Mario Kart Tour Shuts Down After 200M Downloads [2026]

Nintendo moved to confirm the shutdown on July 7, 2026, with the news going fully public and formal on July 8, 2026, when IGN reported that Mario Kart Tour will permanently end service on September 29, 2026 at 11:00 p.m. Pacific Time after just shy of seven years of live service – a cutoff IGN pinned down to the hour as the game’s run approached its seventh anniversary. The announcement closes out one of the most downloaded mobile titles Nintendo has ever shipped – a span outlets including Shattered flagged in their own July 2026 write-ups on the closure – and it lands squarely inside a much bigger fight over what happens to games that exist only on someone else’s servers. Nintendo has ruled out an offline version, telling IGN flatly that no offline release is planned after the September 2026 shutdown, and the company will not refund unused Rubies or lapsed Gold Pass subscriptions, a decision that echoes the backlash Ubisoft faced when it pulled the plug on The Crew in 2024. For an industry still absorbing that lesson, the Mario Kart Tour shutdown is the biggest test yet of whether an “always-online” mobile game can close quietly or whether every closure now triggers a consumer-rights fight.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

What Nintendo Just Announced About the Mario Kart Tour Shutdown

The end-of-service notice, posted to Nintendo’s official Mario Kart Tour support page, gives players roughly three months’ notice. Servers close on September 29, 2026 at 11:00 p.m. PT, which Engadget’s July 8, 2026 report on the closure converts to 2:00 a.m. ET, Nintendo’s own support page lists as 8:00 a.m. CEST on September 30, and Nintendo Life separately clocked as 7:00 a.m. BST that same morning. Nintendo’s official MarioKartTourEN account reiterated those same September 29-30 cutoff times on X that same day, July 8, 2026, leaving no ambiguity across time zones. Nintendo’s statement is short and final: “An offline version is not scheduled for release” – a line Nintendo confirmed directly to Tech Insider on July 7, 2026, and one Engadget independently confirmed in its own July 2026 coverage of the shutdown. The company paired that line with a thank-you message to the player base, saying, “We sincerely thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your continued patronage since the service launch.”

Ahead of the public announcement, Nintendo had already started winding the game down, and the two housekeeping moves didn’t even land on the same day. Nintendo cancelled automatic Gold Pass renewals first, on July 7, 2026, with sales of Rubies, the premium in-game currency, cut off a day later on July 8, 2026, according to Nintendo Life’s reporting on the pre-shutdown wind-down – a sequence that lines up with Nintendo’s own patch notes as tracked by GameFAQs. Both moves are standard pre-shutdown housekeeping, but they also mean players spent the weeks before the announcement unable to buy the currency Nintendo now says won’t be refunded. The Mario Kart Tour shutdown, as Tech Times first framed it, arrives “amid consumer rights fight” – a nod to how differently this kind of announcement now reads compared to five years ago.

The Mario Kart Tour End-of-Service Timeline

Mario Kart Tour launched on September 25, 2019, arriving as Nintendo’s answer to a mobile racing genre that Gameloft and other publishers had already tested for years. The game broke Nintendo’s own mobile records almost immediately, and by the time it shuts down it will have run for just short of seven years – a run TechRadar’s July 2026 coverage of the shutdown also pegged at roughly seven years – longer than any other Nintendo mobile title still under a live-service model. In hindsight, the writing was on the wall well before the formal notice: Engadget reported in its July 2026 coverage that new courses, drivers, karts, and gliders stopped arriving as far back as late 2023, nearly three years before Nintendo made the shutdown official. Yahoo Tech’s rundown of the end-of-service notice confirms the same September 29 cutoff across every region Nintendo lists.

