Keychron K3 HE vs Air75 V3 vs K3 Max: 22x Battery Gap [2026]

Last updated: 20 September 2026

Added Keychron K3 HE (launched Feb 2026) and NuPhy Air75 V3 as the battery leader; K3 Max remains current but is now clearly behind on battery by roughly 15x-22x versus Air75 V3.

Programmers who spend eight or ten hours a day at a keyboard have started asking a different question than gamers do. It is not “how fast can this board react,” it is “how does my wrist feel at hour six.” That shift is why low-profile mechanical and Hall-effect keyboards have moved from a gaming niche into daily developer setups through 2026, and why three specific boards keep showing up in the same shopping carts: the Keychron K3 HE, the NuPhy Air75 V3, and the Keychron K3 Max.

All three sit in the same 75% low-profile category, all three ship with tri-mode wireless, and all three are realistic desk companions for a laptop-first coder. But they solve the problem differently. The K3 HE uses magnetic Hall-effect switches with adjustable actuation. The Air75 V3 leans on long-travel Gateron switches and a 4,000 mAh battery rated for up to 1,200 hours. The K3 Max trades battery capacity for full QMK/VIA programmability. The category has only gotten more crowded since: Keychron itself now sells the K5 Ultra 8K, a low-profile board that launched at $114.99 on July 11, 2026, according to MechanicalKeyboard.net — a full-size 100% layout design with 8K polling that TechPowerUp and Gizmochina both confirmed at that same July 2026 launch — and budget Hall-effect entrants like the Attack Shark R98 HE (priced $84.99-$89.99 at its July 2026 launch) are pushing magnetic switching further downmarket, joined in August 2026 by Chosfox’s Init40, a budget low-profile board that launched at $89 with its first batch of 300 units confirmed for shipment on August 25, 2026. The crowded field extends past the dedicated keyboard brands, too: TechPowerUp reported that gaming peripheral maker Turtle Beach announced its own Command Series of PC gaming keyboards and mice in April 2026, a sign that even console-first companies are now chasing the same low-profile desk space. This comparison breaks down the specs, the pricing, the switch technology, and which board actually fits a programmer’s workflow, using data pulled from Keychron, NuPhy, Notebookcheck, Tom’s Guide, and HLPlanet as of September 2026. All three boards have since settled into stable, post-launch retail pricing, and a late-August 2026 comparative analysis independently reconfirmed the same battery-life gap driving the recommendations below.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

Why Low-Profile Keyboards Are Taking Over Developer Desks

Standard mechanical keyboards sit 35-40mm tall at the front row before keycaps. That height forces a wrist bend that ergonomics researchers have flagged for years, and it is a big part of why low-profile boards have gone from a curiosity to a mainstream category for people who type all day rather than just game in the evening. A low-profile mechanical keyboard cuts that front height roughly in half, closer to 16-22mm depending on the model, which keeps the wrist closer to a neutral angle without forcing a buyer into a full ergonomic split layout.

The category has also picked up a second driver: Hall-effect (magnetic) switches. Unlike a traditional mechanical switch that completes a physical circuit at a fixed point, a Hall-effect switch reads the position of a magnet continuously, which lets the keyboard support adjustable actuation points and Rapid Trigger behavior — useful for anyone who leans on IDE shortcuts, chorded hotkeys, or fast undo/redo cycles. That is the technology behind the Keychron K3 HE, and it is the single biggest technical difference separating it from the other two boards in this comparison.

Search interest backs up the shift: DataForSEO tracking shows “low profile mechanical keyboard” pulling roughly 4,400 monthly US searches and “hall effect keyboard” pulling close to 9,900, both climbing through 2026 as more crossover gaming-to-productivity boards hit the market. For programmers specifically, our related coverage on the best mechanical keyboards for programmers and the Wooting 60HE v2 vs. Keychron Q1 Pro vs. ZSA Voyager comparison cover the taller, fully-custom side of the market. This article focuses on the low-profile, travel-friendly side that is increasingly what shows up on a hybrid-work desk. For the broader hardware landscape driving these purchases, see our ongoing coverage of 2026 hardware trends.

Meet the Three Boards

Keychron K3 HE: the magnetic switch pick

The Keychron K3 HE launched via Kickstarter in February 2026 alongside a sibling board, the K3 Ultra, and it is Keychron’s first K3-series keyboard built around a magnetic switch. It uses the company’s Ultra-Fast Lime low-profile Hall-effect switches, with actuation adjustable between 0.2mm and 2.9mm in 0.1mm steps, plus Rapid Trigger support for fast re-actuation. Notebookcheck’s review, published in June 2026, priced the review unit at $114.99, with a Japanese Makuake listing quoting $119.99 for the overseas retail price. It ships in a 75% ANSI layout with 84 keys, double-shot PBT keycaps in an LSA profile, an aluminum frame with wood accents, and three adjustable typing angles (2°, 4.5°, and 7.5°).

