Claude Fable 5 vs Opus 5 vs GPT-5.6 Sol: $1,125 Gap [2026]

Anthropic did something no major AI lab had tried before: it shipped two flagship-class models five weeks apart, then followed up again in September 2026 with Fable 5.1 and Mythos 5.1, which Anthropic’s own Claude Help Center release notes call the world’s most advanced models yet. Claude Fable 5 landed June 9, 2026, priced as the most expensive model Anthropic has ever sold. Claude Opus 5 followed July 24, 2026, at half the price, and on several benchmarks it actually scored higher, a gap the Claude Help Center now sums up by saying Opus 5 “comes close” to Fable 5’s intelligence for half the cost. Two weeks earlier, OpenAI had already put out its own answer, GPT-5.6 Sol, at $4 input and $20 output per million tokens. Three flagship models, three pricing structures, and now two more point releases layered on top: a genuinely confusing question for anyone building on top of them, which one do you actually point your API key at?

This comparison pulls together the published benchmark data, official pricing pages, and real deployment guidance from teams already routing traffic across all three models. We cover specs, coding and agentic scores, safeguards, and the exact dollar cost of running each one at scale, then close with a migration guide and a verdict you can act on today, updated as of September 2026 to reflect Anthropic’s Fable 5.1 launch, which held at the same $10 input / $50 output per million token rate as the original Fable 5.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

Why Anthropic Suddenly Has Two Flagship Models

Claude Fable 5 is what Anthropic calls a Mythos-class model, a designation the company had not used publicly before this release, and later applied again to a parallel Mythos 5 model that InfoQ and The Hacker News both reported launched at the identical $10 input / $50 output per million token rate as Fable 5, with the same 1 million token context window and 128,000 token output ceiling. It launched June 9, 2026, priced at $10 per million input tokens and $50 per million output tokens, roughly double the cost of the previous Opus generation. Three days later, on June 12, Anthropic pulled the model to comply with a U.S. export-control directive. Access came back July 1, 2026, once the order lifted, giving Fable 5 barely three weeks of uninterrupted availability before Opus 5 showed up and undercut it. That pricing line has held since: Fable 5.1, which Anthropic shipped in September 2026, still runs at the same $10/$50 per million token rate as its predecessor.

Opus 5 arrived July 24, 2026, priced at $5 input and $25 output per million tokens, exactly half of Fable 5’s rate and unchanged from its own predecessor, Opus 4.8, a pricing hold Anthropic confirmed applied across every platform at launch. Anthropic describes it as a thoughtful, proactive model for daily use, and it’s now the default model on Claude Max, a rollout Axios also reported at the time, and the strongest model included on Claude Pro, according to Anthropic’s official Opus 5 announcement. The pitch is unusual for the industry: a newer, cheaper model that matches or beats its pricier sibling on most of the benchmarks that actually matter for production work, and as of September 2026 the Claude Help Center puts it plainly, saying Opus 5 “comes close” to Fable 5’s intelligence at half the price.

GPT-5.6 Sol entered the picture even earlier, reaching general availability on July 9, 2026, two weeks before Opus 5. OpenAI positions it as the flagship of its Sol/Terra/Luna family, priced at $4 input and $20 output per million tokens for standard context requests, with a 1.05 million token context window shared across all three tiers, per OpenAI’s model documentation. That puts three frontier-class models from two labs on the market within a six-week window, each with a different combination of price, context length, and safety posture.

Claude Fable 5 vs Opus 5 vs GPT-5.6 Sol: Specs at a Glance

Before digging into benchmarks, here’s how the three models stack up on the specifications that actually change a routing decision.

SpecClaude Fable 5Claude Opus 5GPT-5.6 Sol
MakerAnthropicAnthropicOpenAI
Release dateJune 9, 2026July 24, 2026July 9, 2026
Model classMythos-class flagshipOpus-tier flagshipSol-tier flagship
Input price (per 1M tokens)$10.00$5.00$4.00
Output price (per 1M tokens)$50.00$25.00$20.00
Context window (input)1M tokens1M tokens1.05M tokens
Max output128K tokens128K tokens128K tokens
Reliable knowledge cutoffJanuary 2026May 2026Not disclosed
Reasoning effort controlsStandard/highLow, medium, high, xhigh, maxStandard/high (varies by tier)
Fast mode availableNoYes ($10/$50 per 1M)Not applicable
Data retention30-day, no zero-retention optionStandard access termsStandard API terms apply
API model IDclaude-fable-5claude-opus-5gpt-5.6-sol

