Phantom Blade Zero Launches Oct. 28 With DLSS 4.5 [2026]

NVIDIA confirmed on October 22, 2026, that Phantom Blade Zero will launch on October 28 for GeForce RTX and RTX Spark devices, arriving with full support for DLSS 4.5, Dynamic Multi Frame Generation, DLSS Ray Reconstruction, and a PC-exclusive path-traced lighting mode. The announcement, reported by GameGPU, NVIDIA’s own GeForce newsroom, and Tech Times, positions the wuxia-inspired action title from developer S-GAME as one of the clearest showcases yet for NVIDIA’s latest upscaling and ray-tracing stack. For a game that has spent years building anticipation among action-RPG fans, the timing could not be more pointed: it lands one day before Crimson Desert Enhanced: Charting the Unknown, another major DLSS 4.5 launch, turning late October into a de facto stress test for NVIDIA’s newest graphics technology.

This piece breaks down what is actually confirmed about the Phantom Blade Zero release, what DLSS 4.5 and path tracing mean for players deciding whether to upgrade their hardware, how pricing and system requirements stack up, and what the launch signals about the broader GPU market heading into 2027. It also covers what remains unverified, because several claims circulating around this release, including specific RTX Spark specifications and sales projections, are not yet backed by named sources.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

Phantom Blade Zero’s October 28 Launch Is Now Official

According to NVIDIA’s GeForce news team, Phantom Blade Zero will be available on PC starting October 28, 2026. The PlayStation 5 version carries a slightly different date in some regional storefronts, with PlayStation’s own US product listing reportedly showing October 29. That one-day gap between platforms is a detail worth flagging clearly: the October 28 date NVIDIA is promoting applies specifically to GeForce RTX and RTX Spark PC hardware, not universally across every region and console.

GameGPU, the Russian-language hardware outlet that first surfaced the detailed graphics feature list, reported that the PC version’s path-traced lighting and effects are exclusive to that platform. Tech Times and other outlets picked up the story as part of NVIDIA’s broader DLSS 4.5 rollout, which also touches several other high-profile titles releasing in the same window. For a studio like S-GAME, launching alongside an NVIDIA driver push and a cluster of other RTX-branded titles is a meaningful distribution advantage, since it puts Phantom Blade Zero directly in front of anyone searching for DLSS 4.5 compatibility lists this week.

It is also worth situating this release against the site’s earlier coverage of Phantom Blade Zero’s gaming-October moment, when the title was already being discussed as a high point of the month’s release calendar well before the DLSS 4.5 confirmation landed. The graphics-feature news adds a hardware angle to a story that was already generating buzz on pure gameplay merits.

DLSS 4.5 and Dynamic Multi Frame Generation, Explained

DLSS 4.5 is NVIDIA’s latest iteration of its Deep Learning Super Sampling upscaling and frame-generation suite, and the feature NVIDIA is leaning on hardest for Phantom Blade Zero is Dynamic Multi Frame Generation. The pitch is straightforward: instead of a GPU rendering every single frame from scratch, the technology uses AI models to generate additional interpolated frames between traditionally rendered ones, lifting perceived frame rates, particularly in GPU-bound scenes where path tracing is active.

Alongside Multi Frame Generation, Phantom Blade Zero ships with DLSS Ray Reconstruction, a component that replaces traditional denoising algorithms with an AI model trained to clean up noisy ray-traced and path-traced output. TechPowerUp’s coverage of the broader DLSS 4.5 rollout notes that Ray Reconstruction is the piece doing the heaviest lifting when a title enables full path tracing, since path-traced lighting generates far noisier intermediate images than conventional ray tracing before denoising is applied.

What is not yet confirmed in named reporting is a specific performance uplift number for Phantom Blade Zero itself, such as a frames-per-second benchmark at a given resolution. NVIDIA’s own materials describe the feature set qualitatively rather than publishing a per-title benchmark chart for this release, so any specific FPS multiplier circulating online ahead of the October 28 launch should be treated as unverified until independent reviewers get hands-on time with retail code.