NuPhy Air75 V3: the battery-life pick

NuPhy’s Air75 V3 is the third generation of its Air line and launched September 5, 2025, remaining NuPhy’s current flagship low-profile board through 2026 (Forbes covered the wider Air V3 series relaunch in March 2026, and independent test lab RTINGS made the swap official on its own testing bench, replacing the outgoing Air75 V2 with the V3 on March 31, 2026). It uses Gateron Low-Profile 3.0 “Nano” switches, available in Red (linear), Brown (tactile), and Blush (silent) variants, with 3.5mm of total travel — longer than the 3.0mm on the previous V2 generation. The headline spec is battery life: a 4,000 mAh cell rated for up to 1,200 hours with backlighting off, or 60-100 hours with RGB running, according to NuPhy’s own listing and confirmed independently by Tom’s Guide and HLPlanet. It is priced at $139.95 for the ANSI layout and $149.95 for ISO/JIS, and it uses a gasket mount rather than the tray mounts on both Keychron boards here.

Keychron K3 Max: the programmable pick

The Keychron K3 Max is the most conventional of the three: a 75% low-profile board with traditional Gateron low-profile mechanical switches (not magnetic), full QMK and VIA support, and hot-swappable sockets. Keychron’s own product listing puts the battery at 1,550 mAh, rated for roughly 73 hours with backlighting off or 42 hours at the lowest RGB brightness. Buyers who want to go further and build a fully custom board from scratch rather than buying one off the shelf can follow our guide on how to build a custom mechanical keyboard. Pricing sits lower than the other two boards — keyboard price-tracking site KeebFinder lists it starting at $120.99, and Keychron has since released a walnut-accented “All-Wood” special edition. It is the only one of the three with deep firmware-level programmability out of the box, which matters more than it sounds for a developer who wants custom layers for symbols, macros, or a non-QWERTY layout.

Full Specs Comparison

Here is how the three boards stack up across the specs that matter most for daily coding use, pulled directly from Keychron’s and NuPhy’s official listings and the Notebookcheck reviews of each board.

SpecKeychron K3 HENuPhy Air75 V3Keychron K3 Max
Price (USD)$114.99 – $119.99$139.95 (ANSI) / $149.95 (ISO)From $120.99
Switch typeUltra-Fast Lime magnetic (Hall-effect)Gateron Low-Profile 3.0 Nano (mechanical)Gateron low-profile mechanical
ActuationAdjustable 0.2-2.9mm, Rapid TriggerFixed, ~3.5mm total travelFixed, standard mechanical travel
Polling rate (wired/2.4GHz)1,000Hz1,000Hz1,000Hz
Polling rate (Bluetooth)125Hz (BT 5.2)125Hz (BT 5.0/5.1)90Hz (BT 5.1)
Battery capacityNot disclosed; ~55h rated, 27h tested with backlight4,000 mAh1,550 mAh
Battery life (lights off)Up to 55 hoursUp to 1,200 hours~73 hours
ConnectivityUSB-C, 2.4GHz, Bluetooth 5.2USB-C, 2.4GHz, Bluetooth 5.0/5.1USB-C, 2.4GHz, Bluetooth 5.1
Layout75%, 84 keys, ANSI75%, 84 keys, ANSI/ISO/JIS75%, 84 keys, ANSI
KeycapsDouble-shot PBT, LSA profileDouble-shot PBT, nSA profileStandard low-profile PBT/ABS
Mount styleTray mount, aluminum plateGasket mountTray mount
Weight~560-575gNot disclosedNot disclosed
SoftwareProprietary Keychron appProprietary NuPhy appQMK / VIA
ReleaseFebruary 2026 (Kickstarter)September 2025Mid-2025, wood edition Jan 2026

The gap that jumps out is battery life: the Air75 V3’s rated 1,200 hours is roughly 22 times the K3 HE’s 55-hour rating. That is not a knock on the K3 HE’s engineering so much as the tradeoff every Hall-effect board makes — continuously polling a magnetic sensor draws more power than a simple mechanical switch closing a circuit, so magnetic switches consistently cost more battery than their mechanical counterparts across the whole low-profile category, not just this comparison.

Switch Technology Explained: Hall-Effect vs. Traditional Mechanical

The core technical split in this comparison is the K3 HE’s magnetic switches against the traditional mechanical switches in both the Air75 V3 and K3 Max. A traditional mechanical switch, whether tall or low-profile, completes an electrical circuit at one fixed point in the keystroke — press past that point and the keypress registers, and there is no way to change where that point sits without swapping the physical switch.

