RG DDS Preorder: 45-Day Wait, $36 Above Duo [2026]

Anbernic’s RG DDS preorder has been open since Oct. 16 at $284.99 for the 8GB model, but the first units do not leave the warehouse until Dec. 10. Retroid’s Pocket Duo moved the other way. It began shipping on Oct. 21, and Retroid’s own store still lists it at $269, or $249 with the code DUO until Oct. 31.

Put the dates on a calendar and the choice gets sharper. From today, Oct. 26, the RG DDS is 45 days away. From the day preorders opened, it is 55. The price gap to the Duo is $35.99 this week and $15.99 once the coupon lapses. This analysis puts hard numbers on that trade, so you can decide whether the dual-screen handheld you want is worth a December wait.

We covered the hardware pitch when Anbernic first showed its RG DDS and its 3DS-style clamshell format. Prices, ship dates and regional store behavior have all moved since then, so this piece focuses on what the preorder costs in money and time.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

RG DDS Preorder: What Changed Between Oct. 9 and Oct. 26

Anbernic introduced the RG DDS on Oct. 9 as its new flagship dual-screen handheld. At that point the price was unknown, and one report estimated a figure around the $200 line. Preorders followed on Oct. 16 with real numbers: $284.99 for 8GB RAM and 128GB storage, and $349.99 for 12GB and 256GB. Anbernic lists regular prices of $299.99 and $364.99, so the preorder price carries a $15 discount on both versions.

The $200 guess missed by a wide margin. The official preorder price sits $84.99 above it for the base model. That correction matters because many first impressions of the RG DDS assumed a budget Anbernic price band, similar to the RG DS line that Anbernic’s store lists under $100.

Retroid’s side of the calendar moved too. The Pocket Duo shipped on Oct. 21, reportedly about a week later than first planned. Four days after that, on Oct. 25, Retroid announced mainline Linux support for the Pocket Duo, Pocket 6 and Pocket Nova, a software story we unpack below. In 17 days, the dual-screen category went from teasers to one shipping flagship and one preorder flagship.

Retroid Pocket Duo: Shipping Now at $269, $249 With Code DUO

The Retroid Pocket Duo is the dual-screen handheld you can own this week. Retroid’s store lists it at $269 with 8GB of LPDDR4x memory and 128GB of UFS 2.1 storage. A DUO coupon takes $20 off during the preorder phase and expires on Oct. 31, which brings the price to $249. After that date, expect the $269 sticker.

The Duo carries two AMOLED panels, both running at 120Hz. The upper screen measures 5.5 inches at 1080p, and the lower one measures 4.5 inches at 960p. Retroid also sells add-ons: a $10 carrying case, a $6 screen protector and an official grip with stylus for $15. Buy all three and the accessories add $31, which puts a fully kitted Duo at $280 with the coupon.

Retroid revealed the handheld in early September, and our launch coverage of the Pocket Duo and its dual OLED screens covers how it stacked up against single-screen rivals at the time. The shipping date is the news now. Retro Dodo’s Oct. 23 review headline summed up the early verdict: reliable 3DS emulation, and not much beyond that.

RG DDS Preorder Prices: $284.99 and $349.99 Before a Single Unit Ships

Both RG DDS configurations cost more than the Duo even at the discounted preorder rate. VGTimes pointed out that the handheld now costs more than the original 3DS, which shows how far the Android handheld market has stretched since the first 3DS-style clones appeared.

The step from the 8GB model to the 12GB model costs $65 at both the preorder price and the regular price. That is $349.99 minus $284.99, and $364.99 minus $299.99. Anbernic charges that premium for four extra gigabytes of RAM and double the storage. Retroid sells one Duo memory configuration, so a buyer who wants 12GB or 256GB has only the Anbernic path.

Anbernic’s store labels the product as a preorder, and the page says shipments begin gradually on Dec. 10. The wording matters. Gradually means Dec. 10 is the start of a rollout, not a promise that every order lands that day. Buyers in the back half of the queue should plan for the weeks that follow.

Price and Shipping Comparison Table

The table below lines up the current dual-screen options using prices and dates from the makers’ own stores as of Oct. 26. The gap column is measured against the Duo at its $249 coupon price.