Path Tracing Is a PC-Exclusive Showcase Mode

The headline graphics feature is path-traced lighting and effects, and NVIDIA and GameGPU both describe this mode as exclusive to the PC version of Phantom Blade Zero. Path tracing differs from the ray tracing most gamers are familiar with because it simulates the full physical behavior of light bouncing through a scene rather than tracing a limited number of rays per pixel, producing more accurate shadows, reflections, and global illumination at a steep computational cost.

That cost is exactly why DLSS Ray Reconstruction matters here. Full path tracing without any AI-assisted denoising and upscaling would be punishingly slow even on high-end GPUs, which is why NVIDIA bundles the rendering mode with the DLSS 4.5 feature set rather than shipping it as a standalone toggle. The practical effect for players is that enabling path tracing in Phantom Blade Zero will likely require leaning on DLSS upscaling and frame generation simultaneously to hit playable frame rates, a pattern that has repeated across other recent path-traced releases such as Control Resonant’s path tracing implementation covered earlier this year.

Because the published Steam system requirements describe only the conventional rasterized and upscaled experience, there is currently no official GPU-tier recommendation specifically for running path tracing in Phantom Blade Zero. Players chasing that mode should expect it to demand considerably more than the recommended-spec RTX 3060 Ti, based on how path tracing has scaled in comparable titles, though S-GAME and NVIDIA have not published a dedicated path-tracing requirement tier as of this writing.

Pricing and Editions: What Phantom Blade Zero Costs

Phantom Blade Zero’s Steam listing confirms a Standard Edition priced at $59.99 and a Digital Deluxe Edition priced at $69.99 on PC. The PlayStation Store listing, according to Vice’s reporting on the release date and pre-order bonuses, mirrors that same pricing structure on PS5, with both Standard and Digital Deluxe Editions at $59.99 and $69.99 respectively. The Digital Deluxe tier bundles in-game content described as the Wulin Legend and Blood-Steel Form packages, plus a digital artbook and digital soundtrack.

That $59.99 base price places Phantom Blade Zero at the now-standard premium tier for a single-player action title, rather than at the $69.99-and-up price point some AAA publishers have pushed toward in 2026. Pre-orders have been live on both Steam and the Epic Games Store ahead of the October 28 date, which is typical for a title getting a coordinated NVIDIA driver push.

EditionPC PricePS5 PriceIncluded Content
Standard Edition$59.99$59.99Base game
Digital Deluxe Edition$69.99$69.99Wulin Legend, Blood-Steel Form, digital artbook, digital soundtrack

System Requirements: From GTX 1660 to the Path Tracing Ceiling

Steam’s published requirements for Phantom Blade Zero set a relatively accessible entry point for the base experience. The minimum tier calls for an Intel Core i7-8700K or AMD Ryzen 5 3600, 16 GB of RAM, and a GTX 1660 6 GB or Radeon RX 5500 XT 8 GB, targeting 1080p at 30 frames per second with upscaling enabled. The recommended tier steps up to an Intel Core i5-10600K or AMD Ryzen 5 5600X, the same 16 GB of RAM, and an RTX 3060 Ti 8 GB or Radeon RX 6700 XT 12 GB, targeting 1440p at 60 frames per second, again with upscaling turned on. Both tiers require 64-bit Windows 10 or 11, DirectX 12, and an SSD.

Those figures describe the standard rasterized and upscaled path, not the path-traced rendering mode. There is no published RTX 50-series minimum requirement, and NVIDIA has not released a path-tracing-specific hardware tier for this title. That gap matters for anyone comparing Phantom Blade Zero against other recent path-traced releases, since games with that rendering mode have historically needed significantly more headroom than their base recommended specs suggest.

