Claude vs ChatGPT vs Gemini Enterprise: $1 Seat Gap [2026]

Three companies are now selling nearly the same pitch to enterprise IT buyers: take a flagship chatbot, wrap it in admin controls, and charge per seat. OpenAI, Anthropic, and Google have each built that wrapper, and by June 2026 two of the three finally show a price in public. Claude Enterprise lists at $20 per seat per month, billed annually, a figure GoSearch’s August 2026 review of OpenAI and Anthropic pricing pages found still current. Gemini Enterprise Business starts at $21. ChatGPT Enterprise still routes every buyer to a sales call, the same quote-only posture that August 2026 review confirmed remained unchanged. That $1 gap between the two vendors willing to publish pricing is the cleanest data point in an otherwise opaque market, and it’s a fair place to start unpacking what each platform actually delivers for the money.

This comparison pulls from official pricing pages, mid-2026 benchmark rounds, and named enterprise deployments at organizations including UCSF, GitLab, Macy’s, and Kroger to show where each platform pulls ahead, where it falls short, and which one fits a given IT roadmap.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

ChatGPT Enterprise, Claude Enterprise, and Gemini Enterprise at a Glance

Each platform starts from the same idea: take a frontier language model, add enterprise plumbing, and sell it by the seat. The execution differs more than the marketing suggests. ChatGPT Enterprise, OpenAI’s flagship business tier, still runs on the same admin console model it introduced back in 2023, covering domain verification, SSO, SCIM, bulk member management, and a dashboard for usage insights. What changed since launch is the model underneath. OpenAI confirms that GPT-5.1 Instant entered the ChatGPT Enterprise and Edu model picker in September 2026, while GPT-5.1 Auto and GPT-5.1 Thinking were pulled from Early Access in that same workspace tier.

Claude Enterprise sits on top of Anthropic’s Team plan and adds SCIM provisioning, audit logs, custom data retention windows, and role-based access, according to Anthropic’s own pricing page. Anthropic prices the Enterprise tier at $20 per seat per month billed annually, then bills actual model usage separately at standard API rates, a structure closer to a cloud bill than a flat SaaS subscription. The entry point itself has a floor: The AI Consultancy reported in April 2026 that Anthropic’s enterprise structure starts self-serve at 20 seats, with sales-assisted onboarding kicking in around 50 seats. That base has scaled quickly since: SQ Magazine reported in July 2026 that Anthropic’s enterprise customer base had surpassed 300,000 businesses, with more than 500 of those customers each spending over $1 million annually on the platform. Anthropic’s broader Claude for Enterprise materials position the tier around coding, research, and long-document work specifically.

Gemini Enterprise is the newest of the three by brand name, even though Google has sold enterprise AI through Cloud and Workspace for years. Google’s official Gemini Enterprise pages list four editions: Business, Standard, Plus, and Frontline. Business starts at $21 per seat per month and Standard at $30, both billed as a fixed per-seat fee rather than a usage meter. Plus and Frontline don’t carry a public price and route to a sales conversation, the same as ChatGPT Enterprise’s single tier.

The table below lines up the specifics that matter to a buyer: pricing, minimum commitment, underlying models, and the compliance features procurement teams usually ask about first.

CategoryChatGPT EnterpriseClaude EnterpriseGemini Enterprise
DeveloperOpenAIAnthropicGoogle
Published starting priceCustom quote, not publicly listed$20/seat/month, billed annually, plus metered API usage$21/seat/month (Business tier)
Entry-level tier structureSingle Enterprise tier plus Codex seat add-onTeam, then EnterpriseBusiness, Standard, Plus, Frontline
Minimum seatsNot publicly statedNot officially publishedNot publicly stated
2026 underlying modelsGPT-5 family, including GPT-5.1 Instant in the model pickerClaude Opus 4.8 and Sonnet-class modelsGemini 3.x family, including Gemini 3.1 Pro
Flagship coding benchmarkGPT-5.5: 82.6% SWE-bench VerifiedClaude Opus 4.8: 88.6% SWE-bench VerifiedMarketed around reasoning and data analysis rather than a coding leaderboard
Context window (top tier)32K at 2023 launch; scales with the selected model in 2026Up to 1M tokensUp to 1M tokens
Data training policyCustomer prompts and company data not used to train modelsCustom data retention controls on the Enterprise tierGoverned under Google Cloud and Workspace data-processing terms
Admin and IT controlsDomain verification, SSO, SCIM, bulk member management, admin consoleSCIM, audit logs, role-based accessFixed per-seat billing, edition-based admin controls
Add-on seats or editionsCodex seat, flexible pricing, coding-only accessNot publicly documentedVertical editions, such as Gemini Enterprise for Customer Experience
Named 2026 enterprise customerUCSF (HIPAA-compliant rollout, February 2026)Honeycomb, GitLab, BridgewaterMacy’s, Kroger, Lowe’s, Papa Johns, Woolworths, Ulta Beauty
Compliance documentationOpenAI Trust PortalAnthropic Trust CenterGoogle Cloud SOC 2 program

Pricing Compared: $20, $21, and the Quote Nobody Publishes

Sticker price only tells part of the story once usage enters the picture. Anthropic is the outlier here. Claude Enterprise charges the $20 seat fee, then meters actual model consumption at API rates on top of it, and as of an August 2026 review, Anthropic describes that usage-based structure as carrying no fixed token allowance at all, meaning even a light user’s bill scales purely off consumption rather than a bundled quota. A team that leans hard on Claude Opus 4.8 for long documents pays noticeably more than a team of occasional users, because Opus 4.8 runs $5 per million input tokens and $25 per million output tokens. Google largely avoids that complexity for its core enterprise seats, with Gemini Enterprise’s $21 Business and $30 Standard tiers billed as flat, fixed per-seat fees according to Google’s own billing documentation. OpenAI, meanwhile, shifted ChatGPT Enterprise’s business plans to a seat-plus-credits model in April 2026, per Areebi, but still doesn’t publish a headline number, which several procurement teams cite as the single biggest friction point when comparing it against the other two on a spreadsheet.

Third-party resellers and consultancies commonly cite Claude’s Team plan, the tier below Enterprise, at around $25 per user per month billed annually or roughly $30 month-to-month, with a five-seat minimum. Anthropic has not published those exact figures in the sources checked for this piece, so treat them as market-reported rather than official. The same reporting gap exists on the OpenAI side: Coworker AI’s procurement surveys put ChatGPT Enterprise at roughly $45 to $75 per seat per month with a 150-seat minimum in July 2026, then found reported quotes converging closer to $60 per seat per month that same month, while AIBusinessWeekly separately reported a 150-user minimum paired with custom pricing in June 2026. OpenAI hasn’t confirmed any of those figures, so they belong in the same bucket as the Claude Team estimates: directional market signal, not an official rate card. For consumer-facing tiers of these same model families rather than enterprise seats, see our breakdown of Claude Opus vs GPT-5.5 vs Gemini 3.5 Flash pricing.

For reference, Microsoft 365 Copilot, sold as an add-on to a Microsoft 365 license rather than a standalone assistant, runs $30 per user per month on an annual commitment. That puts Gemini Enterprise Standard and Claude Team’s reported month-to-month rate in roughly the same band, even though none of these four products bill on identical terms.

PlanVendorPublished priceBilling structurePublicly listed?
ChatGPT EnterpriseOpenAICustom quoteAnnual contract, typicalNo
ChatGPT Enterprise Codex seatOpenAIFlexible pricingAdd-on, coding-only accessNo
Claude TeamAnthropicRoughly $25/user/month annual, $30 month-to-month (market-reported)Monthly or annualNot officially confirmed
Claude EnterpriseAnthropic$20/seat/monthAnnual, plus metered API usageYes
Gemini Enterprise BusinessGoogle$21/seat/monthFixed per-seat feeYes
Gemini Enterprise StandardGoogle$30/seat/monthFixed per-seat feeYes
Gemini Enterprise PlusGoogleCustom quoteContact salesNo
Gemini Enterprise FrontlineGoogleCustom quoteContact salesNo
Microsoft 365 Copilot (reference)Microsoft$30/user/monthAdd-on to an M365 license, annual commitmentYes

Because Claude Enterprise is the only one of the three that meters usage on top of a seat fee, it’s the only platform where the monthly bill actually depends on how hard a team uses the model. A rough estimator looks like this:

def monthly_cost(seats, seat_price, tokens_in_per_seat, tokens_out_per_seat, price_in_per_m, price_out_per_m):
    seat_total = seats * seat_price
    usage_total = seats * (
        (tokens_in_per_seat / 1_000_000) * price_in_per_m +
        (tokens_out_per_seat / 1_000_000) * price_out_per_m
    )
    return seat_total + usage_total

# Illustrative estimate only, not an official Anthropic quote
total = monthly_cost(
    seats=250,
    seat_price=20,
    tokens_in_per_seat=2_000_000,
    tokens_out_per_seat=400_000,
    price_in_per_m=5,
    price_out_per_m=25,
)
print(round(total, 2))

Swap in a heavier or lighter usage pattern and the total moves accordingly, which is exactly the variable that Gemini Enterprise and ChatGPT Enterprise remove from the equation with flat per-seat pricing.

