Skip to content

Sync feature deleting my clips #3579

Open

Description

@FreshSoftware4

Describe the bug

Have some issues with the CopyQ sync feature on my 2x W11 SMB sharing PC setup, where when I search for a clip and select it from search, it deletes itself without warning, and when I try to select a clip normally without search it takes two tries, with the first setting the clip to empty.

To Reproduce

  1. Set up two Windows 11 PCs
  2. Configure CopyQ on both to synchronize a tab via an SMB shared folder
  3. Run CopyQ on both machines simultaneously
  4. Copy several items so they sync between machines

Case A (search):
5. Open CopyQ
6. Search for an existing clip
7. Select the clip from search results

Result:

  • The selected item is now gone and searching for it again verifies this. It also doesn't activate in the clipboard.

Case B (no search):
5. Open CopyQ
6. Select a clip from the normal list

Result:

  • First selection the clipboard is set to empty
  • Second selection the clipboard is set correctly

Expected behavior

Items from the clip tray remain and are activated when selected.

Screenshots

Version, OS and Environment

CopyQ 15.0.0
Arch: x86_64-little_endian-llp64
Audio: miniaudio 0.11.25
Compiler: MSVC
KNotifications: 6.23.0
KStatusNotifierItem: 6.23.0
OS: Windows 11 Version 25H2
QCA: 2.3.10
Qt: 6.10.2
QtKeychain: 0.15.0
has-audio: 1
has-encryption: 1
has-global-shortcuts: 1
has-keychain: 1
has-mouse-selection: 0

Additional context

https://chatgpt.com/share/69eeb297-5a28-83e8-b672-e247adbe3615
Got chatgpt to do a better-than-random-chance diagnostic & suggested fix. Probably helpful (I wasn't particularly satisfied, but my expectations are a tad high, which kinda shows in the chat itself)

Activity

  1. FreshSoftware4 commented on May 10, 2026

    @FreshSoftware4
    Author

    New update: this is cool so now if I select a lot of clips from my synced clipboard and move them to another tab that isn't synced... THEY BECOME BLANK

    In other words, DELETED

    Not thrilled with this.

    And to add insult to injury, the app vanishes the moment I even try to take a screenshot so I can't even demonstrate what the issue looks like.

    All I see in the clip data/metadata after this happened (and note that this applies to a big chunk of my clipboard, because I copied dozens of clips over to a different tab at once) is a blank text/plain and text/html section plus a file name and a file path.

    And note that when traversing to said file path (sync folder) and checking for said file name I find that indeed, THE FILE IS DELETED

    I'm thinking someone decided to remove redundancy in the sync feature to make things more 'clean' or 'optimized' but in reality it just means THERE IS NO FALLBACK IF THE APP DELETES THINGS FROM THE SYNC FOLDER

    And empirical verification here - IT DOES THAT

    Adding the sync feature should not subtract safety or persistence.

    The order of operations in this application will remain backwards until this is enforced.

    I noticed no attention paid to this issue so far.

    It's just going to sit here silently deleting people's data until it's addressed.

    I suggest it get treated with a bit of priority, unless this feels like acceptable runtime behavior to you.

  2. hluk commented on May 20, 2026

    @hluk
    Owner

    This looks like a duplicate of #3368.

    If you can, please try the fixed version mentioned in #3368 (comment).

  3. FreshSoftware4 commented on May 20, 2026

    @FreshSoftware4
    Author

    Not full duplicate since I'm using SMB but yes trying it right now, will update

  4. FreshSoftware4 commented on May 20, 2026

    @FreshSoftware4
    Author

    At the moment I can confirm that clip tray items still require being activated twice, so that is still an issue. Trying a few other tests to check for the other problems though.

  5. FreshSoftware4 commented on May 20, 2026

    @FreshSoftware4
    Author

    Tested with moving clips into a different tab. It's fine if there's a few clips, and the clips aren't very large. However, it still drops all the clips if you try to move a lot of them, and they're fairly large. Also installed the same one on my other PC (since I'm running them both side-by-side as one using inputleap & SMB) and I'm getting the same 'empty when activated the first time' issue and will test the other things on that one shortly. Primary PC is W11 OptiPlex 7070 and secondary is W11 OptiPlex 790 for reference if needed.

  6. hluk commented on May 21, 2026

    @hluk
    Owner

    Thanks for testing.

    I'm adding a few retries in case the sync files are being locked. Can you try the new build? Please share logs in case there are any warnings/errors.

  7. hluk commented on Oct 14, 2026

    @hluk
    Owner

    Reopening, details in #3622.

  8. reopened this on Oct 14, 2026
  9. added
    help wantedNeeds a volunteer to investigate/implement the issue
    on Oct 14, 2026
Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    WindowsRelates to Windows OSbughelp wantedNeeds a volunteer to investigate/implement the issue

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions