Steam’s Achievement Sets Debut, Streaming Hits 1Gbps [2026]

Valve pushed one of its densest Steam client updates of 2026 into the beta channel on October 16, splitting achievement tracking into separate Steam Achievement Sets, rebuilding the Big Picture home screen around game artwork, and quietly raising the ceiling on Remote Play streaming bitrate to 1 Gbit/s. The changes landed alongside an ongoing SteamOS 3.9.3 beta for Steam Deck, making this the broadest simultaneous touch on Steam’s client, interface, and streaming stack in months.

None of this shipped as a single headline announcement. Instead, it arrived the way most Steam beta client patch notes do, through a string of changes between October 1 and October 16, 2026, that collectively rewrite how achievements, art, and game streaming behave across Steam, Big Picture, and SteamOS. For a storefront that still anchors an estimated 74 to 75 percent of global PC digital game sales, according to third-party Steam statistics trackers, even incremental beta changes carry outsized weight for the roughly 130,000 titles listed on the platform.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

Steam Achievement Sets Enter Beta on October 16

The centerpiece of the update is Steam Achievement Sets, which Valve began rolling out in beta on October 16, 2026. The feature lets developers separate achievements tied to a game’s base campaign from achievements attached to downloadable content and seasonal or limited-time events. Until now, Steam treated every achievement attached to a game’s App ID as part of one flat list, which meant a late DLC drop or a holiday event could permanently drag down a player’s displayed completion percentage even if they had already finished everything available at launch.

Steam Achievement Sets fix that by letting a title define multiple achievement groupings under one game page. A base-game set stays fixed once a player clears it, while DLC sets and event sets track separately and no longer dilute the base completion number. Valve also added the ability to compare achievement progress with up to three friends at the same time, up from the one-on-one comparison view Steam has used for years. For a platform where achievement hunting has become its own subculture, that is a meaningful quality-of-life change, not a cosmetic one.

How Achievement Sets Change Completion Percentages

The practical effect shows up on a player’s profile. Previously, a 100 percent completion badge earned on release day could silently drop to 92 percent the moment a developer shipped three new DLC achievements. Under Steam Achievement Sets, that base-game badge stays locked at 100 percent, with the DLC or event set appearing as its own separately tracked bar. Developers get a cleaner way to reward long-tail content without punishing players who already finished the core game, and Valve gets a system that should encourage more frequent post-launch achievement support rather than less.

Big Art Mode Rebuilds the Steam Home Screen Around Artwork

Alongside Achievement Sets, the same October 16 beta introduced Big Art Mode, a new home-screen option enabled through Settings > Home. Big Art Mode shifts emphasis away from Steam’s dense, list-heavy interface toward large cover art and key art, and it is available in both Big Picture mode on desktop and in the SteamOS gaming experience on Steam Deck and other SteamOS handhelds. It is the clearest sign yet that Valve is treating the living-room and handheld experience as a design priority rather than an afterthought bolted onto the desktop client.

Valve paired the visual overhaul with a new screensaver feature under Settings > Customization, which includes a default game-art slideshow and an optional retro-style bouncing-logo screensaver, a nod to the bouncing DVD-logo screensavers of the 1990s and 2000s. The same beta patch also reworked the discounts and events section of Steam’s home page to lean more heavily on dynamic, personalized algorithmic sorting instead of a mostly static storefront layout, a change that affects how roughly 130,000 catalog titles get surfaced to the platform’s active user base.

SteamOS 3.9.3 Beta Brings Parallel Changes to Steam Deck

Running in parallel with the client-side changes is a SteamOS 3.9.3 beta, confirmed live on the SteamOS Beta and Preview channels as of October 16, 2026. Valve’s Steam Deck news page describes the release as still being actively tested, meaning features inside it are subject to change before a stable rollout. That lines up with Valve’s usual cadence of using Steam Deck as a proving ground for interface and input changes before they reach the wider desktop client.

