settles lower once a tool moves out of a controlled study and into everyday pipelines.
Funding, Valuation, and Company Background
Zoom out from any single tool and the funding numbers tell their own story about where investors think this market is headed. CodeRabbit, Greptile, and Qodo have raised a combined $238 million since 2023, spread across CRV and Scale Venture Partners for CodeRabbit, a Y Combinator-backed seed round followed by a Series A reportedly courted by Benchmark for Greptile, and three rounds culminating in a $70 million Series B for Qodo. None of that money is going toward a niche feature. It’s going toward a category investors clearly believe sits apart from general AI coding assistants like GitHub Copilot or Cursor, on the theory that review is a distinct enough workflow, with a distinct enough budget line, to support standalone companies. That theory got tested directly when Anthropic shipped its own Code Review tool inside Claude Code as a research preview for Teams and Enterprise customers on March 9, 2026, a sign that at least one general coding-assistant vendor, per TechCrunch’s reporting, thinks the two categories belong under one roof after all.
The three also went public with their funding at different moments in the AI cycle. CodeRabbit’s $60 million Series B in September 2025 landed after the company had already built a customer base large enough to justify a $550 million valuation, per TechCrunch’s reporting. Greptile’s reported Series A conversation, also mid-2025, came earlier in the company’s life and at a fraction of CodeRabbit’s valuation, consistent with its smaller total raise. Qodo’s path is the longest of the three, stretching back to a 2023 seed round under the CodiumAI name, through a 2024 Series A, and into a 2026 Series B that explicitly repositioned the company’s pitch around code verification rather than review alone. That repositioning is a useful signal on its own: when a well-funded company changes its core pitch three years in, it’s usually responding to where paying customers actually spend money, not where the original founding thesis pointed.
For a buyer, the funding gap translates into a practical question about longevity rather than bragging rights. A vendor sitting on $88 million or $120 million can afford to run an unprofitable enterprise sales motion for years while it builds out compliance certifications and platform integrations. A vendor with $30 million has less runway to do the same, which is one reason Greptile’s roadmap leans on product depth (full-codebase indexing) rather than the breadth of platform coverage CodeRabbit has already built out. Neither approach is wrong, but it’s worth reading a startup’s funding total as a rough proxy for how much of its roadmap is already funded versus still dependent on the next round closing.
Real-World Examples: How Teams Are Actually Using These Tools
Case studies naming specific companies are still thin on the ground in this category, most of these startups are too young to have published detailed customer stories, but the independent research and real-world testing that does exist paints a clear picture of how these tools perform outside a sales demo.
A 450,000-file monorepo stress test. Augment Code’s January 2026 testing run is the closest thing to a controlled, real-world benchmark this category has. Across a Python, TypeScript, Java, and Go monorepo, every open-source tool tested reviewed files in isolation, and none caught a cross-service breaking change, exactly the kind of failure a commercial, full-context tool like Greptile or Qodo is built to catch.
An academic field study of working engineers. The 2025 IACIS study didn’t run a lab experiment, it interviewed software engineers already using AI code review on real projects. Their reactions ranged from calling the process a genuine time-saver to flagging specific hallucinated comments, a more honest picture of day-to-day use than any vendor case study.
A large-scale review-adoption study. The arXiv paper on automated code review in practice tracked whether developers actually acted on AI-generated comments rather than just measuring how many comments a tool produced, and found a 73.8% action rate, a meaningfully higher bar than raw comment volume. A July 2026 Scrimba study ran the same question at far greater scale, 31,073 review-feedback pairs across 239 GitHub repositories, and landed on a lower 36.4% acceptance rate across 10,191 pull requests, suggesting the earlier figure didn’t fully hold up outside its original test set.
An open-source project changing ownership mid-flight. Qodo’s April 2026 decision to hand PR-Agent to a community-owned GitHub organization is itself a real-world data point for any team relying on that specific open-source path: a tool’s roadmap can shift the moment its commercial backer decides the open-source version no longer serves the business.