Two things jump out. First, Fable 5 is the only model of the three priced above $10 input, and it’s the only one without a documented zero-data-retention option, a detail that matters for regulated teams before quality even enters the conversation. Second, the knowledge-cutoff gap has actually narrowed since launch: Anthropic’s own Claude Platform documentation lists Opus 5’s reliable cutoff at May 2026, while the updated Fable 5.1 has closed most of that distance with a June 2026 cutoff, just one month behind Opus 5 rather than the four-month spread that separated Opus 5 from the original Fable 5’s January 2026 cutoff.

What Is Claude Fable 5?

Claude Fable 5 is Anthropic’s attempt to make a Mythos-class model, its internal designation for capability beyond the standard Opus tier, safe enough for general release. At launch it was state of the art on nearly every benchmark Anthropic tested, and the company says the lead grows the longer and more complex the task gets. That framing still holds for a narrow set of workloads: long-horizon autonomous biology research, and any task where a genuinely frontier ceiling matters more than cost.

What sets Fable 5 apart operationally is its classifier system. Anthropic built a heavier layer of misuse-resistance filters that watch for cybersecurity exploitation, biology and chemistry requests, and attempts to distill the model’s capabilities into a smaller one. When those classifiers fire, the request gets rerouted to Opus 4.8 instead of Fable 5 answering directly. Anthropic tuned the thresholds conservatively, and early data shows more than 95% of Fable 5 sessions trigger no fallback at all, so most users never notice the system exists. You can read the full product positioning on Anthropic’s Claude Fable page.

Access is also more restricted than Opus 5’s, and it changed shape almost immediately after launch. Anthropic initially included Fable 5 at no extra cost across Pro, Max, and Team plans from its June 9 debut through June 22, 2026, but TechCrunch and Anthropic both confirmed that free window closed on June 23, after which Pro and Team Standard users were shifted onto pay-as-you-go usage credits billed at API rates. Today, on Claude Max and Team Premium plans, Fable 5 remains included with a 50% weekly usage cap; on Pro and Team Standard, it isn’t included at all, it runs strictly on those pay-as-you-go credits. That’s a meaningful gap for anyone comparing the two models inside a subscription rather than through the API directly.

What Is Claude Opus 5?

Claude Opus 5 is the newest model in Anthropic’s Opus tier, priced identically to its predecessor Opus 4.8 despite the capability jump. Anthropic built it around what the company calls agentic persistence: rather than stopping at a plausible-looking answer, the model verifies its own work and iterates until a task actually succeeds. That trait shows up clearly in the agentic benchmark numbers below, where Opus 5 posts some of the largest single-generation gains Anthropic has published.

It’s now the default model on Claude Max and the strongest model available on Claude Pro, a positioning choice that tells you where Anthropic expects most traffic to land, and by September 2026 Anthropic’s own Claude Platform documentation listed Opus 5 as generally available across four separate clouds, the Claude API directly, AWS Bedrock, Google Cloud, and Microsoft Foundry, giving enterprise teams more deployment flexibility than Fable 5 currently offers. On its internal automated behavioral audit, Opus 5 scored 2.3 on misaligned behavior, which the company calls its most aligned model to date, ahead of Opus 4.8, Sonnet 5, and Fable 5. Its cyber classifiers still block binary-based scanning, penetration testing, and exploit generation, but they allow source-code vulnerability finding, and Anthropic expects them to intervene roughly 85% less often than Fable 5’s broader system.

Opus 5 also ships a Fast mode, currently in research preview, that runs at roughly 2.5x the default speed for double the base price: $10 input and $50 output per million tokens, which lands exactly at Fable 5’s standard rate. That gives teams a genuine choice between spending Fable-level money on speed instead of raw capability.

What Is GPT-5.6 Sol?

GPT-5.6 Sol is the flagship tier of OpenAI’s GPT-5.6 family, which also includes the mid-tier Terra ($2 input / $12 output) and the budget Luna tier ($0.20 input / $1.20 output). All three tiers share a 1.05 million token API context window and a 128,000 token max output, though some client integrations like Codex apply a lower session cap. Sol reached general availability July 9, 2026, and OpenAI markets it as frontier intelligence that scales with ambition, positioning it as the model for the hardest coding and agentic tasks in the lineup.

Sol’s pricing splits by context length. Requests under 272,000 tokens run at the standard $4 input / $20 output rate. Cross that threshold and the rate jumps to $10 input / $45 output, with cached input priced separately at $0.50 and $1.00 per million tokens respectively. On long-context recall, Sol holds up well: independent testing on the MRCR v2 eight-needle benchmark shows 91.5% recall at the 256K-512K token range and 73.8% at 512K-1M, both ahead of the mid-tier Terra model.

On the ARC-AGI benchmark suite, verified by the ARC Prize Foundation, Sol scores 96.5% on ARC-AGI-1, 92.5% on ARC-AGI-2, and 7.8% on ARC-AGI-3 at max reasoning effort, and it became the first model to win a public ARC-AGI-3 game (ft09, at 87%). You can check current leaderboard standings directly at ARC Prize. GPT-5.6 Sol also leads the Artificial Analysis Coding Agent Index at a score of 80, a metric tracked independently at Artificial Analysis. OpenAI has not published a directly comparable SWE-bench Verified or Terminal-Bench 2.1 score for Sol as of this writing, so we’ve left those cells marked not disclosed in the table below rather than estimate a number.

Benchmark Scores: Coding, Agentic Tasks, and Reasoning

This is where the pricing gap looks hardest to justify. On the benchmarks Anthropic has published for both Claude models, Opus 5 matches or beats Fable 5 on everything except one narrow coding eval, despite costing half as much.

BenchmarkClaude Fable 5Claude Opus 5GPT-5.6 Sol
SWE-bench Verified95.0%96.0%Not disclosed
SWE-bench Pro80.3%79.2%Not disclosed
Frontier-Bench v0.1 (terminal coding)33.7%43.3%Not tested (Anthropic-internal eval)
GDPval-AA v2 (knowledge-work Elo)1,7471,861Not tested (Anthropic-internal eval)
OSWorld 2.0 (computer use)66.1%70.6%Not disclosed
ARC-AGI-3Not published30.2%7.8%
ARC-AGI-2Not disclosedNot disclosed92.5%
Artificial Analysis Coding Agent IndexNot disclosedNot disclosed80 (index leader)
Misaligned-behavior audit score (lower is better)Higher than Opus 52.3 (Anthropic’s best to date)Not disclosed

Coding and agentic workloads

Coding is where most teams will actually deploy these models, and it’s also where the price gap between the two Claude models looks least defensible. Opus 5 scores 96.0% on SWE-bench Verified against Fable 5’s 95.0%, and on Frontier-Bench v0.1, Anthropic’s terminal-coding evaluation, Opus 5 pulls further ahead at 43.3% versus 33.7%. Fable 5 does claw back a narrow win on SWE-bench Pro, 80.3% to 79.2%, which is close enough to call the two models tied on repository-level engineering. It’s worth remembering how far that 95.0% Fable 5 figure already was from the prior generation: independent testing site ofox.ai clocked it as an 11-point jump over Opus 4.8 on the same benchmark back in June 2026, which is why Opus 5’s ability to beat that score outright, at half the price, reads as such a sharp generational leap rather than an incremental one.

GPT-5.6 Sol doesn’t have a directly comparable SWE-bench figure in the public record, but its lead on the Artificial Analysis Coding Agent Index, a score of 80, the highest tracked at time of writing, suggests it’s competitive with both Claude models on agentic coding, even without an apples-to-apples SWE-bench number to cite. Anyone benchmarking these three models in-house should treat that gap as a research task, not an assumption in either direction.

Reasoning and knowledge work

Knowledge work was supposed to be Fable 5’s strength, given its Mythos-class positioning, but the numbers don’t back that up. On GDPval-AA v2, Opus 5 scores an Elo of 1,861 against Fable 5’s 1,747, a 114-point gap in favor of the cheaper model. Fable 5 does keep a real edge on the hardest, longest-running scientific reasoning tasks, and Anthropic is explicit that Mythos-class capability remains stronger there, specifically for autonomous biology research. Outside that narrow slice, paying double for Fable 5 buys a lower knowledge-work score, not a higher one.

Pricing Compared: Input, Output, and What a Real Workload Costs

RateClaude Fable 5Claude Opus 5GPT-5.6 Sol
Input, per 1M tokens$10.00$5.00$4.00 (std) / $10.00 (long context)
Output, per 1M tokens$50.00$25.00$20.00 (std) / $45.00 (long context)
Cached input, per 1M tokensNot applicableNot disclosed$0.50 (std) / $1.00 (long context)
Fast/priority modeNot offered$10 in / $50 outNot applicable
Long-context thresholdNo separate tierNo separate tier272,000 tokens

Full, current rates are published on Anthropic’s pricing page and OpenAI’s model documentation. Fable 5 costs exactly twice as much as Opus 5 on both input and output. GPT-5.6 Sol sits between the two on input, tied with Opus 5 at $5, but its output rate of $30 lands closer to a middle ground than either Claude model.

Here’s what that looks like at two realistic volume levels, calculated at each model’s published standard rate:

Monthly volumeClaude Fable 5Claude Opus 5GPT-5.6 Sol
Light: 1M in / 250K out$22.50$11.25$9.00
Heavy: 100M in / 25M out$2,250$1,125$900

At the heavy tier, switching from Fable 5 to Opus 5 saves $1,125 a month, a 50% cut, for a workload the benchmarks say performs the same or better. GPT-5.6 Sol lands below Opus 5 at that same tier, $225 a month lower, which makes the real decision between Opus 5 and Sol more about ecosystem fit and context-window headroom than raw price. Treat these totals as rate comparisons rather than exact forecasts. Actual token counts vary by task, and models that emit more thinking tokens, Opus 5 included, can cost more in practice than the sticker rate implies.

Safeguards, Refusals, and Alignment

This is the dimension where Fable 5’s higher price starts to make more sense, and it’s easy to misread if you conflate two different things. Misuse resistance is an external classifier layer that intercepts dangerous requests before they reach the model. Alignment is how the model itself behaves: whether it deceives, takes reckless or irreversible actions, or can be talked into misuse. A model can score well on one and poorly on the other, because classifiers guard against a user extracting something harmful, not against the model going rogue on its own.

Safeguard dimensionClaude Fable 5Claude Opus 5
Cybersecurity classifiersBlocks exploitation and offensive cyber tasks entirelyAllows vulnerability finding, blocks scanning and exploit generation
Biology/chemistry classifiersMost requests fall back to Opus 4.8 by defaultLighter intervention, roughly 85% fewer triggers
Distillation protectionFlags and reroutes suspected extraction attemptsStandard protections apply
Fallback destinationOpus 4.8Not applicable
Sessions with zero fallbackOver 95%Higher than Fable 5 (fewer triggers overall)
Automated behavioral auditNot Anthropic’s top score2.3, Anthropic’s best to date

Fable 5’s classifiers cover three areas: cybersecurity exploitation, biology and chemistry, and distillation attempts, and firing one of them flatlines the model’s performance on that specific request to 0%, since it never actually answers, Opus 4.8 does. Anthropic tuned the thresholds conservatively enough that over 95% of Fable 5 sessions never trigger a fallback at all. Opus 5 carries a lighter version of the same system, with cyber classifiers that permit source-code vulnerability research while still blocking binary scanning and exploit generation, and Anthropic expects roughly 85% fewer interventions overall.

The practical read: for general coding, knowledge work, and computer use, Opus 5 is the better-aligned model that gets in your way less often. For the frontier of a genuinely guarded domain, offensive security research under proper authorization, or long-horizon biology work, Fable 5’s broader classifier coverage and higher raw ceiling are the actual product you’re paying double for, not everyday performance.

Context Windows, Knowledge Cutoffs, and Latency

All three models land in the same neighborhood on raw context capacity: Fable 5 and Opus 5 both handle 1 million input tokens with a 128,000 token output ceiling, while GPT-5.6 Sol edges slightly ahead at 1.05 million tokens, with an enterprise tier that stretches to 1.5 million per some published documentation. Capacity being roughly equal doesn’t mean long-context quality is equal too, and it’s worth testing your own documents rather than assuming a bigger number always wins.

