Nintendo Switch 2 owners woke up on October 22 to an unannounced Lara Croft release. Shadow of the Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition landed on the Nintendo eShop with no long marketing runway, and Nintendo Life reported the shadow drop alongside a matching trilogy collection. The price is $39.99, with a 10% launch discount that brings it to $35.99 through November 4, 2026.
Aspyr and Crystal Dynamics are the two companies tied to the release. The package bundles the base game, every piece of previously released DLC, seven Challenge Tombs, side missions, and two-player online co-op. That is the full 2018 adventure in one purchase, now on Nintendo’s newest hardware.
This analysis breaks down what shipped, what the price means, and what remains unconfirmed. It also looks at how a quiet back-catalog drop fits the way Switch 2 pricing has been shifting, a theme we covered in our look at Switch 2 digital and physical pricing. We rely on named outlets and the published listings, and we flag every gap in the public record.
Don't miss new tech stories on Google
Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.
What Aspyr and Crystal Dynamics Shipped on October 22
The listing went live on the Nintendo eShop on October 22, 2026. Netto’s Game Room confirmed the game was out now on Nintendo Switch 2, and the Tomb Raider fan site Tomb Raider Chronicles ran its own launch headline the same cycle. Gematsu, IGN and Nintendo Everything also covered the story, according to the reports gathered for this piece.
Neither Aspyr nor Crystal Dynamics, as far as the available coverage shows, called the launch a surprise or a shadow drop in an official statement. That label comes from media coverage. The practical meaning is simple, though. Players could buy the game the moment they noticed it, with no pre-order window and no countdown.
The release also arrived as a pair. A trilogy collection, Tomb Raider: Definitive Survivor Trilogy, went live next to the standalone game. We cover that bundle in its own section below, because the price gap between the two products shapes who should buy what.
Shadow of the Tomb Raider Switch 2 Price: $39.99, Then $35.99
The regular price is $39.99. Nintendo’s listing shows a 10% launch discount that takes the price to $35.99, a saving of exactly $4.00. The discount runs through November 4, 2026, which gives buyers roughly twelve days from the October 22 launch. The official Nintendo US site is where the eShop listing and any price changes appear.
| Detail | Confirmed value |
|---|---|
| Platform | Nintendo Switch 2 |
| Store | Nintendo eShop (digital) |
| Launch date | October 22, 2026 |
| Regular price | $39.99 |
| Launch discount | 10% |
| Sale price | $35.99 |
| Discount ends | November 4, 2026 |
| Companies named | Aspyr, Crystal Dynamics |
A $35.99 sale price for a full-length third-person adventure with all its DLC looks modest next to many first-party Switch 2 titles. Other Switch 2 offers have been moving by similar small steps. We tracked one of them in our report on the Ocarina of Time Switch 2 pre-order cut, where a $10 discount drew attention. The Tomb Raider discount is smaller in dollars but sits on a game that is already in its complete form.
What the Definitive Edition Includes
Per the launch reports, the package includes the base game and all previously released DLC. Specifically, that means seven Challenge Tombs plus side missions. Noisy Pixel’s launch write-up adds that the extras cover weapons, outfits, and skills, which matches how the original game’s downloadable content was structured.
The edition name signals a bundled, all-in-one version. Buyers do not need to hunt for add-ons in the eShop or track which expansion unlocks which tomb. For a handheld-first audience, one download that holds everything is a real convenience.
The core game follows Lara Croft as she tries to stop a Mayan apocalypse while facing the organization Trinity. Noisy Pixel describes a route through jungles, ancient ruins, and the hidden Incan city of Paititi. Gameplay mixes exploration, environmental puzzles, and stealth.
Two-Player Online Co-op on Switch 2
Co-op is one of the few features the fact sheet lists by name. The Switch 2 version supports two-player online co-op. Noisy Pixel notes that it applies to select Challenge Tombs, so players should not expect the full campaign to turn into a two-person game.
What the co-op detail tells us
Online co-op on a single-player adventure is a niche feature. It does, however, give the Challenge Tombs more life after the story ends. For a friend pair on separate consoles, the seven tombs become a short shared project.
The public coverage does not describe matchmaking rules, voice chat support, or whether local play exists. We treat all three as unknown until Aspyr, Crystal Dynamics, or Nintendo publish more detail.
