MediaTek unveiled the Dimensity 9600 Pro on September 15, 2026, at an event in Hsinchu, Taiwan, marking the company’s first mobile chip built on TSMC’s 2nm process node. The launch matters less for the node number than for what MediaTek did with the extra room it bought: it threw out the small efficiency cores that have defined smartphone chip design for more than a decade and replaced them with an eight-core, all-big-core layout. Reuters confirmed the chip as MediaTek’s first smartphone silicon on TSMC’s 2-nanometre process, and outlets including GSMArena, 9to5Google, Gizmochina, and Gadgets Now detailed a 2+3+3 CPU configuration, a dual NPU system, and a new Arm Mali G2-Ultra NX GPU that together aim squarely at Apple’s A20 Pro and Qualcomm’s still-unannounced next flagship chip.
The Dimensity 9600 Pro’s 2nm process and power efficiency gains already made headlines this week. This piece digs into a different part of the story: the architecture MediaTek chose, how it stacks up against Apple and Qualcomm on paper, what it costs, and which phones will carry it first.
Don't miss new tech stories on Google
Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.
MediaTek Ships Its First 2nm Flagship Chip
MediaTek’s own press materials describe the Dimensity 9600 Pro as setting “a new standard for flagship smartphone chips,” built on TSMC’s second-generation 2nm N2P node. That framing carries weight because MediaTek has spent years playing catch-up to Qualcomm on process leadership, typically adopting a new TSMC node a generation behind Snapdragon’s top-tier chips. This time, according to Reuters and multiple outlets covering the September 15 event, MediaTek got to 2nm first among the major mobile chipmakers targeting late-2026 and early-2027 flagship phones.
gagadget reported that the chip packs 33 billion transistors, a figure the outlet used to illustrate how much denser TSMC’s 2nm process is compared with the 3nm and 4nm nodes used in prior Dimensity generations. More transistors in the same die area typically translate into either more processing units, lower power draw per operation, or both, and MediaTek appears to have used the budget on both fronts: additional big CPU cores plus a heavier NPU block.
The launch event, held in China at roughly 2:30 p.m. local time according to Gadgets Now’s pre-launch coverage, positioned the chip as the foundation for a wave of Android flagships shipping between late September and early 2027. TrendForce’s supply-chain reporting placed initial device availability starting this September, with broader market rollout, including Taiwan, expected in October.
Inside the All-Big-Core 2+3+3 CPU Design
The headline architectural change is the CPU layout. Smartphone chips have used a mix of large “performance” cores and small “efficiency” cores since Arm’s big.LITTLE design became standard around 2013. The Dimensity 9600 Pro drops that mix entirely. 9to5Google, Gizmochina, MightyGadget, and Gadgets Now all independently reported the same eight-core, all-big-core configuration: two Arm C2-Ultra cores clocked at 4.55GHz, three Arm C2-Pro cores at 4.35GHz, and three more C2-Pro cores at 3.1GHz, backed by 16MB of L3 cache according to GSMArena’s September 2026 spec breakdown. Gizmochina described the arrangement plainly as 2+3+3, and gagadget noted that MediaTek “ditches efficiency cores entirely” in favor of an all-performance-class layout.
That is a notable bet. Efficiency cores exist to handle background tasks, like syncing email or running a fitness tracker, without waking the power-hungry performance cores. Removing them outright only makes sense if the “big” cores themselves have gotten efficient enough to idle at low power draw, which is exactly the claim MediaTek is making with the jump to 2nm. According to the reporting from 9to5Google and Shattered.io, MediaTek claims roughly 17% higher single-core performance and about 15% higher multi-core performance compared with the Dimensity 9500, the chip it replaces at the top of MediaTek’s lineup, and an early engineering sample has already backed that up in practice: NeoTeo reported on September 25, 2026, that the sample posted a Geekbench 6 multi-core score of 12,206.
Those gains sit on top of, not instead of, the efficiency benefits of the 2nm node itself. MediaTek’s own materials and Shattered.io’s coverage both point to substantial power reduction as the primary driver behind removing the small cores, with MediaTek claiming a 61% cut in multi-core power draw compared with its prior design as of the September 2026 launch, since an all-big-core layout only makes commercial sense on a phone if it does not tank battery life the moment the screen turns on.
Dual NPU Architecture: NPU 1090 and eNPU 2.0
On the AI side, MightyGadget and Gadgets Now both describe a dual-NPU setup: a primary NPU 1090 paired with a secondary, lower-power eNPU 2.0 block. GizGuide reported that the NPU 1090 doubles INT4 inference performance compared with the NPU 990 found in the Dimensity 9500, a metric relevant to how quickly a phone can run on-device generative AI features like image editing, live translation, or local chatbot inference without sending data to the cloud.