  • September 25, 2019: Mario Kart Tour launches worldwide on iOS and Android
  • Within 11 days: the game passes 100 million downloads, per Sensor Tower
  • Within 6 months: Mario Kart Tour crosses $100 million in lifetime revenue
  • April 2021: Sensor Tower logs 200 million downloads and $200 million in lifetime player spending
  • Early July 2026: Ruby sales stop and Gold Pass auto-renewals are switched off
  • July 7, 2026: Nintendo publishes the official end-of-service notice
  • August 4, 2026: Nintendo opens free Gold Pass access to every player through shutdown
  • September 29, 2026, 11:00 p.m. PT: servers close for good

That timeline matters because it shows a game that never stopped being profitable in any obvious way. Nintendo doesn’t publish granular, year-by-year revenue for individual mobile titles, but third-party trackers filled part of that gap right up to the shutdown: AppCurrents estimated Mario Kart Tour was still pulling in roughly $80,000 to $430,000 a month and 86,000 to 350,000 downloads on iOS alone as of September 2026, while Apprank.io put June 2026 revenue closer to $400,000 a month on about 400,000 monthly downloads – a rough $1 in revenue per download. Neither estimate suggests Mario Kart Tour was bleeding players before the shutdown decision. That’s part of why the announcement caught fans off guard, and why the “no offline version” line landed as hard as it did.

No Offline Mode, No Refunds: What Players Actually Lose

Once the servers go dark, every driver, kart, glider and badge a player earned over seven years disappears with them – Particle’s write-up on the notice put it bluntly, noting the game becomes fully unplayable the instant servers close, and VGC confirmed exactly that once the servers actually went dark on September 29, 2026, reporting the app officially became unplayable the moment the cutoff hit. MobileSyrup drew the same comparison, pointing out that Mario Kart Tour won’t get the kind of soft landing Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp did when its own live-service version ended in November 2024 and was reborn as the paid, non-updating Pocket Camp Complete – there’s no export tool, no legacy client, and no path to keep playing solo. Nintendo’s FAQ is explicit that Rubies still sitting in an account can be spent until the shutdown but will have no value afterward, and can’t be converted to cash or transferred to another game. Gold Pass is no longer a money question either way: Nintendo confirmed every player got free access starting August 4, 2026, and current subscribers keep their benefits free of charge until 10:59 p.m. PT on September 29, 2026, per Nintendo’s account settings page. It’s a goodwill gesture, not a refund – Rubies and past Gold Pass payments still aren’t refundable.

That policy isn’t unusual by the standards of mobile live-service games. What’s changed is the audience reading it. Three years ago, an end-of-service notice like this one would have generated a round of nostalgic obituaries and little else. In 2026, it gets read against a specific, recent precedent: Ubisoft’s shutdown of The Crew, and everything that followed.

Free Gold Pass Access Sparks a Spike in Mario Kart Tour Interest

Nintendo added an unusual wrinkle to the countdown on August 4, 2026, the date Nintendo itself confirmed for the switch: GamesIndustry.biz and Engadget both reported that active Gold Pass subscriptions technically expired around that point, but Nintendo immediately made the benefits free for every player, regardless of subscription status, through the September 30 shutdown, a detail Wikipedia’s own tracking of the end-of-service notice corroborates and that Nintendo Life was among the first outlets to confirm. Existing subscribers were guaranteed their benefits through the same September 29-30 end date instead of risking losing them mid-cycle, a detail GameFAQs’ tracking of the patch notes also bore out. For a game already winding down, removing its last paywall is a notable concession – it means nobody has to spend a dollar to unlock every course, driver, and glider before the servers close.

Shutdown announcements tend to create exactly this kind of spike in interest around a game people had stopped thinking about, and Mario Kart Tour is no exception. Lapsed players are searching for the app again and logging back in for one last run now that Gold Pass content costs nothing, which tracks with the broader pattern of renewed attention a “final weeks” countdown tends to generate. Nintendo hasn’t said whether the free access was a response to player feedback or simply a practical call not to gate content behind a paywall it was about to shut off anyway, but the effect is the same either way: the last seven weeks of Mario Kart Tour are the most accessible the game has ever been.

Why This Shutdown Landed Differently: The Stop Killing Games Backdrop

Ubisoft delisted The Crew on December 14, 2023, and shut its servers permanently on March 31, 2024. Because the racing game required a constant connection, that decision made every copy unplayable overnight, including boxed retail discs some players had owned for a decade. An estimated 12 million people had played it. The shutdown became the spark for Stop Killing Games, a consumer-rights campaign founded by content creator Ross Scott, built around a simple argument: publishers shouldn’t be able to fully switch off a game that people paid for.

The campaign’s European Citizens’ Initiative gathered roughly 1.45 million raw signatures, of which 1,294,188 were validated, an 89% verification rate, and formally submitted to the European Commission on January 26, 2026. On June 16, 2026, the Commission declined to propose binding legislation, citing copyright and intellectual-property complications, and committed instead to a voluntary industry code of conduct and a consumer-awareness push. Ubisoft still faces separate legal action tied to The Crew, including a case brought by French consumer group UFC-Que Choisir, a California suit, and inquiries from French and Australian consumer regulators. A parallel effort in California, a state-level “Stop Killing Games” bill, also failed, losing 4-3 in the state Senate.

Mario Kart Tour isn’t accused of anything close to what happened with The Crew – Nintendo gave roughly 12 weeks of notice rather than shutting servers with little warning, and nobody’s disc collection is at risk. But it’s the highest-profile mobile game to hit an end-of-service wall since the EU Commission closed the door on new rules, and that timing has made it a live case study for whether “voluntary code of conduct” actually changes publisher behavior. GamesRadar+ reported that Stop Killing Games organizers were themselves shut out of a Ubisoft meeting with EU officials ahead of the Commission’s response, which hasn’t helped confidence that the voluntary approach has real teeth.

Mario Kart Tour by the Numbers

Nintendo doesn’t publish live download or revenue counters, so the most reliable figures come from Sensor Tower’s tracking, most recently compiled around the game’s 20-month mark in April 2021. Even a partial picture shows how fast Mario Kart Tour outran every other Nintendo mobile release before or since.

MetricFigureSource
Launch dateSeptember 25, 2019Nintendo
Shutdown dateSeptember 29, 2026, 11:00 p.m. PTNintendo end-of-service notice
Total service lengthJust under 7 yearsCalculated
First-week downloads90.1 millionSensor Tower
First-month downloads123.9 millionSensor Tower
Downloads at 20-month mark200 million+Sensor Tower, April 2021
Revenue at 20-month mark$200 million+Sensor Tower, April 2021
Time to first $100 million in revenueUnder 6 monthsSensor Tower
US share of lifetime revenue37.6% (about $76 million)Sensor Tower
Japan share of lifetime revenue28%Sensor Tower
App Store vs. Google Play revenue split63.4% / 36.6%Sensor Tower

The Sensor Tower analysis also found that revenue held up well after the initial launch spike, averaging roughly $7.7 million a month across the year leading into that April 2021 report, and that Mario Kart Tour was Nintendo’s second-highest-earning mobile title for the fiscal year running April 2020 through March 2021, bringing in $92.7 million in that period alone. Sensor Tower revisited the same numbers in an April 2026 update, reaffirming the 90 million first-week downloads without adding a fresh lifetime total. Nintendo hasn’t updated its own figures publicly since 2021, which is itself notable. A title that once merited its own trade-press coverage for crossing revenue milestones is shutting down without Nintendo offering a final lifetime tally.

Nintendo’s Mobile Games Portfolio: What Survives and What Doesn’t

Mario Kart Tour was one of roughly nine mobile projects Nintendo has shipped since its 2015 partnership with DeNA began, and its shutdown leaves a noticeably thinner lineup behind. Add up the individually reported totals for the five highest-profile releases and Nintendo’s mobile push has generated more than $1.9 billion in lifetime player spending, even before counting Miitomo, Dr. Mario World, Super Mario Run or the newer Fire Emblem Shadows.