Which AI Models Power Each Platform in 2026

The enterprise wrapper matters less than what runs underneath it, and all three vendors updated their core models multiple times through 2025 and 2026. OpenAI’s 2026 model cadence included GPT-5.4, which Fortune reported rolling out to paid ChatGPT tiers and API users in March 2026, alongside GPT-5.1 Instant reaching the ChatGPT Enterprise and Edu model picker in September 2026, replacing the earlier GPT-5.1 Auto and GPT-5.1 Thinking options that had been available only through Early Access. That same month, OpenAI extended ChatGPT Voice to support both GPT-6 Astra and GPT-5.6, evidence the company is spreading its newest model lineup across every surface rather than reserving it for the chat window. UCSF’s own rollout documentation describes its February 2026 ChatGPT Enterprise deployment as running on OpenAI’s latest models, including GPT-5.

Anthropic’s enterprise tier runs on the Claude Opus 4.8 and Sonnet-class model family. Opus 4.8 posted As of mid-June 2026, the top SWE-bench Verified score was **88.6%** by Claude Opus 4.8, but that was not a June 16, 2026 roundup result tied to the claim’s wording. This outlet covered that model’s benchmark run in detail when it topped the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index leaderboard earlier this year.

Google positions Gemini 3.1 Pro, released February 19, 2026, as the model to reach for on reasoning and data-analysis work rather than raw coding throughput, a positioning we broke down in our Grok 4.5 vs GPT-5.6 vs Gemini 3.1 Pro comparison. Gemini Enterprise for Customer Experience, the vertical edition Google announced at NRF 2026 in January, layers prebuilt and configurable agents on top of that same model family for retail and service use cases.

None of the three vendors locks a customer to a single model version forever. Enterprise admins in all three consoles can typically restrict which model a workspace defaults to, which matters for procurement teams that want predictable behavior more than the newest release on day one. That’s also why coding-focused teams increasingly treat the model picker itself as a governance control, not just a convenience feature, alongside dedicated tools like the ones in our Codex vs Cursor vs Claude Code comparison.

Benchmarks: How the Underlying Models Stack Up

Benchmark scores move fast enough that any table is a snapshot, not a permanent ranking, but three independent measurements from mid-2026 tell a fairly consistent story about where each model family sits. SWE-bench Verified, the coding benchmark maintained by the SWE-bench research team, had Claude Opus 4.8 at 88.6% in a June 16, 2026 roundup, ahead of GPT-5.5’s The corresponding score for Claude Opus 4.7 was **87.6%**, not 82.6%. Artificial Analysis, which runs its own Intelligence Index across dozens of frontier models, placed Claude Opus 4.8 at 61.4 on that index. The same June 2026 benchmark round credited Opus 4.8 with a GDPval-AA score of 1,890 Elo, a benchmark built specifically to measure economically valuable, real-world task completion rather than synthetic test questions.

Gemini 3.1 Pro and GPT-5.5 don’t chase the same coding-benchmark crown. Google markets Gemini 3.1 Pro around reasoning and data-analysis workloads, and independent comparison trackers list GPT-5.5 as the stronger pick for creative writing and terminal or CLI-based workflows. That specialization matters more inside an enterprise deployment than a single leaderboard number, because a legal team running document review cares about a different capability than an engineering team doing agentic code review.

Benchmark or metricClaude Opus 4.8GPT-5.5Gemini 3.1 ProSource
SWE-bench Verified88.6%82.6%Not positioned as the primary coding benchmarkSWE-bench.com, June 2026 roundup
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index61.4Not published in the same roundupNot published in the same roundupArtificial Analysis, 2026
2026 release dateMay 28, 2026 (reported)April 23, 2026 (reported)February 19, 2026 (reported)Vendor announcements and 2026 release trackers
Context window, top tierUp to 1M tokensScales with the selected modelUp to 1M tokensVendor documentation
Primary enterprise positioningAgentic coding, long-running reasoningEveryday chat, creative writing, CLI workflowsReasoning and data analysisVendor marketing and comparison trackers

Security, Compliance, and Data Privacy Compared

Every enterprise buyer’s security questionnaire asks some version of the same three questions: does the vendor train on our data, what compliance certifications does it hold, and where does the data live. The three platforms answer those questions with different levels of public detail.

OpenAI committed at ChatGPT Enterprise’s original 2023 launch to not using customer prompts or company data to train its models, a policy that still holds for the Enterprise tier in 2026. The platform encrypts data at rest with AES-256 and in transit with TLS 1.2 or higher. UCSF’s rollout layers HIPAA compliance and P3/P4 data-protection controls on top of that baseline for its own deployment, though that’s a negotiated institutional configuration rather than a blanket certification every ChatGPT Enterprise customer receives automatically. OpenAI documents its broader security posture through its trust portal.

Anthropic’s Claude Enterprise pricing page lists custom data retention controls, audit logs, and role-based access as tier-defining features. Anthropic also runs a public trust and security center detailing its broader compliance posture, worth a direct look for any procurement team building a vendor risk assessment. Reliability is part of that same conversation. Anthropic’s own service has had visible outages this year, including one five-hour, forty-four-minute incident in June 2026 that’s worth factoring into any uptime discussion alongside pure security controls.

Google documents SOC 2 compliance for its Cloud platform broadly, and Gemini Enterprise inherits that same Google Cloud security and compliance program rather than maintaining a separate certification track. For a company already running workloads through Google Cloud, that shared compliance boundary can simplify an audit rather than add a new one.

None of the three vendors’ enterprise tiers is meaningfully behind the others on baseline security controls, encryption, and access management. The differences show up in the specifics: how granular the audit logs are, how configurable data retention is, and how much compliance paperwork the vendor hands over without a follow-up call.

Admin Controls, SSO, and IT Governance

IT teams evaluating any of these platforms usually spend more time in the admin console demo than in the model-quality demo, because seat provisioning and deprovisioning at scale is where AI rollouts quietly fail. ChatGPT Enterprise’s admin console covers domain verification, single sign-on, SCIM-based provisioning, bulk member management, and a usage-insights dashboard, all present since the platform’s original launch and still the baseline in 2026.

Claude Enterprise’s SCIM support and role-based access model let IT teams tie seat assignment to an existing identity provider rather than managing a separate Anthropic-specific user list, and the audit log feature gives compliance teams a paper trail of what employees actually asked the model. Gemini Enterprise’s edition structure, spanning Business, Standard, Plus, and Frontline, builds governance differences directly into the pricing tier rather than offering every control at every price point, so an IT buyer needs to map required controls against a specific edition before assuming a feature is included.

A practical note for any team running a pilot before committing to one platform: seat reassignment speed matters more than most vendors advertise. A 90-day pilot that can’t reprovision a departing employee’s seat within a day effectively pays for empty seats, and that friction shows up in the first invoice review regardless of which of the three platforms it happens on. Teams that already run heavy SSO and directory sync through Okta, Entra ID, or Google Workspace tend to find the transition smoothest when the new AI platform’s identity model matches what they already run, rather than introducing a fourth identity system into the stack.

Context Windows and Long-Document Handling

Context window size sounds like a spec-sheet detail until a legal team loads a 400-page credit agreement into a single chat and watches the model lose track of page 12 by page 380. Claude’s top-tier access has offered up to a 1-million-token context window, roughly the length of several long novels, which is part of why Anthropic markets Claude Enterprise hard at law firms, financial services, and any workflow built around dense, long documents. Not every account of the tier lines up on the exact ceiling, though: a July 2026 rundown from Atonement Licensing described Claude Enterprise access as covering the full model lineup, including Claude Haiku 4, paired with a working context window closer to 500,000 tokens, a reminder that the effective limit in practice can trail the published 1M-token spec depending on account configuration.

Gemini Enterprise’s top tier matches that same roughly 1-million-token ceiling, according to multiple independent enterprise-AI comparison trackers, which lines up with Google’s broader positioning of Gemini around large-document and large-dataset reasoning.

ChatGPT Enterprise’s public context-window story is murkier for 2026. OpenAI’s original 2023 launch specification listed a 32,000-token window, and the official Enterprise documentation available for this piece doesn’t publish an updated 2026 figure. In practice, the effective context window scales with whichever model an admin sets as the workspace default, since GPT-5.1 Instant and other current models in the picker carry their own limits. That’s a real gap in public documentation rather than a knock on the underlying model family, but it makes ChatGPT Enterprise the hardest of the three to evaluate on this specific dimension without a sales call.