Splitting AI workloads across two NPUs mirrors a pattern already used elsewhere in the industry: run lightweight, always-on tasks (like ambient computing or context awareness) on the efficient secondary engine, and reserve the primary block for demanding generative workloads. None of the outlets that covered the September 15 launch published an explicit TOPS (trillions of operations per second) figure for either engine, so any specific TOPS number attributed to the Dimensity 9600 Pro beyond the relative INT4 gain reported by GizGuide should be treated as unconfirmed.
The New Arm Mali G2-Ultra NX GPU
Graphics duties fall to a new Arm Mali G2-Ultra NX GPU, which multiple outlets, including Gadgets Now and MightyGadget, list by name in their spec tables. Gizmochina’s pre-launch coverage specified a G2-Ultra NX MC12 configuration, referring to a 12-core cluster, and MightyGadget’s spec sheet adds that the GPU includes six embedded neural accelerators alongside standard shader cores. Smartprix reported that the GPU supports hardware ray tracing, a feature MediaTek has offered in prior Dimensity flagships but which this generation pairs with Arm’s newer graphics architecture for the first time, and Gadgets 360 reported on September 15, 2026, that the chip scored 3,029 in 3DMark’s Solar Bay Extreme test, 18% above the Dimensity 9500’s 2,570.
This is also the GPU family behind the DLSS-style upscaling capability Arm detailed for the G2-Ultra NX architecture, and it is the same GPU MediaTek and rival chipmakers are expected to use across their next generation of flagship and near-flagship silicon, following its earlier China-exclusive debut in the Xiaomi 18 Fold. Having the Dimensity 9600 Pro adopt the same GPU family broadens the pool of phones that can run Arm’s upscaling technology, which matters for game studios deciding whether to bother optimizing for it.
Dimensity 9600 Pro vs. Dimensity 9500: What Changed
The generational jump from Dimensity 9500 to 9600 Pro touches nearly every part of the chip. The table below summarizes the confirmed differences based on reporting from 9to5Google, Gizmochina, MightyGadget, GizGuide, and Gadgets Now.
| Spec | Dimensity 9500 | Dimensity 9600 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Process node | TSMC 3nm (N3P) | TSMC 2nm (N2P) |
| CPU layout | Mixed big/little cores | 2+3+3 all-big-core (8 cores) |
| Top CPU clock | Lower than 9600 Pro | 4.55GHz (2x Arm C2-Ultra) |
| NPU | NPU 990 | NPU 1090 + eNPU 2.0 (dual NPU) |
| INT4 AI performance | Baseline | ~2x NPU 990, per GizGuide |
| GPU | Prior-generation Arm Immortalis/Mali design | Arm Mali G2-Ultra NX (MC12) |
| Single-core CPU gain | Baseline | ~17% higher, per 9to5Google |
| Multi-core CPU gain | Baseline | ~15% higher, per 9to5Google |
How It Stacks Up Against Apple A20 Pro and Snapdragon
Gadgets Now ran a direct comparison table pitting the Dimensity 9600 Pro against the Apple A20 Pro and Qualcomm’s next Snapdragon 8-class chip, which as of the September 15 launch date had not yet been announced. Qualcomm’s chip was expected to be detailed at a summit scheduled for September 22-24, a week after MediaTek’s event, meaning MediaTek got the jump on messaging even if final Snapdragon specs remain unconfirmed.
| Category | Dimensity 9600 Pro | Apple A20 Pro | Next Snapdragon 8-class |
|---|---|---|---|
| Status (Sept 15, 2026) | Launched | Launched | Not yet announced |
| Process node | TSMC 2nm (N2P) | 2nm-class (per Gadgets Now) | Not disclosed |
| CPU cores | 8, all big-core (2+3+3) | 6 cores (2 performance + 4 efficiency) | Not disclosed |
| GPU | Mali G2-Ultra NX | 7-core Apple GPU | Not disclosed |
| AI engine | Dual NPU (NPU 1090 + eNPU) | Dual 16-core Neural Engine | Not disclosed |
The most striking contrast is the CPU philosophy. Apple’s A20 Pro keeps the traditional 2 performance plus 4 efficiency layout that has defined its chips for years, while Qualcomm’s own next-generation Snapdragon roadmap has leaned toward custom Oryon cores rather than an all-Arm-reference design. MediaTek’s decision to go all-in on eight identical-class big cores is the more radical departure of the three, betting that 2nm efficiency makes the traditional efficiency-core safety net unnecessary.