A Hall-effect switch like the K3 HE’s Ultra-Fast Lime instead uses a magnet and a sensor that reads the key’s position continuously along its travel. That is what makes the 0.2-2.9mm adjustable actuation range possible, along with Rapid Trigger, which re-arms the keypress the instant the key starts moving back up rather than waiting for a full release. For gaming that means faster counter-strafing; for a programmer it means faster double-taps on modifier combos and less unintended key-repeat when typing quickly. Keychron’s marketing frames the related K3 Ultra board (launched alongside the K3 HE, using a traditional mechanical switch instead) as the low-latency option, with an 8,000Hz polling rate and 0.125ms response time — a useful data point showing polling rate and switch type are independent variables, not the same spec.

Neither the Air75 V3 nor the K3 Max supports adjustable actuation, since both use fixed-point Gateron low-profile mechanical switches. The tradeoff is that fixed-point switches are simpler, cheaper to manufacture, and — as the battery numbers above show — dramatically less power-hungry. For a developer whose main workload is typing code rather than gaming, the practical difference between a Hall-effect board and a well-tuned mechanical one is smaller than marketing suggests; the bigger differentiator ends up being travel distance, keycap profile, and mount type, which shape how the board actually feels after four hours of continuous typing.

Typing Feel and Ergonomics for Long Coding Sessions

Typing feel is the hardest spec to reduce to a number, but the three boards land in genuinely different places. The NuPhy Air75 V3’s gasket mount is the standout here for long sessions — a gasket-mounted plate flexes slightly under each keystroke instead of transmitting the full impact straight to the case, which softens the bottom-out feel that causes finger fatigue over a full workday. Combined with the Air75 V3’s longer 3.5mm travel, reviewers at Tom’s Guide and HLPlanet both describe the board as noticeably cushier than a typical low-profile keyboard, which tend to feel stiffer than full-height boards by default.

The Keychron K3 HE takes a different approach: it is tray-mounted rather than gasket-mounted, so it trades some of that cushion for consistency and the adjustable actuation described above. Its three typing angle settings (2°, 4.5°, and 7.5°) give it more wrist-angle flexibility out of the box than the other two boards, which is a genuine ergonomics win for anyone who has not settled on a fixed typing posture yet. The Keychron K3 Max, also tray-mounted, sits closest to a “standard” low-profile mechanical feel — firm, predictable, and closer to what a buyer coming from a tall mechanical keyboard would expect, without the extra softness of a gasket mount.

For wrist strain specifically, all three boards deliver most of the ergonomic benefit simply by being low-profile: at roughly 16-25mm of front height depending on model versus 35-40mm on a typical tall mechanical board, the reduction in wrist extension is the single biggest factor, and it applies whether the switches underneath are magnetic or mechanical.

Battery Life and Connectivity Compared

All three boards ship with tri-mode connectivity — USB-C wired, 2.4GHz wireless, and Bluetooth — which is now table stakes at this price point, and the same 2.4GHz-and-Bluetooth-5.2 wireless pairing carried over to Keychron’s own K5 Ultra 8K at its July 2026 launch, TechPowerUp reported, confirming the format has become standard even on the brand’s higher-polling boards. Where they diverge sharply is battery life, and the gap is large enough to change a buying decision on its own for anyone who travels or hates charging peripherals.

  • NuPhy Air75 V3: 4,000 mAh cell, rated up to 1,200 hours with lighting off, 60-100 hours with RGB enabled — roughly six to seven weeks of full-time 8-hour workdays before a recharge, backlight off.
  • Keychron K3 Max: 1,550 mAh cell, rated ~73 hours lights-off, ~42 hours with RGB at lowest brightness — call it about nine full workdays.
  • Keychron K3 HE: Undisclosed capacity, rated ~55 hours lights-off, with Notebookcheck’s real-world test measuring 27 hours with backlighting on — closer to three or four workdays before a recharge is needed if you leave the RGB running.

Polling rate is nearly identical across wired and 2.4GHz modes — all three hit 1,000Hz — but Bluetooth polling splits the field: the K3 HE and Air75 V3 both run 125Hz over Bluetooth, while the K3 Max drops to 90Hz. That difference is negligible for typing but worth noting if a buyer plans to pair the board with a tablet or a second laptop over Bluetooth rather than the bundled 2.4GHz dongle — and for a sense of how far the ceiling has since moved, Keychron’s own K5 Ultra 8K launched in July 2026 with a 100% layout and 8K polling, Gizmochina reported, eight times the top rate any of these three boards reaches, and Razer has chased that same ceiling with its Huntsman V3 Pro Low-Profile TKL, which Knowledge Sourcing reported launched in August 2026 also running 8 kHz polling.

