MacBook at 20: Neo at $699, M5 Air From $1,299 [2026]

Engadget marked the 20 years of MacBook history on October 27, 2026, with an anniversary feature by Devindra Hardawar on how Apple shaped the laptops people use today. Apple introduced the first MacBook in 2006, and that machine replaced the iBook and PowerBook lines and ran on an Intel processor. Two decades later, the family spans a $699 entry model and a $2,999 16-inch Pro, and Apple is reportedly days away from a new MacBook Pro.

This analysis walks through the milestones that mattered, checks which ones the rest of the industry copied, and looks at where the lineup stands in late October 2026. The anniversary lands in a busy week for Apple hardware. Our coverage of the iPhone Duo screen replacement costs shows how much of Apple’s hardware attention sits on foldables right now, yet the laptop remains the product that pays for most of the company’s Mac business.

One caution before the history. Apple launched both the first MacBook and the first MacBook Pro in 2006, so the “20 years” label can attach to either line, and the available sources do not pin the anniversary to a single day. Claims that the MacBook “set industry standards” or remains one of Apple’s most successful products are interpretation, not confirmed fact. We flag which statements are reported, which are Apple’s own, and which are our reading of the evidence.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

20 Years of MacBook: What the Anniversary Look Back Covers

Engadget’s feature treats the MacBook as a design thread running from 2006 to 2026. The thread has a few obvious knots: the Intel switch, the Air, the unibody case, Retina screens, the 2016 redesign that stripped ports, Apple’s own silicon in 2020, and the 2021 course correction that put ports back. Each of those moments changed what buyers expected from a laptop, and several changed what rival makers shipped.

The framing matters for search and for readers because anniversary coverage tends to flatten history into a victory lap. The record is messier. Apple made bets that rivals copied within a few product cycles, and it made bets that it quietly reversed. A fair account of 20 years of MacBook design has to count both columns.

The fact base here is deliberately narrow. We rely on Engadget’s retrospective, Apple’s own newsroom posts, MacRumors and CNET lineup pages, and the MacHow2 generation timeline. Where those outlets disagree or go silent, this article stays general rather than guessing at a spec, a date or a sales figure.

The 2006 Launch That Retired the iBook and PowerBook

Apple introduced the first MacBook in 2006 and used it to replace the iBook and PowerBook families. That consolidation is easy to overlook. Before 2006, Apple sold consumer notebooks and professional notebooks under separate brand names with separate engineering lineages. The MacBook and MacBook Pro naming collapsed that confusion into two clear tiers, a pattern the company still uses in 2026.

The naming also set a template for how Apple talks about Macs. “MacBook” meant the everyday machine, and “MacBook Pro” meant the machine with more of everything. The Air later added a third axis based on thinness. Today’s CNET buying guide still sorts Apple laptops along those same lines, with the Neo, Air and Pro as the three steps of the ladder.

The business logic was plain. A smaller lineup is cheaper to build, easier to explain at a store counter and simpler to refresh. Apple has repeated that logic with the iPhone and iPad, and it explains why even the newest iPad mini with its 8.5-inch OLED display and A20 Pro chip slots into a tidy ladder rather than a sprawling catalog.

How the Intel Switch Changed What a Mac Laptop Could Run

The first MacBook used an Intel processor, which ended Apple’s reliance on PowerPC chips in its notebooks. The practical result was compatibility. Intel hardware let the Mac sit closer to the mainstream PC world, and software that once needed a separate Mac port became easier to run on Apple’s machines.

That move looks ironic from 2026. Apple’s best-known laptop advantage today comes from leaving Intel behind. Yet the Intel years, roughly 2006 to 2020, are when the MacBook turned from a niche creative tool into a laptop that students, developers and executives all carried. The platform built its mass audience on x86 silicon and then used that audience as the launch pad for its own chips.

The takeaway for hardware strategists is that Apple’s biggest platform changes tend to arrive in two steps. First it adopts a mainstream standard to widen the audience. Later it replaces that standard with something proprietary once the audience is large enough to justify the cost. The Intel-to-M1 arc fits that pattern, and so does the earlier move from PowerPC.

MacBook Air and the Unibody Push in 2008

Apple debuted the MacBook Air in 2008. MacHow2’s timeline and Engadget’s history both place it as the machine that made thinness a headline spec. The first Air asked buyers to give up ports and an optical drive in exchange for portability, which split opinion at the time. Within a few years, most thin laptops made the same trade.

The same year brought the unibody construction approach. The 2008 MacBook Air and MacBook Pro featured cases machined from a single block of aluminum. The process swapped a stack of panels and fasteners for one rigid shell, which gave the laptops a distinctive look and a stiffer chassis. Premium Windows laptops later leaned on metal bodies too, though we cannot name which makers followed which Apple decision from the sources at hand.

Apple refreshed the Air in late 2010 with redesigned 11-inch and 13-inch models. That two-size layout gave buyers a clear choice between the smallest machine and a still-compact everyday laptop, and the 13-inch Air has stayed at the center of the lineup ever since. In October 2026 it starts at $1,299 with an M5 chip, according to CNET’s tested-MacBooks list, and Cult of Mac reported that Apple opened M5 MacBook Air preorders on March 4, 2026, with availability from March 11.

Retina Displays and the Trackpad Reset

Apple introduced the Retina Display to the MacBook Pro in 2012. MacHow2 describes the 15-inch model of that year as a 2880 by 1800 panel, a resolution that pushed dense screens into the mainstream notebook market. Text looked sharper, photos looked richer, and ordinary 1080p laptop panels suddenly looked soft by comparison.

Display density is one of the cleaner examples of Apple moving a whole category. Once buyers saw high-density screens on a MacBook, they started asking for them elsewhere. That demand did not need a rival’s marketing push. It came from side-by-side comparisons in stores and offices.

Force Touch and the glass trackpad

The generation timeline also credits Apple with replacing mechanical trackpads with Force Touch designs that use pressure sensing and haptic feedback. The change let the company build large, uniform glass pads with no moving hinge. It is a less visible shift than a new screen, but a good trackpad is one of the first things reviewers test, and the MacBook has long set the bar for it.

The 2016 Touch Bar Gamble and the Port Purge

The 2016 MacBook Pro introduced the Touch Bar, a strip of context-sensitive controls that stood in for the function-key row. It also removed legacy ports, leaving four USB-C ports and a headphone connection. Apple argued that one universal connector would simplify things. Many professionals responded by buying dongles.

The USB-C bet itself aged well. The 2015 MacBook had already used a single reversible port for charging, data and display output, and USB-C is now standard across phones, tablets and Windows machines. The Touch Bar aged badly. It never spread to rival laptops in any meaningful way, and the 2021 redesign dropped the idea for the high-end Pro line, according to the MacHow2 timeline, which notes the smaller 2022 13-inch Pro kept the Touch Bar design.

The butterfly keyboard fallout

Alongside the Touch Bar came the thinner butterfly keyboard, which became tied to reliability complaints and a long wave of user frustration. The episode matters for the anniversary story because it shows the cost of chasing thinness. Later MacBooks returned to more conventional key mechanisms, and repairability moved higher on buyers’ checklists. The same tension still plays out in 2026, as our look at the iPhone Duo repair cost ladder from $999 to $1,499 makes clear for Apple’s newest category.

M1 in 2020: The Chip Swap That Rewrote the Rules

Apple introduced its M1 chip in Mac computers in 2020. The M1 is an Arm-based system-on-a-chip, which put the CPU, graphics and other blocks on one piece of silicon that Apple designed itself. The MacHow2 timeline notes that 2020 was an odd year in which Intel and Apple silicon MacBooks launched side by side, a short overlap before the transition took over.

The M1 era changed the laptop conversation from clock speeds to efficiency. The M1 MacBook Air ran without a fan, which showed that a thin laptop could pair strong performance with long battery life and near-silent operation. Windows makers have spent the years since trying to match that profile with Arm-based and efficiency-focused designs of their own.

