Open a 2022 Kali book on a current install and the wireless and browser attack chapters stall at the first command. Bettercap, Wifiphisher, BeEF and RouterSploit are all still in the Kali repository. None of them is in the default tool set. The Active Directory tool you will find there is netexec, not crackmapexec. The best Kali Linux books are the ones whose labs still match the Kali you download today, and only two of the seven below name a 2024 or newer Kali release.
We ranked seven Kali Linux books, from the Linux basics a beginner needs first to advanced pentesting with Kali, and mapped every tool in each table of contents to a real package. If Kali is not running yet, our step-by-step Kali install gets you there first. Every package check was run in October 2026 on a Kali 2026.3 lab VM and cross-checked against the kali-linux-default metapackage, so the tables say exactly which tools you’d still have to add.
The best Kali Linux books, ranked by reader
The order runs from a first Linux book to a red team reference. Read the release column before the price column, because a book written for an old Kali costs you hours of troubleshooting that a cheaper cover price never pays back.
| Book | Best for | Kali release it names | Pages | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Linux Basics for Hackers, 2nd Ed. | Total beginners | None, Python 3 and the non-root default | 264 | about $20 to $25 |
| The Ultimate Kali Linux Book, 3rd Ed. | Best overall Kali book | 2024.1 | 828 | about $30 |
| Kali Linux Cookbook, 3rd Ed. | Newest Kali release | 2024.3 to 2025.1 | 568 | about $45 |
| Learning Kali Linux, 2nd Ed. | Structured self-study | Not stated | 539 | about $35 to $40 |
| Black Hat Bash | Scripting your own tooling | Not stated, Docker lab | 344 | about $40 |
| Kali Linux Penetration Testing Bible | Budget all-rounder | Not stated, 2021 text | 512 | about $25 |
| Mastering Kali Linux for Advanced Penetration Testing, 4th Ed. | Experienced pentesters | Not stated, 2022 text | 572 | about $55 to $60 |
Prices are the Amazon US range on 27 October 2026 and move weekly, so check the live price before you buy. If you are new to Linux, buy the first two and stop there for a few months. If you already work in a terminal every day, The Ultimate Kali Linux Book alone covers more ground than any other single title here. Add the Cookbook when you want labs written against a newer Kali.
How we picked and checked the books
Kali-titled books are easy to find and hard to trust. Search Amazon and you will get as many self-published “Kali Linux for Beginners” titles as real publisher editions, plus Packt books from 2018 and 2019 that teach a Kali which no longer behaves the way they describe. A pick had to pass every one of these checks:
- The print edition has a live, in-stock Amazon US listing on 27 October 2026.
- No newer edition of the same title exists in Amazon’s catalog or on the publisher’s list.
- The cover, the ASIN and the edition number all refer to the same printing.
- The publisher is a known technical press, not a self-published listing.
- Every Kali-packaged tool in the table of contents was looked up on Kali 2026.3.
We read each table of contents through the publisher’s listing on the O’Reilly learning platform and read every companion repository on GitHub. Edition and price data came from Amazon’s catalog API. We did not work through every lab in every book. Tools that Kali does not package weren’t part of the check. That covers Nessus and the CloudGoat lab. It tells you whether a chapter can start on a default install, not whether every step inside it still produces the screenshot printed on the page.
The tools each book needs on Kali 2026.3
Kali’s default image installs the kali-linux-default metapackage, and anything outside it has to be installed by hand. The Kali metapackage documentation lists what each set pulls in. Our lab VM was cloned from a template built on the official Kali QEMU image and upgraded to 2026.3 when the template was made. It also carried EyeWitness and Nuclei, which are not in kali-linux-default, so the per-book table below goes by the metapackage instead.
To see where each book’s tools land, we ran this loop on that VM after an apt-get update. It prints the installed version, or no, next to the repository candidate:
for p in nmap metasploit-framework aircrack-ng powershell-empire starkiller burpsuite gvm eyewitness sherlock hashcat john hydra sqlmap gobuster ffuf wfuzz nuclei nikto skipfish zaproxy maltego cewl rsmangler yersinia armitage photon droopescan cryptcat bettercap wifiphisher beef-xss gophish routersploit faraday crackmapexec netexec responder mimikatz wifite set net-tools exploitdb theharvester veil shellter enum4linux enum4linux-ng python2 python-is-python3 openvas; do
inst=$(dpkg-query -W -f='${Status} ${Version}' "$p" 2>/dev/null | grep -q 'install ok installed' && dpkg-query -W -f='${Version}' "$p")
cand=$(apt-cache policy "$p" 2>/dev/null | awk '/Candidate:/{print $2}')
printf '%-22s installed=%-28s candidate=%s\n' "$p" "${inst:-no}" "${cand:-not-in-repo}"
done
Here are the rows that decide whether a book’s chapters start cleanly, trimmed from the full 50-line output. Look for installed=no and for a candidate of not-in-repo:
powershell-empire installed=6.6.0-0kali1 candidate=7.0.2-0kali1
starkiller installed=3.5.0+ds-0kali1 candidate=4.0.3+ds-0kali1
gvm installed=no candidate=25.04.3
sherlock installed=no candidate=0.16.0-3
zaproxy installed=no candidate=2.17.0-0kali1
maltego installed=no candidate=4.13.0-0kali1
armitage installed=no candidate=20221206-0kali1
droopescan installed=no candidate=not-in-repo
bettercap installed=no candidate=2.41.5-0kali1
wifiphisher installed=no candidate=1.4+git20260522-0kali1
beef-xss installed=no candidate=0.6.0.0-0kali6
routersploit installed=no candidate=3.4.7-0kali3
crackmapexec installed=no candidate=5.4.0-0kali7
netexec installed=1.5.1-0kali2 candidate=1.5.1-0kali2
openvas installed=no candidate=(none)
Three rows need explaining. Droopescan, which the Kali Linux Cookbook uses for its CMS scanning recipe, is not packaged at all, and apt-cache search droopescan returns nothing. The openvas package name is gone too, and apt-cache showpkg openvas lists gvm 25.04.3 as its only provider. Any book that says apt install openvas now means sudo apt install gvm followed by sudo gvm-setup, which the Kali gvm tool page lists. Empire shows the third kind of drift: version 6.6.0 was installed while the repository already offered 7.0.2, so the C2 screens printed in a 2024 book may not match what you see after a full upgrade.
Read per book against the kali-linux-default dependency list, the same data gives you a shopping list before you open chapter one:
| Book | Ready on a default install | Install first | Missing or renamed |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Ultimate Kali Linux Book | Nmap, Metasploit, Aircrack-ng, Empire, Starkiller, Burp Suite | GVM, Sherlock, EyeWitness, Nessus (from Tenable) | None |
| Kali Linux Cookbook | Nmap, Metasploit, John, CeWL, RSMangler, Nikto, Skipfish, ffuf, Cryptcat | GVM, Maltego, ZAP, Armitage, Yersinia, Photon, Nessus (from Tenable) | Droopescan |
| Mastering Kali Linux, 4th Ed. | Metasploit, Empire, Faraday, Gophish, SET | Bettercap, Wifiphisher, BeEF, RouterSploit | None |
| Black Hat Bash | Nmap, Wfuzz | Nuclei | None |
| Kali Linux Penetration Testing Bible | Hashcat | None found | None |
You can size the extra installs before you commit disk space. This dry run covers seven of them (Maltego, ZAP, bettercap, BeEF, Armitage, Sherlock and enum4linux-ng) and counts the packages apt would add. GVM is left out on purpose, because it has its own setup step after the install:
apt-get install -s maltego zaproxy bettercap beef-xss armitage sherlock enum4linux-ng | grep -c '^Inst'
On our VM the simulation for those seven pulled in 34 packages:
34
To install them for real, drop -s and the | grep pipe and run it with sudo, so apt can show its confirmation prompt. Nessus is not a Kali package at all, and our Nessus on Kali guide covers the Tenable download. For AD chapters written around crackmapexec, use netexec instead: it’s already installed, the command is nxc, and nxc --version reported 1.5.1 on our VM. The old package still installs from the repository, but Kali’s own netexec page describes NetExec as the continuation of CrackMapExec.