ModelMemoryRegular priceCurrent priceGap to Duo at $249Ship status
Retroid Pocket Duo8GB + 128GB$269$249 (code DUO, ends Oct. 31)BaselineShipping since Oct. 21
Retroid Pocket Duo Lite4GB + 64GB or 6GB + 128GB$149 and up$14 off with code DUOLITEAbout $100 belowShipping since Sept. 17
Anbernic RG DDS8GB + 128GB$299.99$284.99 (preorder)+$35.99Starts Dec. 10
Anbernic RG DDS12GB + 256GB$364.99$349.99 (preorder)+$100.99Starts Dec. 10

The Lite row shows why Retroid can price aggressively. At $149 the Duo Lite undercuts the RG DDS base model by roughly $136, though it trades AMOLED for 60Hz TFT panels, as the sections below explain.

The 45-Day Wait: What a Preorder Buyer Gives Up

An RG DDS preorder works like a short loan to the manufacturer. You hand over $284.99 on Oct. 16 or later and get hardware on Dec. 10 at the earliest. That is 55 days for someone who ordered on opening day. The money sits with Anbernic the whole time, and the product can still change in small ways between the first look and the retail unit.

Spread the $35.99 premium over the 45 days remaining and the wait costs about 80 cents a day against a Duo bought at the coupon price. That figure shrinks fast after Oct. 31, because the Duo’s regular price cuts the gap to $15.99. At that point the RG DDS premium is closer to 36 cents a day.

Anbernic’s official material confirms the hardware concept and the Android 16 listing, but it does not yet confirm real-world dual-screen emulation quality or a fully documented launch experience. A preorder buyer is therefore paying for a spec sheet, not a tested product, while the Duo already has early reviews and hands-on reports.

The upside runs the other way. Anbernic’s design includes a built-in telescopic capacitive stylus, which saves the $15 Retroid charges for its grip-and-stylus accessory. A Duo buyer who wants that parity pays $249 plus $15, or $264, which narrows the headline gap to $20.99. The stylus is a real part of the value math, especially for touch-heavy DS-style games.

Screens Compared: 120Hz AMOLED vs 500-Nit IPS

Display choice is the clearest difference between the two machines. Anbernic’s first-look post for the RG DDS describes matched custom IPS panels with 500 nits of brightness and 300 pixels per inch. The upper screen measures about 4.7 inches at 1200 by 720, and the lower one about 4 inches at 960 by 720.

SpecRetroid Pocket DuoAnbernic RG DDS
Upper screen5.5-inch AMOLED, 1080p, 120HzAbout 4.7-inch IPS, 1200 x 720
Lower screen4.5-inch AMOLED, 960p, 120HzAbout 4-inch IPS, 960 x 720
Brightness and densityNot stated on maker page500 nits, 300 PPI
Memory options8GB LPDDR4x + 128GB UFS 2.18GB + 128GB or 12GB + 256GB
Operating systemAndroid (version not confirmed in our sources)Android 16
ChipsetNot confirmed in our sourcesSnapdragon G2 Gen 2
StylusOptional $15 grip with stylusBuilt-in telescopic stylus

If the Duo’s 1080p upper panel runs at the 16:9 shape reported in coverage, it holds about 2.07 million pixels against roughly 864,000 on the RG DDS upper screen. That is a 2.4x gap in raw pixel count. Add the 120Hz refresh rate and the Duo has the stronger screens on paper. The RG DDS answers with brightness and a 3DS-like proportion that suits the older games the format targets.

Chip, Android 16 and the Mainline Linux Surprise

Anbernic confirmed the Snapdragon G2 Gen 2 as the RG DDS chipset, running Android 16 with a redesigned control center that handles performance, cooling, brightness, volume and dual-screen settings. Reports also mention active cooling and a 6,000mAh battery, though those two specs come from secondary coverage, so treat them as reported until retail units arrive. A third-party report also claims the ARC X1 opened early-access sales at $307 on the same chip, which suggests the G2 Gen 2 is spreading across premium handhelds.

Retroid’s chipset story is murkier. One comparison points to a Qualcomm Q-7790 Dragonwing platform for the Duo, while other coverage calls the RG DDS chip the more powerful of the two. Because those performance claims come from secondary sources, we skip a speed ranking and leave that to hands-on testing once the RG DDS ships.

The surprise came on Oct. 25. According to the Retro Game Corps newsletter, Retroid announced mainline Linux support for the Pocket Duo, Pocket 6 and Pocket Nova, with published work covering Linux Kernel 7.3, audio topology and UCM configuration. For owners of the Retroid Pocket Nova and Pocket 6, that points to long-term software support beyond Android. Our sources show no equivalent announcement from Anbernic for the RG DDS.