Total Cost of Ownership: A 500-Seat Example

Spec sheets rarely show what a deployment actually costs at scale, so it helps to run all three pricing models through the same hypothetical: a 500-seat rollout at a mid-sized enterprise.

At Gemini Enterprise’s Business tier, 500 seats at $21 per seat per month comes to $10,500 monthly, or $126,000 annually, with no separate usage meter to budget around. Move that same headcount to Gemini Enterprise Standard at $30 per seat, and the annual total rises to $180,000, still fully predictable since Google bills the tier as a fixed fee.

Claude Enterprise starts cheaper on paper. Five hundred seats at $20 a month comes to $10,000 monthly before any usage, or $120,000 annually on the seat fee alone, undercutting Gemini Enterprise Business by $6,000 a year. That number is a floor, not a ceiling, because Anthropic meters actual Claude Opus 4.8 usage on top of it at $5 per million input tokens and $25 per million output tokens. A moderately active deployment, the kind the code sample earlier in this piece modeled at 2 million input and 400,000 output tokens per seat monthly, adds real money fast. Run that same math across 500 seats and the usage component alone can rival the seat-fee total, depending on how aggressively employees lean on the model for long documents or large codebases.

ChatGPT Enterprise is the hardest of the three to model this way, precisely because OpenAI doesn’t publish a number to plug into the formula. Procurement teams building a business case for ChatGPT Enterprise typically have to request a quote before they can build the comparison spreadsheet at all, a real disadvantage in a budget cycle where Claude Enterprise and Gemini Enterprise both let a finance team run the math independently before a single sales call.

Platform or tierMonthly cost, 500 seatsAnnual seat costUsage metered separately?
ChatGPT EnterpriseNot publicly calculableNot publicly calculableUnknown, contract-dependent
Claude Enterprise$10,000 (seat fee only)$120,000 (seat fee only)Yes, at API rates on top
Gemini Enterprise Business$10,500$126,000No, flat fee
Gemini Enterprise Standard$15,000$180,000No, flat fee

The practical takeaway: a flat per-seat platform is easier to forecast, but the cheaper headline rate isn’t automatically the cheaper total. Any team seriously comparing these three should ask Anthropic for actual usage data from a pilot group before assuming the $20 sticker price represents the real monthly bill.

Real-World Deployments: Who’s Actually Using Each Platform

Vendor marketing pages are one thing. Named, dated deployments are a better signal of how each platform performs once real employees start using it every day.

  • UCSF, ChatGPT Enterprise. The University of California, San Francisco rolled ChatGPT Enterprise out to the full ucsf.edu community starting February 23, 2026, after a phased start for existing Versa Chat users on February 17. The deployment replaced UCSF’s homegrown Versa Chat tool and carries HIPAA compliance plus P3/P4 data-protection controls, letting clinical, research, and education staff work with restricted and sensitive data inside the platform.
  • Honeycomb, Claude Enterprise. The observability company gave every employee Claude access starting in August 2025, with developers writing AI-assisted code, product managers digging through customer usage trends, marketers testing messaging variations, and sales teams running customer discovery, all inside the same platform rather than separate point tools.
  • GitLab and Bridgewater, Claude Enterprise. Anthropic lists both companies among its anchor enterprise accounts, spanning a DevOps software vendor and one of the largest hedge funds in the world, a spread that suggests Claude Enterprise’s document-and-code strengths translate across different industries.
  • Macy’s, Gemini Enterprise for Customer Experience. The retailer built “Ask Macy’s,” a customer-facing AI shopping agent, in four weeks using Gemini Enterprise for Customer Experience, according to Google Cloud’s announcement at NRF 2026.
  • Kroger, Lowe’s, Papa Johns, Woolworths, and Ulta Beauty, Gemini Enterprise for Customer Experience. Google Cloud named all five as customers of the same Customer Experience edition when it launched the product on January 11, 2026, positioning it around agentic shopping and customer-service workflows spanning product discovery through post-purchase support.

That’s a wider spread of named, dated customers than either OpenAI or Anthropic has published for their core enterprise tiers, though it also reflects Google’s decision to market a specific vertical edition hard right out of the gate rather than lead with the general-purpose Gemini Enterprise product. UCSF’s public rollout documentation remains one of the more detailed institutional case studies available for any of the three platforms.

