Nacon has thrown a new variable into the premium controller fight. The French peripheral maker’s Revolution 5 Unlimited, officially detailed by Forbes on October 2, 2026 and since confirmed by The Verge as shipping with a functioning built-in control screen, puts that display on its front face, which TechRadar identified as a first for an officially licensed PS5 controller. At $229.99, with an announced launch date of October 21, 2026, it costs $30 more than Sony’s own DualSense Edge and $50 more than Microsoft’s Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2, betting that PS5 and PC players will pay a premium for on-pad configuration instead of digging through console menus or phone apps.
The timing is not an accident. Sony is simultaneously pushing the DualSense Wireless Controller – LISA Limited Edition, a $84.99 cosmetic variant tied to BLACKPINK member Lisa, with pre-orders that opened October 2 and a retail launch set for October 30, 2026. Two very different controller strategies are playing out in the same six-week window: one chasing fandom and collectibility at the entry price point, the other chasing hardware differentiation at the top of the market. For the broader gamepad industry, both moves land as the controller segment is already growing briskly, with one market estimate putting the global full-platform gamepad market at $3.97 billion in 2026, up from $3.39 billion in 2025, according to a report cited by GII.
Don't miss new tech stories on Google
Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.
What the Nacon Revolution 5 Unlimited Actually Adds
The headline feature is simple to describe and unusual to find on a gamepad: a built-in control screen embedded directly into the controller’s shell. Instead of pausing a match to dig through a console settings menu, or pulling out a phone to open a companion app, players can reportedly adjust audio mixing, stick sensitivity, and input shortcuts straight from the pad itself, according to Nacon’s own product messaging reported by Forbes. That screen physically replaces the capacitive touchpad that sits on the standard DualSense and on Nacon’s previous Revolution 5 Pro, which is a meaningful trade-off since several PS5 titles use the touchpad for swipe gestures and in-game maps.
Beyond the screen, the Revolution 5 Unlimited uses TMR analog sticks, short for tunnel magnetoresistance, a sensor technology that several premium controller makers have adopted over the past two years specifically to reduce the kind of wear-driven stick drift that made headlines around early PS5 and Switch controllers. The pad ships with a magnetic charging dock included in the box, which has a dedicated USB port for a 2.4 GHz dongle so the dongle does not take up a console port, along with interchangeable stick toppers, a storage case, and, per Ground News’ October 2026 reporting, three swappable weights at 10g, 14g, and 16g for rebalancing the controller’s feel. Connectivity spans PlayStation 5, PC, and compatible Android smart TVs, a three-platform spread, confirmed by GamingTrend in October 2026, that positions it as more than a PS5-only accessory. Nacon also added a Shooter Pro Mode that removes joystick dead zones, a feature aimed squarely at competitive shooter players.
What Nacon has not disclosed is narrowing but still notable. The company has confirmed a PC latency mode rated at 1 ms, according to The Shortcut’s October 2026 coverage and echoed on Nacon’s own product page alongside a 1000 Hz polling rate, and an announced launch date of October 21, 2026, but it still has not published screen resolution, refresh rate, or whether it’s touch-capable, nor an official battery-life figure. That gap between a splashy feature announcement and a complete technical datasheet is typical for peripheral launches timed to generate pre-order buzz ahead of the holiday shopping season, but it leaves early buyers weighing a $229.99 commitment against a still-incomplete spec sheet.
Pricing the Premium Controller Market
Context matters here, because $229.99 is not a casual accessory price. Sony’s own DualSense Edge, the first-party “ultra-customizable” PS5 pad with swappable stick modules and remappable back buttons, launched globally on January 26, 2023, at a recommended retail price of $199.99, a figure Sony has held steady since. Microsoft’s Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2, which debuted on November 4, 2019, carries an MSRP of $179.99 and remains the long-running benchmark for pro-tier controllers thanks to its adjustable-tension thumbsticks and up to 40 hours of rechargeable battery life per charge, according to Xbox’s own announcement materials.