Retroid’s Cheaper Ladder: Duo Lite and Duo Lite Plus

Retroid built a three-step ladder around the Duo name. The Duo Lite uses two TFT panels at 60Hz, a 5.5-inch upper screen at 1080p and a 4.2-inch lower screen at 960p. It ships with either 4GB and 64GB or 6GB and 128GB, lists at $149, and began shipping Sept. 17. The DUOLITE code takes $14 off those versions until Oct. 31.

The Duo Lite Plus sits in between. Retroid’s page lists an 8GB and 128GB version with a LITEPLUS code worth $20 off, and says shipping starts in mid-November. A third-party comparison from Handheld Finder put the Plus at $199 to $219, but Retroid’s page does not confirm that figure, so treat it as a listing rather than a final price. Our report on the Duo Lite Plus launch has the earlier details.

The budget end of the market belongs to Anbernic’s older hardware. The RG DS Plus launch put dual 4.3-inch screens and a stylus into a sub-$100 package, and Anbernic’s site now lists a Linux V1.1 update for the RG DS. One Spanish retail report said AliExpress was clearing out the previous RG DS as the DDS approached. If that holds, shoppers get a cheap path to dual screens while the flagship waits to ship.

Regional Prices, Customs Fees and Sold-Out Storefronts

Anbernic runs separate regional stores, and the numbers differ. A German listing reportedly showed a regular price of 299.99 euros and a preorder price of 244.99 euros. Brazil’s store listed the 8GB model at R$1,604.99 on sale, down from R$1,689.99, and the 12GB model at R$1,971.99. Those regional figures come from single store snapshots, so confirm them before ordering.

The Brazilian page carries a warning that matters more than the sticker price. Anbernic says it declares the actual amount paid to customs, and that goods arriving in Brazil face a tax of roughly 92% to 100%. A buyer there could pay close to double the listed price, which turns a December preorder into an expensive wait.

Availability signals were mixed. The German and Brazilian storefront pages we fetched on Oct. 26 showed both the 8GB and 12GB versions as sold out or unavailable. Some coverage also reported that US-warehouse stock was unavailable on Oct. 19. A sold-out label on a preorder usually means the first allocation is gone, not that anything has shipped. Anbernic has not published a unit count.

Historical Context: From Nintendo’s DS Era to Android Clamshells

Dual-screen handhelds are a niche Nintendo built its handheld business on. The company’s current lineup on its US site centers on the Switch 2, and Valve’s current handheld is the Steam Deck OLED. Neither lineup includes a dual-screen clamshell, which leaves room for third parties to fill.

Anbernic’s earlier RG DS and RG DS Plus tested demand with cheaper hardware. The RG DDS marks a jump up the stack. GamesRadar described Anbernic’s reveal as double-dipping into dual-screen handhelds with a new 3DS clone, and the pricing backs that framing. The DDS asks flagship money for a format that earlier devices served at under $100.

The RG DDS does not recreate the glasses-free 3D effect of the original Nintendo 3DS, according to coverage of its design. For many 3DS fans, that missing feature changes the comparison. Dual screens and a stylus recreate the control scheme, but not the signature display trick, and neither Anbernic nor Retroid has found a way around that.

Market Impact: Anbernic’s Flagship Bet Against Retroid’s Head Start

Retroid has the release-date advantage. It has a product in buyers’ hands, a software path via Linux, and a Lite tier that starts at $149. Anbernic has the newer silicon, a bigger memory option and a built-in stylus, but it must hold interest for 45 days against a competitor that can fix problems in the field. For the wider field, the three-way comparison of the Pocket DS, Pocket Duo and RG DS Plus shows where AYANEO fits.

Where Anbernic can win

The 12GB and 256GB model has no Retroid counterpart. Power users who run heavier Android emulation or keep large libraries on-device have a reason to wait. Anbernic also spreads its bet across a wider catalog, with the RG Slide, RG SP, RG505 and RG CubeXX all still listed on its store, which gives it more ways to retain customers if the DDS slips.

Where Retroid can win

Retroid wins on timing and display quality. A buyer who orders before Oct. 31 pays $249 for 120Hz AMOLED screens. Software leans its way too, since Socket frontend version 0.8.0 reportedly added experimental dual-screen support on Oct. 18 for devices including the Duo. That single-source detail suggests the emulation community is already building tools around it. For a wider view, see our ranking of the best emulation handhelds in 2026.