Pricing: MediaTek Closes the Gap With Qualcomm
TrendForce, which tracks semiconductor supply chains, reported that the Dimensity 9600 Pro is priced at around $220 per chip, a figure the outlet called a record level for MediaTek’s mobile silicon lineup. TrendForce framed the price as MediaTek “closing in on Qualcomm,” since Snapdragon’s top-tier chips have historically commanded a premium over MediaTek’s flagship parts even when MediaTek matched or beat Qualcomm on raw specs.
A $220 unit price at the chip level generally puts a device’s bill of materials in territory associated with flagship, not mid-range, phones once the rest of the bill of materials, including the display, camera modules, and memory, gets added. That matters for how OEMs price finished handsets: a MediaTek-powered flagship built around the Dimensity 9600 Pro is less likely to undercut a Snapdragon-powered rival purely on chip cost than MediaTek flagships did in prior generations, when the company’s pricing advantage was larger and more consistent.
First Phones: Oppo Find X10 Pro Max, Vivo X500 Pro Lineup
9to5Google reported that one of the first devices to ship with the Dimensity 9600 Pro will be Oppo’s Find X10 Pro Max, which the outlet said was due to be announced within a week of MediaTek’s chip launch. Gizmochina’s pre-launch coverage added Vivo’s X500 Pro and X500 Pro Max to the list of expected early adopters. gagadget noted that, for now, every confirmed launch partner for the chip is based in China, and TrendForce’s supply-chain reporting said phones built around the chip would begin shipping this September, with wider availability, including in Taiwan, following in October.
No Western smartphone brand had confirmed a Dimensity 9600 Pro device as of the September 15 launch, based on the outlets reviewed for this story. That is consistent with MediaTek’s usual rollout pattern, in which Chinese OEMs like Oppo, Vivo, and Redmi typically get first access to a new flagship Dimensity chip before it reaches brands with a heavier Western retail footprint.
Market Impact: MediaTek’s Flagship Push
MediaTek’s flagship ambitions have been building for several years, and the Dimensity 9600 Pro is the clearest signal yet that the company intends to compete with Qualcomm on process leadership rather than just on price. Reaching TSMC’s 2nm node before Qualcomm’s next Snapdragon flagship even has a confirmed launch date is a symbolic win MediaTek’s marketing has leaned into, and Smartprix’s pre-launch coverage explicitly framed the chip as MediaTek “beating Qualcomm to market again this year.”
The commercial stakes are real. MediaTek has historically dominated the mid-range and budget smartphone chip market by volume while ceding the ultra-premium flagship segment to Qualcomm and Apple, where per-unit margins run higher. A chip that can credibly go head-to-head with Apple’s A20 Pro on CPU core count and AI architecture, while undercutting Qualcomm on price even at a record $220, gives MediaTek a stronger case to pitch to OEMs building 2026 and 2027 flagship phones, particularly in China’s competitive high-end Android market where Oppo, Vivo, Honor, and Xiaomi all compete on hardware specs.
Historical Context: From Budget Chips to 2nm Leadership
MediaTek spent most of the 2010s known primarily for affordable chips in budget and mid-range phones, while Qualcomm’s Snapdragon brand owned the flagship conversation. That began shifting with the Dimensity 9000 series, which brought MediaTek onto TSMC’s leading-edge nodes at roughly the same pace as Qualcomm for the first time. The Dimensity 9500 continued that trajectory on a 3nm process. The jump to 2nm with the 9600 Pro extends a multi-generation pattern of MediaTek closing the process-node gap with Qualcomm, and in this specific case, according to Reuters’ reporting on the September 15 announcement, getting there first.
That timing lines up with broader industry dynamics around tight memory supply affecting the whole chip industry in 2026, where every chipmaker is under pressure to extract more performance per die rather than simply scaling up memory and core counts, since component costs across the supply chain have been climbing.
The TSMC 2nm Race and What It Means for Android
TSMC’s 2nm N2/N2P process is the manufacturing story underpinning nearly every major chip launch this cycle, and mobile silicon is only one part of it. Multiple outlets, including Reuters and Smartprix, framed the Dimensity 9600 Pro specifically as a race to be first among Android chipmakers to ship a 2nm mobile flagship, ahead of Qualcomm’s next Snapdragon generation. For Android OEMs, having two credible 2nm flagship chip suppliers, MediaTek now and Qualcomm expected within weeks, gives device makers more negotiating leverage on pricing and supply than they have had in prior cycles when Qualcomm effectively controlled the premium Android chip market on its own.
The practical upside for consumers, if MediaTek’s power and performance claims hold up in independent testing, is a wider set of 2026-2027 Android flagships offering meaningfully better battery life and on-device AI performance than the previous generation, without necessarily paying a premium equivalent to Apple’s or Qualcomm’s flagship pricing.