Knowledge cutoff is a sharper differentiator, though the gap has been shrinking. Opus 5’s reliable cutoff sits at May 2026, per Anthropic’s Claude Platform documentation, while the updated Fable 5.1, shipped in September 2026, has pushed its own cutoff up to June 2026, just one month behind Opus 5 rather than the wider four-month spread that separated Opus 5 from the original Fable 5’s January 2026 cutoff. That narrower gap still shows up in practice as slightly fewer stale references to APIs, frameworks, or library versions, though it doesn’t replace retrieval or live documentation for anything genuinely current. On latency, Opus 5 runs at what Anthropic and third-party testers describe as moderate speed, while Fable 5.1, per that same September 2026 documentation, still runs slower, a real cost for interactive, premium-tier work where response time matters as much as answer quality.

Real-World Examples: How Teams Are Routing These Models

Benchmark tables are useful, but they don’t tell you how a team actually wires three models into one pipeline. Here’s how production routing decisions are shaking out across common workload types.

WorkloadDefault routingWhen it escalates
Repository-scale coding agentClaude Opus 5 or GPT-5.6 SolTests keep failing or the architecture needs a redesign
Bug diagnosis and root-cause analysisClaude Opus 5Hypotheses repeatedly collapse or the cost of a wrong fix is high
High-risk code review before mergeClaude Opus 5, primary reviewerIndependent Claude Fable 5 pass added for critical merges
Browser and computer-use automationClaude Opus 5 (OSWorld 2.0 leader at 70.6%)Critical steps can’t recover or tools loop indefinitely
Long-document research and synthesisGPT-5.6 Sol, using its 1.05M context windowHigh-value output gets an independent Fable 5 challenge pass
Long-running autonomous agent with checkpointsClaude Opus 5 plus checkpoint validationReplays show Fable 5 materially raises whole-trace acceptance

The pattern across every one of these examples is the same: none of the three models wins by being hard-coded as a permanent default. Teams are treating Opus 5 as the everyday workhorse because it’s the cheapest of the three high-capability options and it wins or ties on most published benchmarks. Fable 5 gets reserved for tasks where a measured failure rate justifies its cost, not because it’s assumed to be smarter across the board. GPT-5.6 Sol earns its slot specifically on long-context research and any workflow already built inside the OpenAI ecosystem, where its 1.05M token window and Artificial Analysis Coding Agent Index lead of 80 make it the practical choice.

One useful framing that’s emerged from early production use: run a cheaper model for routine work, escalate to Opus 5 or Sol when validation fails, and reserve Fable 5 escalation for cases where the task’s value is unusually high or the failure is expensive enough to justify a second opinion. It’s a testable starting policy, not a fixed architecture, and it’s worth re-measuring monthly as all three vendors keep shipping updates.

What Early Adopters Are Reporting

Two data points from outside Anthropic’s own testing back up the general pattern. Cognition’s engineering team, which builds autonomous coding agents, ran Opus 5 against its internal FrontierCode 1.1 evaluation and reported that Opus 5 approaches Fable-level performance at half the cost, a result that lines up almost exactly with the public SWE-bench and Frontier-Bench numbers. That kind of independent confirmation matters more than a vendor’s own benchmark suite, since Cognition has no reason to flatter either model.

Zapier’s automation team found something more specific to agentic reliability. On a churn-prevention workflow inside Zapier’s AutomationBench, a multi-step sequence that previous Claude generations couldn’t complete at all, Opus 5 hit a 100% pass rate. That’s the kind of result that benchmark percentages alone don’t capture: it’s not that Opus 5 scored a few points higher than Opus 4.8 on an abstract test, it’s that a task simply didn’t work before and now it does, consistently. For teams evaluating whether to upgrade an existing Claude-based agent, that’s a more useful signal than any single leaderboard number.

On the GPT-5.6 side, independent long-context testing backs up OpenAI’s own MRCR figures. Recall holds above 90% through the 512K token mark before degrading, which is a meaningfully better curve than most models managed a year earlier, and it’s the reason GPT-5.6 Sol keeps showing up as the default pick for teams doing large-codebase or large-document analysis rather than short, conversational tasks.

