Last updated: 20 September 2026
Added OneXPlayer 3 at $1,399–$1,699 and X2 Mini Pro at $2,499–$3,079 plus MSI Claw 8 EX AI+; older non-Arc G3 and non-Strix Halo OneXPlayer models are no longer central to this $1,699 vs $2,499 comparison.
OneXPlayer just made a bet that no other handheld gaming PC maker has been willing to place: two flagship devices, unveiled weeks apart, built on directly rival chip platforms. OneXPlayer first showed off the OneXPlayer 3 at its own “2026 Summer Launch” event on June 23, 2026, billing it as the company’s next-gen 3-in-1 AI handheld, before pre-orders for the Intel Arc G3 Extreme-powered device opened on Indiegogo on July 14, 2026, with pricing from $1,399 to $1,699, the same entry price Digital Foundry logged for the base model at that June 23 unveiling, though TechPowerUp’s July 2026 pricing rundown would later peg the device’s standard, non-discounted retail MSRPs as high as $2,099 for the top 32GB/1TB configuration once the crowdfunding window’s launch discounts lapse. Six days after Indiegogo opened, on July 20, 2026, OneXPlayer began direct sales of the X2 Mini Pro, built around AMD’s Ryzen AI Max+ 388 “Strix Halo” chip, starting at $2,499. Together, the two launches push the small Shenzhen-based manufacturer into a pricing bracket that used to be reserved for gaming laptops, not devices that fit in a backpack pocket.
The timing is not an accident. ASUS opened pre-orders for the ROG Xbox Ally X20 on August 25, 2026 at $1,299.99, and Lenovo’s Legion Go 2 SteamOS edition has been shipping since June at $1,199. OneXPlayer’s dual launch effectively boxes in both rivals: the OneXPlayer 3 undercuts the X20 on raw display specs at a similar price tier, while the X2 Mini Pro leapfrogs everyone on memory capacity and raw compute, daring buyers to pay gaming-laptop money for a handheld. Whether that bet pays off says a lot about where the premium end of the handheld gaming PC market is heading in the back half of 2026.
Since that initial split-platform bet, OneXPlayer has continued to firm up pricing on both sides of the lineup: coverage in late August 2026 confirmed the Arc G3 Extreme portfolio has grown to four handhelds, while OneXPlayer formally priced the X2 Mini Pro’s AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 388 configuration from $2,499 in early September 2026. Shoppers weighing the AMD-based X2 Mini Pro against a similarly priced Lenovo rival can see Legion Go 2 vs OneXPlayer X2 Mini Pro: $1,300 Gap.
Don't miss new tech stories on Google
Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.
OneXPlayer’s Two-Chip Strategy, Explained
Most handheld gaming PC makers pick one chip vendor and stick with it for a generation. ASUS, Lenovo, and MSI all lean on AMD’s Ryzen Z2 Extreme or Strix Halo silicon for their current flagships. OneXPlayer instead shipped two devices almost simultaneously on two different platforms, effectively running a live experiment on which chipmaker’s approach resonates more with buyers willing to spend well past $1,000 on a handheld.
The OneXPlayer 3 is marketed as the company’s “first 3-in-1 Arc G3 handheld,” built around Intel’s Arc G3 Extreme graphics processor manufactured on Intel’s 18A process node, the same advanced node Intel has pitched as central to its foundry turnaround. DroiX’s October 2026 listing describes the chip as a 14-core part with a 4.7 GHz turbo speed. It is one of the first handhelds on the market to ship with this specific Arc G3 Extreme configuration, following earlier Arc-based devices from MSI’s Claw line, and retailer kiboTEK’s August 2026 listing put the chip’s integrated NPU at 46 TOPS of AI Boost performance, a figure that underlines how much of the sales pitch now leans on on-device AI rather than raw frame rates. The X2 Mini Pro, meanwhile, sits at the opposite end of OneXPlayer’s lineup, built on AMD’s Ryzen AI Max+ 388, an 8-core, 16-thread Strix Halo processor paired with Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, a platform AMD has positioned as its most capable APU for both gaming and on-device AI workloads.