What Comes Next: Predictions for MediaTek and the Chip Market
- Qualcomm’s next Snapdragon 8-class chip, expected at its summit scheduled for September 22-24, will likely be positioned directly against the Dimensity 9600 Pro’s core count and AI claims, and Qualcomm has historically responded to MediaTek process-node wins with aggressive marketing around real-world benchmarks rather than raw core counts.
- Western smartphone brands beyond the confirmed China-based launch partners are likely to announce Dimensity 9600 Pro devices in the following months, following MediaTek’s usual pattern of a staggered rollout that starts in China before reaching global markets.
- Independent benchmark results (AnTuTu, Geekbench) will start appearing once review units of the Oppo Find X10 Pro Max and Vivo X500 Pro ship, and those numbers will be the real test of whether the all-big-core CPU design delivers on MediaTek’s claimed 17% single-core and 15% multi-core gains without hurting battery life.
- MediaTek’s $220 chip pricing, described by TrendForce as a record for the company, suggests flagship phones built around the 9600 Pro will carry higher retail prices than prior Dimensity flagships, narrowing but likely not closing the price gap with Snapdragon-powered equivalents.
- The all-big-core CPU trend, if the Dimensity 9600 Pro’s real-world battery performance holds up, could push other chipmakers, including Qualcomm, to reconsider the traditional big.LITTLE layout for future flagship designs built on 2nm-class nodes.
Why the All-Big-Core Bet Is Risky
Dropping efficiency cores is not a purely upside move. Arm’s big.LITTLE architecture became standard specifically because small cores sip power during the vast majority of a phone’s runtime, when the screen is idle, a notification is syncing, or a podcast is streaming in the background. An all-big-core chip only wins on battery life if MediaTek’s 2nm process and power-management firmware can make big cores behave like small ones when workloads are light. gagadget’s reporting frames this as the central bet behind the 9600 Pro’s design, and it is the detail independent reviewers will scrutinize hardest once retail units of the Oppo Find X10 Pro Max and Vivo X500 Pro reach test labs.
If MediaTek’s approach works as claimed, it validates a design philosophy that could ripple across the industry. If it does not, and real-world battery testing shows the 9600 Pro trailing efficiency-core designs during typical daily use, MediaTek risks having spent its 2nm process advantage on a CPU layout that looks good in a spec sheet but underperforms where it counts for everyday users.
Frequently Asked Questions
When did MediaTek launch the Dimensity 9600 Pro?
MediaTek launched the Dimensity 9600 Pro on September 15, 2026, at an event in Hsinchu, Taiwan, with the China launch event held around 2:30 p.m. local time, according to Gadgets Now.
What process node is the Dimensity 9600 Pro built on?
It is built on TSMC’s 2nm N2P process, MediaTek’s first mobile chip on a 2nm node, as confirmed by Reuters and MediaTek’s own press materials.
What CPU configuration does the Dimensity 9600 Pro use?
It uses an eight-core, all-big-core 2+3+3 layout: two Arm C2-Ultra cores at 4.55GHz, three Arm C2-Pro cores at 4.35GHz, and three more Arm C2-Pro cores at 3.1GHz, with no small efficiency cores.
How does the Dimensity 9600 Pro’s NPU work?
It uses a dual-NPU design combining a primary NPU 1090 with a secondary eNPU 2.0 engine. GizGuide reported the NPU 1090 roughly doubles INT4 AI performance compared with the NPU 990 in the Dimensity 9500.
Which phones will use the Dimensity 9600 Pro first?
9to5Google and Gizmochina reported that the Oppo Find X10 Pro Max, Vivo X500 Pro, and Vivo X500 Pro Max are among the first confirmed devices, with all initial launch partners based in China according to gagadget.
How much does the Dimensity 9600 Pro cost?
TrendForce reported a chip price of around $220 per unit, which the outlet described as a record level for MediaTek’s mobile chip lineup.
How does the Dimensity 9600 Pro compare to Apple’s A20 Pro?
Per Gadgets Now’s comparison, the Dimensity 9600 Pro uses 8 all-big cores versus the A20 Pro’s 6-core (2 performance plus 4 efficiency) layout, and a Mali G2-Ultra NX GPU versus Apple’s 7-core GPU. Both use dual AI engines, though the underlying architectures differ.
Is Qualcomm’s next Snapdragon chip out yet?
No. As of the Dimensity 9600 Pro’s September 15, 2026 launch, Qualcomm had not announced its next Snapdragon 8-class flagship, with a summit scheduled for September 22-24 expected to bring official details.