1. Linux Basics for Hackers, Second Edition
OccupyTheWeb’s No Starch book is the first one to buy if you have never lived in a Linux shell, because every other book on this list assumes you already do.
The second edition came out in July 2025, and No Starch updated it for the way Kali works now: Kali’s non-root default user, plus changes to Bluetooth and logging, with the logging chapter built around journalctl. Its 18 chapters cover text handling, permissions, processes, bash scripting, services such as Apache and OpenSSH, Tor and VPNs, wireless, kernel modules and cron, then close with Python 3 and a new chapter on AI for hackers.
It’s a Linux book with a security slant, not a Kali tool tour, so do not expect Metasploit or Burp Suite chapters. That is the point. A beginner who can read a permission string, kill a process and write a 20-line bash script gets far more from the tool books that follow. At about $20 to $25 for 264 pages, it is also the cheapest pick here.
2. The Ultimate Kali Linux Book, Third Edition
Glen D. Singh’s Packt book is the best overall Kali Linux book on sale, and at 828 pages it is also the biggest.
The April 2024 edition targets Kali 2024.1, although the companion repository’s requirements table still lists Kali 2023.2. It starts by building a lab with Metasploitable 2 and 3, an Active Directory red team lab and a wireless lab, which suits our Proxmox pentest lab if you’d rather not run it all on a laptop. From there it moves through OSINT with Sherlock and Hunter, active recon with EyeWitness and Nmap evasion, and GVM and Nessus scanning. The second half covers shells, password attacks, Meterpreter, C2 with Empire and Starkiller, Kerberos attacks, WPA3 and evil twin attacks, and the OWASP Top 10:2021 with Burp Suite.
Our tool check found GVM, Sherlock and EyeWitness missing from the default tool set, plus Nessus from Tenable, a light list for a book with this much scope. The weak spot is Empire: the book went to print in April 2024, and the repository now carries Empire 7.0.2 and Starkiller 4.0.3, so expect the C2 screens to differ from the printed ones. It is not a first Linux book either. Pair it with pick 1 if the terminal is still new to you.
3. Kali Linux Cookbook, Third Edition
Corey P. Schultz’s November 2025 Cookbook is the newest Kali book from a major publisher, and the only one that names a 2025 Kali release.
Packt describes it as written for Kali 2024.3 through 2025.1. Its 15 chapters are recipes rather than a course, starting with installing Kali on VirtualBox, Docker or a Raspberry Pi, then Maltego CE recon, Nmap, Wireshark, GVM and Nessus. Later recipes use Metasploit with Armitage and Yersinia, John, CeWL and RSMangler for passwords, evil twin attacks for wireless, and Nikto, Skipfish, ZAP, ffuf and Photon for web testing. It also adds AI personas to the anonymity chapter and LLM-assisted phishing to the social engineering one, which no other tool book here covers.
Being the newest book does not make it the most ready to run. It needs six extra Kali packages plus Nessus, the most of any pick, and its Droopescan recipe has no Kali package behind it at all. The companion repository is a stub. The listing had only three ratings on our check date, so you are buying on the table of contents. Buy it as a second book next to pick 2, and use our DVWA web testing walkthrough as a target for its web chapter.
4. Learning Kali Linux, Second Edition
Ric Messier’s O’Reilly book is the most structured of the general Kali books, written to be read front to back.
The September 2024 edition replaces the 2018 first edition and runs 539 pages. It opens with the Linux command line and desktops, then covers network security testing basics including stress testing, reconnaissance, vulnerability scanners, Metasploit at both basic and advanced level, and wireless testing. It has no companion repository we could find, so it reads as a course book rather than a lab manual, which suits a reader who wants the reasoning laid out before running a tool.
We could not confirm which Kali release the second edition was written against, so we left it out of the tool table. Amazon showed only 10 copies in stock on our check date, so check the listing before you plan around it. At about $35 to $40 it costs more than the Ultimate Kali book for less coverage, which keeps it at fourth.
5. Black Hat Bash
Dolev Farhi and Nick Aleks wrote the book for the point where running other people’s tools stops being enough.