Where This Fits in the Broader 2026 Model Landscape

Claude Fable 5, Claude Opus 5, and GPT-5.6 Sol aren’t launching in a vacuum. Anthropic also sells Claude Sonnet 5 as a mid-tier option for teams that don’t need Opus-level capability, and OpenAI’s own Terra and Luna tiers undercut Sol on price for lighter workloads. xAI, Google, and DeepSeek have all shipped competing frontier models on a similar timeline this year, and ChatGPT itself crossed 1 billion monthly active app users in June 2026, the fastest app in history to reach that milestone, according to Sensor Tower data reported by Reuters. That scale is part of why OpenAI’s pricing on Sol stays competitive even at the flagship tier: distribution funds the compute.

The bigger pattern worth watching is pricing compression at the top. A year ago, flagship model pricing only moved in one direction: up, as each generation added capability. Opus 5 breaks that trend outright, launching at the same price as its predecessor while beating a same-company model that costs twice as much. If GPT-5.6 Sol’s next revision follows a similar path, expect the entire frontier tier to get cheaper before it gets more expensive again, which changes the math on any high-volume production deployment planned for the rest of 2026. Teams already running DeepSeek’s V4 family at aggressive discount pricing have been pushing this same trend from the budget end of the market for months.

Which Model Fits Your Use Case

Use caseRecommended modelWhy
General coding agents and CI pipelinesClaude Opus 5Matches or beats Fable 5 on SWE-bench, leads Frontier-Bench, at half the price
Everyday knowledge work and analysisClaude Opus 5Higher GDPval-AA v2 Elo (1,861 vs 1,747) for half the cost
High-volume production APIsClaude Opus 550% savings compounds to $1,125+/month at heavy volume
Long-document research with huge contextGPT-5.6 Sol1.05M token window and strong MRCR long-context recall scores
Novel-problem and abstract reasoningClaude Opus 5ARC-AGI-3 score of 30.2%, roughly 4x GPT-5.6 Sol’s 7.8%
Long-horizon autonomous biology researchClaude Fable 5Mythos-class capability remains stronger for this specific work
Workflows needing the broadest safety classifiersClaude Fable 5Covers cyber, biology, and distillation more broadly than Opus 5
Existing OpenAI-ecosystem apps and Codex integrationsGPT-5.6 SolNative fit with OpenAI tooling, leads the AA Coding Agent Index

Migration Guide: Switching Models in Your Codebase

Moving between Claude Opus 5 and Claude Fable 5 is deliberately simple, since both models share the same Anthropic SDK and API surface. Moving to or from GPT-5.6 Sol requires a bit more work because it sits on a different SDK entirely. Here’s the practical path.

  • Benchmark your actual workload first. Published scores are a starting point, not a guarantee for your specific prompts, so run a matched-effort test batch before committing to a switch.
  • Swap the model string. On Anthropic’s SDK, that’s a one-line change between claude-opus-5 and claude-fable-5. Nothing else in your request structure needs to change.
  • Watch for the thinking-block gotcha. Opus 5 returns thinking blocks by default, so reading response.content[0].text directly can raise an AttributeError if the first block is a thinking block rather than plain text. Fable 5 behaves the same way, so this trips up migrations in both directions.
  • Set effort levels explicitly. Opus 5 supports five reasoning-effort tiers: low, medium, high, xhigh, and max. Comparing a low-effort Opus 5 run against a max-effort Fable 5 run isn’t a fair test of either model, and it’s a common source of misleading internal benchmarks.
  • Cap Fable 5 calls per task if you’re building an escalation architecture. Broad, unbounded escalation rules can quietly explode your monthly bill given Fable 5’s 2x rate.
  • For GPT-5.6 Sol migrations, rebuild your prompt templates around OpenAI’s message format rather than porting Anthropic-style system prompts directly, and confirm which context tier, standard or long-context above 272K tokens, your typical requests fall into, since that changes your effective per-token cost.
  • Re-test your retrieval and tool-calling logic after any switch. Tool-call formatting differs slightly between Anthropic and OpenAI models, and a working agent on one platform is not a drop-in replacement on the other.

Here’s the one-line swap between the two Claude models in practice:

from anthropic import Anthropic

client = Anthropic()
response = client.messages.create(
    model="claude-opus-5",  # swap for "claude-fable-5" to test the pricier tier
    max_tokens=1024,
    messages=[{"role": "user", "content": "Refactor this function for readability..."}],
)

# Opus 5 and Fable 5 both return thinking blocks by default at higher effort levels
for block in response.content:
    if block.type == "text":
        print(block.text)

Pros and Cons of Each Model

Claude Fable 5

  • Pro: Genuine frontier ceiling on the hardest, longest scientific reasoning tasks, particularly autonomous biology research
  • Pro: The broadest safeguard coverage of the three models, spanning cyber, biology, and distillation classifiers
  • Pro: Anthropic’s most capable widely released model by raw positioning, even where Opus 5 wins individual benchmarks
  • Con: Costs exactly double Opus 5 on both input and output tokens
  • Con: Loses to the cheaper Opus 5 on SWE-bench Verified, Frontier-Bench, GDPval-AA, and OSWorld 2.0
  • Con: Not included on Claude Pro or Team Standard plans, pay-as-you-go only on those tiers
  • Con: No zero-data-retention access option and a 30-day retention requirement

Claude Opus 5

  • Pro: Matches or beats Fable 5 on nearly every published benchmark, at half the price
  • Pro: Anthropic’s best alignment audit score to date, at 2.3 on misaligned behavior
  • Pro: Newer knowledge cutoff (May 2026) than Fable 5 (January 2026)
  • Pro: Five reasoning-effort tiers give fine-grained control over cost and quality per request
  • Con: Fable 5 still leads on the narrow slice of long-horizon autonomous biology work
  • Con: Thinking-block response format can break naive integrations expecting plain text
  • Con: Fast mode doubles the price to match Fable 5’s standard rate

GPT-5.6 Sol

  • Pro: Largest context window of the three at 1.05M tokens, with strong long-context recall on MRCR v2
  • Pro: Leads the Artificial Analysis Coding Agent Index at a score of 80
  • Pro: Tied with Opus 5 on standard input pricing at $5 per million tokens
  • Pro: First model to win a public ARC-AGI-3 game, plus strong ARC-AGI-1 (96.5%) and ARC-AGI-2 (92.5%) scores
  • Con: No public SWE-bench Verified, SWE-bench Pro, or Terminal-Bench 2.1 score to compare directly against the Claude models
  • Con: Long-context requests above 272,000 tokens jump to a higher rate tier
  • Con: ARC-AGI-3 score of 7.8% trails Opus 5’s 30.2% by a wide margin
  • Con: Requires a separate SDK and prompt-format migration from either Claude model

The Verdict: Which AI Model Should You Actually Use

CategoryWinnerData point
Best overall valueClaude Opus 5Matches or beats Fable 5 on 4 of 5 shared benchmarks at half the price
Best for coding agentsClaude Opus 596.0% SWE-bench Verified, 43.3% Frontier-Bench v0.1
Best for long-context researchGPT-5.6 Sol1.05M token window, 91.5% MRCR recall at 256K-512K
Best for novel reasoningClaude Opus 5ARC-AGI-3 at 30.2%, roughly 4x GPT-5.6 Sol’s 7.8%
Best for frontier safety-gated workClaude Fable 5Only model with cyber, biology, and distillation classifiers combined
Cheapest at scaleClaude Opus 5$1,125/month at heavy volume, vs $2,250 for Fable 5 and $1,250 for Sol

For most teams, this is a short decision. Claude Opus 5 is the default. It matches or beats Fable 5 on coding, wins the knowledge-work Elo benchmark by 114 points, roughly quadruples the field on novel-problem reasoning, and does all of it for half the price while posting Anthropic’s best alignment score yet. GPT-5.6 Sol earns a genuine seat at the table for long-context research and teams already invested in OpenAI’s tooling, where its 1.05M token window and coding-agent index lead are hard to match. Fable 5 is not a bad model, it’s just not built for what most teams run day to day. Reserve it for long-horizon biology research or workflows that specifically need its broader classifier coverage, and let Opus 5 or Sol handle everything else.