Two technical changes stand out inside the SteamOS and Linux side of the update. First, Steam added a setting that lets players change their preferred Steam Input mode specifically for VR titles, giving VR users more granular control over how their controllers map inside headset-driven games. Second, Valve enabled Vulkan video decoding inside the SteamRT3C Linux beta runtime, a change aimed at offloading video decode work to the GPU more efficiently on Linux-based SteamOS hardware, including Steam Deck.

Opting Into the SteamOS Beta Channel

Steam Deck owners who want early access to SteamOS 3.9.3 can switch branches from the System section of Settings, where Valve exposes a Beta Participation option alongside the stable, beta, and preview channels. Advanced users can also switch branches directly from a terminal session using Valve’s branch-selection tool, which is the same mechanism Valve documents for moving a Deck between the Stable, Beta, and Preview SteamOS tracks.

steamos-select-branch beta
# or, for the earliest preview build:
steamos-select-branch preview

Because SteamOS 3.9.3 is still a beta build, Valve recommends it for players comfortable troubleshooting occasional instability rather than for a primary, daily-driver Steam Deck.

Remote Play Streaming Gets a 1 Gbit/s Bitrate Ceiling

The least flashy change in the October 2026 Steam update may end up mattering the most for players who stream games across their home network. An October 1, 2026 beta patch added a recovery dialog that appears when a local network cannot sustain the player’s chosen streaming settings, replacing what had previously been a silent quality drop or a frozen stream with an explicit prompt. Valve also improved the automatic bitrate calculation used by Steam’s Pyrowave streaming technology and raised the manual bitrate ceiling available to advanced users to 1 Gbit/s, a significant jump for anyone running Steam Link, Remote Play Together, or desktop streaming over a fast local network.

Valve also added a dedicated option to stop desktop streaming directly from the Steam menu, and it improved how the client handles screen dimming and screensaver activation during active video playback, a long-standing annoyance for anyone using Steam to stream movies, trailers, or gameplay capture to a second screen. Together, the streaming changes put Steam’s home-network streaming stack closer in capability to third-party tools that gaming enthusiasts already use for similar purposes.

Why Valve Is Shipping This Now

The timing is not an accident. Valve has spent much of 2026 expanding beyond its traditional desktop storefront, including discontinuing the aging Valve Index VR headset in favor of its newer Steam Frame hardware, a move the company framed as a generational hardware transition rather than a retreat from VR. Layering Achievement Sets, Big Art Mode, and higher streaming bitrates on top of that hardware push suggests Valve is trying to make the software experience feel as current as the hardware lineup it is now selling, from Steam Deck to Steam Frame.

It also lands in the middle of what analysts have called a subscription and storefront arms race across the industry, with Sony’s PlayStation Plus, Microsoft’s Xbox Game Pass, and Epic Games Store all competing aggressively for player attention through October 2026. Valve does not run a Game Pass-style subscription, so its competitive lever is almost entirely about storefront quality, social features like achievement comparison, and the breadth of its hardware ecosystem rather than a monthly catalog rotation.

Market Impact: Steam’s Numbers Behind the Update

Steam’s scale is what makes even a beta-stage interface change newsworthy. Independent Steam statistics trackers reported a 2026 concurrent-user record north of 42 million, with figures ranging from roughly 42.04 million in January 2026 to roughly 42.32 million by late March 2026, depending on which tracking service is cited. Those numbers make Steam, by a wide margin, the largest PC gaming storefront by active concurrent users, dwarfing the reach of any single competing launcher.

Valve’s revenue structure also explains why features like Achievement Sets matter commercially, not just socially. Valve’s standard split remains 70 percent to the developer and 30 percent to Valve, but its published volume tiers drop Valve’s cut to 25 percent after a title crosses $10 million in gross Steam revenue, and to 20 percent after $50 million. Encouraging more post-launch DLC and event content, without punishing a game’s visible completion stats, directly supports the kind of long-tail revenue Valve’s tiered cut structure is designed to reward.