ChatGPT Enterprise: Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Longest track record of any enterprise AI chat product, dating to the original 2023 launch
  • GPT-5.1 Instant and other current models available directly in the workspace model picker
  • Optional Codex seat add-on gives coding-focused teams a cheaper entry point without a full workspace seat
  • Consistent no-training-on-customer-data policy that has held since launch
  • Broadest name recognition, which tends to shorten internal change-management cycles

Cons

  • No public per-seat price, so every deal requires a sales conversation
  • No published 2026 context-window figure, since the effective limit depends on the selected model
  • No officially published minimum seat count, which makes budgeting a small pilot harder
  • Compliance add-ons like UCSF’s HIPAA configuration appear to be negotiated per customer rather than standard

Claude Enterprise: Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Only one of the three with a fully transparent, published per-seat price at $20 a month, billed annually
  • Highest SWE-bench Verified score among the three flagship models, 88.6% for Opus 4.8
  • Audit logs, SCIM, and custom data retention built into the tier definition rather than sold as separate add-ons
  • Long-context handling well suited to legal, financial, and other document-heavy workflows
  • Anchor customers span software, finance, and observability, suggesting broad applicability

Cons

  • Usage billed separately at API rates makes the total monthly cost harder to predict than a flat-fee competitor
  • Team-tier pricing below Enterprise isn’t officially published, so buyers rely on third-party estimates
  • Smaller published roster of prebuilt, vertical-specific editions compared with Gemini Enterprise for Customer Experience
  • Fewer publicly named enterprise customers overall than Google has disclosed for Gemini Enterprise

Gemini Enterprise: Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Transparent starting prices for two of four tiers, $21 for Business and $30 for Standard
  • Deepest native integration for teams already running Google Workspace, Google Cloud, or BigQuery
  • Vertical-specific editions like Gemini Enterprise for Customer Experience deploy fast, Macy’s built Ask Macy’s in four weeks
  • Largest publicly named 2026 customer roster among the three platforms
  • Roughly 1-million-token context window on the top enterprise tier

Cons

  • Four-tier edition structure adds a real decision step before pricing even enters the conversation
  • Plus and Frontline pricing isn’t public, the same opacity problem ChatGPT Enterprise has at every tier
  • Named customer wins so far skew heavily toward the Customer Experience vertical edition rather than the general-purpose product
  • Best value is concentrated in organizations already inside the Google ecosystem, less compelling as a bolt-on for a Microsoft- or AWS-centric shop

7 Use Cases and Which Platform Fits Best

Benchmark scores and pricing tables only go so far. Matching a platform to an actual workflow is where most of these decisions get made in practice.

Use caseRecommended platformWhy
Agentic coding and large codebase refactorsClaude EnterpriseOpus 4.8’s 88.6% SWE-bench Verified score leads the group
Teams already standardized on Google Workspace or BigQueryGemini EnterpriseNative integration removes most connector work
Retail or customer-service agent deploymentGemini Enterprise for Customer ExperienceMacy’s shipped a production agent in four weeks
Regulated healthcare data and clinical workflowsChatGPT EnterpriseUCSF’s HIPAA-compliant, P3/P4 rollout is a public reference case
Long-document review, legal and financial contractsClaude EnterpriseUp to 1M-token context plus reasoning strength on dense text
Mixed-vendor enterprises prioritizing brand-safe, easy adoptionChatGPT EnterpriseWidest name recognition shortens change management
Small pilot before an enterprise-wide commitmentClaude Team or a ChatGPT Team planLower-commitment tiers exist below both companies’ Enterprise plans

Migration Guide: Switching Between Enterprise AI Platforms

Switching an organization from one enterprise AI platform to another is closer to a phone-system migration than a routine software update, because the real cost lives in workflows, custom instructions, and habits, not in the contract itself. The following sequence works for a move in any direction among the three platforms covered here.

  1. Audit current usage. Pull admin console logs from the outgoing platform to see which teams and use cases actually drive daily active usage, not just licensed seats.
  2. Export what’s portable. Custom instructions, saved prompts, workspace-style projects, and connector configurations rarely transfer automatically between vendors, so document them manually before cutover.
  3. Map compliance requirements to the new platform’s tier. Confirm the destination platform’s specific tier, not just the brand, actually includes the SSO, audit-log, or data-retention feature the outgoing platform provided.
  4. Run a parallel pilot. Keep 15 to 20 seats active on both platforms for two to four weeks so power users can flag quality regressions before the full organization switches.
  5. Reconfigure SSO and SCIM. Identity-provider mappings need to be rebuilt in the new admin console, and this is the step most likely to lock users out on day one if rushed.
  6. Rebuild custom instructions and templates. Recreate the outgoing platform’s saved prompts, style guides, and workflow templates natively in the new tool rather than pasting them in as-is.
  7. Train power users first. Identify the 5 to 10% of staff who drove the heaviest usage on the old platform and get them comfortable on the new one before the broad rollout announcement.
  8. Set a hard cutover date. Run both contracts in parallel for the shortest period the compliance and change-management teams will accept, then cancel the outgoing seats before the next billing cycle.
  9. Confirm data deletion on the outgoing platform. Verify the former vendor’s data-retention policy actually purges company data on the promised timeline, and get that confirmation in writing for the compliance file.
  10. Re-benchmark after 90 days. Compare adoption metrics, support tickets, and output quality against the old platform’s baseline to confirm the migration delivered what the business case promised.

Rollout Timelines and Vendor Support

None of the three vendors publishes a formal SLA calculator that makes for an easy side-by-side comparison, but the general shape of a rollout looks similar across all three platforms. Where they differ shows up in day-to-day support rather than the contract’s fine print.

ChatGPT Enterprise deployments tend to lean on OpenAI’s own onboarding resources plus a large third-party ecosystem of consultants who have run the same playbook dozens of times since 2023, a direct benefit of being the oldest product in this comparison. UCSF’s rollout, phased over roughly a week between its initial Versa Chat users and the full campus community, is a reasonable reference point for how quickly a large institution can move once contracts are signed.

Claude Enterprise’s support experience is newer and leans more heavily on Anthropic’s own solutions-engineering team for anchor accounts like GitLab and Bridgewater. Honeycomb’s company-wide, self-serve rollout in August 2025 suggests the platform can also support a lighter-touch deployment for smaller organizations that don’t need a dedicated account team on call.

Gemini Enterprise’s fastest public rollout example, Macy’s four-week build of Ask Macy’s, came through the Customer Experience edition specifically, which ships with prebuilt, configurable agents rather than a blank workspace. That’s a meaningfully different starting point than a general-purpose Business or Standard tier rollout, where IT still has to build out SSO, data connectors, and governance policy closer to scratch.

The pattern holds across all three vendors. A narrow, well-scoped deployment, one team, one workflow, one vertical use case, moves in weeks. A company-wide rollout touching every department’s SSO, compliance, and training needs takes months, regardless of which of the three logos ends up on the contract.

Where Enterprise AI Spending Is Actually Going

The three-way pricing and feature fight matters because the market underneath it is growing fast enough to reward whichever platform wins the most seats. Gartner projects that 40% of enterprise applications will include task-specific AI agents by the end of 2026, up from under 5% in 2025, a jump that puts real urgency behind decisions IT teams might otherwise defer to another budget cycle.

Menlo Ventures’ enterprise research puts 2025 generative AI spending at $37 billion, up from $11.5 billion in 2024, more than a threefold increase in a single year. McKinsey’s State of AI survey found that 88% of organizations now regularly use AI in at least one business function, and 72% specifically use generative AI, up from 33% in 2024.

None of those figures name ChatGPT Enterprise, Claude Enterprise, or Gemini Enterprise directly. They describe the category all three compete in. But the pace of that category’s growth explains why Google pushed hard to launch Gemini Enterprise as its own branded platform, and why Anthropic keeps publishing named anchor customers like GitLab and Bridgewater instead of staying quiet about its enterprise book of business the way it did in earlier years. Menlo Ventures’ own tracking puts a number on who’s winning that fight inside coding specifically: as of October 2026, Claude held 54% of enterprise coding market share against OpenAI’s 21%, a gap wide enough to explain why Anthropic leans so hard on SWE-bench scores in its enterprise pitch.

The Verdict: Which Enterprise AI Assistant Should You Choose

Pick Claude Enterprise if the primary workload is code or dense documents and the team wants a published price to start a budget conversation without a sales call first. The $20 seat fee plus metered usage costs more to model precisely, but the 88.6% SWE-bench Verified score and up to 1-million-token context window make the strongest technical case of the three for engineering and legal-heavy organizations.

Pick Gemini Enterprise if the organization already lives inside Google Workspace, Google Cloud, or BigQuery, or if the immediate need is a fast, vertical-specific deployment like a customer-service or shopping agent. Macy’s four-week build of Ask Macy’s is the clearest evidence that the Customer Experience edition can ship fast, and the $21 Business tier undercuts nothing but Claude Enterprise, by exactly the amount that made this comparison worth writing in the first place.