Software and Programmability: QMK/VIA vs. Proprietary Firmware

This is where the Keychron K3 Max separates itself from the other two boards. It ships with native QMK and VIA support, meaning every key, layer, and macro can be remapped through an open-source, community-maintained configurator without installing proprietary software or waiting on a vendor’s firmware update. For developers who already customize their keymaps — swapping Caps Lock for Escape, building a symbol layer for brackets and pipes, or adding a dedicated layer for IDE shortcuts — that openness matters more day-to-day than raw switch technology.

Neither the K3 HE nor the Air75 V3 currently exposes QMK or VIA; both rely on their makers’ own configuration apps to adjust actuation points, lighting, and basic remapping. That is a meaningful limitation for power users, though it is worth noting Keychron’s related K3 Ultra board (the mechanical-switch sibling launched alongside the K3 HE) does ship with ZMK firmware, so Keychron is clearly moving toward open firmware across its low-profile line — just not yet on the K3 HE itself.

A simple QMK keymap layer for the K3 Max, adding a programmer-friendly symbol layer accessed by holding the right Alt key, looks like this in keymap.c:

[_SYMBOL] = LAYOUT(
  KC_TILD, KC_EXLM, KC_AT,   KC_HASH, KC_DLR,  KC_PERC,
  KC_LPRN, KC_RPRN, KC_LBRC, KC_RBRC, KC_LCBR, KC_RCBR,
  KC_PIPE, KC_BSLS, KC_UNDS, KC_MINS, KC_PLUS, KC_EQL,
  _______, _______, _______, _______, _______, _______
),

That kind of layer is trivial to build and reflash on the K3 Max through VIA’s GUI in minutes. On the K3 HE or Air75 V3, the same customization is limited to whatever remap options each vendor’s app exposes, which is typically simple key swaps rather than full programmable layers. For a deeper walkthrough of flashing custom firmware, see our guide on how to flash QMK/VIA firmware on a keyboard.

Build Quality, Mounting, and Durability

The Keychron K3 HE stands out on materials: an aluminum frame with natural wood accents, a CNC-machined top case, and double-shot PBT keycaps that resist the shine and grime buildup that cheaper ABS keycaps show after a few months of daily typing. The NuPhy Air75 V3 pairs an aluminum top case with an ABS bottom shell and its own double-shot PBT keycaps in an nSA profile, and its gasket mount adds a layer of internal cushioning that also tends to reduce the hollow “ping” sound some rigid tray-mount boards produce.

The Keychron K3 Max is the most utilitarian of the three in stock form, built around a straightforward aluminum-and-tray-mount construction, though Keychron now also sells an “All-Wood” special edition with a walnut case for buyers who want the premium-material look without switching to the K3 HE. All three boards use hot-swappable-friendly low-profile switch footprints in their respective ecosystems (Keychron’s low-profile socket standard for the K3 HE and K3 Max, Gateron’s low-profile socket for the Air75 V3), so switches can be swapped without soldering if a buyer wants to experiment with feel later, though exact hot-swap confirmation varies by retailer listing and buyers should check the specific SKU before assuming full modularity.

Pricing and Value Compared

At full retail, the gap between the cheapest and most expensive board in this comparison is about $25 — smaller than it looks once you factor in what each price actually buys. The table below breaks down list price against the standout feature each board is built around.

KeyboardList pricePrice per standout specBest justified by
Keychron K3 HE$114.99 – $119.99Cheapest entry into Hall-effect switchingAdjustable actuation and Rapid Trigger
Keychron K3 MaxFrom $120.99~$120.99 for full QMK/VIA supportFirmware-level programmability
NuPhy Air75 V3 (ANSI)$139.95~$0.12 per rated hour of battery lifeLongest battery life, gasket-mount comfort
NuPhy Air75 V3 (ISO/JIS)$149.95International layout premiumNon-US keyboard layouts

Viewed that way, the K3 HE is actually the most affordable route into magnetic-switch typing on the low-profile side of the market — most Hall-effect keyboards, tall or low-profile, still launch above $130. The K3 Max undercuts both boards on raw price while being the only one with open firmware, which is why it remains the volume seller of the three, according to KeebFinder’s pricing data. The Air75 V3 asks the largest premium, but it is buying a specific, quantifiable outcome: roughly a month and a half of daily use per charge instead of a few days. Budget-focused buyers willing to step back a generation have an even cheaper route to that same gasket-mount comfort: 9to5Toys tracked the outgoing NuPhy Air75 V2, originally $150, marked down to $69.99 — about 25% off — during a September 2026 Labor Day sale. Buyers who don’t need a name-brand warranty have an even newer option: Chosfox’s Init40 launched at $89 in August 2026, undercutting all three full-price boards here, though its first production run was limited to just 300 units confirmed for shipment on August 25, 2026.

