Skip to content

Update from 1.0.1 to 1.1.0 deletes VM #397

Open

Description

@plainprince

What's wrong?

I downloaded the new Try Omarchy 1.1.0 and started it, it then proceeded to delete my existing VM and overwrite it with a new omarchy version.
Now I tried finding the original VM but it seems no backup was created, it's just not recoverable. I had quite some stuff on that VM so I guess that's gone, but just letting y'all know to not update

System details

  • App version: 1.1.0
  • macOS version: 26.6.2
  • Apple chip: M2 max

Activity

  1. vincent-olivert-riera commented on Oct 21, 2026

    @vincent-olivert-riera

    Wow, that's scary! I was about to update from 1.0.1 to 1.1.0.
    Although my system details do not match yours (I have an M3 Pro with MacOS 15.7.7), I will refrain from updating, just in case.

    Thanks!

  2. plainprince commented on Oct 21, 2026

    @plainprince
    Author

    After some testing, it seems this happens through the omarchy update. The new version has quite some changes to omarchy (like the new status bar and some changes on how windows behave) and to apply these, it downloads the new omarchy image and overwrites your current one with it.

  3. themartiano commented on Oct 22, 2026

    @themartiano
    Collaborator

    Hey!
    I couldn't reproduce this issue.
    1.1.0 doesn't touch storage and omarchy update is the native command, it only install packages.
    Are you moving from a 0.x VM? In that case the data is still there and can be imported via Setup -> Import Previous VM.
    Does ~/Library/Application Support/Try Omarchy/VM/v1/disks/ exist on your machine? That is where disks from previous versions were placed.
    If you're able to provide more information that would be great so we can make sure this isn't happening or that it gets properly fixed.
    Thank you

  4. zoltanf commented on Oct 22, 2026

    @zoltanf

    I had the same thing happening. I updated from 0.6.0 I think.
    Managed to get some data back, with a cli try-omarch-previous-version (can't remember 100% the script name).
    However that basically restored most of the installed packages, and home folder. All my custom settings are gone.
    I used the agent on the vm to get the rest back. Not a pleasant experience, but ok.

  5. plainprince commented on Oct 22, 2026

    @plainprince
    Author

    The import previous VM worked (didn't see it) although it did not restore all my config, packages etc.
    I did update from 1.0.1 but my setup was really weird (I was working on a PR) so it is possible that I more of updated from a 0.x release.
    So yeah, I had the same experience as @zoltanf really.

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    No labels
    No labels

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions