xAI’s coding-focused Grok 4.5 model is back in the headlines two months after it first shipped, and the timing says as much as the numbers do. IBTimes reported on September 6, 2026 that the model – pitched as “a faster, more affordable system designed for coding, software engineering and autonomous AI agents rather than general consumer chat” – is now the centerpiece of a three-way pricing and speed fight with OpenAI and Anthropic that shows no sign of cooling off. Notably, xAI’s own August 2026 release timeline shows the company swapped Grok 4.5 out of consumer-facing Grok plans in favor of Grok 4.6, yet left Grok 4.5 running unchanged in the developer API – which is exactly why the coding-specific model keeps resurfacing in enterprise comparisons rather than fading into a superseded release. The renewed attention lands as enterprise engineering teams comb through two months of independent benchmark data and try to decide whether “good enough and cheap” beats “best but expensive” for day-to-day coding work.
The model itself launched on July 8, 2026, when xAI – now trading under the SpaceXAI banner, per Techtimes – rolled it out as the company’s most capable model to date for coding and agentic tasks. What makes the September resurgence notable is that it’s arriving alongside a fresh round of scrutiny into whether Grok 4.5’s speed and cost advantages actually hold up against Claude Opus 4.8, Claude Opus 4.8 vs GPT-5.6 Sol territory, and OpenAI’s GPT-5.6 lineup on the benchmarks that matter to engineering managers signing off on API budgets.
Don't miss new tech stories on Google
Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.
Grok 4.5: What xAI Actually Shipped
Grok 4.5 is not a general-purpose chat refresh. xAI built it specifically for coding, software engineering, and what the company calls long-running agentic workflows – tasks where a model has to plan, write code, run tests, and iterate over many steps without constant human check-ins. According to Goml.io’s coverage of the launch, xAI framed the release around three pillars: faster performance, lower cost, and stronger enterprise capabilities. Under the hood, xAI’s developer documentation specifies a 500,000-token context window and three selectable reasoning levels – low, medium, and high, with high set as the default – giving engineering teams a dial between speed and depth on longer agentic runs. That framing matters because it signals xAI isn’t trying to win the “smartest model” contest outright – it’s trying to win the “cheapest model that’s smart enough” contest, a different and arguably more commercially urgent fight.
Reuters, cited across multiple outlets, quoted Elon Musk describing the release in direct terms: “It is an Opus-class model, but faster, more token-efficient and lower cost.” That’s a specific claim – Musk is putting Grok 4.5 in the same performance tier as Anthropic’s flagship Opus line while arguing it wins on the metrics that actually show up on a cloud bill: tokens burned and milliseconds waited. Whether that claim survives contact with independent testing is the question the rest of this analysis digs into.
The Benchmark Numbers: Strong, Not Top-of-Field
Independent testing tells a more nuanced story than the launch messaging. On SWE-Bench Pro, a broader software-engineering benchmark that stresses longer, harder repository tasks, testing by Snorkel AI put Grok 4.5 at 64.7%, according to figures reported by Zemith. That’s ahead of GPT-5.5’s 58.6% on the same test, but behind Claude Opus 4.8’s 69.2%. On DeepSWE 1.1, a benchmark that measures how reliably a model closes real developer-submitted bugs, Grok 4.5 posted 53%, trailing Claude Opus 4.8 (59%), GPT-5.5 (67%), and Claude Fable 5, which topped the field at 70%. Broader composite scores tell a similar story: Artificial Analysis’s coding-agent index put Grok 4.5 at 76, good for third place overall as of September 2026, while a separate AI Tools Review measurement placed its Intelligence Index score at just 54, trailing the newest rival releases.
Grok 4.5 fares better on Terminal-Bench 2.1, a benchmark built around command-line and coding-environment tasks. There, it scored 83.3%, putting it in a near-tie with GPT-5.5’s 83.4% and ahead of Claude Opus 4.8’s 78.9%, per figures compiled by Vallettasoftware. On SWE-Bench Verified, the hardest and most closely watched leaderboard, the picture is murkier still: LocalAIMaster’s leaderboard tracking shows Claude Opus 5 leading at 96.0-97.0%, GPT-5.6 Sol close behind at 96.2%, and Claude Fable 5 at 95.0% – but xAI has not disclosed a Grok 4.5 score on that specific benchmark, an omission several outlets flagged directly.
| Benchmark | Grok 4.5 | Claude Opus 4.8 | GPT-5.5 | Claude Fable 5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SWE-Bench Pro | 64.7% | 69.2% | 58.6% | ~80.4% |
| DeepSWE 1.1 | 53% | 59% | 67% | 70% |
| Terminal-Bench 2.1 | 83.3% | 78.9% | 83.4% | 84.3% |
| SWE-Bench Verified | Not disclosed | Not disclosed* | 96.2% (GPT-5.6 Sol) | 95.0% |
| First-token latency (P50) | ~280-285 ms | Not disclosed | ~410-580 ms (GPT-5.6 Terra) | ~520-720 ms (Sonnet 5) |
*Claude Opus 5’s SWE-Bench Verified figures (96.0-97.0%) are reported separately from Opus 4.8; sources did not disclose an Opus 4.8 score on that specific leaderboard. Figures compiled from Zemith, LocalAIMaster, and Vallettasoftware testing referenced above.
The pattern that emerges across five separate benchmarks is consistent: Grok 4.5 is a genuinely strong coding model that beats GPT-5.5 more often than not, holds its own against Claude Opus 4.8 on speed-sensitive tasks, but sits behind the true frontier – Claude Fable 5 and GPT-5.6 Sol – on the hardest, most comprehensive tests. It’s a specialist positioned just below the top tier, not a new outright leader.
Where Grok 4.5 Actually Wins: Tokens and Milliseconds
The more interesting number, and the one xAI is leaning on hardest, is token efficiency. On identical SWE-Bench Pro tasks, Grok 4.5 averaged 15,954 output tokens per job, compared with roughly 67,020 tokens for Claude Opus 4.8 – a difference of more than 4x, according to figures cited by DigitalApplied’s routing analysis. That gap compounds fast at production scale: a coding agent that burns a quarter of the tokens to reach a comparable outcome doesn’t just save money per call, it also finishes tasks faster and hits context-window limits less often on long-running jobs.
Latency tells a similar story. Grok 4.5’s first-token response time sits around 280-285 milliseconds at the 50th percentile, noticeably faster than GPT-5.6 Terra’s reported 410-580 ms and Claude Sonnet 5’s 520-720 ms window. For interactive coding assistants – the kind that developers watch type in real time inside an editor – that difference is the gap between a tool that feels instant and one that feels like it’s thinking.
Pricing: The $2.49 Task That Costs $11.80 Elsewhere
xAI is pricing Grok 4.5 at roughly $2 per million input tokens and $6 per million output tokens, according to comparison data published by CodingFleet – and as of September 2026, xAI’s own API documentation confirms that rate has held steady through the Grok 4.6 consumer transition, with cached input tokens discounted further to $0.30 per million, an 85% cut off the standard input price for repeat-context agentic workloads. That entry-tier rate applies to prompts under 200,000 tokens; xAI’s documentation lists a higher long-context tier of roughly $4 per million input tokens and $12 per million output, with cached input at $0.60, once a prompt crosses the 200,000-token mark, a threshold that matters for the extended agentic runs Grok 4.5 is built for given its 500,000-token context window. But the more telling figure is task-level, not token-level. Techtimes reported that a completed coding-agent task inside xAI’s Grok Build product runs about $2.49, versus $11.80 for the same category of task completed by Claude Fable 5 – a gap Techtimes summarized as an 80% cost cut on coding-agent work. That’s the number driving most of the renewed coverage this week: it’s a concrete, budget-line figure that a CTO can actually put in a spreadsheet.
| Model | Input price (per 1M tokens) | Output price (per 1M tokens) | Approx. cost per coding-agent task |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grok 4.5 (Grok Build) | ~$2 | ~$6 | ~$2.49 |
| Claude Fable 5 (Claude Code) | Not disclosed in cited sources | Not disclosed in cited sources | ~$11.80 |
| GPT-5.5 (Codex) | Not disclosed in cited sources | Not disclosed in cited sources | Comparable completion rate to Grok 4.5, per Techtimes |
Techtimes also noted a tradeoff behind that discount: Grok 4.5 shows a higher hallucination rate than the frontier competition, a caveat that matters more for autonomous, low-oversight agent workflows than for a developer reviewing every suggestion before it merges. That’s the real tension in this launch – xAI is explicitly trading some accuracy headroom for cost and speed, and betting that most production coding work doesn’t need the absolute ceiling of model quality to be useful.
Agent Capabilities and Where Grok 4.5 Actually Runs
Grok 4.5 shipped tied to Grok Build, xAI’s coding-agent product, and according to Reuters’ original launch coverage it became available immediately through Grok Build, through an integration in the Cursor editor, and via the standard xAI developer console using an API key. Those same three access points were still current as of September 2026, according to Wikipedia’s tracking of the release, even after xAI shifted consumer-facing Grok traffic over to Grok 4.6. That distribution strategy – meeting developers inside tools they already use, rather than forcing a migration to a new interface – mirrors how both OpenAI and Anthropic have rolled out their own coding-agent products over the past year.
On agentic coding tasks specifically, Techtimes reported that Grok 4.5 running inside Grok Build “matches GPT-5.5 in Codex and comes within one point of Fable 5 in Claude Code” – but at a fraction of the per-task cost. That’s a meaningful claim if it holds: near-parity completion quality at roughly a fifth of the price is exactly the kind of tradeoff that reshapes procurement decisions, even before it changes anyone’s mind about which model is “smartest.”
Historical Context: From General Chat to Coding Specialist
Grok’s earlier generations were built and marketed primarily as general-purpose conversational models, competing with ChatGPT and Gemini on breadth rather than depth in any one domain. Grok 4.5 marks a deliberate pivot: xAI is no longer trying to be the best all-purpose assistant, it’s trying to own a specific, high-value niche – coding agents that run for extended periods with minimal supervision. Techtimes described the shift as cutting coding-agent costs by roughly 80% relative to prior approaches, framing Grok 4.5 as less an incremental update and more a repositioning of the entire product line around one commercial use case.
That pivot tracks a broader industry pattern. Coding and agentic workflows have become the primary battleground for frontier labs over the past year, ahead of consumer chat features, because enterprise engineering spend is large, recurring, and easy to measure in ROI terms. It’s the same dynamic visible in Anthropic’s push around Claude Fable 5.1 and Mythos 5.1, and in OpenAI’s own coding-agent investments – everyone is chasing the same enterprise budget line.
How OpenAI and Anthropic Are Responding
Neither OpenAI nor Anthropic has issued a direct public statement referencing Grok 4.5 by name, based on the coverage reviewed here. But their actions speak louder than a press quote would. Both companies have continued shipping mid-tier, cost- and latency-optimized coding models alongside their flagship releases – a strategy that only makes sense if they’re feeling pressure from cheaper, faster alternatives entering the same market. The GPT-5.6 Sol vs Fable 5.1 vs Gemini 3.8 Flash comparisons that have proliferated since midsummer are themselves evidence of a market segmenting into “frontier quality” and “frontier-adjacent and cheap” tiers, with Grok 4.5 firmly planted in the second camp.