Inside the OneXPlayer 3: Intel’s Arc G3 Extreme Debut
The OneXPlayer 3’s pre-order structure, live on Indiegogo since July 14, 2026, breaks into three configurations that Basic-Tutorials independently verified in its own June 2026 pricing rundown. The base model pairs 24GB of RAM with 512GB of storage for $1,399 (the official OneXPlayer store now lists that 24GB/512GB configuration at $1,549.00), with TechPowerUp citing early-bird crowdfunding pricing dipping as low as $1,400 for that same entry tier. A 1TB storage upgrade at the same 24GB RAM tier costs $1,499. The top-tier configuration, with 32GB of RAM and 1TB of storage, tops out at $1,699. TechPowerUp’s July 2026 coverage added a useful wrinkle to that pricing: it pegged the 24GB/512GB tier’s standard retail MSRP at $1,699 (discounted to $1,499 during the launch window), put the 24GB/1TB tier’s retail MSRP at $1,899 (discounted to $1,599), and listed the 32GB/1TB flagship’s retail MSRP at $2,099 (discounted to $1,799) once the crowdfunding window closes, a materially higher ceiling than the original Indiegogo figures suggested on their own. Those same three tiers carried over to Japan’s launch on July 30, 2026, where Tenku/Mixvale reported pricing of 298,000 yen for the entry 24GB/512GB model and 328,000 yen for the 32GB/1TB flagship. Retailer DroiX has since widened the ceiling further still, listing OneXPlayer 3 storage options scaling all the way up to 4TB as of September 2026 for buyers willing to pay above the standard three tiers. That spread puts the OneXPlayer 3 squarely between the ROG Xbox Ally X20’s $1,299.99 entry price and the X20’s $2,499.99 bundle price, without matching either exactly.
The headline feature is the display: an 8.8-inch OLED panel at 1920×1200 resolution, running at 144Hz with variable refresh rate support and roughly 500 nits of peak brightness covering the DCI-P3 color gamut, specs Notebookcheck corroborated in its June 2026 coverage of the device’s mid-to-late June global launch window, with PCGuide’s own June 2026 report independently confirming the same 8.8-inch, 144Hz panel. That panel size and resolution match what Lenovo ships in the Legion Go 2, suggesting the two companies may be drawing from the same panel supplier pool as 8.8-inch OLED becomes the de facto standard for large-format handhelds. Battery capacity comes in at 85Wh, a figure Notebookcheck likewise confirmed as of June 2026, which PCGuide’s June 2026 coverage put at that same 85Wh mark, and which OneXPlayer’s own marketing describes as leading the spec sheet among comparable devices, and on paper it edges out both the ROG Xbox Ally X20’s 80Wh cell and the Legion Go 2’s 74Wh pack. Digital Foundry’s own June 2026 testing backed up that capacity claim with real-world numbers, clocking up to 25 hours of runtime under light use, a figure that puts the OneXPlayer 3 well ahead of most rivals in its class for anything short of sustained gaming.
OneXPlayer 3 Benchmarks and Store Pricing
Independent testing now gives a clearer picture of what the Arc G3 Extreme delivers in this chassis. Zelpio’s August 2026 testing scored the OneXPlayer 3 at 4,956 overall. At 25 W, its benchmark score increased to 6,180. Zelpio also had it average 74 FPS in Halo at 900p high. DroiX’s October 2026 testing found that at 35 W, the OneXPlayer 3 reached 67 FPS. Those two frame rate figures come from different tests, so they should not be read as points on one scale.
Pricing has also moved since the Indiegogo campaign. The official OneXPlayer store lists the Intel Arc G3 Extreme 24GB+512GB model at $1,549.00, the 24GB+1TB model at $1,649.00 and the 32GB+1TB model at $1,849.00, each with a free official protection bag and a Halloween gift (magnetic keyboard). The store shows $1,699 as the pre-discount price for the Intel option and $2,699 for the AMD option. It also presents the OneXPlayer 3 alongside newer X2 and Apex Air products, so the handheld is no longer the only new device in the lineup.
The range above the X2 Mini Pro has grown as well. OneXPlayer announced the Super X Pro on October 13, 2026, and available reporting identifies a $4,699 configuration with 128GB/4TB. For anyone comparing the two launches, the practical step is to check the official store listing for the exact configuration before ordering, since discounted prices and bundled gifts appear there next to the pre-discount figures, and to read any benchmark alongside the power setting it was measured at.
