A Texas homeowner with two Powerwalls has run the numbers and concluded that a “free nights” electricity plan might beat the credit Tesla pays for its home batteries. According to The Cool Down, the owner currently sits on Tesla Electric Fixed, which pays up to $400 per home backup battery each year through a Virtual Power Plant pilot with ERCOT. With two units, that credit works out to $800 a year. The owner’s estimate says a free-overnight plan could land the annual bill near $224.
The headline conclusion is an owner’s analysis, not a confirmed result. The $224 figure is an estimate, not a billed amount, and the record does not name the owner or the retail provider behind the free-nights plan. Still, the story hits a live question for Texas Powerwall owners: is a flat annual credit better than a plan that gives away electricity during the hours a battery can charge for nothing?
This analysis walks through the reported rates, tests the owner’s arithmetic, flags what the available record leaves open, and compares the four ways a Texas household can run a Powerwall. Tesla’s push into grid services has been a recurring theme in our coverage, including the Megapack sell-out for 2027, and this small household-scale dispute sits on the same fault line.
Don't miss new tech stories on Google
Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.
What the Texas Powerwall Owner Actually Claimed
The Cool Down reports that the owner lives in Texas, owns two Powerwalls, and is on Tesla Electric. The owner pays 12.3 cents per kWh for standard usage and 7.2 cents per kWh between midnight and 4 a.m. On top of that sits a 6 cent per kWh charge from the transmission and distribution service provider, known as the TDSP. Exports earn a 3 cent per kWh sellback rate.
From those inputs, the owner estimated annual electricity costs of about $940 under the Tesla plan. The alternative scenario assumed a plan with free overnight power, with the Powerwalls charging from the grid at night and covering the day. In that scenario, the owner estimated daytime grid imports would fall from 4,412 kWh to roughly 620 kWh, and the yearly bill would drop to about $224.
That is a big swing on paper. Note the framing, though. The owner presented a scenario and a calculation. No one has published a twelve-month bill from the free-nights setup, and The Cool Down does not present the figure as one.
How Tesla Electric Fixed Pays the $800 Credit
Tesla Electric Fixed gives each enrolled Powerwall a $400 annual credit, capped at $1,200 per year for three Powerwalls, according to Tesla’s published plan details. Two Powerwalls therefore earn $800. A single Powerwall earns $400, and a fourth unit adds nothing beyond the cap.
Tesla’s incentive page ties the money to the Tesla Electric Virtual Power Plant Pilot with ERCOT. In plain terms, Tesla gets permission to use the stored energy in participating batteries to support the Texas grid, and the owner gets paid for the access. The credit rewards availability. It does not depend on how much electricity the household uses, which is why it behaves like a fixed offset against the bill.
That structure matters for the comparison. A flat credit is predictable and does not shrink if a household cuts its consumption. A free-nights plan, by contrast, delivers value only if the household shifts load into the free window. The two products reward different behavior, and the owner’s math tries to price that difference.
The Rate Card Behind the $940 Estimate
The table below collects the rates and credits reported for the Tesla plan, as cited by The Cool Down and Tesla’s published pages. Every number comes from the verified record, and nothing here is extrapolated.
| Item | Reported value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Standard energy rate | 12.3 cents per kWh | The Cool Down |
| Overnight rate (midnight to 4 a.m.) | 7.2 cents per kWh | The Cool Down |
| TDSP delivery charge | 6 cents per kWh | The Cool Down |
| Sellback rate | 3 cents per kWh | The Cool Down |
| Powerwall credit | $400 per year per Powerwall | Tesla |
| Credit cap | $1,200 per year (three Powerwalls) | Tesla |
| Owner’s annual cost estimate | About $940 | The Cool Down (owner estimate) |
One detail jumps out. The sellback rate of 3 cents sits far below the 12.3 cent import rate, and even further below the 18.3 cents a household effectively pays once the TDSP charge is added to the standard energy rate. That gap punishes exporting and rewards self-consumption, which is exactly the logic that pushes a Powerwall owner toward cheap or free overnight charging.
How Free Nights Could Cut Daytime Imports to 620 kWh
The mechanism is simple. A free-overnight plan charges nothing for energy during a set block of night hours. A battery owner fills the Powerwalls from the grid during that block, then runs the house from stored energy through the day. Every kilowatt-hour that comes from the battery instead of the grid during paid hours avoids a charge.
The owner estimated that this routine would shrink daytime imports from 4,412 kWh to about 620 kWh. That is a cut of 3,792 kWh, or roughly 86 percent of the baseline. The figure assumes the batteries can carry most of the daytime load, which is a big assumption for any home with air conditioning in a Texas summer. The record does not say how the owner modeled seasonal swings, so treat the 620 kWh number as a best-case planning figure.
Free-night plans are also not a single product, since hours, rates outside the free window, and contract terms typically differ by provider. The owner’s plan is not clearly identified in the available record, so no one can check the claim against a specific rate sheet.