Anthropic, for its part, continues to hold the top or near-top spot on the hardest benchmarks through Claude Opus 4.8 and Claude Fable 5, and multiple outlets note the company’s reported plans around a $100 billion IPO suggest it’s betting its valuation on staying ahead on raw capability rather than competing on price. OpenAI, meanwhile, has been pushing its own next-generation models – including the GPT-6 Astra line accessible via its GPT-6 Astra API – while also fielding GPT-5.6 variants tuned specifically for latency and cost, a tacit acknowledgment that the “cheap and fast” segment Grok 4.5 occupies is worth defending rather than ceding.
Market Impact: What This Means for Enterprise Coding Budgets
The practical effect of Grok 4.5’s pricing is already visible in how coding-agent vendors talk about model routing. DigitalApplied’s analysis frames the emerging landscape as a “marketing routing matrix,” where engineering teams increasingly route different task types to different models based on cost-per-outcome rather than sticking with a single provider across the board. Under that logic, a team might route routine bug fixes and boilerplate generation to Grok 4.5 to capture the token-efficiency savings, while reserving Claude Opus 4.8 or Fable 5 for the hardest, highest-stakes refactors where the extra 5-15 percentage points of benchmark accuracy actually matter.
That kind of multi-model routing has real implications for how software teams budget for AI tooling. If a coding-agent task that used to cost $11.80 can be completed for $2.49 with comparable success rates on routine work, the math on scaling agentic coding from pilot programs to full production pipelines changes substantially. It also puts pressure on Anthropic and OpenAI to justify premium pricing with a premium that’s obvious on the hardest 10-20% of tasks, since the easy majority of coding work may increasingly default to whichever model is cheapest and fast enough.
The Hallucination Tradeoff Nobody Is Ignoring
The caveat that keeps surfacing across independent coverage is accuracy risk. Techtimes explicitly flagged “higher hallucinations” as the cost of Grok 4.5’s speed and price advantage, and that’s not a minor footnote for agentic workflows specifically. A chat model that hallucinates produces a wrong answer a human can catch. An autonomous coding agent that hallucinates a nonexistent API call, a malformed dependency, or a subtly broken test can ship that mistake into a pull request before anyone notices – especially in the long-running, low-supervision workflows xAI is explicitly marketing Grok 4.5 for. That tension between “fast and cheap” and “safe to leave unattended” is likely to define how cautiously enterprises adopt it for anything beyond routine, easily-reviewed tasks.
What Analysts and Builders Are Saying
Elon Musk framed the release in blunt competitive terms shortly after launch: “It is an Opus-class model, but faster, more token-efficient and lower cost.” That’s the core marketing claim xAI is making – parity with Anthropic’s flagship tier on capability, with a clear edge on the operating costs that show up in a monthly API invoice. The benchmark data reviewed above suggests that claim is directionally true on speed and cost, and only partially true on raw capability, where Grok 4.5 trails both Claude Opus 4.8 and GPT-5.6 Sol on the hardest tests even as it beats GPT-5.5 on several of them.
Five Predictions for the Coding-Agent Race Through Early 2027
- Expect multi-model routing to become the default enterprise pattern rather than the exception, with engineering teams splitting workloads between cheap specialists like Grok 4.5 and frontier-quality models for high-stakes tasks, following the pattern DigitalApplied’s routing matrix already describes.
- xAI will likely publish a formal SWE-Bench Verified score for Grok 4.5 within the next release cycle, since the current omission is drawing consistent attention from independent benchmarkers and is becoming a credibility gap.
- Anthropic and OpenAI will keep shipping cost-optimized, latency-tuned variants of their flagship models – in the mold of GPT-5.6 Terra and Claude Sonnet 5 – specifically to blunt Grok 4.5’s price advantage rather than ceding the budget-conscious segment entirely.
- Hallucination rate, not raw benchmark score, becomes the next major axis of competition and marketing, since Grok 4.5’s cost edge only fully pays off if enterprises trust it enough to reduce human review on agentic tasks.
- Per-task pricing (dollars per completed coding-agent job) will increasingly replace per-token pricing as the headline metric vendors compete on, since it’s the number that actually maps to what engineering leaders budget against.