StorefrontDeveloper / Platform SplitEst. Catalog SizeAchievement SystemCloud SavesEst. PC Market Share
Steam70/30 standard; 75/25 after $10M; 80/20 after $50M~117,000-130,000 gamesYes (Steam Achievements, now with Achievement Sets)Yes (Steam Cloud, game-by-game)~74-75% globally
Epic Games Store88/12 standard~6,000 gamesYes (Epic Achievements, title-dependent)Yes (title-dependent)~3% globally / ~8-10% in the US
GOG~70/30 standardNot publicly disclosed for 2026Yes (GOG Galaxy achievements, title-dependent)Yes (GOG Galaxy, title-dependent)Not publicly disclosed
Microsoft Store / Xbox PC appVaries by program and distribution dealNot publicly disclosed for 2026Yes (Xbox achievements, title-dependent)Yes (Xbox cloud saves, title-dependent)~6-8% of the US PC market

Figures are drawn from third-party Steam statistics trackers and industry revenue estimates current as of October 2026; exact catalog counts and market-share figures vary by methodology and are not official platform disclosures from Epic, GOG, or Microsoft.

Competitive Comparison: Steam vs Epic Games Store vs GOG vs Xbox PC App

Achievement Sets widen a gap that already existed between Steam and its closest rivals. Epic Games Store supports achievements, but adoption is inconsistent across its roughly 6,000-title catalog, and Epic has not announced an equivalent to Achievement Sets. GOG’s Galaxy client offers achievements and cloud saves for supported titles, but GOG’s catalog skews toward DRM-free classic and mid-size releases rather than the live-service, DLC-heavy titles that benefit most from Achievement Sets’ split-tracking model.

Microsoft’s answer to cross-platform achievement and progress consistency runs through a different mechanism entirely: Xbox Play Anywhere and Xbox’s unified achievement system, which already treats PC and console versions of a title as one entitlement. That is arguably a more ambitious cross-device model than Steam’s Achievement Sets, but it only applies within Microsoft’s own ecosystem, while Steam’s changes apply broadly across its entire third-party catalog regardless of publisher. The subscription side of the comparison looks different again; Steam does not operate a Game Pass or PS Plus-style catalog subscription, leaving storefront polish, social features, and hardware (Steam Deck, Steam Frame) as its main differentiators against Xbox Game Pass and PlayStation Plus.

Cloud gaming adds a third axis to the comparison. Services like GeForce NOW already let Steam library owners stream supported titles from the cloud onto a Steam Deck, which is a different proposition from Valve’s own Remote Play streaming between a user’s own PC and devices on their home network. The bitrate ceiling increase to 1 Gbit/s specifically targets that home-network use case rather than competing directly with cloud-rendering services, since Remote Play still depends on a local gaming PC doing the actual rendering.

Historical Context: Steam Achievements Since 2007

Steam Achievements launched in 2007 alongside Half-Life 2: The Episodes update, and for nearly two decades the system worked the same basic way: a developer defined a flat list of achievements tied to a single App ID, and a player’s completion percentage reflected every achievement ever added to that ID, regardless of when it shipped. That design made sense when most games launched complete and rarely received major post-launch content. It became a liability as live-service updates, battle passes, and recurring seasonal content turned into standard practice across the industry over the 2015-2025 period.

Achievement Sets is Valve’s first structural rework of that system in its history, rather than an incremental feature addition. It arrives nearly 20 years after achievements first launched on Steam, and it directly answers a complaint players and developers have raised consistently since live-service and DLC-driven games became common: that Steam’s achievement math punished games for staying supported.