TierCPURAMGPUTarget
MinimumCore i7-8700K / Ryzen 5 360016 GBGTX 1660 6GB / RX 5500 XT 8GB1080p/30 with upscaling
RecommendedCore i5-10600K / Ryzen 5 5600X16 GBRTX 3060 Ti 8GB / RX 6700 XT 12GB1440p/60 with upscaling
Path TracingNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published

What Is RTX Spark, and Why Does NVIDIA Keep Naming It Alongside GeForce RTX?

NVIDIA’s announcement material repeatedly pairs “GeForce RTX and RTX Spark devices” when describing which hardware will run Phantom Blade Zero with DLSS 4.5. RTX Spark is the compact AI PC hardware platform NVIDIA has been rolling out across 2026 through partner laptops and small-form-factor systems, a line this site has tracked since its earlier RTX Spark launch coverage. Positioning Phantom Blade Zero as compatible with that platform signals NVIDIA wants RTX Spark treated as a legitimate gaming target, not just an AI workstation tier, even though the exact RTX Spark specifications relevant to this specific game have not been detailed in the available announcements.

That dual-naming strategy is consistent with how NVIDIA has marketed RTX Spark throughout the year: as a product line that sits adjacent to, rather than replacing, traditional GeForce RTX desktop and laptop GPUs. For a studio the size of S-GAME, getting folded into that messaging alongside Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 and Cyberpunk 2077 is a visibility win regardless of how RTX Spark’s gaming performance ultimately compares to a dedicated RTX 50-series card.

The DLSS 4.5 Launch Cluster: Phantom Blade Zero Isn’t Alone This Week

NVIDIA’s DLSS 4.5 announcement names a short list of titles receiving the update in the same window: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4, Crimson Desert Enhanced: Charting the Unknown, Phantom Blade Zero, Cyberpunk 2077, and Planet Zoo 2. NVIDIA issued a GeForce Game Ready Driver specifically timed to prepare RTX systems for this cluster of releases, rather than shipping separate drivers for each title individually.

That clustering is a deliberate marketing tactic NVIDIA has used before: bundle several notable releases under one feature umbrella so a single driver and a single press cycle cover multiple games at once. Cyberpunk 2077 picking up DLSS 4.5 support alongside its ongoing content updates is notable in its own right, building on the game’s recent Update 2.5 and Edgerunners 2 tie-in covered previously on this site. Modern Warfare 4’s inclusion matters for a different reason: it is one of the highest-volume multiplayer titles on the list, meaning its DLSS 4.5 implementation will likely get far more hands-on scrutiny from the benchmarking community than a single-player action title like Phantom Blade Zero would on its own.

TitlePlatform(s)Path TracingLaunch Window
Phantom Blade ZeroPC, PS5Yes (PC-exclusive)Oct. 28, 2026 (PC)
Crimson Desert Enhanced: Charting the UnknownPCNot specifiedOct. 29, 2026
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4PC, consolesNot specifiedAlready released
Cyberpunk 2077PC, consolesYes (prior update)Already released, DLSS 4.5 added
Planet Zoo 2PCNot specifiedAlready released, DLSS 4.5 added

Competitive Hardware Context: AMD’s Answer Is Upscaling, Not Path Tracing

Phantom Blade Zero’s minimum and recommended GPU tiers both list an AMD Radeon alternative (the RX 5500 XT and RX 6700 XT, respectively), which means AMD hardware owners can run the base game without issue. The path-traced mode, however, is tied to NVIDIA’s DLSS Ray Reconstruction pipeline and is described as a PC-exclusive feature within NVIDIA’s own ecosystem messaging, so there is no indication AMD cards will be able to access an equivalent path-traced mode in this title through AMD’s own upscaling technology.

That split mirrors a broader pattern this site has tracked through 2026, where AMD’s FSR 4.1 update extended upscaling support back to six-year-old RX 6000 GPUs rather than chasing full path tracing parity. AMD’s strategy has leaned on backward compatibility and broad hardware reach, while NVIDIA continues to pair its newest rendering techniques, like path tracing, exclusively with its own AI-driven denoising and frame-generation stack. For a game like Phantom Blade Zero, that means the most visually ambitious version of the experience is locked to green-team hardware by design, not by an accident of engine choice.