Inside the X2 Mini Pro: AMD’s Strix Halo Goes Premium
Where the OneXPlayer 3 competes on price parity with rivals, the X2 Mini Pro is playing an entirely different game. Direct sales opened July 20, 2026, at a starting price of $2,499 for a 48GB RAM / 1TB storage configuration, listed by OneXPlayer as discounted from a $2,699 MSRP, with the official store now showing it as a pre-order with shipping starting on October 20, 2026. Configurations scale up to 64GB of LPDDR5X memory running at 8,000 MT/s, a memory capacity that is unusual even by gaming-laptop standards and points toward buyers who want to run local AI workloads alongside games on the same device.
The AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 388 inside the X2 Mini Pro is part of the same Strix Halo family AMD has used to court both PC gamers and AI enthusiasts, pairing 8 CPU cores and 16 threads with Radeon 8060S integrated graphics. It is the same chip family found in other high-end 2026 handhelds like the AYANEO NEXT 2 and GPD Win 5, both of which also carry four-figure price tags. At $2,499 and up, the X2 Mini Pro is not competing with the Steam Deck or even the ROG Xbox Ally X20, it is competing with entry-level gaming laptops that happen to fold into a bigger form factor.
Why Intel’s Arc G3 Extreme Matters for Handhelds
Intel has spent much of 2026 trying to establish Arc as a credible third option in a handheld GPU market that AMD has dominated almost completely since the Steam Deck’s 2022 launch. MSI’s Claw line was the first major handheld family to bet heavily on Intel silicon, and the OneXPlayer 3’s adoption of Arc G3 Extreme marks a second manufacturer validating that bet. Digital Foundry’s June 2026 benchmarking found the Arc G3 Extreme can boost up to 35W in the OneXPlayer 3’s chassis, a figure that shows just how much thermal headroom Intel is asking a handheld enclosure to dissipate. For Intel, every design win in the handheld category matters more than the unit volume suggests, because handhelds have become one of the most visible proving grounds for a chipmaker’s combined CPU and graphics performance in a thermally constrained package.
The Arc G3 Extreme’s use of Intel’s 18A manufacturing process is also notable beyond the gaming angle. 18A is the node Intel has staked its foundry business on, and every consumer product shipping on it, including a niche handheld gaming PC, becomes a data point in whether Intel can manufacture competitively at the leading edge again. A successful, well-reviewed Arc G3 Extreme handheld does more for Intel’s credibility story than the sales figures of any single device would suggest.
Pricing Breakdown: $1,399 to $2,499
Below is how OneXPlayer’s July 2026 U.S. configurations, which The Gadgeteer confirmed opened at $1,399 when Indiegogo pre-orders went live on July 14, 2026, mirroring the $1,399, $1,499, and $1,699 tiers OneXPlayer’s own June 2026 launch announcement first disclosed, and which TechPowerUp’s own July 2026 pricing matrix later listed as discounted launch prices of $1,499, $1,599, and $1,799 against standard retail MSRPs of $1,699, $1,899, and $2,099 for those same three tiers, break down against each other and against the device’s 298,000-yen Japanese launch price, showing the roughly $1,100 gap between the cheapest OneXPlayer 3 tier and the priciest X2 Mini Pro configuration.
| Device | Configuration | Price | Chip Platform |
|---|---|---|---|
| OneXPlayer 3 | 24GB RAM / 512GB SSD | $1,549 | Intel Arc G3 Extreme |
| OneXPlayer 3 | 24GB RAM / 1TB SSD | $1,649 | Intel Arc G3 Extreme |
| OneXPlayer 3 | 32GB RAM / 1TB SSD | $1,849 | Intel Arc G3 Extreme |
| X2 Mini Pro | 48GB RAM / 1TB SSD | $2,499 | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 388 |
| X2 Mini Pro | 64GB RAM / higher storage | $2,699 MSRP tier | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 388 |
That $1,100 spread within a single brand’s lineup is unusual. Most handheld makers space their SKUs a few hundred dollars apart to build a coherent ladder from entry to flagship. OneXPlayer’s gap instead reflects two genuinely different products aimed at different buyers: the OneXPlayer 3 is pitched as a premium but attainable Windows handheld, while the X2 Mini Pro is closer to a portable AI workstation that happens to run games well.