What’s most interesting here is how this inverts the usual model-tier logic. Normally the newer, cheaper model trades away some capability for accessibility. This time, Anthropic shipped a cheaper model that’s also the more capable choice for nearly every mainstream task, which suggests Fable 5’s premium buys its safeguard posture and Mythos-class ceiling more than it buys everyday performance. If you’re deciding today, start every new integration on Claude Opus 5 or GPT-5.6 Sol, and add Fable 5 only after a measured task class proves it’s worth the extra cost.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Claude Opus 5 better than Claude Fable 5?

For most tasks, yes. Opus 5 matches or beats Fable 5 on coding (96.0% vs 95.0% on SWE-bench Verified, 43.3% vs 33.7% on Frontier-Bench v0.1), leads the GDPval-AA v2 knowledge-work benchmark (1,861 vs 1,747 Elo), and does it at half the price. Fable 5 keeps a real edge only on narrow, frontier work like long-running autonomous biology research.

Why is Claude Fable 5 more expensive than Claude Opus 5?

Fable 5 costs $10/$50 per million input/output tokens versus Opus 5’s $5/$25, but the premium mostly buys its broader safeguard posture and Mythos-class frontier positioning rather than higher everyday performance. On mainstream coding and knowledge-work benchmarks, Opus 5 scores the same or higher, so for those workloads you’re paying double to do slightly worse.

Is GPT-5.6 Sol better than Claude Opus 5 or Claude Fable 5?

It depends on the task. GPT-5.6 Sol has a larger context window (1.05M vs 1M tokens) and leads the Artificial Analysis Coding Agent Index at a score of 80, making it strong for long-document research. But it trails Claude Opus 5 badly on ARC-AGI-3 (7.8% vs 30.2%), and OpenAI hasn’t published a SWE-bench Verified score to compare directly against either Claude model, so a full head-to-head on repository-scale coding isn’t possible from public data yet.

When should I choose Fable 5 over Opus 5?

Choose Fable 5 if your work is long-horizon autonomous biology research, where Anthropic says its capability still leads, or if you specifically need its broader classifier coverage across cybersecurity, biology, and distillation. For general coding, agentic pipelines, analysis, and high-volume production work, Opus 5 is the better default.

How do I switch between Opus 5, Fable 5, and GPT-5.6 Sol in the API?

Opus 5 and Fable 5 share the same Anthropic SDK, so switching is a one-line change to the model string, claude-opus-5 or claude-fable-5. One gotcha: both models return thinking blocks by default, so reading response.content[0].text directly can raise an AttributeError. Moving to or from GPT-5.6 Sol requires porting to OpenAI’s SDK and message format, since the two platforms don’t share a request structure.

What is Claude Fable 5’s knowledge cutoff compared to Opus 5?

Claude Opus 5 has a reliable knowledge cutoff of May 2026. The original Fable 5 launched with a January 2026 cutoff, a four-month gap, but the updated Fable 5.1, released in September 2026, closed most of that distance with a June 2026 cutoff, per Anthropic’s Claude Platform documentation, putting it just one month behind Opus 5. That narrower gap still gives Opus 5 a slight edge on questions involving frameworks, APIs, or libraries released in that window, though neither model replaces retrieval or live documentation for anything released after their respective cutoffs.

Does Claude Fable 5 have a free tier?

Fable 5 is not included on Claude Pro or Team Standard plans, it runs on pay-as-you-go usage credits at API rates on those tiers. It is included, with a 50% weekly usage cap, on Claude Max and Team Premium. There is no dedicated free tier for Fable 5 the way there is for lower-tier consumer chatbot access.

Which model is cheapest for a high-volume production API?

Claude Opus 5, at $1,125 per month for a heavy workload of 100M input and 25M output tokens, calculated at published standard rates. GPT-5.6 Sol follows closely at $1,250 for the same volume, while Claude Fable 5 costs $2,250, exactly double Opus 5’s rate, for a workload that the published benchmarks say performs about the same or worse.

Marcus Chen

Marcus Chen

Gaming & Consumer Tech Editor

Marcus Chen is a senior editor at Tech Insider, where he leads coverage of the US online gaming market, including sweepstakes and social casinos, alongside consumer technology. He evaluates operators on their published terms, licensing and RNG certifications, stated redemption policies, and corroborating independent reporting, and writes plainly about what the evidence supports. Tech Insider does not run first-party money tests and does not gamble with reader funds. Marcus has reported on the technology and online-gaming industries for more than a decade.

View all articles