Put plainly, Nacon’s new flagship costs 15% more than the DualSense Edge and 28% more than the Elite Series 2, a gap we’ve tracked closely in our own DualSense Edge vs. Xbox Elite 2 comparison, while a standard DualSense runs $74.99 and a standard Xbox Wireless Controller runs $64.99. That spread between entry and premium tiers, often more than triple the price, is why market researchers increasingly separate “premium” controllers into their own pricing tier. One industry estimate from Global Growth Insights notes that advanced controllers using Hall-effect sensors and adaptive triggers typically cost more than 50% above standard models, without providing an isolated dollar figure for that specific slice of the market.
| Controller | Price (USD) | Key feature | Battery life | Release year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard Xbox Wireless Controller | $64.99 | Baseline, AA or rechargeable pack | Up to 40 hrs (AA) | 2020 |
| Standard DualSense | $74.99 | Haptics, adaptive triggers | ~6 hrs | 2020 |
| DualSense – LISA Limited Edition | $84.99 | Cosmetic BLACKPINK collaboration | ~6 hrs (standard hardware) | 2026 |
| Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2 | $179.99 | Adjustable-tension sticks, swappable components | Up to 40 hrs | 2019 |
| Sony DualSense Edge | $199.99 | Swappable stick modules, remappable back buttons | Shorter than standard DualSense (no published figure) | 2023 |
| Nacon Revolution 5 Unlimited | $229.99 | Built-in interactive screen, TMR sticks, dock included | Not disclosed | 2026 |
Regional pricing tells the same story. The Revolution 5 Unlimited lists at £179.99 in the UK and €199.99 across the eurozone, figures Forbes reported directly from Nacon’s announcement. Sony’s LISA DualSense, by contrast, sits at £74.99 and €84.99, alongside ¥12,480 in Japan including tax and a scattering of Southeast Asian prices from SGD 115 to IDR 1,549,000, underscoring how differently the two companies are approaching the same October release window.
Two Strategies, One Season: Screens vs. Fandom
Sony and Nacon are not directly competing for the same dollar. The LISA DualSense is explicitly a limited-run collectible, sold in highly limited quantities through PlayStation’s own storefront and participating retailers, according to Sony’s September 21 announcement. It uses standard DualSense internals wrapped in a Chroma Pearl finish featuring Lisa’s signature bangs motif on the touchpad, plus “LL” lettering and star graphics. There is no new hardware inside; the entire value proposition is the collaboration itself, timed to BLACKPINK’s ongoing commercial momentum.
Nacon’s bet runs the opposite direction: zero celebrity tie-in, maximum hardware differentiation. That mirrors a pattern that’s played out across the controller category for several years now, where third-party manufacturers use physical innovation to carve space in a market first-party platform holders otherwise dominate through sheer distribution. SteelSeries, 8BitDo, and Razer have all taken similar swings at the $150-plus tier with swappable modules, extended battery packs, or multi-platform Bluetooth switching – a race already mapped out in detail in our breakdown of the Aeon Pro, Xbox Elite 2, and DualSense Edge – but none has shipped a built-in display before Nacon’s announcement. If the feature works as advertised, it would mark the first meaningful interface change to a mainstream console controller shape since adaptive triggers and haptic feedback arrived with the DualSense in 2020.
Historical Context: How We Got Here
Controller innovation has moved in distinct waves. The Xbox Elite Series 2 set the template for “pro” controllers in 2019 with swappable thumbsticks, adjustable trigger stops, and a 40-hour battery that still beats most rivals six years later. Sony answered in 2023 with the DualSense Edge, trading Microsoft’s physical trigger locks for software-based profile switching and modular stick replacement, priced $20 below the Elite Series 2’s launch MSRP but shipping with a shorter battery life that Sony has never quantified publicly.
Third-party makers spent the gap years chasing durability rather than new interface ideas, largely because Hall-effect and TMR sensors became cheap enough to fix the stick-drift complaints that had dogged both first-party pads. Nacon’s own prior flagship, the Revolution 5 Pro, followed that script closely: better sticks, more remapping, a conventional touchpad. The Revolution 5 Unlimited is the first product in that lineage to abandon the touchpad entirely in favor of an always-available screen, a decision that trades a feature some games actually use, touchpad swipe gestures and in-game maps, for one no game currently expects.
Market Impact: Why This Matters Beyond One SKU
The premium controller segment is a small but fast-growing slice of a gamepad market that analysts size very differently depending on methodology. Global Growth Insights pegs the broader gamepad market at $7.147 billion in 2026, up roughly 11.7% year over year, while a more conservative estimate from Intel Market Research puts the gamepad and game controller market at $2.31 billion in 2026, growing at an 8.9% compound annual rate toward $4.56 billion by 2034. Given that spread, the more conservative $2.31 billion figure is the safer baseline for understanding where premium pads like the Revolution 5 Unlimited sit: a small but disproportionately profitable niche within a market that is growing steadily rather than explosively.
For Sony and Microsoft, a $229.99 third-party pad undercutting neither of their first-party premium offerings on price is, in one sense, good news: it validates that players will pay above $200 for a controller without pulling demand away from the DualSense Edge or Elite Series 2 lineups, both of which carry healthier margins through first-party storefronts and official accessory licensing fees. For Nacon, the risk is narrower but sharper. Peripheral makers who ship hardware-first bets with incomplete spec sheets, as Nacon has here with no published battery rating or screen resolution, tend to face return-rate and review-score pressure in the weeks immediately after launch, once early buyers discover what the press release didn’t say.
Competitive Comparison: Where Each Pad Wins
| Category | Nacon Revolution 5 Unlimited | Sony DualSense Edge | Xbox Elite Series 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $229.99 | $199.99 | $179.99 |
| On-pad screen | Yes (replaces touchpad) | No | No |
| Swappable stick modules | Toppers and weights only | Yes, full module swap ($19.99 each) | No, but adjustable tension |
| Published battery life | Not disclosed | Not disclosed (shorter than standard DualSense) | Up to 40 hours |
| Charging dock included | Yes | No (sold separately) | No (sold separately) |
| Platforms | PS5, PC, Android TV | PS5, PC | Xbox, PC |
| Release status | Listed for Oct. 28, 2026 | Shipping since Jan. 2023 | Shipping since Nov. 2019 |
The table makes Nacon’s wager legible. It is not trying to out-engineer the Elite Series 2’s battery life or the DualSense Edge’s modular stick replacement system, both of which remain unmatched by the Revolution 5 Unlimited on paper. Instead, Nacon is betting that a feature neither first-party rival offers, at any price, is worth a premium on its own. That is a narrower bet than it looks: it only pays off if the screen proves genuinely useful in daily play rather than a novelty players stop touching after the first week.
What’s Still Unknown
Several open questions will determine whether the Revolution 5 Unlimited becomes a genuine category leader or a footnote, though the list is shorter than it was in early October. Nacon has now disclosed a 1 ms PC latency mode and confirmed companion-app support on both iOS and Android, per GamingTrend’s October 2026 reporting, but it still has not confirmed screen dimensions, resolution, or refresh rate; has not published a battery-life rating in hours; and has not confirmed whether adaptive triggers and haptic feedback, both core to the PS5 experience, are supported when the pad is paired with a console.
Those gaps are standard for a pre-launch reveal, but they matter more for a product priced above both first-party premium pads. Buyers accustomed to Sony’s and Microsoft’s practice of publishing complete spec sheets before pre-orders open will have to decide whether to commit to Nacon’s screen concept on faith, or wait for independent hands-on testing, since a general release has not been confirmed even though the announced October 21, 2026 launch date has passed.
Five Predictions for the Premium Controller Market
- Expect Sony and Microsoft to stay quiet on screen-equipped controllers through the 2026 holiday season, letting Nacon absorb the early-adopter risk before committing first-party engineering resources to a similar feature.
- Look for at least one additional third-party maker, likely SteelSeries or 8BitDo given their recent pro-tier launches, to announce a competing screen or secondary-display concept within six to nine months if the Revolution 5 Unlimited sells well at retail.
- TMR stick technology will keep spreading downmarket into $60-$100 controllers by mid-2027, following the same adoption curve Hall-effect sensors took after their 2023 debut in premium pads.
- Sony’s limited-edition DualSense strategy, exemplified by the LISA collaboration, will likely continue at a pace of multiple cosmetic drops per year, since it requires no new hardware investment and leans entirely on brand partnerships.
- Expect continued ambiguity in gamepad market-size reporting, given the current spread between estimates as wide as $2.31 billion and $7.147 billion for 2026, until a major research firm standardizes what counts as a “premium” controller.
How Nacon’s Past Products Shaped This Bet
Nacon built its console-accessory business on licensed, budget-friendlier alternatives to first-party pads, a strategy visible in both the Revolution X series and the Revolution 5 Pro. Those pads leaned on remappable buttons and adjustable trigger stops to compete with the Elite Series 2 at a lower price point – the same three-way fight documented in our Switch 2 Pro vs. DualSense Edge vs. Elite 2 comparison – never pushing past roughly $150. The Revolution 5 Unlimited is a departure from that pricing discipline, landing above even Sony’s own flagship. That shift suggests Nacon views the screen as enough of a differentiator to justify abandoning the “cheaper alternative” positioning that defined its earlier hardware, a risky move for a company whose brand recognition trails Sony’s and Microsoft’s by a wide margin among mainstream console buyers.