Market Impact: What a Wuxia Action Game Means for GPU Sales

No single game launch moves GPU sales figures on its own, and there is no published analyst forecast tying Phantom Blade Zero specifically to RTX 50-series or RTX Spark demand. What the launch does provide is another data point in NVIDIA’s ongoing campaign to make DLSS 4.5 feel indispensable rather than optional, a campaign that depends on stacking enough high-profile titles, action games, shooters, simulation games, open-world titles, into a steady drumbeat of releases that all point back to the same driver update.

The more concrete market signal is competitive pressure on AMD and, to a lesser extent, Intel’s Arc lineup. Every title that ships a PC-exclusive, NVIDIA-only rendering mode widens the gap between what a GeForce RTX or RTX Spark owner can see on screen and what a comparably priced AMD or Intel card can render, even when the underlying game runs perfectly well on both. That gap is a marketing asset for NVIDIA regardless of how many players actually enable path tracing once they own the game, because screenshot and video comparisons tend to spread further than actual playtime statistics.

For S-GAME, the commercial calculus is different but complementary. Getting named in an NVIDIA GeForce press push, alongside Call of Duty and Cyberpunk 2077, hands a mid-tier studio a marketing megaphone it likely could not afford to buy outright. Whether that translates into meaningful sales lift is not something the available reporting quantifies, but the visibility itself is a real and measurable benefit independent of eventual unit sales.

Historical Context: Wuxia Action Games Chasing a Graphics Showcase Moment

Phantom Blade Zero follows a now-familiar playbook for action titles trying to stand out in a crowded release calendar: pair a distinctive art style and combat system with a bleeding-edge graphics feature that generates coverage independent of the gameplay itself. GameNewsPlus’s release FAQ coverage describes the game as a wuxia-inspired action title centered on Soul, a swordsman framed for murdering his own master, a premise squarely in the tradition of Chinese martial-arts storytelling that has increasingly found an audience in Western action games over the past several years.

That genre lineage matters for understanding why the DLSS 4.5 tie-in lands well. Combat-focused action games with elaborate weapon effects and fast camera movement are a natural fit for showcasing frame generation, since the technology’s interpolated frames need to hold up under motion, not just in static screenshots. Available reporting does not establish detailed historical specifics about S-GAME’s founding date or prior shipped titles, so this analysis does not claim a studio pedigree beyond what has been confirmed: S-GAME developed Phantom Blade Zero, and NVIDIA has partnered with the studio on this DLSS 4.5 integration.

Reviewer Access and What Comes Next Before Launch

As of October 22, 2026, with six days remaining before the PC launch, no independent benchmark coverage of Phantom Blade Zero’s path-traced mode has appeared from major hardware outlets. TechWiser’s countdown tracker for the release reflects the current state of public information: confirmed pricing, confirmed requirements, confirmed feature list, but no performance data from retail or near-retail code.

That gap will likely close quickly once review embargoes lift closer to the October 28 date, and the first wave of coverage will almost certainly focus on exactly the question this article flags as unanswered: how demanding is path tracing in practice, and which GPU tier is actually required to run it at a playable frame rate without leaning entirely on frame generation to mask a low native render rate.

Why the PS5 Date Discrepancy Matters

The one-day gap between the PC’s October 28 date and some PS5 listings showing October 29 is a small detail, but it is the kind of discrepancy that generates confused search traffic in the days before launch. Players checking storefronts in different regions may see different countdown timers, and until S-GAME or Sony issues a single unified statement, the safest framing is that October 28 applies to the PC release NVIDIA is promoting, while console buyers should verify the date on their specific regional storefront before planning a launch-day session.