$940 vs $224: Testing the Owner’s Math
The headline gap is $716 a year ($940 minus $224). That is smaller than the $800 credit in the title, which at first glance looks like a contradiction. It is not necessarily one, and the answer turns on a detail the record leaves open.
| Scenario | Tesla Electric Fixed | Free-nights plan | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Daytime grid imports | 4,412 kWh | About 620 kWh | Roughly 3,792 kWh less |
| Owner’s annual cost estimate | About $940 | About $224 | $716 in favor of free nights |
| Powerwall credit on top | $800 (two Powerwalls) | Not reported | Depends on the $940 basis |
| If $940 is before the credit | About $140 net | About $224 | Tesla ahead by about $84 |
| If $940 already includes the credit | About $940 | About $224 | Free nights ahead by $716 |
The last two rows are our arithmetic on the owner’s reported figures, not numbers published by The Cool Down or Tesla. They show why the question is not settled. If the $940 already nets out the $800 credit, free nights win by a wide margin. If the $940 is a pre-credit figure, Tesla’s plan comes out ahead by a small amount.
The Credit Ambiguity That Decides the Winner
The available record does not say whether the owner’s $940 includes the $800 credit. That single unknown flips the conclusion, so any reader weighing a switch should open their own bills and check how the credit appears. Tesla’s credit arrives as part of a plan, and since it belongs to Tesla Electric Fixed, leaving the plan means leaving the credit.
What the sheet confirms and what it does not
Confirmed in the record: the $400 per Powerwall credit, the $1,200 cap, the rate figures, the 4,412 kWh and 620 kWh import figures, and the owner’s $940 and $224 estimates. Not confirmed: the owner’s identity, the specific free-nights provider and plan, and any billed result from the free-nights setup. The headline claim that free nights “could beat” the credit is the owner’s analysis.
Why the basis matters beyond this one household
Other owners cannot copy the result without copying the baseline. A household with lower daytime usage gains less from free nights, because there is less daytime energy to displace. A household with heavy afternoon load gains more, as long as the batteries can actually carry it. Our earlier look at how Tesla’s energy revenue fell 16 percent in a recent quarter is a reminder that Tesla has strong reasons to keep owners inside its own plan.
Why the Virtual Power Plant Numbers Don’t Line Up
Tesla publishes two different-looking figures. Its incentive information says customers can earn up to $400 per home backup battery each year through the Tesla Electric Virtual Power Plant pilot with ERCOT. Tesla Electric’s Texas support information says qualifying Powerwall owners can earn $10 per Powerwall per month through its Virtual Power Plant.
Ten dollars a month comes to $120 a year, well under $400. The two figures may describe different plans, different enrollment paths, or different parts of the same program, and the available record does not reconcile them. The Fixed plan figure of $400 per Powerwall is the one the owner used, and Tesla’s plan details back it up.
For a buyer, the practical advice is to read the current plan page before enrolling and to save a copy of the terms. When a company publishes more than one number for the same program, the lower one is the safer planning figure. That is the conservative reading, and the owner’s $800 depends on the higher.
A Second Texas Owner Whose Powerwalls Won’t Refill
A separate Texas Tesla Solar owner adds a cautionary data point. The Cool Down reported that this owner, who also has two Powerwalls, sits on an electricity plan with free overnight power. The Powerwalls were not fully refilling overnight, which undercuts the central promise of the free-nights strategy.
A commenter on that story described a different experience. In the commenter’s words: “My system is working exactly how you want yours to. PW3 charges to 100% at 8pm (free nights).” The commenter’s name is not provided in the available record, and the comment does not say which plan or settings produced the result.
Two owners on similar-sounding plans, two different outcomes. That split suggests the savings depend on configuration as much as on the rate card. Charge schedules, reserve settings, and the length of the free window all shape whether the batteries reach full by morning. A calculation that assumes a full refill every night is only as good as the settings that deliver it.
Hardware Limits: Reserve, Charge Windows and Outage Cover
The second owner’s story is headlined around outage readiness, and that is the hidden cost of aggressive arbitrage. A Powerwall that drains every day to dodge paid electricity has less energy left when the grid goes down. Owners who bought batteries mainly for backup face a tradeoff between bill savings and resilience.
Home batteries age with use, too. Daily deep cycling accumulates wear faster than occasional backup use, and anyone planning around heavy cycling should check the warranty terms for throughput limits. For a broader view of how cycle count shapes lifespan, see our explainer on how long portable power stations last, which covers the same battery-wear logic at a smaller scale.
The hardware angle also explains why the owner in the headline story did the import math at all. Two Powerwalls store a finite amount of energy. If the household’s daytime demand exceeds what the batteries can deliver, imports rise, and the 620 kWh estimate rises with them. The model works only when battery capacity, solar production if any, and daytime load line up.
Market Impact: Retail Providers vs Tesla Electric
Texas runs a competitive retail electricity market, so a Powerwall owner can shop for a provider. Tesla Electric competes in that market with a bundled pitch: the plan, the hardware, and a payment for grid services. Free-nights providers compete on a simpler promise of cheap or free energy in the off-peak hours that batteries are good at exploiting.