How OneXPlayer Compares to the ROG Xbox Ally X20
ASUS opened pre-orders for the ROG Xbox Ally X20 on August 25, 2026, pricing the standalone unit at $1,299.99 and a bundle, which includes ROG XREAL R1 Edition 20 AR glasses, a dbrand Killswitch case, and a Pelican Protector Case, at $2,499.99. The standalone X20 was scheduled to launch on October 15, 2026, built around AMD’s Ryzen AI Z2 Extreme (8 cores, 16 threads, up to 5.0GHz, 24MB cache) with Radeon 890M graphics, 24GB of LPDDR5X memory at 8,000MHz, a 1TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD, and an 80Wh battery, according to HotHardware’s coverage of the launch. Its 7.4-inch, 1920×1080 OLED display runs at 120Hz with ROG’s Nebula HDR technology reaching up to 1,400 nits peak brightness.
Set side by side, the OneXPlayer 3’s 32GB/1TB configuration at $1,849 sits well above the X20 standalone on price, but offers a larger 8.8-inch panel at a higher 1920×1200 resolution against the X20’s smaller, higher-brightness 7.4-inch screen. The X20 wins on peak HDR brightness; the OneXPlayer 3 wins on screen real estate and memory capacity at its top configuration. Neither device beats the other outright. They target slightly different tradeoffs between portability and immersion.
How OneXPlayer Compares to Legion Go 2 and MSI Claw 8
Lenovo’s Legion Go 2 SteamOS edition has been shipping since June 2026 with a starting price of $1,199 for 16GB RAM and 1TB storage, according to Notebookcheck’s report on the SteamOS launch. Configurations scale up to 32GB of LPDDR5X memory and 2TB of storage, paired with the same 8.8-inch, 1920×1200, 144Hz OLED panel class the OneXPlayer 3 uses, according to Tech Times’ comparison coverage. The Legion Go 2’s 74Wh battery trails the OneXPlayer 3’s 85Wh cell by 11Wh, but Lenovo’s device is also built around AMD’s Ryzen Z2 Extreme rather than Intel’s newer Arc G3 Extreme platform.
MSI’s Claw 8 EX AI+, which launched June 23, 2026, occupies a similar upper-mid price band, reaching up to $1,800 in its top configuration, according to GaGadget’s launch coverage. It runs a smaller 8-inch, 1920×1200, 120Hz display, an 80Wh battery, dual Thunderbolt 4 ports, Wi-Fi 7, and Bluetooth 6.0. Against the OneXPlayer 3, the Claw 8 EX AI+ trades a smaller, lower-refresh screen and smaller battery for the fastest wired connectivity in this comparison set.
Full Spec and Price Comparison
| Device | Starting Price | Chip | Display | Battery |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OneXPlayer 3 | $1,549 | Intel Arc G3 Extreme | 8.8″ 1920×1200 OLED, 144Hz | 85Wh |
| OneXPlayer X2 Mini Pro | $2,499 | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 388 | Not specified at launch | Not specified at launch |
| ROG Xbox Ally X20 | $1,299.99 | AMD Ryzen AI Z2 Extreme | 7.4″ 1920×1080 OLED, 120Hz, HDR 1,400 nits | 80Wh |
| Legion Go 2 (SteamOS) | $1,199 | AMD Ryzen Z2 Extreme | 8.8″ 1920×1200 OLED, 144Hz | 74Wh |
| MSI Claw 8 EX AI+ | Up to $1,800 | Intel Arc-class | 8″ 1920×1200, 120Hz | 80Wh |
The Handheld Market’s Premiumization Problem
Four years ago, Valve’s original Steam Deck launched at $399 for the base configuration, establishing a price anchor that shaped buyer expectations for the entire category. That anchor has been drifting upward for two years running, but 2026 marks the point where the top of the market has effectively detached from it entirely. A $2,499 handheld gaming PC, before tax, before any bundled accessories, puts the X2 Mini Pro closer to the price of a 14-inch gaming laptop with a discrete RTX 5070-class GPU than to any device that shares its own form factor.
This premiumization is partly a response to component costs and partly a deliberate strategy. Memory pricing has been under sustained pressure across the PC industry in 2026 as AI data center demand competes with consumer devices for the same DRAM supply, and handheld makers with 24GB, 32GB, or 48GB memory configurations are absorbing that cost directly into retail prices. But it is also true that OneXPlayer, ASUS, and Lenovo are all testing whether a meaningful slice of the handheld buyer base will pay laptop-tier prices for laptop-tier specs in a smaller chassis, effectively asking whether “handheld” is a form factor preference or a budget constraint for their most committed customers.
Component Costs Are Reshaping Every Handheld’s Bill of Materials
The memory capacities involved in these two launches are themselves a signal. The X2 Mini Pro’s 48GB-to-64GB LPDDR5X configuration at 8,000 MT/s is not a spec chosen for gaming performance alone, that much memory bandwidth and capacity is what on-device large language model inference increasingly demands. OneXPlayer, like AYANEO and GPD before it with their own Strix Halo devices, appears to be positioning its highest-end handheld as dual-purpose hardware: a gaming device during leisure hours and a local AI inference box the rest of the time. That framing helps justify a $2,499 price tag that would otherwise be difficult to sell purely on gaming merit against a $1,199 Legion Go 2 running comparable frame rates in most titles.
Why 48GB of Handheld RAM Is a New Category, Not a Spec Bump
Most gaming handhelds released before 2026 topped out around 16GB or 32GB of memory, enough for current game titles but far below what running a mid-sized local language model requires. The jump to 48GB and 64GB configurations in the X2 Mini Pro is not an incremental spec bump aimed at gamers, it is a deliberate move into territory previously occupied only by workstation laptops. That distinction matters for how the device should be evaluated: judged purely as a gaming machine against a $1,199 Legion Go 2, the X2 Mini Pro’s price premium is hard to justify on frame rates alone.
Historical Context: How Handheld Pricing Got Here
The handheld gaming PC category barely existed before 2022. The GPD Win series had a cult following among enthusiasts willing to tolerate rough software and mediocre battery life, but Valve’s Steam Deck was the device that proved a mainstream market existed. Its $399 base price, backed by SteamOS and Proton compatibility work, set expectations that a genuinely useful gaming handheld could cost less than a mid-range smartphone.
ASUS’s original ROG Ally arrived in 2023 in a similar price range, but the category began climbing almost immediately after that. Ally X pushed past $799. Legion Go’s detachable-controller design commanded a premium over Valve’s fixed-form-factor approach. By the time MSI’s Claw 8 EX AI+ launched at up to $1,800 in June 2026, the ceiling had already moved well past what most Steam Deck buyers had paid four years earlier. OneXPlayer’s $2,499 X2 Mini Pro simply continues a trajectory that has been visible since at least early 2025, when Strix Halo-based handhelds first started appearing at four-figure prices.
Market Impact: What This Means for Intel, AMD, and Nvidia
For Intel, the OneXPlayer 3 is a second real-world validation of Arc G3 Extreme in a gaming handheld, following MSI’s earlier Claw-line adoption of Arc silicon. Every additional design win chips away at AMD’s near-total control of the handheld GPU market since 2022, even if Intel’s overall handheld market share remains small in absolute terms. A second manufacturer betting on Arc also gives software developers and driver teams more incentive to optimize specifically for Intel’s handheld-class graphics, which has historically lagged AMD in day-one game compatibility.
For AMD, the X2 Mini Pro’s use of Strix Halo at a $2,499 price point demonstrates that OEMs believe there is real demand for AMD’s most capable APU tier in a handheld chassis, not just in mini PCs and thin laptops where Strix Halo first appeared. That is a meaningful signal for AMD’s product roadmap heading into whatever comes after Strix Halo, since it suggests handheld makers want AMD to keep pushing memory bandwidth and CPU core counts upward even at the cost of battery life and thermals. Nvidia, notably, remains absent from this specific tier of the handheld market, its RTX Spark platform has targeted AI workstations rather than gaming handhelds, leaving the premium handheld GPU fight entirely to Intel and AMD for now.
What Reviewers and Early Buyers Are Watching
Independent benchmark data is starting to arrive for the OneXPlayer 3, with Zelpio’s August 2026 testing scoring it 4,956 overall, while the X2 Mini Pro, listed on OneXPlayer’s store as a pre-order shipping from October 20, 2026, has far less independent testing behind it. The questions that will determine whether either bet pays off are consistent across both devices: whether Intel’s Arc G3 Extreme drivers can match AMD’s day-one game compatibility record, whether the OneXPlayer 3’s 85Wh battery translates into meaningfully longer runtime than its 80Wh and 74Wh rivals under real gaming loads, and whether the X2 Mini Pro’s memory bandwidth advantage shows up in frame rates or only in AI-adjacent benchmarks that most buyers will never run.
Crowdfunded and direct-sale launch models also carry their own risk profile. Indiegogo pre-orders, which is how the OneXPlayer 3 reached the market, have historically carried longer and less predictable shipping timelines than traditional retail pre-orders through channels like Best Buy, where the ROG Xbox Ally X20 is available. Buyers weighing the OneXPlayer 3 against the X20 are not just comparing specs, they are comparing a crowdfunding-style purchase against a mainstream retail one.
5 Predictions for the Rest of 2026
- Intel will announce at least one more handheld design win built on Arc G3 Extreme or its successor before the end of 2026, as the company pushes to prove 18A’s consumer viability beyond OneXPlayer and MSI.
- AMD has already answered the X2 Mini Pro’s memory ceiling: it introduced the Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 495 on October 12, 2026, and OneXPlayer’s Super X Pro reportedly uses it with up to 192GB of unified memory.
- At least one more handheld maker will cross the $2,000 threshold before year-end, following AYANEO, GPD, and now OneXPlayer into the AI-workstation-meets-handheld positioning.
- Expect continued fragmentation between “value” handhelds under $600 and “premium” devices above $1,500, with the $800-$1,200 middle tier shrinking as component costs squeeze margins there hardest.
- OneXPlayer’s dual-chip strategy will likely be copied by at least one competitor in 2027, as manufacturers hedge against being locked into a single chipmaker’s roadmap and pricing.
Latest OneXPlayer pricing updates (September 2026)
Pricing on both sides of OneXPlayer’s Intel-versus-AMD split has continued to shift in the months since launch, with several outlets independently confirming new configurations and tiers through early September 2026.
- June 24, 2026: The OneXPlayer 3 Intel Arc G3 Extreme handheld launched with configurations up to $1,699, with Indiegogo pricing starting from $1,399 for a top configuration featuring 32GB of faster LPDDR5X and 1TB of NVMe storage (source: The FPS Review; Android Authority; The Gadgeteer).
- July 14, 2026: Global pre-orders for the OneXPlayer 3 opened via Indiegogo, confirming a three-tier Intel Arc G3 Extreme lineup: $1,399 for 24GB RAM/512GB SSD, $1,499 for 24GB/1TB, and $1,699 for 32GB RAM/1TB storage (source: The Gadgeteer).
- July 21, 2026: Follow-up coverage published a detailed pricing matrix for the AMD-powered X2 Mini Pro, starting at $2,499 for a 48GB RAM/1TB SSD air-cooled configuration and rising to $3,229 for a 64GB/2TB Frost Bay liquid-cooled configuration (source: Basic Tutorials; IgorsLab).
- August 27, 2026: OneXPlayer’s Intel Arc G3 Extreme portfolio broadened to four handhelds, with the OneXPlayer 3 listed at $1,499 for 24GB/512GB and $1,799 for 32GB/1TB, higher than the initial Indiegogo launch tiers, while the X2 Mini (non-Pro) appeared at $1,999 with 48GB RAM/1TB SSD (source: VideoCardz).
- September 6, 2026: OneXPlayer officially detailed the X2 Mini Pro built around the Ryzen AI Max+ 388 APU, confirming a direct-to-consumer starting price of $2,499 for an 8.8-inch OLED model, with higher-tier liquid-cooled Frost Bay variants scaling above $3,000 (source: Basic Tutorials; Handheld Guru; IgorsLab; Retro Handhelds).
Should You Buy Either Device Right Now?
For most buyers, neither the OneXPlayer 3 nor the X2 Mini Pro is the obvious pick. The ROG Xbox Ally X20 and Legion Go 2 both ship through established retail channels with broader review coverage already available, and both sit at lower price points than OneXPlayer’s flagship configurations. The OneXPlayer 3’s 24GB/512GB base configuration, listed at $1,549.00 on the official store, is the more defensible purchase of the two new devices, offering a larger, faster-refresh display than the X20 for a modest premium. The X2 Mini Pro, by contrast, makes sense primarily for buyers who genuinely plan to run local AI models alongside games and have already priced out, and rejected, a small gaming laptop as an alternative.
Buyers cross-shopping the Arc G3 Extreme side of the market may also want to weigh the OneXPlayer 3 against other recent entrants: Acer Predator Atlas 7 Debuts: Intel’s 42% AMD Claim covers a third Arc G3 Extreme handheld, while Win Max 3 vs Apex Air vs Atlas 7: 17Wh Battery Gap lines up battery capacity across several 2026 handhelds in the same vein as the Wh figures cited above. Shoppers weighing Intel against AMD silicon more broadly can also see Ryzen Z1 Extreme vs Z2 Extreme vs Intel Arc G3 Extreme: $1,200 Gap, and those tracking OneXPlayer’s software ecosystem can read SteamOS Beta Adds MSI, OneXPlayer as Sales Hit 2.3M.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the OneXPlayer 3?
The OneXPlayer 3 is a Windows-based handheld gaming PC built around Intel’s Arc G3 Extreme graphics processor, manufactured on Intel’s 18A process. Pre-orders opened on Indiegogo on July 14, 2026, with pricing from $1,399 to $1,699 depending on RAM and storage configuration, with TechPowerUp citing early-bird crowdfunding pricing as low as $1,400 for the base tier, though that same July 2026 coverage notes the discounted launch prices of $1,499, $1,599, and $1,799 across the three tiers function as temporary MSRPs, with $1,699, $1,899, and $2,099 standing as the device’s standard, non-promotional retail MSRPs once the campaign ends.
What is the OneXPlayer X2 Mini Pro?
The X2 Mini Pro is a higher-end handheld built around AMD’s Ryzen AI Max+ 388 Strix Halo processor with Radeon 8060S graphics. The official store lists it as a pre-order with shipping starting October 20, at a regular price of $2,699, discounted to $2,499. Configurations start at 48GB RAM / 1TB storage, with memory scaling up to 64GB LPDDR5X.
Is the OneXPlayer 3 cheaper than the ROG Xbox Ally X20?
No. The official store lists the OneXPlayer 3’s 24GB/512GB entry tier at $1,549.00, above the ROG Xbox Ally X20’s $1,299.99 standalone price. The OneXPlayer 3’s top 32GB/1TB configuration is listed at $1,849, higher still.
Why is the X2 Mini Pro so much more expensive than other handhelds?
Its price is driven largely by memory: configurations range from 48GB to 64GB of LPDDR5X at 8,000 MT/s, well beyond what most gaming handhelds carry. That memory capacity is aimed as much at on-device AI workloads as at gaming performance.
Does the OneXPlayer 3 use the same chip as the MSI Claw 8?
Both use Intel Arc-class graphics, making OneXPlayer the second major handheld manufacturer, after MSI, to ship a flagship device built on Intel’s Arc platform rather than AMD’s Ryzen Z2 or Strix Halo chips.
How do I pre-order the OneXPlayer 3 or X2 Mini Pro?
Both are listed on OneXPlayer’s official store. The OneXPlayer 3 is offered there in Intel Arc G3 Extreme configurations, while the X2 Mini Pro is listed as a pre-order with shipping starting October 20.
Is Nvidia making a gaming handheld chip?
As of September 2026, Nvidia’s RTX Spark platform is positioned for AI workstation use rather than gaming handhelds, leaving the premium handheld GPU market split between Intel’s Arc G3 Extreme and AMD’s Ryzen Z2 Extreme and Strix Halo chips.