Developer and Publisher Considerations

For studios actively supporting live-service or long-tail titles, Achievement Sets changes the calculus around shipping post-launch content. A developer no longer has to weigh the reputational cost of dropping a player’s completion badge against the benefit of adding new achievements for a DLC pack or seasonal event. That removes a disincentive that has existed since achievements became a marketing and retention tool, and it is likely to encourage more frequent small content drops rather than infrequent large ones, since each drop can now live in its own achievement set without touching the base game’s completion number.

Because Achievement Sets, Big Art Mode, and the streaming bitrate changes are all still in Steam’s beta channel as of October 16, 2026, developers implementing the new achievement structure are working against a moving target. Valve has a long track record of iterating on beta features for weeks or months before a stable rollout, and SteamOS 3.9.3’s beta-and-preview-channel status suggests the same caution applies to the platform’s Steam Deck-facing changes.

Steam October 2026 Beta Update Timeline

DateChangeChannel
October 1, 2026Streaming recovery dialog added for network/bitrate mismatches; Pyrowave automatic bitrate calculation improvedSteam Client Beta
October 9, 2026Incremental Steam Beta Client update with stability and minor feature fixesSteam Client Beta
October 15, 2026Mute toggle added to volume sliders in the Quick Access Menu voice-chat tabSteam Client Beta
October 16, 2026Steam Achievement Sets beta rollout; Big Art Mode; new screensaver options; VR Steam Input mode setting; Vulkan video decoding in SteamRT3C; manual bitrate ceiling raised to 1 Gbit/sSteam Client Beta / SteamOS 3.9.3 Beta

What This Means for Steam Deck and SteamOS Owners

Steam Deck owners get a disproportionate share of the benefit from this update because so much of it targets Big Picture and SteamOS directly rather than the desktop client alone. Big Art Mode is explicitly designed for the SteamOS gaming experience, the new screensaver options live in the same handheld-first settings menu, and the VR Steam Input mode preference matters most to anyone pairing a Deck or a desktop PC with a headset. Vulkan video decoding inside SteamRT3C is a lower-level change that should help video playback efficiency on SteamOS hardware, though Valve has not published specific performance or battery-life figures tied to the change.

Players who rely on cloud-based alternatives, such as streaming a Steam library through GeForce NOW on Steam Deck, will not see a direct effect from the Remote Play bitrate increase, since that change applies specifically to Valve’s own home-network streaming technology rather than third-party cloud-rendering services.

Predictions: Where Steam’s Feature Roadmap Goes Next

  • Achievement Sets will likely graduate from beta to Steam’s stable client within the next one to two major update cycles, following Valve’s usual pattern of running new systems in beta for several weeks before a general rollout.
  • Expect more developers to retroactively adopt Achievement Sets for existing live-service titles once the stable release ships, since the change removes a longstanding disincentive around shipping post-launch achievements.
  • Big Art Mode is likely to become the default home-screen presentation on SteamOS hardware, including Steam Deck and Steam Frame, given Valve’s pattern of testing interface changes on SteamOS before extending them to desktop Big Picture mode.
  • The 1 Gbit/s Remote Play bitrate ceiling will matter mostly to a narrow slice of enthusiasts with fast local networks and powerful host PCs; most players streaming over home Wi-Fi will not notice a practical difference versus the previous ceiling.
  • Valve’s parallel move to retire Valve Index VR in favor of Steam Frame suggests further VR-specific Steam Input and streaming refinements are likely to keep shipping through the SteamOS beta channel into 2027, rather than arriving as one consolidated release.

Broader cloud and subscription dynamics will keep shaping how much attention Valve’s storefront changes draw. Industry analysts have pointed to shifting consumer habits around cloud gaming eventually displacing dedicated console hardware, a trend that puts added pressure on Valve to keep Steam’s own software experience, not just its hardware lineup, feeling current against competing ecosystems like Xbox Game Pass and PlayStation Plus.