The Touchpad Trade-Off Nobody’s Talking About
One detail buried in the announcement deserves more scrutiny than it’s gotten: the Revolution 5 Unlimited’s screen physically replaces the capacitive touchpad found on the standard DualSense and the Revolution 5 Pro. A number of PS5 titles, including several first-party Sony games, use that touchpad for swipe-based map navigation or item selection. Players switching to the Revolution 5 Unlimited from a stock DualSense will lose that input method entirely unless Nacon’s software layer finds a way to remap those gestures elsewhere on the pad, something the current announcement does not address.
Code Behind the Customization: What Developers Should Watch
For PC developers building input support, a screen-equipped controller introduces a new wrinkle: third-party pads like the Revolution 5 Unlimited typically expose their extra functionality through vendor SDKs rather than the standard DirectInput or XInput APIs that most engines already handle. A typical detection snippet for a Windows title checking for vendor-specific HID devices looks like this:
import hid
VENDOR_ID_NACON = 0x146B
for device in hid.enumerate():
if device["vendor_id"] == VENDOR_ID_NACON:
print(f"Found Nacon device: {device['product_string']}")
print(f"Path: {device['path']}")
Until Nacon publishes developer documentation for the Revolution 5 Unlimited’s on-screen configuration layer, most games will simply see it as a generic DualShock-compatible HID device, meaning the screen’s deeper features will likely stay locked to Nacon’s own companion app, confirmed by GamingTrend in October 2026 to run on both iOS and Android, rather than integrating with individual games.
What Buyers Should Weigh Before Pre-Ordering
Players deciding between these pads in October 2026 are really choosing between three different value propositions. The DualSense Edge remains the safer bet for anyone who wants Sony’s full adaptive-trigger and haptic feedback feature set with proven modular stick replacement, backed by a $19.99 official replacement part supply chain (see our DualSense battery replacement guide for how that ecosystem holds up over time). The Elite Series 2 still offers the longest-published battery life in the category at up to 40 hours, a number neither Sony nor Nacon has matched with a public figure. The Revolution 5 Unlimited is the pad for players curious about on-controller configuration and willing to accept an incomplete spec sheet and the loss of touchpad gestures in exchange for a genuinely new interaction model.
None of these three pads is strictly worse than the others; they are simply optimized for different buyers. That’s arguably a healthier state for the premium controller market than it’s been in years, since it means genuine feature differentiation, rather than price alone, is once again driving competition at the top of the gamepad category.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Nacon Revolution 5 Unlimited?
It is Nacon’s new flagship PS5 and PC controller, detailed in late September and early October 2026, featuring a built-in interactive screen, TMR analog sticks, an included charging dock, and a $229.99 price tag.
How much does the Nacon Revolution 5 Unlimited cost?
$229.99 in the United States, £179.99 in the UK, and €199.99 across the eurozone, according to Nacon’s announcement reported by Forbes.
Is the Nacon Revolution 5 Unlimited better than the DualSense Edge?
It depends on priorities. The DualSense Edge offers proven modular stick replacement and full PS5 haptic feedback support; the Revolution 5 Unlimited offers a built-in screen but lacks a published battery-life figure and replaces the standard touchpad entirely.
Does the Nacon Revolution 5 Unlimited work on Xbox?
No. Current reporting lists compatibility with PlayStation 5, PC, and compatible Android smart TVs, not Xbox consoles.
When does the Nacon Revolution 5 Unlimited release?
Nacon announced October 21, 2026, as the launch date, though the controller has been detailed publicly since late September and a general release has not been confirmed.
What is the DualSense LISA Limited Edition and how is it related?
It’s a separate, unrelated Sony release: a cosmetic-only DualSense collaboration with BLACKPINK’s Lisa, priced at $84.99, with pre-orders opened October 2, 2026, and retail availability starting October 30, 2026. It uses standard DualSense hardware with no technical upgrades.
How much does the Xbox Elite Series 2 cost in 2026?
Microsoft’s official MSRP remains $179.99, with the controller rated for up to 40 hours of battery life per charge, unchanged since its November 2019 launch.
Will the Revolution 5 Unlimited’s screen support adaptive triggers and haptic feedback on PS5?
Nacon has not confirmed this detail publicly, and it remains one of the key unanswered questions as buyers weigh preorders.