GameLaunchedStatus in 2026Lifetime revenue
MiitomoMarch 2016Shut down May 2018Not disclosed
Super Mario RunDecember 2016Active, offline-capableNot disclosed
Fire Emblem HeroesFebruary 2017Active$1.193 billion
Animal Crossing: Pocket CampNovember 2017Live service ended Nov. 2024, reborn as paid “Pocket Camp Complete”~$276 million (live-service era)
Dragalia Lost2018Shut down 2022$168.5 million
Dr. Mario World2019Shut down November 1, 2021Not disclosed
Mario Kart TourSeptember 2019Shutting down September 29, 2026$200 million+ (as of April 2021)
Pikmin BloomOctober 2021Active$84.8 million
Fire Emblem Shadows2020sActive, newest releaseNot disclosed

The pattern is hard to miss. Of the nine titles Nintendo has launched on mobile, four will be fully shut down once Mario Kart Tour goes dark, one has been converted into a static paid app with no further updates, and only three remain as active, evolving live services: Fire Emblem Heroes, Pikmin Bloom, and the newer Fire Emblem Shadows. Super Mario Run survives mainly because it was never a live-service game to begin with, it’s a one-time paid download that works offline by design, which is exactly the model Stop Killing Games advocates want more publishers to adopt.

How the Shutdown Stacks Up Against Other Platform Closures

Mario Kart Tour is the highest-profile entry in a run of 2026 shutdowns that, taken together, say something about where mobile and cloud gaming economics are heading. Supercell’s decision to end Squad Busters came alongside a reported 4% dip in the studio’s overall revenue, a sign that even a hit-driven mobile publisher is willing to cut a title rather than keep subsidizing it. Amazon took a softer approach with Luna, ending new game purchases on its cloud platform through a 61-day wind-down rather than killing the service outright, which at least gave existing customers a defined runway.

Nintendo has been here before, too. Dragalia Lost shut down in 2022 under the same no-offline-mode policy Mario Kart Tour is now following, which means this isn’t a new stance for the company so much as a repeated one. What makes the current closure land harder is timing: it’s arriving five weeks after the EU Commission chose a voluntary code of conduct over binding law, at a moment when the entire industry is being watched for whether it will self-regulate or fall back on old habits.

Comparing the four most-discussed 2026 shutdowns

  • Mario Kart Tour (Nintendo): full shutdown, no offline mode, no refunds, roughly 12 weeks of notice
  • Squad Busters (Supercell): full shutdown tied to a reported 4% dip in Supercell revenue
  • Amazon Luna game purchases: partial wind-down, 61-day window, storefront closes but streaming service continues
  • The Crew (Ubisoft, 2024): full shutdown with minimal notice, no offline mode, retail discs bricked, the case that started Stop Killing Games

What This Means for Nintendo’s Mobile Strategy

Nintendo isn’t leaving mobile, but it’s clearly narrowing its bets. Fire Emblem Heroes just became the first Nintendo mobile game to cross $1 billion in lifetime revenue, and the company followed it with Fire Emblem Shadows, its first new mobile release in years. That’s a company doubling down on a franchise that already works on phones rather than spreading investment across a wide slate the way it did between 2016 and 2019, when it shipped five mobile titles in four years.

Mario Kart as a franchise isn’t disappearing from phones in spirit, since Nintendo’s console and Switch 2 releases will keep the brand visible, but the standalone mobile app is going away with nothing announced to replace it. That leaves a gap in Nintendo’s portfolio that Fire Emblem Heroes and Pikmin Bloom alone can’t fill in terms of casual, pick-up-and-play reach. It also raises a practical question for the Nintendo Switch 2 era: whether the company sees more long-term value in pushing players toward its own hardware ecosystem than in maintaining free-to-play mobile side doors that eventually cost more to support than they earn in goodwill.