Security teams confronting AI-written code at scale. Veracode’s testing across 100+ LLMs, finding OWASP Top 10 vulnerabilities in 45% of AI-generated samples, is the real-world pressure driving procurement conversations at any company whose developers already use Copilot, Cursor, or Claude Code to write code faster than humans can review it unassisted.
Engineering leadership watching review time balloon instead of shrink. Faros AI’s finding that review time rose 91% as PR size grew 154%, even as generation itself sped up, is the exact metric showing up in engineering-leadership dashboards right now, and it’s the business case every one of these three vendors leads with in a sales conversation.
An open-source baseline enterprises still fall back on. The same Augment Code testing that stress-tested 10 open-source tools singled out SonarQube Community Edition as the one enterprises can run today with predictable, low-noise results, even though it has no real understanding of what a change is trying to accomplish. That’s a useful real-world reminder that a free, rule-based scanner run alongside a paid AI tool is still a common, sensible setup rather than an either-or choice.
Migration Guide: Switching Your Team to a New AI Code Reviewer
Moving from manual review, or from one AI tool to another, works better as a phased rollout than a company-wide flip of a switch. Teams that skip straight to an org-wide rollout tend to generate a wave of noisy comments in week one, developers start ignoring the bot by week three, and the tool gets quietly uninstalled by the end of the quarter. A slower, measured rollout avoids that outcome. This sequence holds up across CodeRabbit, Greptile, and Qodo.
- Audit your current bottleneck first. Pull actual cycle-time data: how long PRs sit open, how many comments get left unaddressed, and where review capacity is thinnest, before assuming an AI tool fixes the right problem.
- Pick one pilot repository. Choose something with moderate traffic and moderate stakes, not your most sensitive production service and not an abandoned side project either.
- Scope the integration narrowly. Connect the git platform integration with read access first, and hold off on write or auto-merge permissions until you trust the output.
- Set severity thresholds before turning on auto-comment. All three tools let you tune what counts as blocking versus advisory. Start stricter than you think you need to.
- Run the new tool in parallel with existing review for two to four weeks. Don’t remove human reviewers yet. The overlap period is where you learn the tool’s actual false-positive rate on your codebase, not the vendor’s marketing number.
- Track comment-acceptance rate, not comment volume. A tool that posts 40 comments a day and gets three addressed is worse than one that posts 10 and gets eight addressed.
- Tune or mute noisy rule categories. Every codebase has quirks a generic model flags incorrectly at first. Expect a real tuning period, not a one-time setup.
- Roll out repository by repository. Resist enabling the tool org-wide on day one, even after a successful pilot, since different repos carry different risk profiles and different tolerance for AI-generated noise.
- Decommission the old process only after a full sprint cycle with no regressions. That’s roughly two to four weeks of clean data, depending on your team’s cadence.
- Revisit your pricing tier every quarter. Credit-based plans from Greptile and, by some 2026 accounts, Qodo scale with pull request volume, not headcount, so a tier that fit in January can be the wrong one by a busy Q3.
Pros and Cons: CodeRabbit vs Greptile vs Qodo
| Tool | Pros | Cons |
|---|---|---|
| CodeRabbit | Broadest confirmed platform support (GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, GHE Server). 40+ bundled linters and SAST tools cut noise. Cheapest paid entry point at $12/month. Best-funded relative to company age. | Doesn’t generate code, pure review layer. Enterprise pricing reportedly starts around $15,000/month. |
| Greptile | Full-codebase indexing gives genuinely deeper context than diff-only tools. Free Starter tier for solo developers. Y Combinator-backed with fast-growing funding. | Highest false-positive risk flagged in at least one independent comparison. Credits can run out fast on high-PR-volume teams. Smallest total funding of the three. |
| Qodo | Deep open-source lineage via PR-Agent. Largest total funding ($120M) signals long runway. Enterprise governance features: SSO, audit logs, BYOK, on-prem. | Pricing model reportedly in flux in 2026, harder to budget for. Flagship open-source project downgraded to “legacy,” community-run status. Least platform-support detail in public sources. |
None of these trade-offs are disqualifying on their own. They’re the actual variables that should decide a shortlist, not the size of a vendor’s latest funding round.