The October 2024 No Starch book builds a Kali machine plus a Docker target network, then teaches offensive bash scripting against that target network, with Nmap, Nuclei and Wfuzz among the tools it scripts. Nmap and Wfuzz are in the default tool set and Nuclei is one sudo apt install nuclei away, and its GitHub repository was still being updated in 2026, with a published errata list. That makes it one of the lowest-friction labs on this list.
It assumes you can already script, so a beginner should finish pick 1 first. It teaches a method more than a tool list, so it will not replace a broad Kali book. If you want to automate what the other books teach you to do by hand, this is the one.
6. Kali Linux Penetration Testing Bible
Gus Khawaja’s Wiley book is the cheapest broad pentest book on the list, and the oldest one we still recommend.
Published in June 2021, it runs 512 pages and opens with bash scripting, scanning, OSINT, social engineering with a USB Rubber Ducky and protocol enumeration. The later chapters cover exploitation, web vulnerabilities, Linux and Windows privilege escalation, pivoting, Hashcat, report writing, assembly and buffer overflows, and Python automation. The Hashcat chapter pairs well with our Hashcat and John the Ripper guide, which uses the current packages.
The book names no Kali release, and we found no companion repository for it. When a 2021 command fails, you are on your own. At about $25, though, the coverage per dollar is hard to beat, and the privilege escalation and buffer overflow chapters age slower than tool walkthroughs do. Buy it as a budget all-rounder, not as your only Kali reference.
7. Mastering Kali Linux for Advanced Penetration Testing, Fourth Edition
Vijay Kumar Velu’s book is the advanced pick, aimed at testers who already run engagements and want the red team side of Kali.

The February 2022 edition covers ground the beginner books skip, starting with Faraday for collaborative testing and CloudGoat for AWS attacks on EC2, S3 and CloudTrail. It goes on to network access control and antivirus bypass, Kerberos golden tickets, C2 with domain fronting, RouterSploit, RFID cloning with a ChameleonMini, and phishing with SET and Gophish. The wireless chapter uses bettercap and Wifiphisher, so pair it with a monitor mode card from our Kali Wi-Fi adapter guide.
It is the most dated tool list on the shelf. Four of its tools need installing on Kali 2026.3, the cloud chapters were written before 2022, and the companion repository holds a link to a free PDF rather than code. At about $55 to $60 it’s also the most expensive pick. If you are studying for a certification rather than running engagements, our OSCP book list is the better place to spend that money.
Older Kali titles still on sale
Several well-known Kali books still show up in search, and most of them teach a Kali that changed under them. These are the ones we left out and why:
- Kali Linux Revealed (Offsec Press, 2017) predates the 2020 switch to a non-root default user, and Amazon had one copy left.
- Mastering Kali Linux second and third editions were superseded by the fourth, so a used copy at any price is the wrong buy.
- Packt’s 2018 and 2019 Kali titles, such as Learn Kali Linux 2019, were written for releases six or more years old.
- Self-published “Kali Linux for Beginners” style listings have no technical editor and no publisher errata.
Daniel Graham’s Ethical Hacking (No Starch, 2021) is a good book that missed the list for a different reason: its labs build tools in Python rather than teach Kali, and Amazon had a single copy in stock. If you already own an older Kali book, our cybersecurity books guide lists the Kali changes that break older books and the fix for each.
Checks before you buy a Kali book
New Kali books will keep appearing, and the same checks that sorted this list will sort them. Run these five before you pay for any of them:
- The book names the Kali release it was written against, in the preface or the companion repository.
- The release is 2020.1 or newer, so it assumes the non-root
kaliuser andsudo. - Every tool in the table of contents returns a candidate from
apt-cache policyon your own Kali. - The companion repository has a commit newer than the publication date.
- The listing comes from a known press, with an edition number that matches the cover.
A book that fails the third check costs you an afternoon of hunting for a replacement tool, which is what Droopescan did to the newest book here. Keep your own Kali current with a regular Kali upgrade before you start a new book, because a stale install shows the opposite drift: older packages than the book expects, and the same mismatched screens.





