Skip to content

Wipe out record content on record delete  #1685

Description

@lvca

The delete of a record doesn't reset the content but just moves bytes around. This was mainly for efficiency. It would be cool to have a setting (enabled by default) to wipe out the content when deleting.

PROS:

  • security: deleted content is not readable, not even from the raw file
  • compression: having a sequence of 0 means the database can be more compressed at backup

CONS:

  • a little bit slower on delete because of the additional write operation

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

Labels

Type

No type

Projects

No projects

    Milestone

    Relationships

    None yet

    Development

    No branches or pull requests

    Issue actions