Grok 4.5 vs the Rest: The Bigger Picture
Zoom out and the Grok 4.5 story is less about one model beating another and more about the coding-AI market splitting into distinct tiers. At the top sit Claude Opus 5, GPT-5.6 Sol, and Claude Fable 5, all clustered in the mid-90s on SWE-Bench Verified and priced accordingly. One rung down sits a cluster of fast, cheap, “good enough” specialists – Grok 4.5 chief among them – that trade a handful of accuracy points for dramatic gains in speed and cost. That’s not a failure state for xAI; it’s a coherent strategy for a company that entered the coding-agent race later than its two biggest rivals and needed a wedge that wasn’t “be the smartest.”
Whether that wedge holds depends on how quickly Anthropic and OpenAI can push their own cost-optimized tiers down toward Grok 4.5’s price point without sacrificing the benchmark lead that currently justifies their premium. Given how fast the LangChain and LangGraph tooling ecosystem has grown around agentic orchestration – now well past 145,000 combined GitHub stars for the two frameworks – the infrastructure for routing between multiple coding models is already in place. That makes it easier than ever for engineering teams to hedge their bets across all three labs simultaneously, rather than picking one vendor and staying loyal to it.
Frequently Asked Questions
When did Grok 4.5 launch?
xAI (trading as SpaceXAI) launched Grok 4.5 on July 8, 2026, according to Reuters. The model returned to headlines in early September 2026 as outlets including IBTimes revisited its competitive positioning against OpenAI and Anthropic.
How does Grok 4.5 compare to GPT-5.5 and Claude Opus 4.8 on coding benchmarks?
Grok 4.5 scores 64.7% on SWE-Bench Pro, ahead of GPT-5.5’s 58.6% but behind Claude Opus 4.8’s 69.2%, based on testing by Snorkel AI cited by Zemith. On Terminal-Bench 2.1, Grok 4.5 (83.3%) is roughly tied with GPT-5.5 (83.4%) and ahead of Claude Opus 4.8 (78.9%).
How much does Grok 4.5 cost compared to Claude Fable 5?
Grok 4.5 is priced around $2 per million input tokens and $6 per million output tokens. Techtimes reported a completed coding-agent task in Grok Build costs about $2.49, versus roughly $11.80 for the equivalent task in Claude Fable 5’s Claude Code environment – an 80% cost reduction on that specific comparison.
Where can developers access Grok 4.5?
Grok 4.5 is available through xAI’s Grok Build coding-agent product, through an integration in the Cursor editor, and via the standard xAI developer API console, according to Reuters’ original launch coverage.
Does Grok 4.5 have a higher hallucination rate than rival models?
Yes. Techtimes reported that Grok 4.5 trades some accuracy for its speed and cost advantages, describing it as having a higher hallucination rate compared with top frontier models like Claude Fable 5 and GPT-5.6 Sol.
What is Grok 4.5’s SWE-Bench Verified score?
xAI has not disclosed a Grok 4.5 score on SWE-Bench Verified, the most closely watched coding leaderboard. By comparison, Claude Opus 5 leads at 96.0-97.0%, GPT-5.6 Sol sits at 96.2%, and Claude Fable 5 is at 95.0%, per LocalAIMaster’s leaderboard tracking.
Is Grok 4.5 faster than GPT-5.6 and Claude Sonnet 5?
Yes, on first-token latency. Grok 4.5 responds in roughly 280-285 milliseconds at the 50th percentile, compared with an estimated 410-580 ms for GPT-5.6 Terra and 520-720 ms for Claude Sonnet 5, based on comparative testing referenced by Meshmac and VPShalo.
What does the Grok 4.5 launch mean for OpenAI and Anthropic?
It intensifies pressure on both companies to defend the budget-conscious segment of the coding-agent market. Neither has issued a direct statement about Grok 4.5, but both continue to ship cost- and latency-optimized model variants alongside their flagship releases, a pattern consistent with responding to cheaper competition entering the same space.