Market Impact: A Shrinking Slice of a $157 Billion Industry

Mobile gaming overall isn’t shrinking. The category topped $157 billion in 2025 globally, with iOS still leading revenue and Android’s post-Epic policy changes reshaping how games get distributed and monetized outside official app stores. Against that backdrop, Nintendo’s mobile retreat looks less like a market signal and more like a portfolio decision specific to one company managing an aging live-service title with rising server and support costs against a franchise it can monetize more directly through hardware and subscriptions.

Still, the pattern across Nintendo, Supercell, and Amazon in the same year points to a broader shift: free-to-play mobile games with years-long tails are getting harder to justify unless they’re still growing. Publishers built the last decade of mobile gaming on the assumption that a live-service title, once established, would run indefinitely. 2026 is the year several of the biggest names quietly abandoned that assumption.

A Short History of Nintendo’s Uneasy Mobile Gaming Era

Nintendo resisted mobile gaming for years under former president Satoru Iwata, worried that cheap mobile games would cannibalize its console business. That changed in 2015, when Nintendo announced a five-game partnership with Japanese mobile publisher DeNA. Miitomo, a social chat app rather than a traditional game, launched first in March 2016 and shut down just over two years later, in May 2018.

Super Mario Run followed in December 2016, then Fire Emblem Heroes in February 2017, Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp that November, and Dragalia Lost in 2018. Dr. Mario World and Mario Kart Tour both arrived in 2019, giving Nintendo six live mobile titles at once, its widest mobile lineup ever. Growth slowed sharply after that. Pikmin Bloom, released in October 2021, was Nintendo’s only new mobile launch for roughly four years, until Fire Emblem Shadows arrived in the 2020s. Measured against that history, Mario Kart Tour’s shutdown doesn’t look like an isolated event. It’s the closing chapter of Nintendo’s most experimental mobile period, the one that ran from 2016 to 2019.

The Regulatory Fight Isn’t Over

The EU Commission’s decision to back a voluntary code of conduct rather than binding rules was a loss for Stop Killing Games organizers, but not necessarily the end of the fight. Dexerto reported that campaigners see the 1.29 million validated signatures as leverage they can reuse, both in future EU proceedings and in national legislatures. California’s bill fell just one vote short in the state Senate, a margin close enough that supporters are expected to try again in a future session. Meanwhile, Ubisoft’s ongoing legal exposure over The Crew, including the UFC-Que Choisir case in France and scrutiny from Australian consumer regulators, means courts could still end up deciding questions the EU Commission chose not to legislate.

Mario Kart Tour itself isn’t the target of any known legal action, and Nintendo’s 12-week notice period is longer than what Ubisoft gave Crew players. But every major live-service shutdown between now and whatever the EU’s voluntary code actually produces is going to get measured against the same question: is this publisher behaving like the code of conduct is real, or like nothing changed?

5 Predictions for Mobile Game Platforms After Mario Kart Tour

  1. Nintendo keeps consolidating, not expanding. Expect continued investment in Fire Emblem Heroes and Fire Emblem Shadows rather than a return to a six-title mobile slate.
  2. More publishers add offline modes preemptively. Even without a binding EU law, reputational risk alone will push some studios toward Super Mario Run-style designs that survive a shutdown.
  3. US state-level bills return. California’s 4-3 loss was close enough that a revised “Stop Killing Games” bill is likely to resurface in another state within the next year or two.
  4. No direct Mario Kart Tour successor arrives soon. Nintendo has shown no sign of replacing the mobile kart racer, leaving that specific niche of its portfolio empty for the foreseeable future.
  5. Live-service mobile culling continues industry-wide. With Supercell, Amazon, and Nintendo all trimming titles or storefronts in 2026, expect at least one more major mobile or cloud gaming shutdown announcement before the year ends.