The chip story also explains why Apple’s valuation chatter keeps circling the company. We covered how Apple briefly topped NVIDIA at a $5.1 trillion intraday value, and the Mac’s custom silicon is part of the hardware narrative that investors weigh. We make no claim here about how much of that value comes from MacBooks specifically, since no confirmed breakdown is available.

2021 and 2022: Apple Walks Back Ports and Reshapes the Air

In 2021, Apple introduced MacBook Pro models with the M1 Pro and M1 Max chips. The redesign brought back an SD card reader and an HDMI port, and MacHow2 and other timelines add that MagSafe returned too. It was a rare public reversal. Apple had spent five years telling pros that fewer ports were progress, then shipped a machine that answered their complaints one connector at a time.

The next year Apple introduced the M2 MacBook Air in 2022. The model dropped the old wedge profile for a flat enclosure, moved to a larger 13.6-inch display and, per the MacHow2 timeline, restored MagSafe on the Air line. One reviewer called the machine a “near perfect” computer, though the sources do not identify who said it, so we treat that line as unattributed opinion rather than a verdict.

Steve Jobs once said, “So I think Apple has had a good hand in setting the direction for the whole industry now, again.” The line is a useful reminder of how Apple likes to describe its role. Whether it holds for the MacBook is a judgment call, and the table below tests it milestone by milestone.

Twenty Years in One Table: The MacBook Milestones

YearMilestoneWhat changedIndustry echo
2006First MacBook and MacBook ProReplaced iBook and PowerBook, moved to IntelMac closer to mainstream PC software
2008MacBook Air, unibody casesThin design, shell machined from one aluminum blockThin-and-light became a mainstream laptop category
2010Redesigned 11-inch and 13-inch AirTwo compact sizes for different buyersCompact two-size lineups became common
2012Retina Display on MacBook ProHigh-density screen, 2880 by 1800 on the 15-inchSharper laptop panels became an expectation
2016Touch Bar, four USB-C portsLegacy ports removed, headphone jack keptUSB-C spread widely, Touch Bar did not
2020M1 chip in MacArm-based system-on-a-chip replaced IntelEfficiency and battery life became headline specs
2021M1 Pro and M1 Max MacBook ProSD card reader and HDMI port returnedPros got ports back
2022M2 MacBook AirFlat enclosure, larger screen, MagSafeNew Air design language across the line

Sources for the table are Engadget’s retrospective, Apple’s newsroom and the MacHow2 generation timeline. The “industry echo” column is our reading, not a confirmed claim from any single source, and it shows why the “shaped today’s laptops” line works better for some milestones than others.

The MacBook Lineup in October 2026

CNET’s “Best MacBooks We’ve Tested” list, dated October 2026, shows the current ladder. The MacBook Neo starts at $699, the 13-inch MacBook Air with M5 at $1,299, the 15-inch Air with M5 at $1,499, the 14-inch MacBook Pro with M5 at $1,999 and the 16-inch MacBook Pro with M5 Pro at $2,999. Macworld reported in June 2026 that the 15-inch M5 Air rose to $1,499. MacRumors reports that Apple updated the base 14-inch Pro with the M5 chip in October 2025 and refreshed the higher-end 14-inch and 16-inch models with M5 Pro and M5 Max chips in March 2026. Macworld reported in September 2026 that M5 Pro MacBook Pro models start at $2,499 and M5 Max models start at $4,099, with the top M5 Max configuration reaching $4,999.

ModelChipStarting price (CNET, Oct. 2026)Role in the lineup
MacBook NeoNot specified in our sources$699Apple’s least expensive laptop
13-inch MacBook AirM5$1,299Everyday portable
15-inch MacBook AirM5$1,499Larger-screen Air
14-inch MacBook ProM5$1,999Entry Pro
16-inch MacBook ProM5 Pro$2,999Top of the listed ladder

A note on the Neo price. Apple introduced the Neo on March 4, 2026 at $599 in the U.S. and $499 for education, and the $699 figure from CNET’s October listing reflects the price increase of June 25, 2026, with pricing unchanged since June. We use $699 as the conservative retail number. Treat any other starting price you see as a separate, unconfirmed claim until Apple’s own pricing page settles it.