Tomb Raider: Definitive Survivor Trilogy at $69.99
The second product is the trilogy collection, listed at $69.99. According to Noisy Pixel, it contains Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition, Rise of the Tomb Raider: 20 Year Celebration, and Shadow of the Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition. With this drop, all three reboot-era games are on Switch 2.
| Game in the collection | Original release | Role in the story |
|---|---|---|
| Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition | 2013 reboot | Opens the trilogy |
| Rise of the Tomb Raider: 20 Year Celebration | 2015 | Middle chapter |
| Shadow of the Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition | 2018 | Closes the trilogy |
| Collection price | n/a | $69.99 |
| Standalone Shadow price | n/a | $39.99 ($35.99 on sale) |
The release years above come from Noisy Pixel’s description of the trilogy’s history. We do not state individual prices for the first two games because the sources we reviewed do not list them. Readers should check the eShop before assuming the collection beats buying the games one at a time.
Why a Shadow Drop? Reading the Release Strategy
Shadow drops work best for games players already know. A 2018 adventure with a finished DLC library needs little explanation, so a short trailer and an eShop page can do the selling. Aspyr and Crystal Dynamics also released launch trailers for both the standalone game and the trilogy, per Noisy Pixel.
The upside for a publisher is plain. A surprise release creates one burst of news coverage in a single day, which suits a port that cannot compete on novelty. The downside is that the launch goes to whoever happens to browse the eShop that day. The 10% discount through November 4 looks designed to reward those early buyers and to give the listing a push before the price returns to $39.99.
There is a middle path as well. Some publishers announce a release a day or two ahead, which lets press prepare reviews and lets fans plan. Choosing a same-day drop instead means the first wave of coverage was news posts, not reviews. That fits Noisy Pixel’s launch piece, which reads as an availability notice with prices and contents rather than hands-on impressions.
We should be careful here. No company statement in our sources explains the strategy. This section is our reading of the pattern, not a confirmed motive.
What Is Still Unconfirmed
The launch coverage we reviewed leaves several questions open. Performance sits at the top of the list. Resolution, frame rate, and any performance modes were not specified in the sources available to us. The same goes for file size and for any Switch 2-specific enhancements.
| Question | Status |
|---|---|
| Resolution and frame rate | Not specified in reviewed sources |
| Performance modes | Not specified |
| File size | Not specified |
| Switch 2-specific enhancements | Not specified |
| On-record quote from a named person | None found |
| Official use of the term shadow drop | Appears in media coverage only |
We also searched for attributable statements from developers or executives and found none. That is why this article carries no expert-quote section. Where a quote would normally sit, we paraphrase the named outlets instead.
Storage and Download Planning for Switch 2 Owners
The file size is unannounced, which matters for anyone with a nearly full console. A game that bundles a base campaign plus all DLC can be large, but we will not guess a number. Check the eShop page before you buy, since the listing is the authoritative place for the install size.
Players who keep a big Switch 2 library often rely on expansion cards. Our report on the SanDisk 512GB Switch 2 card and its rebate covers that side of the decision. A trilogy purchase, in particular, could ask for more space than a single title, so plan storage before you commit to the $69.99 bundle.
Where It Fits in the Switch 2 Port Pipeline
This drop continues a run of older, well-known games reaching Switch 2 at a steady clip. Recent examples we covered include the Ys VIII Switch 2 port and the Riders Republic Switch 2 release. Each one targets players who want a proven game on the newer console.
Existing ports also keep getting patched after launch. We reported on the Witcher 3 Switch 2 patch aimed at image quality, which shows how a port’s first version is often not its last. That history is a fair reason to watch the Tomb Raider release for post-launch updates, though no patch has been announced.
Market Impact: Back-Catalog Pricing on Switch 2
At $39.99, Shadow of the Tomb Raider is priced as a catalog title. That positioning is the main market effect of the launch. A complete older game, DLC included, competes with new releases for the same wallet and the same weekend.
The quick-drop approach also tests how much attention a port can earn without a big campaign. If the eShop chart and community reaction stay warm over the next two weeks, expect more publishers to try similar releases. The wider gaming picture, including the console and handheld market, is tracked in our gaming coverage.
Three signals will show whether the approach works. The first is eShop chart placement during the discount window. The second is how loudly players discuss the port on community forums once performance testing lands. The third is whether Aspyr or Crystal Dynamics follow up with patches or bundle tweaks. None of those signals exists yet, so this remains an early read.
Pricing psychology plays a part too. A sale price ending in .99 and a clear end date create urgency without a large cut. The 10% figure is small, but paired with a fixed November 4 cutoff it gives hesitant buyers a reason to decide now. That tactic costs the publisher little and works best on a game people already understand.