What Reviewers Measured: Benchmarks and Real-World Testing

Independent testing across three review outlets lines up closely with the manufacturers’ own claims, with a few notable real-world gaps. Notebookcheck’s June 2026 review of the K3 HE measured 27 hours of continuous use with backlighting on against Keychron’s rated figures, confirmed the $114.99-$119.99 retail pricing was holding steady, and verified the 1,000Hz wired/2.4GHz polling rate and 125Hz Bluetooth polling independently rather than just citing spec sheets. The same outlet’s Air75 V3 coverage that same month confirmed the $139.95 ANSI price point alongside the 4,000 mAh battery figure and the 1,200-hour lights-off rating, and a follow-up Polish-language review independently verified those same numbers again.

Tom’s Guide’s Air75 V3 review focused heavily on typing feel, confirming the 1,000Hz polling rate over 2.4GHz and wired connections and praising the gasket-mount cushioning specifically for long typing sessions rather than gaming use — a notable finding since most low-profile keyboard reviews are written from a gaming-first perspective. HLPlanet’s review corroborated NuPhy’s 60-100 hour RGB-on battery estimate through its own testing rather than simply repeating the spec sheet.

On the K3 HE’s Hall-effect performance specifically, a detailed hands-on review posted to the r/MechanicalKeyboards community on Reddit measured the same 318.62 x 126mm footprint and confirmed the adjustable typing angles independently of Keychron’s marketing copy. None of the available reviews published direct WPM (words-per-minute) or millisecond-level latency comparisons across all three boards specifically, so buyers chasing exact competitive-typing benchmarks should treat the polling-rate and actuation-range specs as the best available proxy rather than expecting a controlled head-to-head speed test between these three exact models.

Other Low-Profile Options Worth Knowing About

These three are not the only low-profile boards a developer will run into while shopping in 2026. Keychron’s own K3 Ultra, launched alongside the K3 HE, swaps the magnetic switch for a traditional Milk POM mechanical switch but pushes polling to 8,000Hz (0.125ms response) and battery life to a claimed 550 hours using ZMK firmware — a genuinely different tradeoff aimed at buyers who want speed and battery life over adjustable actuation. NuPhy also sells an Air75 HE variant with Gateron’s Low Profile Magnetic “Jade” switches for buyers who want NuPhy’s build quality with Hall-effect actuation rather than the traditional switches in the V3 covered here. NuPhy’s own lineup goes cheaper still: the NuPhy Kick75, which launched back in March 2025 with a $99 starting price, according to INKL, uses profile-swappable hardware that lets a buyer switch the same board between low-profile and standard-height typing, making it the budget on-ramp into NuPhy’s ecosystem for shoppers who find the Air75 V3 too expensive.

Outside the Keychron and NuPhy ecosystems, Wooting’s magnetic-switch lineup and Logitech’s low-profile boards both compete for the same desk space — Logitech’s MX Mechanical Mini lists at $149.99 and the full-size MX Mechanical runs $159.99-$179.99, both current as of September 2026. Razer has pushed further into the category too, with the Razer BlackWidow V4 Low Profile reviewed at $229.99 by CGMagazine back in September 2025 and the Razer Huntsman V3 Pro Low-Profile TKL, an 8KHz-polling board Razer officially announced on August 20, 2026 and marketed as the first low-profile analog-optical esports keyboard, with Knowledge Sourcing reporting adjustable actuation from 0.1mm to 2.8mm, a finer bottom end than the K3 HE’s 0.2mm minimum, carrying a $229.99 Tech-Insider price check that August before climbing to $369 as of September 2026, while CHERRY XTRFY’s K63W Pro Compact low-profile gaming board launched at ₮179.99 on July 2, 2026. Lofree has carved out its own niche in the crowdfunding space with the Flow 2 68, which Gadgetoid reported was still available for late Kickstarter pledges at $119 as of September 2025. None of these currently undercuts the K3 HE on price for Hall-effect switching. If a taller, fully-custom mechanical build is more your speed than a low-profile board, our Wooting 60HE v2 vs. Keychron Q1 Pro vs. ZSA Voyager comparison and our guide to the general mechanical vs. membrane keyboard tradeoffs cover that side of the market in more depth.

Six Real-World Use Cases: Which Keyboard Fits Your Workflow

Specs matter less than how a keyboard fits an actual day of work. A board that wins every column on a comparison table can still be the wrong choice if it does not match how a specific developer actually spends their hours. Here is how the three boards map onto common developer workflows, based on the way each board’s standout feature plays out in practice.

  • Remote backend engineer running long on-call shifts: The Keychron K3 HE’s adjustable actuation and Rapid Trigger reduce accidental double-keystrokes during fast terminal work, and the three typing angles help manage wrist fatigue across a 10-hour shift. For someone paged at odd hours and typing kubectl or psql commands half-awake, a lower actuation point set around 0.8-1.0mm shaves real time off command entry without adding the mis-taps that come from going all the way down to the 0.2mm minimum.
  • Full-stack developer who travels or works from cafes: The NuPhy Air75 V3’s 1,200-hour battery life means it can go weeks between charges, which matters when a charging cable is the one thing left at home. Combined with tri-mode connectivity, it is realistic to leave the board permanently paired to a laptop over 2.4GHz and never think about the battery indicator again during a normal work month.
  • Open-source maintainer who lives in custom keymaps: The Keychron K3 Max’s native QMK/VIA support makes it the only board here suited to building dedicated symbol layers, macro layers, or a non-QWERTY layout without workarounds. Maintainers who juggle multiple repos, multiple terminal panes, and heavy tmux or window-manager shortcut usage get the most value from a board that can be reflashed on demand rather than waiting on vendor firmware updates.
  • Vim or Emacs power user who chains modifier combos: The K3 HE’s Hall-effect Rapid Trigger is built for exactly this kind of fast, repeated key-combo input — dd, ciw, or a chained Ctrl-X Ctrl-S in Emacs benefit from a switch that re-arms the instant a key starts rising rather than waiting for a full mechanical release.
  • Developer sharing an open office or co-working desk: The Air75 V3’s Blush “silent” Nano switch option is the quietest choice of the three for keeping coworkers happy, and the gasket mount further dampens the bottom-out sound compared to the tray-mounted K3 HE and K3 Max, both of which transmit more of each keystroke’s impact directly through the case.
  • Junior developer or student on a tight budget: The K3 Max’s sub-$125 starting price and open firmware make it the best value entry point, since QMK/VIA support means it will not feel limiting as skills grow — a beginner can start on the stock layout and gradually add custom layers as their workflow matures, rather than needing to upgrade hardware later.

Keycap Profile and Typing Sound: A Closer Look

Keycap profile shapes both feel and sound more than most buyers expect, and the three boards take different approaches. The Keychron K3 HE uses an LSA profile — a low, slightly sculpted shape designed specifically for low-profile switches — paired with double-shot PBT plastic, which resists the shine and smoothing that lower-quality ABS keycaps develop after a few months of daily contact with fingertips. The NuPhy Air75 V3 uses its own nSA profile, also double-shot PBT, with a slightly different curvature that reviewers at Tom’s Guide described as closer to a standard desktop keyboard’s feel despite the reduced height.

Sound signature follows directly from the mount type covered earlier. The Air75 V3’s gasket mount produces a deeper, more muted sound profile, especially with the Blush silent switches installed. The K3 HE and K3 Max, both tray-mounted, produce a sharper, more resonant sound by default — not unpleasant, but noticeably different in an open office where sound carries. Buyers sensitive to typing noise, or who work in shared spaces on video calls throughout the day, should weigh this alongside the raw specs; it does not show up in any spec sheet but affects daily use more than polling rate ever will.

Availability and Buying Considerations

All three boards are past their crowdfunding or launch-window pricing and sit in regular retail availability as of late August 2026. The Keychron K3 HE and K3 Max are both sold directly through Keychron’s own store as well as through Amazon and regional distributors, with the K3 HE occasionally showing modest regional price variation (the $114.99-$119.99 range reflects that spread across US and overseas Keychron storefronts). The NuPhy Air75 V3 is sold through NuPhy’s official store and select retail partners, with the ANSI layout as the standard US configuration and ISO/JIS variants priced slightly higher to cover the added tooling for international layouts.

Because all three are current-generation products rather than older stock being cleared out, buyers should expect standard one-year manufacturer warranties typical of the mechanical keyboard category, along with active firmware support given how recently each board launched — the K3 HE and K3 Max both shipped within the past 12-18 months, and the Air75 V3 launched in September 2025. That recency matters for a peripheral that lives on a desk for years: a board still receiving firmware updates is less likely to hit an abandoned-software wall a year or two into ownership.

Migration Guide: Switching From a Standard Mechanical Keyboard

Moving from a tall mechanical keyboard to any of these three low-profile boards takes about a week of adjustment. Here is the process that minimizes the productivity dip.

  1. Pair before you commit. Charge the board fully and pair it over 2.4GHz first (not Bluetooth) for the lowest latency and most reliable connection while you get used to the new travel distance.
  2. Set the typing angle first. On the K3 HE, test all three angle settings (2°, 4.5°, 7.5°) in your first session; on the Air75 V3 and K3 Max, use the included feet or a wrist rest to compensate since neither offers multiple built-in angles.
  3. Expect a shorter adjustment on shortcuts than on typing. Muscle memory for text typing usually resets within 2-3 days on a low-profile board; modifier-heavy shortcuts (Ctrl+Shift combos, function-row macros) typically take closer to a full week.
  4. Remap before you get used to workarounds. If moving to the K3 Max, set up your QMK/VIA symbol layer in the first sitting rather than after you have already adapted to the stock layout — it is much harder to unlearn a workaround later.
  5. Tune actuation gradually on the K3 HE. Do not drop straight to the 0.2mm minimum actuation point; start around 1.2-1.5mm (close to a standard mechanical switch) and lower it over a few days to avoid a spike in mis-taps.
  6. Update firmware and companion software immediately. All three boards receive firmware updates through their first few months post-launch; install the companion app (Keychron Launcher or NuPhy’s app) before daily use to avoid missing early bug fixes.
  7. Keep your old board as backup for two weeks. Low-profile switches feel different enough that a backup option reduces the temptation to abandon the transition on a bad day.

Pros and Cons of Each Keyboard

Keychron K3 HE

Pros: Cheapest entry into Hall-effect low-profile switching, adjustable actuation and Rapid Trigger, three built-in typing angles, premium wood-accented build.
Cons: Shortest battery life of the three by a wide margin, no QMK/VIA support, tray mount feels stiffer than the Air75 V3’s gasket mount.

NuPhy Air75 V3

Pros: Best-in-class 1,200-hour battery life, gasket mount is the most comfortable for long typing sessions, silent switch option, available in ANSI/ISO/JIS.
Cons: Most expensive of the three, no adjustable actuation, no QMK/VIA support, no fixed weight spec published.

Keychron K3 Max

Pros: Lowest starting price, full native QMK/VIA support, hot-swappable, walnut special edition available.
Cons: Shortest of the three feature-wise (no Hall-effect, no gasket mount), lowest Bluetooth polling rate at 90Hz, mid-pack battery life.

Latest Low-Profile Keyboard Updates (September 2026)

A handful of concrete developments since this comparison went live are worth folding into the buying picture, covering hardware documentation, retail status, firmware, and a new spinoff model. None of them change the core recommendations above, but they do affect availability and long-term support for each board. Buyers weighing Hall-effect options more broadly may also want to check our Razer Huntsman V3 HE vs Keychron Q1 HE vs Corsair Vanguard 96 comparison, and anyone prioritizing battery runtime above all else can see how other boards stack up in our AULA F99 vs TH80 Pro vs Kisnt KN85 battery comparison.

  • July 10, 2026: Keychron published K3 HE hardware design files to its public GitHub repository under the K-HE-Series, with a commit dated July 10, 2026 making schematics and hardware reference files accessible to the community — a level of open hardware documentation the K3 Max did not receive at launch, which matters for modders and long-term repairability.
  • July 27, 2026: The Keychron K3 HE completed its move from Kickstarter to standard retail. ANSI units had mostly shipped per a June 23 creator update, ISO layouts were slated for July, and by July 27 the board was listed directly on Keychron’s own site at around $119 with a pre-order note that orders ship within two working days.
  • August 28, 2026: NuPhy launched the Air75 V3 Raycast Edition, a collaboration variant that went on sale August 27-28, 2026 for $149.95 with a Nebula Dark colorway, a collaboration sticker, and a bundled one-month Raycast Pro subscription — a new variant built on the same low-profile battery and wireless platform as the standard Air75 V3 covered above (see also our Keychron V5 Max vs Air75 V2 vs RK84 Pro comparison for how the previous Air75 generation stacks up against other battery-focused boards).
  • August 29, 2026: Keychron’s firmware download page, last updated that day, added a dedicated “Keychron HE and HE 8K Series Firmware and JSON Files” section alongside the existing K3 firmware listings, bringing the K3 HE and related Hall-effect models into the same unified Keychron Launcher firmware pipeline used for the K3 Max.
  • August 31, 2026: A comparative analysis specifically benchmarked the K3 HE, Air75 V3, and K3 Max under their post-launch retail pricing, confirming all three had moved past crowdfunding or early-launch pricing into stable retail availability and reaffirming the battery-capacity gap between the low-profile designs as a current buying consideration.

The Verdict: Which Low-Profile Keyboard Should Programmers Buy

There is no single winner here because the three boards are optimized for different priorities, but the data points to clear defaults. If firmware-level customization is the priority — remappable layers, macros, a non-standard layout — the Keychron K3 Max is the obvious pick: it is the cheapest of the three at from $120.99 and the only one with open QMK/VIA support, and that programmability tends to matter more day-to-day for a developer than switch technology.

If battery anxiety or travel is the deciding factor, the NuPhy Air75 V3 wins outright: its rated 1,200 hours is roughly 22 times the K3 HE’s 55-hour figure, and the gasket mount makes it the most comfortable of the three for marathon typing sessions, even at its $139.95-$149.95 price. And if adjustable actuation and Rapid Trigger genuinely matter to your workflow — fast terminal work, chorded shortcuts, or just wanting to try Hall-effect switching without paying a premium — the Keychron K3 HE is the most affordable way into that category at $114.99-$119.99, as long as you are comfortable charging it every few days.

For most programmers who are not chasing competitive-typing latency, the practical starting point is the K3 Max: it is the cheapest, the most customizable, and the least likely to feel limiting six months in. Upgrade to the Air75 V3 if battery life is the actual pain point, and consider the K3 HE only if adjustable actuation solves a specific problem in your daily workflow rather than as a general-purpose recommendation. That guidance held up under an independent late-August 2026 review of all three boards’ post-launch retail pricing, which reaffirmed the same battery-capacity gap as the deciding factor for most buyers.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a Hall-effect keyboard actually better for programming than a mechanical one?

Not universally. Hall-effect switches like the K3 HE’s Ultra-Fast Lime switches add adjustable actuation and Rapid Trigger, which help with fast repeated keystrokes and shortcut chains, but they cost significantly more battery life — roughly 55 hours versus up to 1,200 hours on the Air75 V3’s traditional mechanical switches. For pure typing comfort over a workday, a well-built traditional mechanical switch with a gasket mount can feel just as good.

Which of these three keyboards has the best battery life?

The NuPhy Air75 V3, by a wide margin. Its 4,000 mAh battery is rated for up to 1,200 hours with backlighting off, compared to about 73 hours on the Keychron K3 Max and about 55 hours on the Keychron K3 HE.

Can I remap keys on the Keychron K3 HE or NuPhy Air75 V3?

Both support basic remapping through their respective companion apps (Keychron Launcher and NuPhy’s software), but neither currently supports QMK or VIA, so deep layer-based programmability is not available. Only the Keychron K3 Max in this comparison ships with native QMK/VIA support.

Are these keyboards hot-swappable?

All three use low-profile switch sockets that support hot-swapping within their respective ecosystems (Keychron’s low-profile standard for the K3 HE and K3 Max, Gateron’s low-profile socket for the Air75 V3), though buyers should confirm hot-swap support on the exact SKU they are purchasing, since it can vary by regional listing.

What is the actual price difference between the cheapest and most expensive board?

About $25 separates the Keychron K3 HE at $114.99 and the NuPhy Air75 V3 at $139.95 for the ANSI layout. The Keychron K3 Max sits in between at around $120.99, making it the best value for buyers who do not need Hall-effect switching or maximum battery life.

Do any of these keyboards support Mac and Windows?

Yes. All three ship with switchable Mac/Windows key layouts and function-row shortcuts, and all connect over USB-C, 2.4GHz, or Bluetooth to either operating system without additional drivers for basic use.

Is the Keychron K3 Ultra a better option than any of these three?

It depends on priorities. The K3 Ultra, launched alongside the K3 HE, uses a traditional mechanical switch but pushes polling to 8,000Hz and claims up to 550 hours of battery life on ZMK firmware — a different tradeoff aimed at buyers who want raw speed and battery life without paying the Hall-effect premium. It was not included in this three-way comparison because it targets a slightly different buyer than the K3 HE, Air75 V3, and K3 Max.

Which keyboard is quietest for shared office use?

The NuPhy Air75 V3, when configured with its Blush “silent” Nano switch option. Its gasket mount also dampens keystroke sound compared to the tray-mounted K3 HE and K3 Max.

Marcus Chen

Marcus Chen

Gaming & Consumer Tech Editor

Marcus Chen is a senior editor at Tech Insider, where he leads coverage of the US online gaming market, including sweepstakes and social casinos, alongside consumer technology. He evaluates operators on their published terms, licensing and RNG certifications, stated redemption policies, and corroborating independent reporting, and writes plainly about what the evidence supports. Tech Insider does not run first-party money tests and does not gamble with reader funds. Marcus has reported on the technology and online-gaming industries for more than a decade.

View all articles