If owners like the one in The Cool Down’s story leave Tesla Electric for free-nights plans, Tesla loses the battery capacity it can dispatch into the grid. A Virtual Power Plant is only as large as its enrolled fleet. Tesla’s credit therefore works as both a perk and a retention tool, and the $800 figure is partly the price Tesla pays to keep stored energy under its control.
Grid operators have their own interest. Distributed batteries that charge at night and discharge at peak ease strain on a system dealing with fast-rising demand, a pressure we covered in our report on data center moratoriums in Maryland. A free-nights customer who charges from the grid in the dead of night helps flatten load. A Tesla customer who discharges on command helps cover peaks. Both behaviors serve the grid, through different incentives.
Buyers weighing a new system can also find Texas-specific context on taxes and charging in the Texas Tesla buying guide from Tesla North America Guide, which covers Austin, Dallas, and Houston.
Competitive Comparison: Four Ways to Run a Powerwall in Texas
The table lays out the four realistic routes using only reported or logically implied features. It is a framework, not a ranking, because the right pick depends on household load.
| Approach | How it earns or saves | Reported figure | Main risk |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla Electric Fixed with VPP | Flat annual credit per Powerwall | $400 per Powerwall, $1,200 cap | Locks the owner into Tesla’s plan and dispatch |
| Free-nights plan with grid charging | Avoids paid daytime imports | Owner estimate: bill near $224 | Batteries may not refill, as one owner reported |
| Tesla Electric VPP at $10 per month | Monthly payment per Powerwall | $10 per Powerwall per month | Lower annual payout than the Fixed plan figure |
| Tesla overnight rate only | Cheaper block from midnight to 4 a.m. | 7.2 cents per kWh | Four-hour window may be too short to refill |
The four-hour overnight window on the Tesla plan is worth flagging. A free-nights plan may offer a longer free block, which is what makes a full refill more plausible. The record does not give the owner’s free window, so the point stays a question rather than a finding. For more hardware coverage in this vein, browse our hardware category.
Historical Context: From Backup Box to Grid Asset
Home batteries began as insurance against outages, and the second Cool Down story shows that backup role still matters to owners. Tesla’s current pitch has widened the product’s job. A Powerwall now doubles as an income source, because the Virtual Power Plant pilot with ERCOT lets Tesla aggregate home units and sell their flexibility to the grid.
Free-nights plans come from the opposite direction. Free-nights plans are a familiar product in the Texas retail market, aimed at customers with flexible usage. The two histories collided when battery owners realized they could hold stored energy cheaply and use it when prices run high. The owner in The Cool Down story is among the first to put a number on that collision for a specific Tesla plan.
The word “pilot” in Tesla’s own program name is also telling. A pilot can change terms, caps, and payments as the grid operator and Tesla learn what works. An owner who builds a five-year financial model on the current $400 figure is betting that a pilot’s terms hold still.
Five Predictions for Texas Powerwall Owners
These are our forecasts, not reported facts.
- Owners will demand the billing basis. Expect forum threads that publish actual twelve-month bills from both setups, which will settle whether the $940 figure included the credit.
- Tesla will defend the credit. A visible comparison like this one gives Tesla a reason to stress the credit’s predictability and the bundled support of an in-house plan.
- Free-nights providers will court battery owners. Retail providers can market directly to Powerwall households, because those customers shift load by design.
- Configuration guides will multiply. The split between the owner whose batteries did not refill and the commenter who reached 100 percent will push owners to share exact schedules and reserve settings.
- Plan terms will tighten. If many owners adopt overnight arbitrage, providers may shorten free windows or add usage conditions, which would erode the headline savings.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Tesla Electric Fixed pay per Powerwall?
Tesla’s published plan details list a $400 per year credit for each Powerwall, capped at $1,200 per year for three Powerwalls. A household with two Powerwalls earns $800.
Is the $224 annual bill a confirmed number?
No. The $224 figure is the owner’s estimate for a free-overnight setup, as reported by The Cool Down. It is not a billed amount.
Which free-nights plan did the owner use?
The available record does not identify the specific provider or plan. Anyone planning a switch should compare current plans and read the full terms.
Do free nights beat the $800 credit?
It depends on whether the owner’s $940 estimate already includes the credit. If it does, free nights come out $716 ahead on the owner’s numbers. If it does not, Tesla’s plan comes out ahead by about $84 on our arithmetic. The claim remains an analysis, not a confirmed outcome.
Why did some Powerwalls not refill overnight?
The Cool Down reported a second Texas owner whose two Powerwalls were not fully refilling on a free-overnight plan. The record does not give a cause, though a commenter said a Powerwall 3 on a free-nights plan charges to 100 percent at 8 p.m.
What does Tesla’s Virtual Power Plant pay per month?
Tesla Electric’s Texas support information says qualifying Powerwall owners can earn $10 per Powerwall per month through its Virtual Power Plant. That differs from the $400 per year credit on the Fixed plan, and the record does not reconcile the two.
Does switching plans cost the Powerwall credit?
The credit belongs to Tesla Electric Fixed and the Virtual Power Plant pilot, so leaving that plan would end the credit. Check Tesla’s current terms before making a change.