The Handheld Gaming PC Angle

Phantom Blade Zero’s minimum requirements are modest enough that it should run on many current handheld gaming PCs at reduced settings, though path tracing is almost certainly out of reach for that hardware class. That’s consistent with how this site’s recent breakdown of the price gap between handheld gaming PC tiers found that even the most powerful portable systems available in 2026 trail desktop RTX 3060 Ti-class performance in sustained, demanding workloads.

Predictions: Where This Launch Points Next

  • Expect independent benchmark outlets to publish path-tracing performance comparisons within days of the October 28 launch, likely revealing that true path tracing requires well above the RTX 3060 Ti recommended tier to sustain 60 frames per second without heavy reliance on Multi Frame Generation.
  • Expect NVIDIA to continue bundling DLSS 4.5 game announcements into clusters rather than single-title reveals, following the same pattern seen with Modern Warfare 4, Crimson Desert Enhanced, Cyberpunk 2077, and Planet Zoo 2 all landing in the same news cycle.
  • Expect AMD to respond with further FSR compatibility extensions to older hardware rather than a direct path-tracing counter-feature, continuing the divergent strategy already visible in FSR 4.1’s reach back to RX 6000-series cards.
  • Expect the one-day PC-to-PS5 date discrepancy to resolve into a single confirmed cross-platform date once S-GAME issues final launch-day marketing, as is typical in the days immediately before release.
  • Expect RTX Spark to keep appearing in game-compatibility announcements through the rest of 2026 as NVIDIA works to establish it as a credible gaming platform rather than purely an AI-focused device line.

Frequently Asked Questions

When does Phantom Blade Zero release?
Phantom Blade Zero launches on PC on October 28, 2026, for GeForce RTX and RTX Spark devices, according to NVIDIA. Some PS5 regional storefronts have listed October 29.

What is DLSS 4.5 in Phantom Blade Zero?
DLSS 4.5 is NVIDIA’s upscaling and frame-generation suite. In Phantom Blade Zero it includes Dynamic Multi Frame Generation and DLSS Ray Reconstruction, the latter used to clean up the game’s path-traced lighting.

Does Phantom Blade Zero support path tracing on PS5?
No. Reporting describes the path-traced lighting and effects mode as exclusive to the PC version.

How much does Phantom Blade Zero cost?
The Standard Edition is $59.99 and the Digital Deluxe Edition is $69.99 on both PC (Steam) and PS5. The Deluxe Edition adds the Wulin Legend and Blood-Steel Form content, a digital artbook, and a digital soundtrack.

What GPU do I need to run Phantom Blade Zero?
The minimum spec calls for a GTX 1660 6GB or RX 5500 XT 8GB for 1080p/30 with upscaling. The recommended spec calls for an RTX 3060 Ti 8GB or RX 6700 XT 12GB for 1440p/60 with upscaling. No separate GPU tier has been published for the path-traced mode.

What is RTX Spark?
RTX Spark is NVIDIA’s compact AI PC hardware platform that the company has promoted throughout 2026 through partner laptops and small-form-factor systems, now also being positioned as compatible with Phantom Blade Zero’s DLSS 4.5 feature set.

Who developed Phantom Blade Zero?
Phantom Blade Zero is developed by S-GAME, described in coverage as a wuxia-inspired action game following Soul, a swordsman framed for his master’s murder.

Which other games are getting DLSS 4.5 at the same time?
NVIDIA’s announcement names Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4, Crimson Desert Enhanced: Charting the Unknown, Cyberpunk 2077, and Planet Zoo 2 alongside Phantom Blade Zero in the same DLSS 4.5 update window.

Sofia Lindström

Sofia Lindström

Editor-in-Chief

Sofia Lindström is the Editor-in-Chief at Tech Insider, where she leads editorial strategy and oversees coverage across AI, cybersecurity, and enterprise technology. With over a decade in Swedish tech journalism, she previously served as technology editor at Dagens Industri and covered the Nordic startup ecosystem for Breakit. Sofia holds an MSc in Media Technology from KTH Royal Institute of Technology and is a frequent speaker at Web Summit and Slush. She is passionate about making complex technology accessible to business leaders.

View all articles