Which Tool Fits Your Team? 7 Use-Case Recommendations
- Solo developers and pre-seed startups should start with CodeRabbit’s free tier or Greptile’s Starter plan. Neither costs anything for a single active developer, and the choice mostly comes down to whether you want CodeRabbit’s SAST-heavy approach or Greptile’s deeper contextual read.
- Teams on GitLab, Bitbucket, or Azure DevOps, not just GitHub, should lead with CodeRabbit. It’s the only one of the three with all four platforms plus GitHub Enterprise Server clearly confirmed in public documentation.
- Teams debugging a large, tangled monorepo should put Greptile at the top of the evaluation list. Full-codebase indexing is exactly the feature that helps most once a repository gets too big for a diff-only tool to reason about safely.
- Budget-conscious teams with low weekly PR volume get more predictable costs from CodeRabbit’s flat per-developer pricing than from either credit-based competitor, where a busy week can push the bill past what a flat seat price would have cost.
- Teams that want to inspect or self-host the underlying review logic should look at Qodo Merge and PR-Agent, with the caveat that Qodo no longer drives that project’s roadmap directly after April 2026’s community handoff.
- Regulated industries needing SSO, audit logs, bring-your-own-key model support, and on-prem deployment should shortlist Qodo Gen Enterprise or CodeRabbit Enterprise, and get a written quote from both before committing, since neither publishes exact enterprise pricing.
- Teams whose real risk is runtime behavior rather than static code patterns should evaluate outside this specific trio. All three tools reason over a diff without executing it, and for logic-heavy changes, a tool built to actually run the code catches a different category of bug entirely.
What Developers Are Saying
Vendor case studies are still catching up to how fast this category grew, but independent research has already captured developers describing the experience in their own words.
“Compared to humans, the AI is very thorough when looking at the code base and the changes within a pull request,” said a software engineer identified as Participant 01 in a 2025 study on AI-driven code review published in Issues in Information Systems.
Another participant in the same study, identified as Participant 05, put it more simply: “This automated code review process saves a lot of our time.” The same engineer also acknowledged the tool’s limits: “The comments we are getting are good; sometimes there are hallucinations; otherwise, I think it is pretty neat and pretty good.”
A third participant, Participant 06, offered the most measured take in the study, estimating trust in the tool’s output at “around 85% to 90%,” while adding: “I cannot completely trust it because, in my experience, the code breaks when I try to implement the same right, and it does not work as expected.”
That kind of qualified trust shows up in adoption data too. Researchers behind a 2024 study on automated code review in practice, published on arXiv, reported that “our findings suggest that the tool was effective, with 73.8% of the comments being acted upon,” a concrete measure of usefulness that goes beyond how many comments a tool is capable of generating.
The Verdict: Which AI Code Review Tool Wins in 2026
There’s no single winner across every team, but the data points to clear defaults. For most engineering organizations, CodeRabbit’s combination of the lowest entry price at $12 a month, the widest confirmed platform support across four git providers, and $88 million of funding behind continued development makes it the safest of the three AI code review tools to pilot first in 2026. It won’t write code for you, and its Enterprise tier isn’t cheap, but the core review product is the most complete out of the box.
Teams working inside a genuinely large, interconnected codebase should weigh Greptile seriously despite its smaller balance sheet. Full-repository indexing is a real technical advantage once a diff-only tool starts missing context that spans multiple files or services, even if that depth comes with a documented higher false-positive rate and a credit system that can get expensive on a high-velocity team.
Qodo earns a spot on the shortlist for two specific situations: teams already inside its Gen ecosystem for AI-assisted coding who want review from the same vendor, and teams that specifically value an open-source foundation, understanding that Qodo itself stepped back from actively maintaining that foundation in April 2026. Its $120 million war chest, the largest of the three, buys it time to figure out its pricing model, which multiple 2026 sources suggest was still in flux as of this writing.