We have no sales figures for this release, and the sources we reviewed give no Switch 2 hardware sales number either. Any claim about how well the game sells in its first week would be a guess, so we make none.
Single Game or Trilogy: Which Purchase Fits Which Player
The choice depends on what you own and what you want. A returning fan who finished the first two games elsewhere can grab the standalone edition at $35.99. A newcomer who wants the whole Lara Croft arc in order has a strong reason to look at the $69.99 collection instead.
Story order matters in this series. Shadow of the Tomb Raider concludes the trilogy, so starting there skips the setup of Lara’s growth from inexperienced explorer to established Tomb Raider. Noisy Pixel frames the three games as one arc. Playing in release order, 2013 then 2015 then 2018, gives the best read on that character path.
Handheld habits can tip the decision as well. Tomb exploration and puzzle rooms fit short sessions, while the main story rewards longer sittings docked to a TV. Players who split time between both modes may prefer the full trilogy, since three long campaigns give months of material. Players with a crowded backlog may prefer a single game and a lower upfront cost.
Budget-minded buyers should also remember the sale clock. The 10% off lasts through November 4, so the standalone game costs $4.00 more after that date. Waiting only makes sense if you plan to hold out for another promotion.
Historical Context: Lara Croft’s Reboot Trilogy
The Survivor Trilogy began with the 2013 reboot, continued with Rise of the Tomb Raider in 2015, and ended with Shadow of the Tomb Raider in 2018. Together they retell how Lara becomes the figure players know. Crystal Dynamics, named in this release, is the studio tied to the series in this coverage.
The story Shadow closes out
Shadow wraps the arc with the Mayan apocalypse plot and the Trinity organization. For a Switch 2 audience, the interesting part is not the plot but the access. A long single-player adventure suits handheld play, and the console’s portable mode lets players chip away at tombs in short sessions.
With this release, the whole trilogy now lives on one Nintendo platform. Noisy Pixel and Nintendo Life both cover the trilogy collection as part of the same drop. It turns three separate ports into a single, shelf-ready saga.
Five Predictions for the Sale Window
These are our forecasts, not reported facts. Treat them as informed opinion based on the launch pattern.
- Technical breakdowns arrive fast. Outlets that test frame rate and resolution will likely publish findings within days, which will settle the open performance questions.
- The trilogy outsells expectations among newcomers. Players who never touched the series have a clear reason to start with the first game.
- The $35.99 price disappears on schedule. A hard November 4 end date makes an extension less likely than a quiet return to $39.99.
- More catalog shadow drops follow. If the response is warm, other publishers with older titles may copy the quiet-launch approach on Switch 2.
- A post-launch patch appears. Ports commonly get fixes in the first weeks, so a patch notes post would not surprise us.
What Players Should Do Before November 4
Start with the eShop listing, since it carries the price, the install size, and the full content list. Decide whether you want one game or three, then check your free storage. If you plan to buy, the discount window gives a small financial reason to act before November 4.
Waiting for performance reports is also reasonable. Because the resolution and frame rate are unspecified, cautious buyers can hold off a few days and read independent testing first. The sale runs long enough to allow that.
Frequently Asked Questions
When did Shadow of the Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition launch on Switch 2?
It became available on the Nintendo eShop on October 22, 2026, with no extended pre-launch campaign.
How much does it cost?
The regular price is $39.99. A 10% launch discount lists it at $35.99 through November 4, 2026.
What is included in the Definitive Edition?
The base game, all previously released DLC, seven Challenge Tombs, side missions, and two-player online co-op.
Is there a Tomb Raider trilogy bundle for Switch 2?
Yes. Tomb Raider: Definitive Survivor Trilogy is listed at $69.99 and contains the 2013 reboot, Rise of the Tomb Raider: 20 Year Celebration, and Shadow of the Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition.
Does the Switch 2 version run at a higher frame rate or resolution?
The sources we reviewed do not say. Resolution, frame rate, performance modes, and Switch 2-specific enhancements remain unconfirmed.
Did Aspyr or Crystal Dynamics call it a shadow drop?
Not in anything we found. The term appears in media coverage, including Nintendo Life, rather than in a company statement.
Can I play the whole game in co-op?
Two-player online co-op is supported. Noisy Pixel says it applies to select Challenge Tombs rather than the full campaign.