What the price ladder says about strategy

The gap between the $699 Neo and the $2,999 16-inch Pro is $2,300, a spread that would have been unthinkable for the 2006 MacBook line. Apple now covers the budget laptop buyer and the video editor in one family. The 20-year story is partly the story of that widening range, from a pair of Intel notebooks to a five-rung ladder with its own chips.

How the Neo and M5 Air Reached Their Current Prices

Apple introduced the MacBook Neo on March 4, 2026, describing it as its most affordable laptop. The launch price was $599 in the U.S. and $499 for education. Apple’s own pages describe a durable aluminum design and a 13-inch Liquid Retina display, and the product is still called MacBook Neo, with no available result indicating a rename, retirement or discontinuation.

The Air followed a similar path. Apple released the 13-inch and 15-inch MacBook Air with the M5 chip in March 2026. The 13-inch model includes 16GB unified memory and 512GB storage, and the M5 is reported with a 10-core CPU and 8-core GPU in the base configuration. Apple’s page says the Air now comes standard with 512GB of storage and a new SSD that delivers 2x faster read/write performance, paired with a 13.6- or 15.3-inch Liquid Retina display with 500 nits of brightness. The $1,099 13-inch starting price was superseded by the $1,299 price during 2026, so any older figure you see should be checked against Apple’s store.

Shoppers should also separate list prices from sales. In October 2026, retailers ran promotions that brought the 13-inch M5 Air back to about $1,099 and the 15-inch model to about $1,299. Those discounts were active in October but do not represent a permanent Apple price reduction. The reported base configurations are 16GB and 512GB, yet the exact current configurations should be confirmed on Apple’s official store before purchase.

Market Impact: Who Copied Whom

Apple’s influence is easiest to prove where a spec became a default. USB-C charging is the clearest case, because the connector is now routine on Windows laptops, phones and tablets alike. High-density displays are close behind. Premium Windows laptops now ship with sharp panels that would have been the exception in 2011.

The Windows side has its own momentum, and it is not just a follower. Our report on the Surface Laptop Ultra update that fixes three bugs shows Microsoft still iterating on premium laptops, and our RTX Spark 128GB versus Ryzen AI Max Pro 495 192GB memory comparison shows the Windows ecosystem chasing the large unified-memory pools that Apple silicon made popular. We would not claim a direct cause in either case, but the direction of travel is consistent.

IdeaIntroduced on MacSpread to rivals?Our read
Thin-and-light categoryMacBook Air, 2008Yes, widelyBecame a core laptop segment
High-density displayRetina, 2012Yes, widelyNow a baseline expectation
USB-C charging and data2015 MacBook, 2016 ProYes, widelyStandard on modern laptops
Touch Bar2016 MacBook ProNo meaningful uptakeAbandoned on the high-end Pro line in 2021
Custom Arm siliconM1, 2020PartlyRivals chase efficiency, ecosystems differ

The pattern is clear. Ideas that solved a real user problem, such as sharper screens or one reversible port, spread. Ideas that mainly served Apple’s design vision, such as the Touch Bar, stayed on the Mac and then disappeared from the high end.

What Apple Reportedly Plans Next: An OLED Touchscreen MacBook Pro

The anniversary lands days before a reported hardware event. MacRumors, citing Bloomberg’s Mark Gurman, reports that Apple plans to unveil 14-inch and 16-inch MacBook Pro models with touch-enabled OLED displays on Wednesday, October 28. Apple has not confirmed this, so it remains a report. MacRumors also relays that the starting prices could run as much as $500 above current models.