Whichever tool makes the shortlist, the independent research is consistent on one point: none of these three replaces a senior human reviewer yet. Faros AI found review time went up, not down, once AI-generated code entered a team’s pipeline, and Veracode found close to half the AI-generated samples it tested carried an OWASP Top 10 vulnerability. Add a human gate before merge no matter which tool you choose, and treat the AI review as a faster first pass, not a final signature.
Run a real pilot before signing anything longer than a month. Every number in this comparison, pricing, funding, and platform support, came from public documentation and reporting rather than a live account, and vendors change packaging often enough in this category that a quote from six months ago may already be out of date. Ask each vendor for current pricing in writing, run the free tier or trial against the same pull request on the same day, and let your own false-positive rate decide the winner rather than a marketing page.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the main difference between CodeRabbit, Greptile, and Qodo?
CodeRabbit pairs its AI with more than 40 bundled linters and SAST scanners and supports the widest range of git platforms. Greptile indexes an entire codebase before reviewing a pull request, trading a higher false-positive risk for deeper context. Qodo builds its review product on the open-source PR-Agent project, now community-maintained, and packages it alongside a broader AI coding assistant called Qodo Gen.
Which of these AI code review tools is the cheapest?
CodeRabbit has the lowest paid entry price at $12 a month for its Lite tier. Greptile and Qodo both offer a free tier or trial for a single developer, but their paid tiers begin around $30 per seat per month, roughly 2.5 times CodeRabbit’s Lite price.
Can AI code review tools replace human code reviewers?
Not based on current independent research. Faros AI found that review time increased 91% and PR size grew 154% after AI-generated code entered a team’s pipeline, and Veracode found that 45% of AI-generated code samples it tested introduced an OWASP Top 10 vulnerability. Both point to more review need, not less, even with these tools in place.
Do CodeRabbit, Greptile, and Qodo support GitLab and Bitbucket, not just GitHub?
CodeRabbit publicly confirms support for GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, and GitHub Enterprise Server. Qodo’s own materials also reference GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, and Azure DevOps support. Greptile’s public documentation confirms GitHub support clearly, but doesn’t spell out the same detail for the other three platforms.
How accurate are AI code review tools at catching real bugs?
There’s no single agreed-upon accuracy figure across the category. A 2024 arXiv study found 73.8% of AI-generated review comments were acted on by developers, a proxy for usefulness, though a larger July 2026 Scrimba study of 31,073 review-feedback pairs across 239 GitHub repositories put real-world acceptance closer to 36.4% of comments across 10,191 pull requests. Separately, engineers in a 2025 academic study reported trusting AI review output at roughly 85% to 90%, while still flagging occasional hallucinated comments and code that broke on implementation.
What happened to Qodo’s PR-Agent open-source project?
In April 2026, Qodo transferred PR-Agent, the open-source project underlying Qodo Merge, to a community-owned GitHub organization and reverted its license from AGPL-3.0 back to Apache 2.0. By that point the project had around 11,000 GitHub stars, 1,500 forks, and 200 contributors, but its README now describes it as a community-maintained legacy project, meaning Qodo’s own engineering team no longer drives its roadmap.
Is it safe to run AI code review on private or proprietary code?
All three vendors offer enterprise tiers built around that exact concern, including SSO/SAML, audit logs, and in some cases bring-your-own-key model support or on-premises deployment. Teams with strict code-confidentiality requirements should confirm data-retention and model-training policies directly with the vendor before connecting a private repository, since self-serve plan documentation doesn’t always spell out those details in full.
How much money have CodeRabbit, Greptile, and Qodo raised?
CodeRabbit has raised $88 million total, including a $60 million Series B in September 2025 at a roughly $550 million valuation. Greptile has raised approximately $30 million, including a $25 million Series A in September 2025. Qodo has raised $120 million total across three rounds, including a $70 million Series B in March 2026, the largest single raise of the three companies.