Key Dates for Dual-Screen Buyers

DateEventWhy it matters
Sept. 17Retroid Pocket Duo Lite begins shippingCheapest Retroid dual-screen option goes live at $149
Oct. 9Anbernic announces RG DDSFlagship 3DS-style device revealed without a price
Oct. 16RG DDS preorders open$284.99 and $349.99 preorder prices appear
Oct. 21Retroid Pocket Duo begins shippingFirst flagship dual-screen handheld reaches buyers
Oct. 25Retroid announces mainline Linux supportCovers Pocket Duo, Pocket 6 and Pocket Nova
Oct. 31DUO, DUOLITE and LITEPLUS codes expireDuo price reverts from $249 to $269
Mid-NovemberDuo Lite Plus begins shippingFills the gap between the Lite and the Duo
Dec. 10RG DDS shipments begin graduallyEarliest delivery date for preorders

The Oct. 31 cliff is the date to watch. Three Retroid coupon codes expire the same day, which creates a short window for anyone who wants the Duo at its lowest price. Retroid’s own pages carry that deadline, so there is no ambiguity about when the discount ends.

Predictions for the Next 60 Days

  • Dual-screen software decides the winner. Specs will matter less than how well frontends and emulators handle two displays. Expect the first real RG DDS verdicts to come from software tests in December, not from the spec sheet.
  • The Duo price drifts back toward $269 after Oct. 31. Retroid has leaned on coupon codes since launch, so more promotions are possible, but nothing on its pages promises one. Treat $249 as a deadline price.
  • Old Anbernic stock gets cheaper. If the AliExpress clearance report holds, RG DS and RG DS Plus discounts should grow as the DDS approaches.
  • The Lite Plus lands before the DDS and squeezes it. A mid-November 8GB model from Retroid gives shoppers a third path to dual screens weeks before Anbernic delivers.
  • Shipping updates become the story. Gradual shipments from Dec. 10 leave room for delays, and preorder buyers should watch Anbernic’s store for batch notices.

These are analysis, not reported facts. They rest on the dates and prices listed above, and any of them can change if either maker shifts its schedule.

Who Should Preorder and Who Should Buy the Duo Now

Buy the Duo now if you want hardware before the holidays, care about screen quality, or want to lock in $249 before Oct. 31. Early reviews are out, the software path is visible, and your money does not sit idle for 45 days.

Preorder the RG DDS if you need the 12GB and 256GB tier, want a built-in stylus and can live with the wait. Read the refund terms on Anbernic’s store before paying, and skip the Brazilian storefront unless you have budgeted for the customs rate. Anyone shopping for a handheld more broadly will find more choices in the gaming section.

Skip both if cost is your priority. The Duo Lite at $149 and the sub-$100 RG DS family cover most dual-screen games for far less.

Frequently Asked Questions

When does the Anbernic RG DDS ship?

Anbernic’s store says shipments begin gradually on Dec. 10, 2026. The RG DDS is a preorder product and has not shipped as of Oct. 26.

How much does the RG DDS cost?

The 8GB RAM and 128GB model costs $284.99 on preorder, down from a $299.99 regular price. The 12GB and 256GB model costs $349.99, down from $364.99.

Is the Retroid Pocket Duo available now?

Yes. Retroid began shipping the Pocket Duo on Oct. 21, 2026. It lists at $269, and the DUO coupon cuts $20 from the price until Oct. 31.

Which has better screens, the Duo or the RG DDS?

On paper the Duo wins on resolution and refresh rate, with 120Hz AMOLED panels at 5.5 and 4.5 inches. The RG DDS uses smaller IPS panels rated at 500 nits and 300 PPI. Hands-on tests will settle real-world quality once the RG DDS ships.

Does the RG DDS include a stylus?

Yes. Anbernic lists a built-in telescopic capacitive stylus. Retroid sells an official grip with stylus for the Duo separately at $15.

What is the Retroid Pocket Duo Lite?

It is the cheaper Duo variant with two 60Hz TFT panels and 4GB or 6GB of RAM. It lists at $149 and began shipping on Sept. 17.

Does the RG DDS show 3D like the Nintendo 3DS?

No. Coverage of the design says the RG DDS does not reproduce the glasses-free 3D effect of the original Nintendo 3DS.

Marcus Chen

Marcus Chen

Gaming & Consumer Tech Editor

Marcus Chen is a senior editor at Tech Insider, where he leads coverage of the US online gaming market, including sweepstakes and social casinos, alongside consumer technology. He evaluates operators on their published terms, licensing and RNG certifications, stated redemption policies, and corroborating independent reporting, and writes plainly about what the evidence supports. Tech Insider does not run first-party money tests and does not gamble with reader funds. Marcus has reported on the technology and online-gaming industries for more than a decade.

View all articles