9to5Mac adds a wrinkle. According to its October 23 coverage of Gurman’s reporting, the redesigned Pro would reuse the same M5 Pro and M5 Max chips that debuted nearly eight months earlier, which would make the screen the headline change. The same coverage frames that choice as an oddity with one clear downside. We cannot verify the details beyond those reports.

A touchscreen Mac would mark a break with Apple’s long-held stance that laptop screens should not be touched. That history makes the report worth watching. If it proves true, the MacBook’s 20-year arc ends its second decade with a feature that Windows laptops have offered for years, and the “who copied whom” question flips.

Five Predictions for the Next Decade of Laptops

These are our forecasts, not reported facts, and they rest on the pattern in the milestones above.

  • Touch arrives on more premium laptops, Mac included. If the reported OLED touchscreen Pro ships, rival makers lose one of their remaining talking points against the MacBook.
  • Entry-level pricing becomes the new battleground. With the Neo at $699 in CNET’s listing, Apple is competing directly with the midrange Windows laptops that long owned that tier.
  • Unified memory scales up. Local AI workloads reward large memory pools, so both Apple and the Windows camp will push higher capacities.
  • Repairability gets pulled into the spec sheet. The butterfly keyboard saga and foldable repair costs keep the subject in front of buyers.
  • Port choices keep swinging. Apple’s 2016 purge and 2021 reversal suggest the company will keep adjusting connectors rather than settle on a fixed set.

The takeaway: the MacBook’s influence has been strongest when it fixed a real annoyance and weakest when it chased novelty. That is a useful filter for judging next week’s announcement. For more on where Apple’s silicon and rivals sit, browse our hardware coverage.

Frequently Asked Questions

When did Apple introduce the first MacBook? Apple introduced the first MacBook in 2006, along with the MacBook Pro. It replaced the iBook and PowerBook families and used an Intel processor. The sources we reviewed do not establish an exact anniversary date.

What are the biggest milestones in 20 years of MacBook history? The main ones are the 2006 launch, the 2008 MacBook Air and unibody cases, the 2012 Retina Display, the 2016 Touch Bar and USB-C redesign, the 2020 M1 chip, the 2021 return of the SD card reader and HDMI port, and the 2022 M2 MacBook Air.

What MacBooks does Apple sell in October 2026? According to CNET’s October 2026 list, the lineup includes the MacBook Neo at $699, the 13-inch MacBook Air with M5 at $1,299, the 15-inch Air with M5 at $1,499, the 14-inch MacBook Pro with M5 at $1,999 and the 16-inch MacBook Pro with M5 Pro at $2,999.

Is a new MacBook Pro coming on October 28? MacRumors, citing Bloomberg’s Mark Gurman, reports that Apple plans to unveil 14-inch and 16-inch MacBook Pro models with OLED touchscreens that day. Apple has not confirmed the event details, so treat it as a report.

Did the Touch Bar succeed? No, by the evidence available. The 2016 MacBook Pro introduced it, but it did not spread to rival laptops, and the 2021 high-end Pro redesign moved away from it, according to the MacHow2 timeline.

What did the M1 chip change? The M1, introduced in Macs in 2020, is an Arm-based system-on-a-chip. It let the MacBook Air run without a fan and moved the laptop conversation toward efficiency and battery life.

Did Apple really shape every modern laptop? Not every one. USB-C charging, high-density screens and thin designs spread widely, but the Touch Bar did not. The claim that the MacBook shaped today’s laptops is an interpretation, and the evidence supports it for specific features rather than as a blanket statement.

Sofia Lindström

Sofia Lindström

Editor-in-Chief

Sofia Lindström is the Editor-in-Chief at Tech Insider, where she leads editorial strategy and oversees coverage across AI, cybersecurity, and enterprise technology. With over a decade in Swedish tech journalism, she previously served as technology editor at Dagens Industri and covered the Nordic startup ecosystem for Breakit. Sofia holds an MSc in Media Technology from KTH Royal Institute of Technology and is a frequent speaker at Web Summit and Slush. She is passionate about making complex technology accessible to business leaders.

View all articles