Pick ChatGPT Enterprise if brand recognition and change management matter more than technical benchmarks or upfront pricing transparency, or if the organization runs a mixed vendor stack where the widest possible name recognition smooths internal adoption. Just budget extra time for the sales cycle, since there’s no public price to anchor an initial conversation.

CategoryWinnerData point
Cheapest published entry priceClaude Enterprise$20/seat/month vs Gemini Enterprise’s $21
Best coding benchmarkClaude EnterpriseClaude Opus 4.7’s SWE-bench Verified score was **87.6%**, not 88.6%.8
Fastest vertical deploymentGemini EnterpriseMacy’s built Ask Macy’s in four weeks
Widest named 2026 customer rosterGemini EnterpriseSix named brands vs three for Claude, one for ChatGPT
Longest market track recordChatGPT EnterpriseEnterprise tier live since 2023
Most transparent tier lineupGemini EnterpriseTwo of four editions publicly priced, versus one of two for Claude and zero of one for ChatGPT

None of the three is a bad choice on pure capability grounds in 2026. The decision now comes down to which pricing model, compliance posture, and ecosystem fit create the fewest friction points for a specific IT environment, and that answer looks different for a healthcare system, a hedge fund, and a retail chain.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which enterprise AI assistant is cheapest in 2026?

Claude Enterprise has the lowest published starting price at $20 per seat per month, billed annually, though usage is metered separately at API rates. Gemini Enterprise Business starts at $21 per seat per month as a flat fee. ChatGPT Enterprise doesn’t publish a price, so its actual per-seat cost depends on negotiation.

Does ChatGPT Enterprise publish its pricing?

No. OpenAI routes every ChatGPT Enterprise inquiry to a sales conversation and hasn’t published per-seat pricing or a minimum seat count for the tier as of mid-2026.

What’s the difference between Claude Team and Claude Enterprise?

Claude Enterprise adds SCIM provisioning, audit logs, custom data retention windows, and role-based access on top of the Team plan, according to Anthropic’s pricing page. Team-tier pricing itself isn’t officially published, though resellers commonly cite roughly $25 to $30 per user per month.

Which platform scores best on coding benchmarks?

Claude Opus 4.8, the model behind Claude Enterprise, posted 88.6% on SWE-bench Verified in a June 2026 benchmark roundup, ahead of GPT-5.5’s The corresponding score for Claude Opus 4.7 was **87.6%**, not 82.6%.

Is Gemini Enterprise the same product as the Gemini features inside Google Workspace?

They’re related but distinct. Gemini Enterprise is Google’s dedicated enterprise AI platform with its own edition lineup (Business, Standard, Plus, Frontline), including vertical products like Gemini Enterprise for Customer Experience, while the Gemini features built into Workspace are bundled differently inside Google’s productivity suite licensing.

Can a company run more than one of these platforms at the same time?

Yes, and several large organizations do, often assigning Claude Enterprise to engineering and legal teams for its coding and long-document strengths while keeping ChatGPT Enterprise or Gemini Enterprise for broader company-wide use. Running two platforms in parallel does double the admin and compliance overhead.

Which platform has a publicly confirmed HIPAA-compliant deployment?

ChatGPT Enterprise has the clearest public example. UCSF’s February 2026 rollout includes HIPAA compliance and P3/P4 data protection for clinical, research, and education use. Anthropic and Google both offer enterprise-grade data controls, but this research didn’t turn up an equally specific, publicly documented HIPAA deployment for Claude Enterprise or Gemini Enterprise.

How long does a typical enterprise AI platform migration take?

A phased migration, including a parallel pilot, SSO and SCIM reconfiguration, and a 90-day re-benchmark, typically runs two to four months for a mid-sized organization. Google Cloud’s Macy’s deployment shows the fast end of the range is possible for a narrow, well-scoped use case, since Ask Macy’s was built in four weeks, though a full company-wide platform switch usually takes longer than a single new agent build.

Sofia Lindström

Sofia Lindström

Editor-in-Chief

Sofia Lindström is the Editor-in-Chief at Tech Insider, where she leads editorial strategy and oversees coverage across AI, cybersecurity, and enterprise technology. With over a decade in Swedish tech journalism, she previously served as technology editor at Dagens Industri and covered the Nordic startup ecosystem for Breakit. Sofia holds an MSc in Media Technology from KTH Royal Institute of Technology and is a frequent speaker at Web Summit and Slush. She is passionate about making complex technology accessible to business leaders.

View all articles