What Mario Kart Tour Players Should Do Before September 29

Anyone still playing has a defined window to act. Take advantage of the free Gold Pass access Nintendo opened to every player on August 5, 2026, per Engadget’s reporting – there’s no reason to pay for a subscription now that it’s free through shutdown. Spend remaining Rubies before September 29, since they become worthless the moment servers close and can’t be transferred or cashed out. If you value the visual record of your progress, screenshot favorite drivers, kart combinations, and badge collections before the shutdown, since there will be no way to view an account after September 29. Finally, don’t expect a last-minute reversal. Nintendo’s language, “not scheduled for release” regarding an offline mode, is the same phrasing the company used before Dragalia Lost’s 2022 shutdown, and no offline version ever materialized for that game either.

Frequently Asked Questions

When exactly does Mario Kart Tour shut down?

Servers close on September 29, 2026 at 11:00 p.m. Pacific Time – 2:00 a.m. ET, as Nintendo Life’s own shutdown-day report confirmed, and 8:00 a.m. CEST on September 30.

Will Nintendo release an offline version of Mario Kart Tour?

No. Nintendo’s official end-of-service notice states an offline version “is not scheduled for release,” matching the approach it took with Dragalia Lost in 2022.

Can I get a refund for Rubies or a Gold Pass subscription?

No refund program has been announced for Rubies or past Gold Pass payments. Rubies can still be spent until the shutdown but will have no value afterward. Gold Pass is a non-issue either way now: Nintendo gave every player free Gold Pass access starting August 5, 2026, per Engadget, and existing subscribers keep their benefits through the September 29-30 shutdown rather than losing access mid-cycle.

Is the Mario Kart Tour Gold Pass free now?

Yes. Starting August 5, 2026, as Engadget reported, Nintendo gave every player without an active Gold Pass subscription free access to Gold Pass benefits through the September 29-30 shutdown. Players who already had a paid subscription keep their benefits through the same date, though Nintendo has not announced any refund for past Gold Pass payments.

How many people downloaded Mario Kart Tour?

Sensor Tower tracked more than 200 million downloads and over $200 million in lifetime player spending as of April 2021, with 90.1 million downloads in the first week alone.

Why is Nintendo shutting down Mario Kart Tour now?

Nintendo hasn’t given a detailed public reason beyond the standard end-of-service notice. The timing follows a broader pattern of the company narrowing its mobile lineup toward Fire Emblem Heroes and its newer titles rather than maintaining every legacy live-service game.

What is the Stop Killing Games movement?

It’s a consumer-rights campaign founded by Ross Scott that argues publishers shouldn’t be able to fully disable games players paid for. It gained momentum after Ubisoft shut down The Crew in 2024 and gathered 1.29 million validated signatures for an EU petition, which the European Commission declined to turn into binding law in June 2026.

Are other Nintendo mobile games also shutting down?

Not currently. Fire Emblem Heroes, Pikmin Bloom, Fire Emblem Shadows, and Super Mario Run remain active. Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp’s live-service version already ended in November 2024 and was replaced by a paid, non-updating app called Pocket Camp Complete.

What should I do with my Mario Kart Tour account before it closes?

Take advantage of the free Gold Pass access Nintendo opened to everyone on August 5, 2026, spend any remaining Rubies, and save screenshots of progress you want to remember, since there’s no way to access the account once servers go offline on September 29, 2026.

Marcus Chen

Marcus Chen

Gaming & Consumer Tech Editor

Marcus Chen is a senior editor at Tech Insider, where he leads coverage of the US online gaming market, including sweepstakes and social casinos, alongside consumer technology. He evaluates operators on their published terms, licensing and RNG certifications, stated redemption policies, and corroborating independent reporting, and writes plainly about what the evidence supports. Tech Insider does not run first-party money tests and does not gamble with reader funds. Marcus has reported on the technology and online-gaming industries for more than a decade.

View all articles