How Steam’s Update Fits Valve’s Wider 2026 Platform Strategy

Valve’s 2026 has been defined by parallel bets on hardware and software polish rather than a single blockbuster release. The company’s decision to discontinue the original Valve Index VR headset in favor of its newer Steam Frame hardware signaled that Valve is willing to sunset older product lines to push its ecosystem forward, and the October 2026 client and SteamOS beta changes read as the software half of that same push. Achievement Sets, Big Art Mode, and the streaming bitrate increase do not require new hardware to use, which keeps the benefits available to Steam’s entire install base rather than only to buyers of Valve’s newest devices.

That breadth-first approach contrasts with how some competitors iterate, where platform-specific features sometimes arrive tied to a particular console generation or storefront tier. Valve’s own hardware for handheld streaming and cloud access, including scenarios covered in cross-platform cloud streaming setups elsewhere in the gaming hardware space, shows how fragmented the broader streaming landscape has become, which makes Valve’s decision to improve its own first-party Remote Play stack, rather than simply leaning on third-party services, a notable strategic choice.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Steam Achievement Sets?

Steam Achievement Sets is a beta feature Valve began rolling out on October 16, 2026, that lets developers separate achievements for a game’s base campaign, downloadable content, and seasonal events into distinct groups. DLC and event achievements no longer lower a player’s displayed base-game completion percentage.

How do I try Steam Achievement Sets right now?

Achievement Sets is only visible for games whose developers have adopted the system and only through Steam’s Beta Client as of October 2026. Players cannot force the feature on for games that have not implemented it, since the achievement structure has to be defined on the developer side first.

What is Big Art Mode on Steam?

Big Art Mode is a home-screen display option, enabled through Settings > Home, that emphasizes large game cover art and key art over Steam’s traditional list-based layout. It is available in both desktop Big Picture mode and the SteamOS gaming experience on Steam Deck and other SteamOS handhelds.

How do I join the SteamOS 3.9.3 beta on Steam Deck?

Steam Deck owners can switch to the Beta or Preview channel through Settings > System > Beta Participation, or by running steamos-select-branch beta from a terminal session. SteamOS 3.9.3 is still in active testing as of October 2026, so Valve recommends it for users comfortable with occasional instability rather than as a daily-driver build.

What changed with Steam’s Remote Play streaming bitrate?

An October 2026 beta update raised the manual bitrate ceiling available to advanced Remote Play users to 1 Gbit/s and improved the automatic bitrate calculation used by Steam’s Pyrowave streaming technology. Valve also added a recovery dialog that appears when a local network cannot sustain a player’s chosen streaming settings.

Does Epic Games Store or GOG have anything like Steam Achievement Sets?

No. As of October 2026, neither Epic Games Store nor GOG has announced an equivalent split-achievement system. Both platforms support achievements on a title-by-title basis, but neither separates base-game, DLC, and event achievements the way Steam’s new Achievement Sets does.

Will Steam Achievement Sets affect my existing completion percentage?

Only for games whose developers adopt Achievement Sets. Once a title implements the system, its base-game completion percentage locks in separately from any DLC or event achievement sets added afterward, which should prevent further retroactive drops in displayed completion for that title.

Is Steam still the largest PC game storefront in 2026?

Yes. Independent Steam statistics trackers reported a 2026 concurrent-user record above 42 million, and third-party estimates put Steam’s share of global PC digital game sales at roughly 74 to 75 percent, far ahead of Epic Games Store, GOG, and the Microsoft Store/Xbox PC app combined.

Marcus Chen

Marcus Chen

Gaming & Consumer Tech Editor

Marcus Chen is a senior editor at Tech Insider, where he leads coverage of the US online gaming market, including sweepstakes and social casinos, alongside consumer technology. He evaluates operators on their published terms, licensing and RNG certifications, stated redemption policies, and corroborating independent reporting, and writes plainly about what the evidence supports. Tech Insider does not run first-party money tests and does not gamble with reader funds. Marcus has reported on the technology and online-gaming industries for more than a decade.

View all articles